Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

32%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 100 reviews
Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Review: Does it Work?

Is the apple cider vinegar approach to weight loss sweet, or sour?

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Apple Cider Vinegar Diet is a weight loss solution that requires users to drink a vinegar solution before meals. No official guide is offered to help explain what is needed to follow this plan, but there are simple suggestions made.

There is no added meal plan and instead it’s advised to eat in moderation while using this diet. Apple cider vinegar has become a popular holistic food as it’s claimed to be able to promote many health benefits. Our review experts have analyzed many unique diets and they’ve concluded the best overall is the 18Shake Diet. It ranks high in customer satisfaction due to its appetite suppressing meal replacement and fat burning diet pill. They help to increase weight loss without the use of stimulants, artificial ingredients, or fillers. Learn more information about the 18Shake Diet when you click on the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The outline for this diet is simple, it has no official recipe, meal plan, or menu offered. It’s only advised to eat in moderation and to avoid snacking.

One has to take 3 teaspoons of apple cider vinegar around 15 minutes before eating a meal. One teaspoon is advised for first time users of apple cider vinegar, as it can be difficult to swallow. For a comprehensive list of the highest rated diets, click on the link here.

The reason why this diet was created was due to a 12 person study which showed that people who ate white vinegar with bread felt fuller than those who only ate the bread by itself. Still, it’s inconclusive since there were only 12 participants.

This diet is also said to increase overall health, though any weight loss benefits are said to be gradual and not all encompassing. It still requires having to control calorie intake, though no suggestions are offered as to what one should eat or how limited one’s food selections should be.Therefore, there’snot much available support given to followers of this diet.

Web MD also cited a study which used vinegar as a weight loss tool:

“175 obese but healthy people tool either vinegar or water daily for 12 weeks. Their diets were similar”

“At the end of the study, those who used vinegar lost slightly more weight on average. The vinegar group lost 1-2 pounds over the 3-month period. They gained it all back after the study was over”

While this study did show someweight loss, there wasn’t much benefit to it. A small 1 to 2 pounds of weight loss is not much at all. People also regained all their weight, so it was not a lasting effect.

 A dietician named Debbie Davis also mentions how vinegar might work:

“may have some benefits in terms of weight loss and weight management, but it is definitely not a quick fix”

It does have an effect on controlling blood sugar, but taking apple cider vinegar in high amounts and on an empty stomach can promote side effects such as:

Increased acid production in the stomach, difficulty swallowing, and nausea.

         • Increased burping, throat damage, and upset stomach.

It can also be difficult to drink straight shots of vinegar since it’s acidic and it has a very sour taste.

Other issues are mentioned by Web MD:

“It’s so acidic that it could harm our tooth enamel and your esophagus”

This is why it’s often advised to take only small amounts and to dilute it with water. It’s unknown if this is allowed while doing the Apple Cider Vinegar Diet.

Our experts have created a list of the very best weight loss diets in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Quality of Ingredients

The diet is simple; it only requires eating sensibly while introducing apple cider vinegar before meals. There’sno much available support, and there’s no recommendations for foods.

While apple cider vinegar can be healthy, it’s not enough to promote well rounded weight loss. Taking it on its own can be potentially harmful especially when drank repeatedly and on an empty stomach. This diet requires it to be taken just before meals which can strain the body.

Due to the potential side effects and lack of quality information about how potent it is for weight loss, it’s an overall poor diet. To see which diets were rated as the best for weight loss, click the link cited here.

The Price and Quality of Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Apple cider vinegar is the only food which is specificallyrecommended to be taken. It’s typically sold in a glass jug for just a few dollars. Since this diet requires 3 tablespoons before meals, it’s likely one will have to buy in bulk.

There’s not much support offered by this diet however, as it’s basically explained in just a few sentences. No information is provided at all on what kinds of foods to use, instead it’s essentially advised to make sure to eat healthy and add apple cider vinegar. While this is a simple request, it’s unknown if this would be enough to promote long lasting or effective weight loss results.

The few studies available have only shown slight weight loss in a few groups. It’s unclear if this is a safe diet to use repeatedly and for a long time. Our experts have created a comprehensive list of the highest ranking weight loss diets available here.

Business of Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

There’s no informationavailable to help show who created this diet, and no book or official guide is available anywhere. This makes it impossible to ask the creators any information about how to use this diet, or to learn of any tips.

The basics are outlined in a few websites that do not mention where they found information about this diet. This makes it impossible to determine why they suggest 3 tablespoons every day before each meal. It’s important to verify if this is the optimal amount, as it can be difficult to drink this much.

