Home > Diets > Medifast Diet Navigation
User Rating

95%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 384 reviews
Medifast

Medifast Diet Review (UPDATED 2017): Does it Really Work?

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

Start the Medifast Diet with 40% OFF
WHAT IS IT?

Medifast Diet is a weight loss plan offering over 70 prepackaged foods, and suggestions for healthy meals. The plan offers 6 meals a day, with an eating schedule that allows meals every 3 to 4 hours.

The diet plan is also known as the Medifast Achieve plan, and it’s said to be the company’s easiest and most convenient weight loss strategy. It’s made to help promote weight loss while still preserving lean muscle mass. Even after one finishes losing weight, the diet plan is meant to help give people lifelong support for overall health and weight maintenance. Our experts conducted many reviews and found that this was the most effective diet plan. It offers an easy to follow and supportive system to help provide functional weight loss results. For a discount on the Medifast Diet plan click on this link.

MEDIFAST DIET INGREDIENTS AND SIDE EFFECTS

Here are some notable ingredients added to Medifast’s prepackaged foods:

Whey Protein Isolate

Organic Cracked Wheat

Milk Protein Concentrate

Dehydrated Carrots

Canola Oil

Potassium Chloride

Ascorbic Acid

Riboflavin

Resistant Corn Starch

Calcium Caseinate

Oat Fiber

Vitamin K1

Whey Protein Concentrate

Chicory Root Extract (Inulin)

Peanut Flour

Whey Protein Isolate: A by product extracted whenever cheese is made, this highly bioavailable form of protein is known for its ability to suppress appetite for hours. It’s also rich in amino acids and it is composed of a minimum of 90% protein by weight.

Organic Cracked Wheat: Ground up wheat kernels which are high in fiber and trace minerals. This is organic and therefore is free of any GMO’s or harsh processing which can have remains of dangerous pesticides.

Potassium Chloride: This provides the mineral potassium which is useful for regulating the proper functioning of nerves, muscles, and other vital organs.

Chicory Root Extract (Inulin): Woody plant that has trace vitamins and minerals and which can be used to aid digestion. This has been shown to be likely safe when used in allowable amounts. Inulin is a starchy substance that can be found naturally in chicory. It is beneficial for supporting healthy gut bacteria, as it is not digestible and can instead feed microflora.

Read more about the benefits of Medifast Diet when you visit their official website cited in this link.

Web MD has this to say about the Medifast Diet:

“enriched with nutrients to help offset any deficiency that may occur”

They also add that the meal replacement aspect can be supportive and:

“help keep the weight off”

Their review concludes with the following positive remarks about effective for both weight and health:

“Medifast can deliver results”

The Achieve plan offers:

  • 4 Medifast meals: 70 different food options are offered such as sweets, soups, pastas, bars and shakes.
  • 2 lean and green meals: This is separate from the prepackaged meals. A person chooses 3 servings of vegetables. 2 servings of healthy fats and 5 to 7 ounces of lean protein from the menu offered.
  • 1 Healthy snack: This can be a serving of fruit or yogurt, a baked potato, whole wheat pasta, or several other offered foods. Also separate from the prepackaged foods.

Click the link here to get a special discounted rate on Medifast.

EDITOR’S TIP: Click here to sign up with Medifast

Medifast diet quality of ingredients

Their official website makes it really easy to verify what is added as they specific each ingredient added to their foods. They make sure to list any potential allergens, and they also provide the serving size, full price, and a nutrition facts list.

Judging the nutrition alone reveals that they ensure many vitamins and minerals are added to their foods. This ensures that one will be able to give the body what it needs to thrive and be healthy.

They also often use ingredients that are natural and wholesome. These additives are effective at providing a satisfying meal without packing on too many calories.

Also provided are gluten free and vegetarian options.  In examining many of their foods it’s clear to see they have dedicated themselves to provide healthy and effective solutions for weight loss.

Read about what the Medifast diet can do for you by visiting their official website.

THE PRICE AND QUALITY OF MEDIFAST DIET

Pricing can vary depending on the specific plan one chooses.

