Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

96%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 100 reviews

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Is the apple cider vinegar approach to weight loss sweet, or sour?

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Detox diets, cleanses and fasts seem to be all the rage right now. From losing weight to ridding your body of toxins, many people swear by the effects of putting their bodies and minds through the challenge of a cleanse. One such popular cleansing diet is the apple cider vinegar program.

It's yet to be determined if the benefits of apple cider vinegar are worthwhile for weight loss. Even still, some suggest that the acidity of the vinegar mixed with the pectin found in apples can offer an easy answer to dropping pounds.

While pectin has been linked with lowering cholesterol, it's still unclear whether there is a connection with weight loss. A 2005 study of 12 people found that those who ate a piece of bread along with small amounts of white vinegar felt fuller and more satisfied than those who just ate the bread.

On the apple cider vinegar diet, you consume a few teaspoons of this pucker-worthy liquid a few times a day. Organic apple cider vinegar is a top-choice among enthusiasts.

PRO
  • Apple Cider Vinegar Diet is not expensive
  • Apple cider vinegar as a health tonic has shown positive results in animal studies
CON
  • No solid documented evidence of its benefits
  • Apple cider vinegar has a pungent taste
  • May cause stomach and throat irritation
  • Long-term use can cause bone loss and a potassium deficiency
  • Can interact with other medications
DIET and NUTRITION

Here is what you do on the apple cider vinegar diet: Take no more than three teaspoons of apple cider vinegar about 15 minutes before each meal. Regular users recommend prepping your stomach by taking one teaspoon to start with and easing into more.

The apple cider vinegar diet does not prescribe a menu or meal plan. Just eat in moderation with sensible portions and skip the snacks. Over time, the vinegar will decrease hunger and urges to nibble.

If the flavor becomes too much to handle, you can find apple cider vinegar tablets.

EXERCISE

Not really applicable since this address something very specific in the benefits of apple cider vinegar. But, the book does broach the subject a little.

CONCLUSION

Since the benefits of apple cider vinegar are still inconclusive, it’s hard to make a solid recommendation. Some research shows that it does have some health benefits like reducing cholesterol and as possible aid in weight loss. But since there are a few apparent serious risks involved, speak to your doctor before consuming apple cider vinegar, especially if you have osteoporosis or take any medications.

Common Misspellings

Apple Cider diet, Apple cider vinegar deit, Vinegar diet, Vinegar deit


Related Diets: Maple Syrup Diet, Botanic Choice Apple Cider Vinegar Plus , Hollywood Miracle Diet, Hoodia, Lemonade Diet, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 14, 271 total comments)

diamond

Ok you all have encouraged me. I'm going to start this week with the avc braggs juice. I will report back in a weeks time. Currently I weight 180 lbs and I need to lose 30 lbs. So I'm gonna give it a whirl.

Diamond

posted May 5th, 2010 11:02 pm


Melissa

Miss J is right. You can also buy the vinegar at a regular grocery store, it's just going to be a little harder to find. Almost all health food stores will carry it. It's just a convenience thing in case your local store doesn't have it. Good luck!!!!

posted May 2nd, 2010 3:06 pm


Miss J

I started taking the Braggs Organic Apple cider vinegar to help flush out my system. I already had a weightloss plan in place with regular exercising. I only take it at night with warm water or with my tea. Now, I see why I have lost an additional 3 or 4 pounds unintentionally. But it's all good. I do like to eat and have been eating somethings that I know should have been showing up on the scale, but has not. I will continue with this product for a long time. Really -- you don't have to go to a health food store, the grocery stores that sell organic and "nature's promise" products, carry this vinegar also. Enjoy and I'll be checking back with you.

posted Apr 30th, 2010 10:11 am


Melissa

I just started using ACV about a couple of days ago. I've been reading others reviews and it seems that some ppl are still confused as to which brand of ACV to use and how to use it. It's very important to use an ACV that is organic, raw and UNFILTERED. When it's unfiltered, it hasnt yet been stripped of vital nutrients and enzymes that have been linked to weight loss! Also, you want to find one with the "mother", which will usually be in an unfiltered kind. I recommend Braggs...and you can buy that at whole foods, GNC, vitamin shoppe or any health food place for about $3. Add 2-3 tbsp to 8-10oz of water...3 times a day. You want to drink it before meals...I prefer on an empty stomach. When I drink it in the morning, I actually brew Green Tea and add it to my green tea for more of a morning "boost". I've noticed that I do get hot flashes, which I'm assuming is my metabolism kickstarting, as well as an increased libido. I guess others have also experienced that, so I'm not alone! Remember UNFILTERED!! If you buy filtered you might as well not be doing this diet! Good Luck!!!!

posted Apr 29th, 2010 12:47 am


Salma

I have been taking acv for one week and I noticed a great change. Not only do I feel more energetic but I also noticed that I got thinner. My stomach is now almost flat, and even my friends and family members noticed that I got thinner. Unfortunately I still didn't weigh myself, but I have a pretty good feeling about it. I didn't start a diet, I eat normally. I even eat chocolate, Mcdonalds and other caloric things, and I still got thinner. I drink 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar in a cup of water before each main meal (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and sometimes after drinking the mixture I loose apetite and force myself to eat.