They also fail to mention whether or not one can dilute the vinegar with water or other liquids.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Very few reviews are available online, as there are other diets which also use apple cider vinegar as a main ingredient. Many users have confused these diets and often comment on different diets without mentioning their official names.

Here are some reviews from those who have introduced apple cider vinegar into their diets:

“its not working with me”

“it is hard to swallow”

“My throat is still burning this morning”

“couldn’t get past the horrible taste heartburn, and being so thirsty. Also made me feel a little strange, kinda spacey”

It was hard for many to swallow this much apple cider vinegar. People oftencomplained about side effects such as heartburn, sore throat, nausea, inability to enjoy foods, and increased acidity.

When taking largeamounts of apple cider vinegar, it’s likely to promote increased stomach acids which can make eating more difficult. However, it can also promote side effects such as the one’s customers have listed above.

There were some that did manage to lose weight, but it’s unclear if this is a healthy approach to weight loss. There’s nothing in apple cider vinegar alone which is known to help promote any long lasting weight loss effects.

Click the link cited here for a comprehensive listing of the top ranked weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Work?

The Apple Cider Vinegar Diet has a very simple premise; it calls for eating in moderation and taking 3 tablespoons of this vinegar before meals. There is no official guide or website which claims to have created this diet. There are only a few sentences which help explain it. It’s unknown whether or not it would be safe to use repeatedly, or why it specified a specific 3 tablespoons. Without more information, it’s impossible to determine whether or not it was created with legitimatescience in mind. There were also mixed reviews from some people only experiencing side effects and others with modest weight loss. It’s unlikely to produce any long lasting effects however, as there’s no evidence to help support this exact diet.

Our review experts have reviewed many diets and the most effective one for weight loss was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of anappetitesuppressingmealreplacement that relieves hunger for hours, and a fat burning diet pill that helps to increase metabolism. Both have only natural ingredients without any stimulants, fillers, preservatives or fillers. They also have been rate highly by users who have leftpositivetestimonials and reviews on the official website.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by an entire 30 day money back return policy. This allows for a risk free purchase that can be returned with no questions asked. Learn more about the benefits of the 18Shakle Diet by clicking the link here.

How Does Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Apple Cider Vinegar Diet
  • 32 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 9 of 14, 271 total comments)

randiberes

+

i just started my first full day of this and i have a friend that just takes a shot a day and if you eat anything extra fatty just take another shot. right now i'm 176lbs heres to hoping!!!

posted Apr 30th, 2009 6:47 pm


fizzy

+

please don't drint it w/o diluting it in water, it will hurt your stomach, and scratch your throat. Dilute 1 tbs of acv with a glass of water before each meal GOOD LUCK!

posted Apr 23rd, 2009 10:35 pm


Becca

I started today taking it raw 2 tsp is that okay if i just drink it raw before each meal!?

posted Apr 23rd, 2009 12:45 pm


LilithmW

Hey! I just started this today.
Im not too overwieght just want to slim up for summer.
I hear megan fox uses this and from what i have heard and read this stuff really works. I will check back in a couple weeks!
good luck to all.
Im excited.

posted Apr 20th, 2009 4:16 pm


Kati

I had just got WII fit and it told me I was overweight. ((STUPID WII LOL)) I do remember my grandmother telling me about this diet, but growing up she told me that when going on this diet you should not have anything cold to drink. For the reason it chills the body so the body has a harder time to process. I weight 172 and hope to get down to 130ish. Headed back to Cali this summer and would like to look better in a two peice. I wish everyone luck and I think this is a awesome site where people can report back and incourage. Thank you and wish the best of luck to everyone.

posted Apr 20th, 2009 3:00 am


Melanie

I just started this diet today, my friend's mom is on it and lost 30lbs in 1 Month! So I know it works...I hope it works that well for me. I'm 177lbs right now and want to get down to 135lbs. And for the person who said "I have astma and can't work out" Are you kidding me? I know pletny of people who have astma and work out. Don't be lazy =oP

posted Apr 17th, 2009 1:05 pm


Aracelis

i just started taking the capsules and i really dnt eat like i used to. I dnt get hungry very often....wish me luck trying to loose 20 pds....i'll keep yall posted.

posted Apr 14th, 2009 7:31 pm


Yazi

Hello there i started the getting the acv last week on monday march 29 and up to now april 5 i have lost 4 lbs just for one week that started but of course im driking lost of water. Lets see how it goes and plus im not eating any bread, cracker, rice or anything like that i eat in the morning a wheat toast with a cup of lactaid milk, then three hours later a snack apple, banana , and then i take the vinergar with water half- an hour before lunch and then before dinner and so on.

posted Apr 8th, 2009 12:52 pm


Lillysue

+

Hi,...