For example their Flex plan is meant to deliver steady and gradual weight loss and it provides 4 Medifast meals alongside 2 lean and green meals and a healthy snack.

Their Go! Plan offers 5 Medifast meals and 1 lean and green meal. These meals are one’s users can cook at home, as long as one makes sure to pick an option offered by the company.

You can even customize it further by reaching the company as they offer plans for those with gluten or soy intolerance, nursing, vegetarian or those who are of an older age. Support is also provided for diabetics who need to regulate their food choices closer.

Users often said they paid a fair price on these plans and the company does offer free shipping for certain orders. Overall when you look at the value given by the quality of meals, it certainly does make it a well-priced and affordable solution for weight loss.

You can get a hold of the Medifast Diet with a special discounted rate when you click on this cited link.

BUSINESS OF MEDIFAST DIET

Medifast, Inc. is the name of the group; their contact information is listed as:

Phone Number: (800) 209-0878

Email: A contact sheet is provided for direct messages.

They also list their official hours of operation so people know when is the best time to contact them.

On Consumer Affairs.com the company has been well regarded with 4 and a half stars out of 5. It’s shown how they have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors, and that it has already helped thousands lose weight successfully.

People who had questions and concerns were immediate responded to by a representative of the company on this website. People often said they trusted the company and felt that they were reputable. Customers said the following:

“customer service is great”

“quick and they answer all my questions quickly. Feel like I’m part of a larger family”

“You get a great deal on quality without breaking the bank”

“love the fact I can customize it as I like and get exactly what I enjoy eating”

For a detailed look into Medifast and to also get it now with a unique discounted rate, click on this link to be redirected.

EDITOR’S TIP: Click here to sign up with Medifast

CUSTOMER OPINIONS OF MEDIFAST DIET

Here are some customer quotes about the Medifast Diet:

“lost around 25 pounds thus far since starting”

“wasn’t able to lose weight no matter what I tried. Find that this is the only thing that works for me”

“I’d recommend Medifast to other people who are struggling to keep the weight off. It makes it so much easier to decide what to eat”

Many said that they were not just able to lose weight, but to also keep it off long-term. There was a lot of genuine praise from people who also enjoyed the taste of the food, and who also added it was helpful for picky eaters who only liked certain foods, and who were able to customize it to fit their taste buds desires.

Overall many had a resounding benefit form the Medifast diet, and they also praised its functionality to help provide support whenever people needed it. Taste wise people said it was satisfying, and that it helped suppress their appetite. As far as the actual service and overall ability to interact with someone at the company to gain more insights, there was also praise over the helpfulness of the support staff.

Listed here is the official Medifast Diet website where you can read more about what foods are offered, and what the diet can do for weight loss.

CONCLUSION - DOES MEDIFAST DIET  WORK?

The Medifast Diet consists of pre-packaged low calorie foods, as well as diet advice and suggestions for grocery foods. This is comprehensive,  and many users have said the quality of foods is high. Customers noted they were able to sustain their weight loss results, and that the foods and advice offered were easy to use and helpful. This is the reason why we have rated the Medifast Diet as the best weight loss plan available.

The makers of Medifast have provided full support as they offer detailed advice and representatives that users said were helpful, and made them feel welcome and unintimidated to learn about real functional weight loss results. This is why they were so highly rated on Consumer Affairs, and Web MD has also said it is a nutrient rich diet plan which can help with supporting weight loss.

Since you can customize it to meet your taste and dietary preferences, it’s also made to be functional by all users. In this link you can get a special discounted price off of the Medifast Diet; click this link to get a hold of this special rate

 



> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 22, 433 total comments)

Kathy

+

I went on the plan January 17, 2011 to lose weight before my son's wedding.
I lost 100 pounds in under 8 months. I think the food is good, what i don't like I return. It's easy to follow and I really like it but you need a coach. I went off for the wedding, and gained 10 pounds in 2 weeks because I just started eating regular food and not transition style. I am back on it until Christmas and hope to lose another 50. I never did any exercise so I am going to try now.

posted Oct 3rd, 2011 6:00 pm


Eduaro S. Gaytan

+

I lost 62 lbs. in 5 months and the lbs are still coming off.

