Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

32%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 100 reviews
Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Review: Does it Work?

Is the apple cider vinegar approach to weight loss sweet, or sour?

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Apple Cider Vinegar Diet is a weight loss solution that requires users to drink a vinegar solution before meals. No official guide is offered to help explain what is needed to follow this plan, but there are simple suggestions made.

There is no added meal plan and instead it’s advised to eat in moderation while using this diet. Apple cider vinegar has become a popular holistic food as it’s claimed to be able to promote many health benefits. Our review experts have analyzed many unique diets and they’ve concluded the best overall is the 18Shake Diet. It ranks high in customer satisfaction due to its appetite suppressing meal replacement and fat burning diet pill. They help to increase weight loss without the use of stimulants, artificial ingredients, or fillers. Learn more information about the 18Shake Diet when you click on the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The outline for this diet is simple, it has no official recipe, meal plan, or menu offered. It’s only advised to eat in moderation and to avoid snacking.

One has to take 3 teaspoons of apple cider vinegar around 15 minutes before eating a meal. One teaspoon is advised for first time users of apple cider vinegar, as it can be difficult to swallow. For a comprehensive list of the highest rated diets, click on the link here.

The reason why this diet was created was due to a 12 person study which showed that people who ate white vinegar with bread felt fuller than those who only ate the bread by itself. Still, it’s inconclusive since there were only 12 participants.

This diet is also said to increase overall health, though any weight loss benefits are said to be gradual and not all encompassing. It still requires having to control calorie intake, though no suggestions are offered as to what one should eat or how limited one’s food selections should be.Therefore, there’snot much available support given to followers of this diet.

Web MD also cited a study which used vinegar as a weight loss tool:

“175 obese but healthy people tool either vinegar or water daily for 12 weeks. Their diets were similar”

“At the end of the study, those who used vinegar lost slightly more weight on average. The vinegar group lost 1-2 pounds over the 3-month period. They gained it all back after the study was over”

While this study did show someweight loss, there wasn’t much benefit to it. A small 1 to 2 pounds of weight loss is not much at all. People also regained all their weight, so it was not a lasting effect.

 A dietician named Debbie Davis also mentions how vinegar might work:

“may have some benefits in terms of weight loss and weight management, but it is definitely not a quick fix”

It does have an effect on controlling blood sugar, but taking apple cider vinegar in high amounts and on an empty stomach can promote side effects such as:

Increased acid production in the stomach, difficulty swallowing, and nausea.

         • Increased burping, throat damage, and upset stomach.

It can also be difficult to drink straight shots of vinegar since it’s acidic and it has a very sour taste.

Other issues are mentioned by Web MD:

“It’s so acidic that it could harm our tooth enamel and your esophagus”

This is why it’s often advised to take only small amounts and to dilute it with water. It’s unknown if this is allowed while doing the Apple Cider Vinegar Diet.

Our experts have created a list of the very best weight loss diets in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Quality of Ingredients

The diet is simple; it only requires eating sensibly while introducing apple cider vinegar before meals. There’sno much available support, and there’s no recommendations for foods.

While apple cider vinegar can be healthy, it’s not enough to promote well rounded weight loss. Taking it on its own can be potentially harmful especially when drank repeatedly and on an empty stomach. This diet requires it to be taken just before meals which can strain the body.

Due to the potential side effects and lack of quality information about how potent it is for weight loss, it’s an overall poor diet. To see which diets were rated as the best for weight loss, click the link cited here.

The Price and Quality of Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Apple cider vinegar is the only food which is specificallyrecommended to be taken. It’s typically sold in a glass jug for just a few dollars. Since this diet requires 3 tablespoons before meals, it’s likely one will have to buy in bulk.

There’s not much support offered by this diet however, as it’s basically explained in just a few sentences. No information is provided at all on what kinds of foods to use, instead it’s essentially advised to make sure to eat healthy and add apple cider vinegar. While this is a simple request, it’s unknown if this would be enough to promote long lasting or effective weight loss results.

The few studies available have only shown slight weight loss in a few groups. It’s unclear if this is a safe diet to use repeatedly and for a long time. Our experts have created a comprehensive list of the highest ranking weight loss diets available here.