I too tried the Vinegar Diet, and it works Great!...
It made me feel refreshed and renewed,...
and it can actully taste pretty good!... Like apple soda!..

I got it from a newer book, and I guess there are different versions you can try,... All you need is 1 tablespoon of Apple Cider Vinegar (unfiltered is best), and 1 tablespoon of honey for the first week or two, in 8-10 oz. of water (cold water)... also you can try it with seltzer to begin with it taste great! like apple soda. Take it just 15-20 minutes before each meal. The liquid should work better than tablets, because they don't desolve fully, the liquid work faster and better. You can give the tablets a try when you can't have liquid vinegar.

The Vinegar Diet It Really Does Work!...

Have you actually tried the viegar diet,.... I absolutly first hand know that Vinegar Diets help you lose weight, faster,...while also renewing your body and organs, also invigerates you and makes you feel and look better than ever.

I tried the vinegar diet and lost about 40 lbs. in about 2 months. It's not cooky or far fetched. All you have to do is try it,... See for yourselves that it absolutly works,.... all you do is have it 3 times a day once 15-20 minutes before each meal, and no you don't take straight vinegar, you put only 1 tablespoon of unfiltered vingar (is best, from the health food store or grocery store) in 8-10 oz. of water, to start you can even have it with a tablespoon or teaspoon of honey, for the first week or two,... you can also use seltzer water to start for a week or more, it taste great actully, (and no I am not crazy) like apple soda. You don't even have to diet much, just try eating like you do, but of course it will work better if watch your diet a little,.. don't eat much sweets (But you can use natural sweetners like Stevia it's good for you & taste great, good for weight lose & diabetics), also cut back on fats that are bad for you (but you can have an avacodo a day, it's a good fat that actully helps you lose weight. Moderate exercise does help speed up things too, like any diet 15-30 minutes a day of walking works, and don't for forget to eat your fruits and veggies.


As you'll find out the Vinegar diet actully does work,... so please don't put it down. Just give it a try! You'll like it, and you'll feel & look younger.

I did this diet several yrs. ago and when I stopped it because of my job, I slowly gain the weight back.

But not to worry I'm going back to the viegar diet.

posted Mar 30th, 2009 11:43 am


joannieR

I just started the acv diet two days ago. I'm hoping that is works. My grandmother used it for years. That is why i want to do it now. Boy!, that lady had tons of energy all the time.

posted Mar 28th, 2009 1:53 am


Terra

Hi I started the diet three days ago, so far my weight has not changed. I also excerise 3-5 days a week, my weight is 180, my goal is 165 by june 1st. I have been using 2 tbl spoons is that correct or should it be 2 tsp.

posted Mar 27th, 2009 3:28 pm


laughing92

+

Hey everyone I just started the diet yesterday so hopefully things go well, although the taste isn't so great I learned to mix it with a glass of water and a few drops of honey, because honey is a lot healthier than sugar. Wish me luck everyone!!

posted Mar 24th, 2009 7:42 pm


Kourtney

+

I just started this diet last week. I put 2 tablespoons in crystal light twice a day. I use a straw so that my teeth have little contact. I guess it is working. I have lost 3 pounds. I am not giving up I have gotten used to the taste. I have to atlease finish the bottle..... Im keeping my fingers crossed!!! Good luck to everyone!

posted Mar 22nd, 2009 6:08 pm


Courtney

+

I cant stand the smell or taste so i mix mine with orange juice in a shot glass and down it, it makes it much easier. I've heard it will cure ulcers and arthritis. We'll see, I'm about 220 and my goal is 160. I have asthma so I cant exercise so I hope this works.

posted Mar 11th, 2009 5:32 am


fizzy

+

hey.. Terri, i have been taking acv for 4 months now and have lost 10 lbs.. i take it three times a day... started w/1tbs w/ a full glass of water in the morning 15 mins b4 breakfast and lunch and dinner then 1 tsp before bedtime... i moved up to 2 tbs each time after a week...