I hope I've been helpful to you guys

posted Apr 26th, 2010 6:37 am


Lemonadehead

Does anyone know if the 5% acidity Apple Cider Vinegar you get from the store (non-organic) will work just as well?

posted Apr 18th, 2010 10:47 pm


toffee

update.... i have been on acv for over a month now, did not lose any weight!!! i have been doing yoga everyday (hot and power yoga) still did not lose any weight though my arm muscles are firmer. i normally eat pretty healthy but i like to eat so quite often i eat a lot.

posted Apr 17th, 2010 2:15 am


liz

Im taking acv for one week but I have rashes side effects. On the positive side my appetite has subsided for sweets like chocolates and softdrinks like coke. I hope the rashes are temporary.

posted Apr 12th, 2010 12:30 am


TTW

Today dawned on 7th day. Scale read 149.4 I am encouraged as my weight was 150.8. I did not change my eating habits but did add small amount of exercise.

posted Apr 7th, 2010 8:35 am


TTW

I feel great and am finding benefits to my acne. This could also be that for me part of doing this diet is to put face cream and hand lotion on. I do this right after bedtime medicine and teeth.

posted Apr 5th, 2010 12:29 pm


TTW

Do not take like a shot!!!

This is the reason so many have had bad taste and sore throats. I tried a capful of ACV last night just shooting it. My throat is still burning this morning.

Decided to add more water to my intake, hoping for 3- 20 oz bottles of water.

posted Apr 5th, 2010 12:27 pm


TTW

First of all the hype about the ACV diet is overwhelming. What I was excited about was that this site is actually written this year! Even this month! most everything I saw was 8 years ago or so. The other problem was that you cannot find the same site again unless you were smart enough to save the link for the next time. I have never been on a chat room or written any kind of comment on the web before so hope this isn't too boring.

Here it is I did find info that said in general:
1T (tablespoon) ACV + 1T honey + 8-10 oz h2o
3-4 times a day. It was suggested before or with a meal. I take anytime, finding it a better substitute for pop, tea, etc.

Making it seems to fill that snack ation and drinking it fills the thirst portion. To drink I put it in a shaker cup (the ones you get with all the powdered diet drinks)
and letting all my air out begin drinking and breathing at the same time. This is more like a power drink not gulping. I don't smell it and because it is a long drink it goes past the taste buds that read sour etc.

Today was day 4 and my mind says I can do this...Waiting to see results at the end of 7-10 days.

Please let me know facts about your diet not just I lost x pounds in y time.

posted Apr 5th, 2010 12:59 am


egibson

i just start a week ago so hope it work i will kept it post.

posted Apr 3rd, 2010 10:33 am


silvia

hi u guys im 5'5 and i wieght 159 and i really want to loose weight and i berly started the acv yesterday so i hope it goes good any advice plz let me know??

posted Apr 1st, 2010 7:03 pm


Toya

Bebe whats ur weight like now?



Hi, 5' 138lb here. since pregnancy in 07 i haven't been able to lose the weight. i will be starting ACV tomorrow.hope to lose 20. i plan to do 3 daily.



one thing i need to know though...i dont eat a "meal" in the afternoon just a sandwich/cereal, is that good enough to eat after taking the ACV?

posted Mar 28th, 2010 9:57 pm


Cheryl

I read all of these reviews last week and bought an organic bottle of ACV at GNC. I put a teaspoon in my tea. It really does make me feel like I do not want to eat. I think yesterday I ate about half that I normally eat. But I do find this morning that my stomach feels irritated. I do want to continue to use ACV but hope that the tummy ache goes away. I started this on Saturday. I will let you know next weekend if I lost weight. Thanks!

posted Mar 23rd, 2010 11:15 am


rhonda

I have started this today. I have lost 10 pounds from just changing my diet and working out on the wii. But I still have around 30 to go so sure hope this works. Will keep you updated.

posted Mar 21st, 2010 1:04 pm


Dedicated2Change

Hello guys, great to have a forum like this. 6' 225 male here. My plan is to start the ACV this Sunday, start my biking as cardio (I go aggressive for 20-30 minutes straight), crunches 2-3 times a day when I'm just sitting around, 20lb curls & over heads while I'm just sitting around & eating in moderation. Goal primarily is to feel healthier & get toned for my honeymoon in May. Will keep u posted of my progress, wish me luck.

posted Mar 12th, 2010 1:53 am


Dakota

day one here! okay so i got the organic kind with mother..whatever that is lol. im 15, 5'3'' and i weigh 120 and i want to get down to 110 because i have been looking bigger than i usually do and i just wanna fit in my clothes comfortably and look good :) so here is day 1 i drank 2 tbsp in a glass of water before eating. i had pizza in the oven as i was drinking it. by the time the pizza was done i only ate 2 small slices of it and i feel really full! i dont know if its supposed to make you feel full instantly but it did for me. i will update in a week or something! xo

posted Mar 4th, 2010 4:09 pm


toffee

bebe - thx for the reply. i am trying to eat healthy too. but i guess at dinner time, i often eat too much. i havent lost any weight yet but will continued with acv!

posted Mar 3rd, 2010 11:45 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account