Business of Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

There’s no informationavailable to help show who created this diet, and no book or official guide is available anywhere. This makes it impossible to ask the creators any information about how to use this diet, or to learn of any tips.

The basics are outlined in a few websites that do not mention where they found information about this diet. This makes it impossible to determine why they suggest 3 tablespoons every day before each meal. It’s important to verify if this is the optimal amount, as it can be difficult to drink this much.

They also fail to mention whether or not one can dilute the vinegar with water or other liquids.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Apple Cider Vinegar Diet

Very few reviews are available online, as there are other diets which also use apple cider vinegar as a main ingredient. Many users have confused these diets and often comment on different diets without mentioning their official names.

Here are some reviews from those who have introduced apple cider vinegar into their diets:

“its not working with me”

“it is hard to swallow”

“My throat is still burning this morning”

“couldn’t get past the horrible taste heartburn, and being so thirsty. Also made me feel a little strange, kinda spacey”

It was hard for many to swallow this much apple cider vinegar. People oftencomplained about side effects such as heartburn, sore throat, nausea, inability to enjoy foods, and increased acidity.

When taking largeamounts of apple cider vinegar, it’s likely to promote increased stomach acids which can make eating more difficult. However, it can also promote side effects such as the one’s customers have listed above.

There were some that did manage to lose weight, but it’s unclear if this is a healthy approach to weight loss. There’s nothing in apple cider vinegar alone which is known to help promote any long lasting weight loss effects.

Click the link cited here for a comprehensive listing of the top ranked weight loss diets.

Conclusion - Does Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Work?

The Apple Cider Vinegar Diet has a very simple premise; it calls for eating in moderation and taking 3 tablespoons of this vinegar before meals. There is no official guide or website which claims to have created this diet. There are only a few sentences which help explain it. It’s unknown whether or not it would be safe to use repeatedly, or why it specified a specific 3 tablespoons. Without more information, it’s impossible to determine whether or not it was created with legitimatescience in mind. There were also mixed reviews from some people only experiencing side effects and others with modest weight loss. It’s unlikely to produce any long lasting effects however, as there’s no evidence to help support this exact diet.

Our review experts have reviewed many diets and the most effective one for weight loss was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of anappetitesuppressingmealreplacement that relieves hunger for hours, and a fat burning diet pill that helps to increase metabolism. Both have only natural ingredients without any stimulants, fillers, preservatives or fillers. They also have been rate highly by users who have leftpositivetestimonials and reviews on the official website.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by an entire 30 day money back return policy. This allows for a risk free purchase that can be returned with no questions asked. Learn more about the benefits of the 18Shakle Diet by clicking the link here.

How Does Apple Cider Vinegar Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Apple Cider Vinegar Diet
  • 32 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 14, 271 total comments)

Kathleen

+

My 87 year old grandmother has been taking ACV for years and she is in good health. I think I will try it and see!

posted Nov 8th, 2008 7:03 pm


Meisha

+

I have to agree with Reecee. When I first started this diet I had regular ACV but then I tried the organic as I kept reading that it was the correct one. They both curbed my appetite but the thing I noticed about the store ACV is that it smelled stronger than the organic and it actually gave me a bit of heartburn. That's why I stick with the organic now. Just a personal choice.

posted Nov 7th, 2008 9:42 am


sherry

+

Im startin the apple cider vinegar 2 day i will get back with u all in 2 weeks. Good luck 2 me

posted Nov 6th, 2008 10:57 pm


reecee

+

Hi Jill and the rest of the gang. From what I have noticed, it does not have to be the organic, it does not work any better or faster than the store name brand acv. I started using the acv and then stopped due to my own lack of dedication. However for the last week I have been taking 2 tablespoons a day and I have lost 6 pounds. I take 1 tablespoon before breakfast and dinner. After reading the post I will add the 1/2 tablespoon at bedtime. I mix mines with 1/2 cup of cold water and drink fast. I have gotten used to the taste. Good luck to everyone that has started and keep us posted on your progress.

posted Nov 4th, 2008 11:40 pm


Gina

+

I just started the apple cider vinegar tonight. Will let you know how it is going in two weeks. I have been taking vinegar for acid reflux for about a year and am no longer on Prevacid. I now switched to raw unfiltered organic vinegar for the diet.