posted Oct 3rd, 2011 12:51 pm


Mary

I just got my shipment today for Medifast. I have 16 lbs I want to lose. I'm excited about it. I've used Nurrisystem in the past with good results, but I wanted to try something different this time. Over the last year and a half, I've gained all of my weight back.

posted Sep 27th, 2011 6:25 pm


Laura

I just started the diet this week, so far I am having a really hard time adjusting to the food. By yesterday I felt like giving up. Anyone out there feel the same way? Please help....

posted Sep 22nd, 2011 2:23 pm


Mimi

I am 58 years old and have been trying unsuccessfully to lose 10 lbs for the last 15 years. I saw my niece who had lost 85 lbs and asked what she did. It was Medifast. I ordered it and started it. I have lost 14 lbs. in about 2 months. It has been the easiest diet I have ever done. I don't have to make much of a decision of what to eat. Just grab an envelope and mix. 2 minutes preperation...tops. So quick and easy. I love most of the meals. Couldn't tolerate the broccoli soup. It was gross. So is the Capacino. Everything else is really tasty. I have only cheated once and got right back on track. Knowing I paid over $350. is motiviation for staying on it. I have realized what I put into my mouth mindlessly. And I think I can do well once I transition off the product. I finally feel in control and I look great. I love Medifast.

posted Sep 20th, 2011 8:01 pm


KIm

+

I started this diet over a week ago. I purchased my supplies on Ebay. So far I love it. In one week I lost 7 lbs. Some of the food is better than others. I do not like the vanilla flavored items and the mint chocolate bar is gross but everything is at least edible. I have enough supplies for about 1 months. At that point I will decide whether to stay on it or go on a medically supervised meal replacement program . I have a significant amount of weight to lose and am a little bit leary of doing it long term with no medical supervision. I also had to adjust the calories. I know you are not supposed to excercise on it for the first month but I have to swim to keep one of my knees from being extremely painful. I just figured out how many calories I burn swimming and replace half of them with a low sugar fruit like berries or yogurt.. The weight is still coming off me and I am not in danger of making myself sick. I have high hopes for this program because so far I love it!!!!

posted Sep 3rd, 2011 7:44 pm


Lita Bellamy

+

I have been on Medifast for 1 month I have lost 10lbs 15 inches I fill great and I still have a month to go. This plan keep me full and not craving for other types of food.

posted Aug 30th, 2011 5:57 pm


ilyssa

When u have a significant amount of weight to loose, and u loose it, hairloss happens. Most individuals who have an extra 100 or so pounds to loose will experience hairloss no matter the plan they use. Eg- Richard Simmons' curly fro that he is known for is a result of hair plugs. He does not hesitate to say so either.

posted Aug 15th, 2011 6:34 pm


NEAETHERLY BARB

My hair fell out and I was told my gall bladder was in trouble after being on it about three months. You will lose but you may have bald spots. Check out the actual medifast site where the actual medifast dieters post and you will read so many medifast users losing a scary amount of hair

posted Aug 5th, 2011 9:54 pm


Greg

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through.

I love all of the bars and the snacks (puffs, pretzels, bites). Salty/crunchy has always been my downfall and these options offer me a lot of indulgence. One of the most important things I can pass along is to read the "Take Shape for Life" book that comes along with the program. I have yo-yo dieted all my life. This is a life altering process you're undergoing. If you understand the dynamics that go behind it, especially the psychological ones, it WILL help you through. My biggest was fear of failure. Seeing the immediate results (15lbs my first week) has given me the encouragement to continue. My goal is 100 lbs and I'll be the weight I was at 18 years old. If I make it, great, but if not, I'm not going to beat myself up. I'm already weighing less than I have in 10 years and have gone from siz 46 jeans to 42.