posted Mar 11th, 2009 12:16 am


Terri

Hey, I just started taking Apple Cider Vinegar today as advised by a friend of mine. He told me to drink it three times a day with a normal bottle of water, though he didn't specifically say how much of the Vinegar to use. He said something like a capful of the Vinegar, but I have been reading on here to do a tps in each bottle? Is this correct? I just don't want to use too much or too little. Please if anyone knows let me know, thanks. Also I just started taking seizure medication and would like to know if thats a problem? Though I wouldn't think it is. My friend who told me about this diet is taking it also and he also takes seizure medication. I am also taking multi-vitamin pills and fish oil pills. Any help will be appreciated, thanks.

posted Mar 6th, 2009 6:28 pm


rad

+

I've drank 2 oz twice daily for about 6 weeks for prostate condition...recovering from auto accident.I'm very inactive, was shocked, I lost 12 lbs.Went from 222 to210

posted Mar 2nd, 2009 2:58 pm



rebeccachanel

hey guys, i'm 110 and i'm goin to try this diet 2moro, wish me gd lucks guys! i'm goin to report back every week(:
love
rebecca chanel

posted Feb 22nd, 2009 5:44 am



Jeana68

I forgot to put my weight as of 2-15-09 I weigh 150ish lbs. My goal weight is 130ish lbs by this summer if not sooner. In my pic I think I weighed 140ish lbs. summer of 2008.

posted Feb 16th, 2009 12:55 am



Jeana68

Today I started taking Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar, organic raw unfiltered with the "Mother" in it to help me lose some weight. This stuff is nasty! But I'm willing to try it if it will help me shed some pounds. I was looking for something more natural for weight loss help and a friend who also takes ACV turned me on to this product.
It says to take 1 to 2 tsps with 8 oz. of water 3 times a day. Upon arising, mid-morning and mid-afternoon.
It doesn't say wether to drink it all at once or sip it for a couple of hours.
I read to sip it all through the day so that's what I did today. Anyone know which is best?
Also, if this works and knowing everyones different in average time what should I expect in changes in my body? As in weight lose and over-all health benefits.
I'm also taking other daily vitamins. Can they be affected if I take them with a few hours of drinking the cider?
Thanks for any help.

posted Feb 16th, 2009 12:46 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Detox diets, cleanses and fasts seem to be all the rage right now. From losing weight to ridding your body of toxins, many people swear by the effects of putting their bodies and minds through the challenge of a cleanse. One such popular cleansing diet is the apple cider vinegar program.

It's yet to be determined if the benefits of apple cider vinegar are worthwhile for weight loss. Even still, some suggest that the acidity of the vinegar mixed with the pectin found in apples can offer an easy answer to dropping pounds.

While pectin has been linked with lowering cholesterol, it's still unclear whether there is a connection with weight loss. A 2005 study of 12 people found that those who ate a piece of bread along with small amounts of white vinegar felt fuller and more satisfied than those who just ate the bread.

On the apple cider vinegar diet, you consume a few teaspoons of this pucker-worthy liquid a few times a day. Organic apple cider vinegar is a top-choice among enthusiasts.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Apple Cider Vinegar Diet is not expensive
  • Apple cider vinegar as a health tonic has shown positive results in animal studies
CON
  • No solid documented evidence of its benefits
  • Apple cider vinegar has a pungent taste
  • May cause stomach and throat irritation
  • Long-term use can cause bone loss and a potassium deficiency
  • Can interact with other medications
DIET and NUTRITION

Here is what you do on the apple cider vinegar diet: Take no more than three teaspoons of apple cider vinegar about 15 minutes before each meal. Regular users recommend prepping your stomach by taking one teaspoon to start with and easing into more.

The apple cider vinegar diet does not prescribe a menu or meal plan. Just eat in moderation with sensible portions and skip the snacks. Over time, the vinegar will decrease hunger and urges to nibble.

If the flavor becomes too much to handle, you can find apple cider vinegar tablets.

EXERCISE

Not really applicable since this address something very specific in the benefits of apple cider vinegar. But, the book does broach the subject a little.

CONCLUSION

Since the benefits of apple cider vinegar are still inconclusive, it’s hard to make a solid recommendation. Some research shows that it does have some health benefits like reducing cholesterol and as possible aid in weight loss. But since there are a few apparent serious risks involved, speak to your doctor before consuming apple cider vinegar, especially if you have osteoporosis or take any medications.

Common Misspellings

Apple Cider diet, Apple cider vinegar deit, Vinegar diet, Vinegar deit

Related Diets: Lemonade Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Botanic Choice Apple Cider Vinegar Plus , Hollywood Miracle Diet, Hoodia, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Apple Cider Vinegar Diet?