Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

77%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 271 reviews

Slim Shots

Appetite control without side effects.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2008
  • Founder: Royal DSM
  • Headquarters: Heerlen, Netherlands
  • Accessibility: Online, retail locations
  • Diet Type: Supplement, appetite suppressant
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

If you're looking to curb your appetite, now you can take a shot. Slim Shots triggers the body's natural appetite control mechanism, also known as the ileal brake, satisfying users for long periods of time and in turn, allowing them to eat less, without sacrificing or depriving themselves of tasty foods. You can drink Slim Shots by itself or mix it with your favorite food or drink.

For the best results, you take two shots a day (20 calories each) the first week, then after that, just once during breakfast. Slim Shots is supposed to start working a couple hours after you take it. It has no stimulants, so there are no jittery side effects.

The company rightly advises that you need to do Slim Shots in conjunction with a balanced diet and exercise.

PRO
  • The Slim Shots website offers clinical studies
  • It doesn't act like a cure all, stating that you need to live a healthy lifestyle as well
  • Convenient cups travel with you
  • No side effects
CON
  • Slim Shot is not FDA approved
  • There isn't a clear and concise idea of how it actually works, doesn't give specifics about how the ingredients affect change
  • Each shot contains 20 calories
  • Ingredient Phenylalanine (50% of aspartame), can have dangerous effects for diabetics and those with ADD/ADHD
  • Should not be taken by those patients with PKU
INGREDIENTS

Slim Shots contains natural oat, palm oil, artificial vanilla flavor, sweetener, aspartame (Phenylalanine) and beta carotene color.

Phenylalanine makes of 50% of aspartame, an artificial sweetner commonly used in diet products. ADD/ADHD patients and diabetics may experience negative side effects as a result of consuming this ingredient. Those with PKU, or at risk for PKU, should avoid Phenylalanine as it can cause brain damage or even death.

EXERCISE

Unlike many other supplement websites, the Slim Shots site gives relatively in-depth nutritional advice. The exercise advice is very rudimentary: Commit to work out three times a week for 30 to 45 minutes. It also advises that you join a fitness class or devise a home workout routine that incorporates both aerobic and strength training.

CONCLUSION

The editorial tone on the Slim Shots website doesn't lead you to believe that the company is in the snake oil business. There are clinical studies posted, and good advice about how you should eat and exercise. Even though the language is not over-hyped, there still is some question as to how Slim Shots actually works.

Ultimately, it's up to the consumer to decide if it's worth, um, a shot.

Common Misspellings

SlimShots, SlimShot, Slim Shot, Slimming Shot, Slimming Shots, slimshots.com


Related Diets: Akavar, Alli, CreVax, Hydroxycut, SlimShot Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 27, 526 total comments)

Sheila

I've been on these 3 days & have lost 3lbs wooooooo hooooo :))))))

posted Apr 21st, 2012 1:40 pm


Millie

I bought these last summer in preparation for my holiday.

At first I didn't think they would work, but the morning shot with breakfast seemed to settle me throughout the day, where I was finding myself not needing the last shot ( Probably not suppose to do that)
Although at the time I didn't think they were helping, looking back they definitely did. I was skinnier, I was not as hungry every day as I am now. Looking back at pictures of myself while I was on the slim shot, I was at least a stone lighter in weight.

How ever I am only 9 stone at the moment, and I do attend the gym 3 times a week, and I'm a guilty eater so I try and go for the lower calorie foods; I would assume this helped the slim shots work more than anything.

However the drinks aren't very nice, and are quite a hassle to remember when running a busy lifestyle, but once you've got them down they're fine.

Would recommend people to try slim shot for a month with exercise and a low fat diet. The shots do help limit your appetite, making dieting easier ( in my opinion)

posted Apr 20th, 2012 4:53 pm


Katie

Started using slimshots a few days ago, was skeptical, but have been really, really not having a lot of control lately. I really feel like it's working, I just am not hungry. And that's the other thing, you don't feel really anything, just not hungry. There have been a few times that I wanted to snack out of habit, but made myself drink water instead. Anyways, I am pleasantly surprised and will continue using.

posted Nov 29th, 2011 4:31 am


chanathip

?ั??ะลอ??รั??แรก??วั??รุ???ี?

posted Sep 29th, 2011 11:57 am


Melissa

This product DID NOT work for me; on the contrary, it made me more hungry! I DO NOT recommend it!

posted Sep 7th, 2011 1:31 pm


Rachel King

If you like drinking ipecac syrup you'll like drinking theses, they taste horrible. BUT once you get past the taste, the product works great. No jitters, no nausia, it just curbs your appitite very well.