Good luck everyone. You're worth the effort.

posted Aug 5th, 2011 12:39 pm


Cory West

Ladies and Gents, Im a 20 year old male. I was in need of losing weight. I played sports all my life, and gained a lot of weight after a sports injury. After my first year of college i gained even more, reaching my max weight in May 2010 of 430 pounds.. yeah a bigg boy. I started the program in Sept. 2010, not really knowing what to think, well let me tell you, its amazing. Yeah so some of the food doesnt taste the best but ur health is more important, so live with it, cant handle it.. then i guess cont. to be over weight..!! Yes you dont feel that well the first two weeks as your body is going thru some major changes. Fight it off and you will start to feel wonderful.. Yes, you shouldnt exercise for the first month. But if you follow the dang program IT WILL WORK.. hands down, no questions asked. I recently got back from the National Conv. in Orlando FL. And the ave. weight loss out of the 2500+ people there was 60 pounds.. Still want to complain to everyone it doesnt work..? Plain and simple, if it didnt work for you, YOUR doing something wrong, not the program..In less than one years time I have LOST 150 POUNDS!! HOW...? i stuck to the program and dont cheat. I run every other night, i lift weights on the other nights, i swim, i walk, i enjoy life again. YOU CAN DO THIS.. Medifast and the TSFL program has honestly given me my life back. I have more energy than ever before, i need less sleep because i get better quality sleep. I can think sharper on a daily basis. For those of you that say its too costly, well let me put it this way, can you actually put a price on being healthy and happy..? I know i cant..? Find YOUR WHY.. the reason you need to drop weight.. your reason to be healthy, and feel younger. Find some determination and dedicate yourself to the program...IF A YOUNG KID CAN DO IT.. WHY CANT YOU...?? THERE IS NOT A BETTER PROGRAM THAN THIS ONE.. its safe, fast, and easy.. GOD BLESS AND GOOD LUCK PEOPLE..

posted Aug 4th, 2011 2:56 pm



Lorrie Johns Scott

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum!..and also someone was saying that it's full of artificial ingredients..not so ..read the nutritional info on the box or on their website. The other thing is someone was saying that they don't eat the bars because it held their weight back ..again..not so..all the meals are interchangeable and you can mix them up or eat the same meal every 2-3 hrs and it won't change a thing. Oh and one more thing I really really need to mention..one post said that you can go down to the Walmart and buy similar items ..sorry, this is definitely not true and I bet if I spoke to that person that posted that today ..she would still be exactly where she was weight wise when she posted the post....If it was that easy..we all wouldn't be on here talking about our weight issues! Instead we would be going to Walmart;)
I will tell you one thing about this program for me it was the easiest thing I have ever done. . eat a meal every 2-3 hrs drink water.."SIMPLE" Seriously it was that easy! I think if you want something bad enough and you are ready it will work and you won't sabotoge yourself. Just know that with any program you will have some adjustments in the beginning. And again after you are off of the program. It is a way of life and your body and mind will love you for it! Some people had said that they thought it was a con..trust me on this that it is very real I am living proof! Just to keep my self in check and share the wealth with family and friends I became a health coach. I am a real person with real results ..when nothing else worked this was my saving grace and I thank God everyday for showing me the way! Feel free to contact me with any questions you may have I would be more then happy to answer any questions you may have.

posted Aug 4th, 2011 4:03 am


Lynn Gamboa

+

Medifast does work and is the easiest to follow.

posted Aug 3rd, 2011 11:44 pm



VRW

+

I have Celiac Disease (evil Gluten), and I must commend Medifast for looking to help all possible customers out there. Once I started to adjust my diet for my dysfunction I began to gain weight and have a very weird relationship with food; I could/can never stop thinking about it. I needed a simple solution to lose about 15 to 20 lbs (I'm not really overweight like many doing this, but need to make sure I don't gain too much in the future and remain a healthy weight). I tried Weight Watchers but since I can't eat their microwave meals any more(and I don't cook) it wasn't simple. Nutrisystem also has no options in their delivery system for people with allergies(My mom does nutrisystem and loses about 2 lbs a week). While I must admit not all of Medifast's meals are fabulous they do keep keep you pretty satisfied. You never really feel deprived because you can enjoy that one good meal a day. I have a very crazy schedule, but I am managing to work this into it. The shaker jar they give isn't too great, so I bought a Zyliss one that is made for protein shakes. It blends it perfectly. I recommend this diet. I feel it is simple to stick with and you see results quickly. I started less than a week ago, but already feel less bloated and fit in my clothes better. Good luck all!

