Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

78%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 307 reviews

Medifast

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein
BACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

Author

by


Related Diets: Slim-Fast, Bistro MD, DineWise, Nutrisystem, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 14 of 21, 415 total comments)

kc

I went on Medifast after someone I knew tried it. I had tried Nurtasystem first and was disappointed with the food. It looked so good on the packages but tasted like crap. I've read all these comments... here's what I'll say about Medifast... First?I lost 40lbs in about 5 months. I did not exercise. I had one cheat day a month and my one ??lean green meal? each day usually consisted of a steak and some green veggie. I did not portion control this meal. As for the Medifast food itself --- think convenient and easy. It??s not a liquid diet. There are several options besides shakes. My advice is not to consider it food though. Nothing tastes as good as if it was slathered in butter or covered in syrup. There are some things that are completely gross (my mother and I differ on these items). I would say ?? try everything once. You can ship back anything you get and exchange it for something else if you??ve only tried one item out of the box. Well worth the effort because the stuff they send you in the start-up package is NOT their best stuff (mom and I agree on this). Once you??ve lost your weight --- give yourself and extra 5 or 10. Transitioning back to regular food is a slow process and you may be tempted to shove something previously forbidden in your mouth (like a pound of pasta). That being said, I kept the weight off (except about 6lbs which I gained that first month off the diet) for over a year so far. If it takes me 8 years to gain it back and 8 months to lose it? seems like a worthwhile diet. Best of luck to all of you.

posted Sep 26th, 2010 11:49 pm


Rob

I would like to respond to the comment made by ANONYMOUS AND OVER 50. I regret that this person has had such a negative experience with Medifasst. I have had a very different experience, and I am male and 53. Our physician recommended this diet to my wife who has significant chronic medical/health issues. She asked me to join her, and I did just to support her--not because I really wanted to. HOWEVER, I am glad I did. Our Medifast/Take Shape for Life Health Coach is a 58 year old RN who has worked in this practice of 6 physicians for years. The other Health Coaches in our area are also Registered Nurses working in this same medical group. I highly recommend this diet, based on my experience. My wife and I are losing weight at an average rate of 4 lbs./week. I realize that we are fortunate, and perhaps not the norm, to have our physicians and nurses using this system themselves, and coaching their patients through the process.

posted Sep 25th, 2010 1:56 pm


shaun

i don't know why anyone would buy this diet. everything this diet offers you can do yourself at the store cheaper by buying fat free, or low fat, i have started a diet 3 month ago and the first month i lost 28 lb and about 10 pounds the last 2 only because of bbq season. if you watch your fat intake and buy whole grain and eat more seafood, rice, and salads. with italian dressing or fat free dressing and exercise everyday for 30 minutes you will loose weight. also if you get the fake scrambled eggs they are not bad, and silk vanilla soy is a good supplement for milk. it is really good.

posted Sep 23rd, 2010 12:07 pm


Marcia Wilder

This is the first time I've heard of this program. I think I would like to try it just
to see what happens!

posted Sep 19th, 2010 2:43 am


Melanie

The taste!!! I just couldn't stand it. I ended up giving it all away.

posted Sep 14th, 2010 4:45 pm


fixitmama

Bought one months worth of food and started. I've dropped a few pounds already this week. HOWEVER, there are very few things I have eaten which are even remotely edible. Absolutely yucki. I don't even feel like I'm eating food. It feels like I'm taking in chemicals. I will finish out my month because I spent $300, but I will not do it again, no matter how much weight I lose. I think I will try and follow the model and eat six small meals a day, but eat real things like celery sticks, etc.

posted Sep 8th, 2010 6:05 pm


LovinLife

THIS ACTUALLY WORKS!!! I am 22 years old with a 2 year old toddler and when i got pregnant i gained a little over 80 pounds. I've tried the cookie diet, lemonade diet, weight watchers which only made me gain weight because i'am lazy and don't like to cook so this diet works for me. I literally lose 2 pounds a day on this diet but i must say buy everything chocolate(the oatmeal is inedible) other than some taste and textures the diet works.

posted Sep 6th, 2010 12:10 am


Dale

I was thinking of having barriatric surgery and decided to try this first. Since I gained weight on Weight Watchers, lost only money on Nutrisystem I was very skeptical. Many of the foods are tasty- the oatmeal and shakes are an exception. I made it through seven packages of shakes but after one pack of oatmeal I took it back and exchanged it. The rapid detox was not advisable for me since I am diabetic. Since the first week of July, when I started, my average weight loss is 2-3lbs per week, a little over 10lbs per month. My cholesterol has dropped, blood pressure back to normal, and have been able to go off the diabetes medication that I was on. My doctor had to sign a release for me to do this diet and he has been pleased with the results. I paid for the 6 months to lose the weight, the 12 weeks to transition back to a healthy daily diet, and the maintenance year. As I said, it is working for me--but you must be ready to acknowledge the problem you have and be willing to take charge of it.