posted Jul 28th, 2011 4:07 pm


nancy

I took it yesterday morning at 9:30 and forgot about food until 4pm. It works.

posted Jul 20th, 2011 12:41 pm


John Richards

I have used these previously but didn't stick to them because of the cost. However Netto recently had them on offer so I bought a job lot of them. I have started again this week and I have found that they help me to feel full for longer so I have been less inclined to eat more (snacking was my major downfall previously).
They don't taste great but they are not objectionable and the taste grows on you - I have found it best to take with filtered ice-cold water from the fridge although this does slow down the dissolving time, so I pop the 'tablet' in the water before I make my meals such that they are then generally ready to have as an accompaniament to my meals. I generally now have the solution instead of any other drink with my meals so I am consuming less tea and coffee. I note that some people are saying they are dissolving the tablets in coffee and I wonder if this is adviseable as the instructions say to dissolve in water.
I see people claiming to have lost 0.6 pounds of weight; this really is insignificant as it is within the margin of error of most scales and such weight variations are generally attributable to changes in water content in the body and through gains and losses through eating and ellimination. Also many people when starting a new supplement or tablet system will also either subconciously or deliberately alter their diet and excercise plan meaning that it is not always possible to attribute transient weight loss to a tablet or plan. I will give the Slimshots a couple of months before passing judgement. Though given the costs of at least £6.00 for 14 days I can't help feeling that the money might better be spent on healthier food options or visists to a gym or other means of liesure.

posted Jul 7th, 2011 9:23 am


Tammy

I'm on day 2 and I had to make myself eat. I have no appetite at all. YAAAAY!!!

posted Jun 20th, 2011 9:06 pm


Melinda

It works like it says it should !!! I stoped feeling hunger a few hours after taking it =) and the taste really is not that bad !!!

posted Jun 20th, 2011 2:37 pm


elizabeth

I am on my third day of slim shots, and it tastes real bad, I dont know if it is going to work yet, I hope it does, it does seem to make me fuller but we shell see, I will git back to you.

posted Jun 13th, 2011 12:17 pm


minnie1984

i only started this yesterday only cost me £6.00 from netto lol saved £4.00 per box so got 2 why are people saying they arre not working after jsut 3 days i am going to give them at least a week i dont think thye taste great but not half as bad as some are saying i have gone down by0.6 of a lb since yesterday morning i am really hoping this weeks i am going to give it at least a week and i have found they taste great with apple and blackcurrent flavoured water fingers crossed they work i am also going to be doing a hour of fitness circuit,a hr boxercise,a hr zumba and a hr aerobics a week to help my self get healthier and fitter and slimmer

posted Jun 2nd, 2011 12:26 pm


minnie1984

hi all i got these tablets from netto for £6.00 a box started yesterday i add these to apple and blackcurrent flavoured water i drink between 4-6 500ml bottles a day i have lost 0.6of a lb since yesterday morning i know i can not judge it for at least a week but i am hoping this means they are going to be good for me as i desperatly need to lsoe around 3 stoner

posted Jun 2nd, 2011 11:40 am


Chris

First shot this morning and the taste made me nauseous. Mixed it with my coffee and the taste still made me gag. I will find something else to try that my stomach can handle. Thumbs down on the taste.

posted May 21st, 2011 9:47 am


Brenda

Ok, this is my first day, put the first shot in my coffe this morning...had yogurt for breakfast, then banana for snack, then another shot for lunch with 2 crunchy tacos with a slim fast..I don't think it is working.....

posted May 10th, 2011 12:22 pm


Jessica

I love this product! I can't take the usual diet products because I cannot deal with the side effects of feeling anxious and not being able to sleep at night. It's fairly priced which is one reason I gave it a try. I haven't wanted to snack since I've been taking these. I just wish they tasted better but I can deal with the taste since it does work for me along with exercise. I hope to see better results from exercising now because I won't be late night snacking anymore.

posted Apr 20th, 2011 9:27 pm


liz

Did not work!

posted Apr 15th, 2011 7:29 pm


giset

Why is Slim Shots losing efficacy on the 3rd week? I hope this is not a trend, everything was going fine but I have been taking 2 cups per day, because I am feeling is not as effective anymore.I hope is just something brief. I was really happy with the products. This is the 3 week and I do not feel it as strong as it was in the beginning.

posted Apr 14th, 2011 4:17 pm


Giset

I have not had any diarrhea. i lost 2 pounds in a week. Considering I had a cold and I did not exercise as much as I usually do, is awesome. I hope to lose 2 more this week. I have not felt any side effects so far. I have recommended this to everybody in my work.

posted Apr 12th, 2011 12:36 pm


Karen

With all the oil in it, does it cause diarrhea??

posted Apr 7th, 2011 7:43 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account