posted Aug 1st, 2011 9:29 pm


Cathy

I love it. I was desparate to lose weight. I tried nutrisystem for two weeks. No results. I only do the shakes 5 a day and lean dinner...and I FINALLY am losing. Im not young and am middle aged and feared gaiing more and more was my destiny. The shakes with one cup of water (no more) and about a cup of ice tastes like a milk shake when made in a blender. I love this diet bettter than any other. Ive yo yo my whole life...not huge gains and losses just enough to go up a few sizes and not allow any clothes to fit and feel badly. SO, Im a believer....in the shakes only. I do exercise....try for one hour.....and started lifiting weights....and even try to walk atleast 25 miles a week. YOu need to attack the weight if you are a woman and over 50 .

posted Jul 28th, 2011 6:01 pm


Shawn

+

My wife and I went on the diet May first, We have lost 30 lbs each. we average a half a pound a day. We only weigh in once a week.
We had a slowdown and our coach had us cut back on the bars and drink shakes instead. worked great. I am done losing and actually had to gain some back. My wife has 10 more pounds togo. As far as the food, find what stuff you like and return what you dont, the return policy is great, We actually spend less per month on food than when we where FAT. If you wanna get the most out of this diet, GET A COACH.

posted Jul 26th, 2011 8:53 am


LINDSEY

-

The soups and oatmeal are totally Disgusting, I gagged the first day. The shakes and meal bars are ok. I absolutely HATE this diet but i HATE being overweight even more so im hoping to lose at least 20 lbs this month and transition because i cannot last too much longer on this horrible food!!!! GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE!!

posted Jul 24th, 2011 11:07 am


Tracy

+

Been on the diet since mid May of this year. Food sucks but I found the stuff I like and that's what I eat. Don't care for the soups and puddings. Shakes are good and cheese puffs are my weakness. As of this morning I a down 32lbs, with no exercise at all. I broke my foot after 1 week on plan. So I lost the weight sitting on my but. Have another 30lbs to go and another month at least wwith no exercise. Also got off 2 of my diabetes meds including insulin and BP meds cut in half. Dr. may take me off more meds after next visit. I didn't go to a clinic but dr. monitors blood levels A1C went from a 10.8 to a 7.7 in three months. It definatly works.

posted Jul 20th, 2011 3:40 pm


donna

I started this diet on Tuesday, I am on my 4th day. So far I have found most of the food uneatable. It gives me so much gas I am afraid to leave the house. I went to one of the clinics but decided not to join that because it was very expensive. I only want to lose 20 pounds and it would have cost me about $53 dollars per pound if I lost it in the first 4 wks. I bought 4wk worth of food from them and am sorry I did because they don't have an exchange or return policy so I am stuck with a lot of food that I can not eat. The only things I found tolarable were the soup if you doctored it up the bars and some of the shakes. I think I could do just as well on Weight Watchers. I think any diet the limits you to 800 calories a day you can loose weight on. I am not sure how long I can stand this but I am still trying.

posted Jul 15th, 2011 2:45 pm


David Wright

Due to the inaccuracy of my scale at the start of this plan its hard to pin point my exact weight loss. But since starting this plan on May 28th 2011 I have lost between 28 and 34 pounds. This has happened despite a non religious following of the plan generally and even one week of going completely off the plan (while on a camping trip with my extended family I switched to a weight watchers calorie/points system in order to accomodate meals with my family. This system works and aparently it works for me even if I cheat a little. If you are thinking of going on it and plan to buy the soft serve you will want to buy a personal "bullet" style blender as your typical marguerita size blender leaves too much of your meal down in the blades with no way of retrieving it easily.

posted Jul 14th, 2011 5:49 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2017?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOSMEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PROPRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CONCON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWSUSER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISEEXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQMEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWSMEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCESMEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact InformationMedifast Contact Information
Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

AuthorAuthor

by

Related Diets: Slim-Fast, DineWise, Vitalicious , Nutrisystem, Bistro MD

Sign up with Medifast
and get 40% OFF