Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 302 reviews

Medifast

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein
BACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

Author

by


Related Diets: Slim-Fast, Bistro MD, DineWise, Nutrisystem, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 21, 413 total comments)

Sonya

So my mom started the medifast program about 3 weeks ago, and has already lost 15 pounds! I jumped on the first chance to buy myself the program since I've been stuck at a plateau for over a month. It's been 3 days and I'm finally getting over that hump. I feel great, the food is a little tricky to figure out the consistency and cooking it properly. Last thing you want to do is waste your money by over cooking (chili) or over watering (pancakes). It's not gourmet food and takes a little getting use to but you learn to like it real quick once you start seeing results. Enjoy your one Lean green meal a day, that meal will help you continue to the next day.

posted Apr 16th, 2011 10:22 am


Kim

I have been on this only a week but have already lost 5 lbs. I need to lose about 25 lbs. A co worker of mine has lost 100 lbs in 5 months on it. The food is ok and not great. The fact you eat 5 small meals throughout the day and then one lean and green..makes this very do-able. I am hardly every hungry. The brownie is good and I eat it at night before I go to bed. I do like the beef stew, choc shake, PB choc crunch bar is ok not great, pancakes are ok not great (with sugar free syrup). I do not care for the tomato soup, what sucks is that you get 7 of each food item so if you dont like it you are stuck with 6 more to eat.

For people who want to lose weight and want prepared meals this is a GREAT way but of course you have to change your eating habits permanently to have long term success. Peace.

posted Apr 16th, 2011 3:22 am


Bethany

I just started nthis 3 days ago and the food is not very good but i believe the results will be worth it. I was so hungry the first day second a little but feeling great now, more energy and not hungry at all just have to be patient. Im doing this because I saw results didnt read on internet and they were incredible my mom was a size 18 appx 9 months ago she is a 4 now and so skinny I have never seen her this small beore and the best part is due to her bad leg she couldent exersize and still lost it now im going to exersize with it and hope to loose 30lbs by mid summer.....

posted Apr 7th, 2011 12:35 pm


Success!

I did lose 20lbs in the month of February 2011and maintained the weight loss during March 2011. February weight loss was from meals only and no exercise. Now, I'm getting started again with the meals and exercising. I plan to see even better results.

posted Apr 7th, 2011 11:36 am


Tibbits

I Have been on medifast for 12 weeks now, and i have lost 45 pounds so far. if your like me and have 100+ pounds to lose this plan is a lifesaver. its easy to fallow and convient if your on the go like me. just try it, you'll be glad you did.

posted Apr 6th, 2011 11:27 am


merrie

Iv been on the plan 4 days and iv lost 5 pounds, yes most of the food is horrible but there are crunch bars, shakes. pretzles, cheese puffs that are very good, I dont feel hungry at all.

posted Apr 4th, 2011 9:08 pm


Robin Davis

I lost 29 lbs in the 1st 15 weeks & I'm still loosing. My husband lost 30+ in 13 weeks. He's now completely off 2 prescription meds for type II diabetes, hypertension & cholesterol and takes 1 & 1/2 pills per day instead of 12 (twelve). The 5 meals aren't gourmet, but they are EASY - and with some added spices, not bad. The daily lean & green IS gourmet - we make sure of that! Together we've lost over 75 lbs in a little over 3 months eating things like grilled salmon, halibut, steak, lobster, chicken and romaine salad, asparagus, spinach or other veggies. On average 2.5 - 3 lbs per week. Not just the best but the ONLY thing I've found that works AND is healthy.

posted Mar 31st, 2011 2:02 am


erika

Don't worry...after a few days that horrible food will really taste good. I had to force it down at first and I think the vitamins in it were making me feel sick. After about 3 days I was feeling better and I could eat it!I've been on the plan for 9 days and have lost 13 lbs. Try to be patient!

posted Mar 30th, 2011 10:26 pm


Annie

I need to know how to eat horrible food 5x a day for months? What is the key to doing this?I started today and I am shocked at how horrible this food really is! How can anybody choke down 5 of these meals per day. Like the other reader said the oatmeal was dreadful. I spent $160 on these meal replacements and I want and need this to work REALLY badly but how realistic is it that I have to force myself to do something so unpleasant for months? Reading these comments makes me wonder how valid they are. Are all of you true customers or are you salespeople for MediFast? I need to know the key to this system. Do many people just find a couple of items that are tolerable and stick to them?

posted Mar 28th, 2011 11:04 am


Cathy

I have been 50-60 lbs over weight most of my life, since I was 15 years old. My father and mother struggled with being over weight and my father dies at 52 of a massive heart attack and my mother died of cancer when she was 51. My 5 brothers and 2 sisters are all obese. I have had 6 children, but I can't used that excuse anymore since my youngest is 24.
I have been on Medifast for 3 weeks and have lost 14 lbs. It is a life changing experience for me. My husband eats the lean and greens with me, so he is learning to eat better also. It does require discipline and does cost some money to join and buy the weekly foods and vitamins. I believe you get what you pay for. I think I'm worth the money, time and energy to stay on this program. I'd recommend this diet to anyone who needs to lose weight and has the discipline to stay on it.
I love medifast, it is an answer to my weight loss battle. Please consider what you're doing to your body, spirit and life when you're overweight, and join today.
You will feel like a different person.
You can do it!!

posted Mar 27th, 2011 11:20 pm


Angela

Okay I LOVE this program. I lost twenty pounds in less than a month and hardly worked out.

The food isn't as bad as everyone says it is. HELLO YOU ARE OVERWEIGHT FOR A REASON! If you can get over the midset that everything has to taste amazing, and realize you are only eating to fuel your body, then you're golden.