posted Nov 3rd, 2008 7:44 pm


Joy

+

I just heard about this yesterday. I tried it today and it's amazing how it kills your appetite. I researched it online and it has to be ORGANIC...it may cost more but it's chaper than lipo...

posted Nov 2nd, 2008 9:19 pm


Meisha

+

I have tried the apple cider vinegar for about 4 days now. It has helped me with my appetite quite a bit! And my cravings for sweets has grown weaker too. I'll be weighing myself in about a week & a half to see where I am! I'm very excited!

posted Nov 2nd, 2008 8:10 pm


kathy

+

I am starting this diet today, 2 tsp apple cider vinegar, 1 tsp honey and a glass of water. I have been having acid reflux and the doctor wanted to put me on Prevacid, I didn't like the side effects and cost of this, so i researched a natural method and found this out. I also need to lose 20 lbs, so hopefully it helps with that as well. I'll let you know.

posted Oct 30th, 2008 10:08 am


Kara

+

I started today, 2 tablespoons of Braggs, raw/unfiltered with "the mother" in a small amount of warm water and 2 tablespoons of honey. The smell is awful but down it, quickly, after the first day i feel more energized, my chest congestion is gone, im feelin good i will keep you posted!

posted Oct 29th, 2008 11:06 pm


Cindy

+

Jill, I have noticed that no one ever answers the question about the quality of the apple cider vinegar. I assume from the lack of response that it isn't important. I read a few articles on this diet and one of the articles said...."Some of the fanatics use organic." If you can substitute tablets in place of the vinegar then it can't be too big of a deal, right? (I am using Heinz ACV.) I've also read that the bedtime amount should be 1/2 of what you take at meals.

posted Oct 28th, 2008 8:17 am


Jill

+

I am starting today. Can someone tell me how much I should be using and WHEN to do it? I was thinking I will do it before meals, but how much? And...before bed time...how much?

ALSO....is regular ACV ok??? It is not the name brand...like Bragg....and it doesn't say raw or unfiltered.

posted Oct 27th, 2008 1:01 pm


Cindy

+

Since nothing else I've tried has worked, i am willing to try the ACV diet. I am starting today (10/27) I will keep you updated. So far, after drinking the ACV with water, everything I eat & drink afterwards seems to taste like vinegar and that is killing my appetite. Is this true with anyone else?

posted Oct 27th, 2008 11:33 am


Nicole

+

I am doing the South Beach Diet and working out to get back into shape after the birth of my baby. So I am considering adding this to the mix. I went to buy some today, but I had heard from someone that it needs to be organic/unpasturized/unfiltered. Is that the case? The cost is like 10 times more that the regular cooking kind. Anyone know? Thanks.

posted Oct 25th, 2008 6:35 pm


Nicole

+

I am doing the South Beach Diet and working out to get back into shape after the birth of my baby. So I am considering adding this to the mix. I went to buy some today, but I had heard from someone that it needs to be organic/unpasturized/unfiltered. Is that the case? The cost is like 10 times more that the regular cooking kind. Anyone know? Thanks.

posted Oct 25th, 2008 6:35 pm


tamika

+

my friend used ACV when she lost her job(job helped her put on 30 plus lbs.) and in just 1 month she lost 20 lbs. this is no lie i saw her just about daily and she was literally waisting away....without flabby skin!!! I had 2 kids back to back and i now want to lose the last 20 lbs of baby weight. i have been taking ACV before each meal and before bed for only 5 days....i can already see my love handles and stomach waisting away. My husband even notices already. i recommend this to anyone.

posted Oct 21st, 2008 11:08 am


Penny

+

Alright now, I have been on this diet sort of on and off since end of september. I have lost 1 LB ONLY... I had stopped my crazy running since I had my female problem in between. No sure if this diet is really worthed. I am having better luck with TEA. Indian Masala Tea. I drink 1 cup and I am set for the day. I hardly feel hungry, bowel movement has been great (guranteed within 20 min for me). For right now I am I am trying to use both: Tea + Apple cider Vinegar. But I am not able to, since I don't feel hungry from the tea, and when I do feel hungry I have very little to eat and I am done. AAHHH!!! JUST LAST ABOUT 8 MORE LBS TO GO!!!!