posted Sep 4th, 2010 7:02 pm


BHill

I've been on Medifast for 4 months now. The first month I lost 20 lbs. The last three months I've lost appox. 10 each month. I stick to the diet really well during the week as I work full-time and have to commute. It's easy then. But the weekends you have your temptations to deal with. Getting active was my hardest part to incorporate during my busy work schedule and raising twin toddlers. But it's getting easier. Have about 40 more pounds to go for my goal weight. I love the crunch bars, pretzels, pancakes, brownies, shakes, soft serve, oatmeal. Got burnt out on the scrambled eggs pretty quick and didn't really like the soups. There are lots of recipes out there for using the shakes, oatmeal, etc to make cake, cookies, chips, etc too. Adding fat free syrups also help in giving more variety. Follow the diet and it works, cheat and eat that bread, pasta and other fats and extra carbs, then it doesn't work so well.

posted Sep 2nd, 2010 1:34 pm


Liz

I've been on the diet for almost 3 weeks. It takes some "searching" to find the meals that you enjoy but I've had no problem finding enjoyable meals for my strict vegetarian diet. I don't have an incredible amount to lose (hopefully 10-12 pounds) but I've only lost 2 pounds so far!

posted Aug 27th, 2010 11:05 am


Shannon

Jaedor, I am also Hypothyroid and I have heard the same things you have to limit soy intake. I am on WW and to me that is the best out there I dont believe in eating packaged food. You have to rethink your entire eating habits but still eat food that you normally would.

posted Aug 26th, 2010 9:29 am


Christy

I am 19 years old and started this diet to lose the weight I gained the last couple years of high school and the "freshman 15." Most of the reviews I see are from an older crowd and I think more teens need to know that this is a great alternative for them. I love the taste of the snacks (the strawberry creme shake is my favorite). This works no matter what as long as you follow it very strict. I think the only people that don't like it are people that don't have the self control to ONLY eat what we are allowed. But I love it!!!

posted Aug 25th, 2010 2:25 pm


DR

This diet works and it's actually healthy! I just wanted a quick way to break the sugar cravings and drop the baby weight that I still have. I'd planned to stay on it for two or three weeks or until I dropped 15 pounds. Expect the first week to be rough as you adjust. I hate the oatmeal, but the cheese puffs, soups, bars and shakes are good! I have a thyroid disease and I've done well on this diet (thyroid problems make it harder to drop weight). I've lost 8 pounds in 17 days! I feel great, and have lots of energy! Give this diet a try for a month and you will love the results.

posted Aug 5th, 2010 12:29 am


HollMae

I have been on MediFast for 3 weeks and I have already lost 20 lbs. No if ands or buts about it. If you stick to the plan it works!

posted Aug 4th, 2010 7:56 pm


Lyn

I have been doing Medifast for 5 months. Lots of variety in the food and I really enjoy it. I have blogged my experience and food reviews at

posted Aug 2nd, 2010 3:20 pm


Anonymous and over 50

If you do not have a tremendous amount of weight to lose and if you are not absolutely desperate, DO NOT GO ON THIS DIET. The "food" isn't and most of it is not edible at all. The caloric intake they suggest is dangerously low (if you are not morbidly obese, that is). The diet IS NOT MONITORED BY DOCTORS - at least not one you will ever see or meet. the "counselors" are young (for the most part), thin women who have been carefully trained to say whatever the selling machine needs them to say. This EXTREME diet is DANGEROUS and it is expensive. You will lose weight, but you will not be able to stay on it for long as the food is just about the worst, and least inedible stuff on earth - and of very questionable nutritional value since it is loaded with preservatives and lots of chemicals. DON'T DO THIS UNLESS YOU ARE MEDICALLY OBESE AND CONTEMPLATING SURGERY. Short of that, stay away.

posted Aug 1st, 2010 9:09 pm


Jenn

Jaedor, I have a hypothyroid and I have been on Medifast since the beginning of June and have lost over 20 lbs. I have never read anything about hypothyroidism and soy.
If you are serious about losing weight and willing to work at the program and stick with it you will see success. I follow it religiously, my food counselor often comments on how strong my self control is. The first week was rough and the food takes some getting use to but I can't wait for November because I am going to be looking fierce at 140 lbs!

posted Jul 30th, 2010 1:43 am


J J the jet plane

My parents did this diet. They lost weight, but they said that the taste wasn't good. all it is is a powder diet.

posted Jul 28th, 2010 7:34 pm


Jaedor

I've read that soy is not a good choice for folks with hypothyroidism. But I need to find something that works since thyroid complications make it tougher to lose weight.

Does anyone know about the thyroid - soy connection?

posted Jul 27th, 2010 6:17 pm



Jennifer Tillery McElroy

I thought the food was a nice change from previous diet plans that I had tried. I lost 83 lbs between June 09 and March 10. I've kept it off for the past 4 months :-)

posted Jul 24th, 2010 8:12 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account