The thing about it is, being overweight we think that it all has to taste good, but that's just your mind, not your body. Your body doesn't care about taste, you're head does. I for one am not going to let my head control me.

I love my health coach, we chat every week for my weight-in. She was on the program and there are a lot of people around here that have lost tons of weight doing this and that's what i'm looking to do.

If you can break through the mentality of food, you're set. If not, if you LOVE food and want it, then this isn't for you.

posted Mar 23rd, 2011 2:47 pm


Charrice

Love the program. Had 25lbs to lose. Like the snack/meal idea. Fits my lifestyle really well. Have lost 15lbs in 3 weeks.....10 more and I know that my Health Coach will help me keep it off!!

posted Mar 21st, 2011 4:01 pm


barb

Medifast physical location plans are extremely deceptive. I ??joined?? the location in the woodlands off of hwy 242- they pitch a 70.00 a week food fee which is accurate. But what they do not tell you is that unless you sign a contract for a 2000.00 fee ?? supposedly for their counseling ?? you can??t be part of the program. If you want to do this, do it on the internet DO NOT use a physical location.

posted Mar 20th, 2011 2:32 pm


Sue

Just started today with the 4 week package and I'm feeling hopeful. The food I've tasted so far is absolutely dreadful. I had to literally choke down the oatmeal- it tasted and smelled exactly like baby formula. But, it definitely took my appetite away:) I'm looking to lose 40 pounds and really looking at this as a way to get a good kick start. After reading some of the posts, I'm concerned about putting the weight right back on. But, I guess we'll see!

posted Mar 17th, 2011 1:43 pm


twyla

I have been on this program for one month and have lost nothing at all! I have continued my normal exercise routine, not cheated once and still havent lost any weight. My health counseor is no help. Hardly talks to me. Takes days to answer emails or return phone calls. Then says she doesnt know why its not working. DUH!! Called nutritionist on staff, they said "increase exercise" was already doing 60 to 70 minutes a day how much more do they want me to increase?? I want to lose 40 pounds to get to my pre kids weight again. I am 10 pounds over my optimal weight scale for my heighth. Maybe this diet only works for people who need significant weight loss. So far havent noticed any difference in myself. Still weigh the same and still on the meds they said I would be off of...HA....Feel ripped off. The soups are HORRIBLE, no matter how you fix them. The bars are okay as are the puddings and shakes. The oatmeal is okay if you prepare it differently. However, it is all powdered so if you go somewhere it is difficult to take with you and prepare especially without access to a microwave! I have spent 671.00 so far and according to my results was just money down the drain!

posted Mar 16th, 2011 7:28 pm


Sharon

Very effective, if you can stick with it. I lost 16 lbs. before a vacation, with plans to continue after. But just couldn't get back into the plan. I craved SOLID food, had to add things to Medifast to make it more appitizing, such as salsa to the chili, calorie-free carmel sauce-powder creamer-or dried fruit to oatmeal, etc. After staying on plan for a couple months, just don't want to eat the food. End up cheating. And my family ends up eating less healthy, kid-friendly food.
I've been trying the "New Abs Diet Cookbook" and "Eat This, Not That". Whole family loves it so far. And you eat REAL food. And learn how to eat for life. I think I could stick with this.

posted Mar 15th, 2011 7:21 pm


Katie

Well, I'm the person that cries every time you bring up weight...at 21 I'm close to 200 lbs which mostly I blame college binges for. However next year I'm getting married and after seeing my aunt and mom go from size 16-18 to being smaller than my friends I figured its probably time to start. It is also easy for the college lifestyle because most of the food we get is on the go anyways, and actually saves money instead of buying take out for everywhere. I'll keep you guys updated how I'm doing, but honestly, I have a lot of hope, especially because this has worked for all my relatives who are terrified of an elliptical.

As for the people who say it is all about money, why pay for the counseling? Go online and blog! Also, the food prices really isn't bad because youre not eating out! If I can do this on a college budget, I think anyone can. I understand it might be hard with family members but also think that it can help them lose weight because you're not bringing all that crap into the house, and making healthier meals.

I have always hated diets, and the hundreds of failures, but I actually like these bars so far I'm excited to see the results I keep hearing on here!

I'm curious did most people work out or not?


Good luck to all but also remember its not all about being skinny.

posted Mar 14th, 2011 4:59 pm


getting there

I have been on Take Shape for Life a Medifast Program for 6 weeks. I have lost nearly 20lbs. I have way more energy and actually look forward to working out. I am never hungry. Some food really bad but since you can do exchanges that is not a big deal. I am huge fan of the shakes, bars, and eggs. There are ton of ways you can make the food better. I have 60 lbs to go and I am confident for the first time in my life time of dieting I will make it. This has been a great tool to help change my priorities.

posted Mar 14th, 2011 3:44 pm


viv

Went into the Medifast clinic and laid down $1400 for their plan, not including the food. Then I came online and realized that I could just have the food delivered and skip all the silly counseling stuff they shoved at me ... for $1400. My feeling is that I can buy a heck of a lot of personal training hours for $1400. The food is okay, but I'm skeptical of so much super-processed junk and have shifted to nutritious mini-meals every two hours. I'm having success and feel healthy. The four days I spent on this diet, before I went and asked for my money back, I did not feel healthy. I felt horrible.

posted Mar 8th, 2011 5:08 pm


Annie

I've been on Medifast for 6 days now and have lost 5 lbs. This is astronaut food -- and not good at all. I joke with everyone that I don't look forward to my next meal therefore I'm not hungry. LOL HOWEVER, it is easy for me to follow, and effective. So, I'm sticking to it!

posted Mar 8th, 2011 3:38 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account