posted Oct 9th, 2008 12:14 pm


reecee

+

Hi Penny,
My friend was close to 300 lbs, but it wasn't until his second month taking the acv that he actually started losing the weight and looking good. I know for me, I have not lost much, but I don't want to give up. I am trying very hard to stay focus. I am also starting to incorporate exercise. Have you lost any lbs?

posted Oct 8th, 2008 8:44 pm


Penny

+

Thanks Reecee. Only thing is, I am not able to drink much water, I will try though. I have started running. I am doing about 5 miles a day. Goal is to do 30 miles total per week for 4 weeks (in the morning I have been drinking water since I am running now). I do agree, it does suppress appetite, with just few bites I feel like I am stuffed if not I have already over eaten sometimes. Ok now Reecee main question for you is: you said your friend lost 30 lb. How much did he weight before + how tall is he? Keep in mind I am only 4'11. I weight about 109 right now. I am only trying to loose last FEW lb. If someone have a whole lot of weight to loose, then yes it is bit more easier to loose weight (atleast from my experience I can say).

posted Oct 7th, 2008 12:57 am


reecee

Penny, I haven't had much luck on this diet, but I believe it work as my fried at work tried it and he lost 30 lbs in the past 2 months. What he told me is that it takes about 30 days before you start to see some results. Also, in regards to the bowel movement, you have to drink a lot of water and you may try drinking some green tea. This helps with the bowel movement.

posted Oct 1st, 2008 6:37 pm


Penny

9/31/08 No weight change yet, in last 3 days. Insted I am not able to poop. I have started working out as of yesterday. Lets see what happens. I am willing ot give at least 1 more week to see results.

posted Oct 1st, 2008 12:18 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Detox diets, cleanses and fasts seem to be all the rage right now. From losing weight to ridding your body of toxins, many people swear by the effects of putting their bodies and minds through the challenge of a cleanse. One such popular cleansing diet is the apple cider vinegar program.

It's yet to be determined if the benefits of apple cider vinegar are worthwhile for weight loss. Even still, some suggest that the acidity of the vinegar mixed with the pectin found in apples can offer an easy answer to dropping pounds.

While pectin has been linked with lowering cholesterol, it's still unclear whether there is a connection with weight loss. A 2005 study of 12 people found that those who ate a piece of bread along with small amounts of white vinegar felt fuller and more satisfied than those who just ate the bread.

On the apple cider vinegar diet, you consume a few teaspoons of this pucker-worthy liquid a few times a day. Organic apple cider vinegar is a top-choice among enthusiasts.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Apple Cider Vinegar Diet is not expensive
  • Apple cider vinegar as a health tonic has shown positive results in animal studies
CON
  • No solid documented evidence of its benefits
  • Apple cider vinegar has a pungent taste
  • May cause stomach and throat irritation
  • Long-term use can cause bone loss and a potassium deficiency
  • Can interact with other medications
DIET and NUTRITION

Here is what you do on the apple cider vinegar diet: Take no more than three teaspoons of apple cider vinegar about 15 minutes before each meal. Regular users recommend prepping your stomach by taking one teaspoon to start with and easing into more.

The apple cider vinegar diet does not prescribe a menu or meal plan. Just eat in moderation with sensible portions and skip the snacks. Over time, the vinegar will decrease hunger and urges to nibble.

If the flavor becomes too much to handle, you can find apple cider vinegar tablets.

EXERCISE

Not really applicable since this address something very specific in the benefits of apple cider vinegar. But, the book does broach the subject a little.

CONCLUSION

Since the benefits of apple cider vinegar are still inconclusive, it’s hard to make a solid recommendation. Some research shows that it does have some health benefits like reducing cholesterol and as possible aid in weight loss. But since there are a few apparent serious risks involved, speak to your doctor before consuming apple cider vinegar, especially if you have osteoporosis or take any medications.

Common Misspellings

Apple Cider diet, Apple cider vinegar deit, Vinegar diet, Vinegar deit

Related Diets: Lemonade Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Botanic Choice Apple Cider Vinegar Plus , Hollywood Miracle Diet, Hoodia, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Apple Cider Vinegar Diet?