Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 298 reviews

Medifast

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein
BACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

Author

by


Related Diets: Slim-Fast, Bistro MD, DineWise, Nutrisystem, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 9 of 21, 409 total comments)

Greg Dennler

I have been on this diet for 9 weeks. I have read a lot of the comments on here and I have to say that its the people not the diet that fails. I have lost 52 pounds in this nine weeks. I feel better than I ever have been before in my life. I don't need sleep anymore and I am never tired.
In the begining the food was not great, but you get used to it very quickly. The stew is the best!
What I do with the soup is add 1/2 of low sodium broth which flavors the soup up.
Please don't be discouraged by people that have failed, please :)
I would to help anyone that want and I have before and after photos too!

posted May 18th, 2011 3:55 pm


Izzy

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrablemed eggs.
They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Ofcourse it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthly balanced diet.

posted May 17th, 2011 12:01 pm


userfile
sally cartwright

I have some mixed feelings about this diet-- I lost 6 lbs the first week on this but I was dying for a piece of toast.(carb) .It works, no doubt and inspite of my talking out of both sides of my mounth here-- I can see going back on it for a while (only) .......as the "food" tastes awfull and like others described here, like powery chemicals (which they have many synthetic ingredients) BUTit works fo sure and you will lose fast if you can commit to it...I think it you can committ esp if you are very heavy like me- you WILL lose big and get a REAL boost in the right direction, but I felt very deprived, VERY.

posted May 16th, 2011 10:44 am


Kelly

I have to watch everything I eat. I have irrititable bowel syndrome. How will I react t the food?

posted May 15th, 2011 11:22 am


Jose salas

so far so good, on my second week and have lost over 10lbs. the food is bad but some are good thats why you have to taste them to see what you like. another thing you have to be a strong minded person and willing to change.

posted May 13th, 2011 6:18 pm


Lena

LOVE IT! I have lost 25 pounds on it so far. At first the food may seem not very good but honestly, you get use to it and look forward to your next meal. Once you start to see the pounds drop everyday, you will want to stick with it.

posted May 9th, 2011 12:57 pm


fluff

this stuff is NASTY there is no way these ppl are real users, brownie gross, soups gross, bars tastes like chemical cough syrup.
i hate this. i pray i haven't waited to long to return it. big mistake i 'd give it away

posted May 7th, 2011 1:21 am


SG

Going into my 7th week on Medifast and I've lost 26lbs. What I like about the program is the support online, the book that gives information about eating properly, and the routine of eating every 2-3 hours. I work with a nutritionist who will help me transition from Medifast. The food is ok, some things are better than others. I love the fact that I have a jumpstart to weight loss and have been re-trained of my bad eating habits. Once I reach my goal weight, I will not go back!!! For those who have gained the weight back, I hope they can find better eating habits, because nobody can live Medifast or any other diet plan for life. I enjoy eating just like the next person, but food addiction is real and moderation is key to maintaining any weight loss. I've found Medifast to be succesful for me, and best of luck to others who try it.

posted May 4th, 2011 3:22 am


Alan

I was very happy with Medifast, especially after losing 60 lbs in 4 months. After one year I gained back 63lbs. I can't blame anyone for the weight coming back as I have poor eating habits. I was in a support group and under the care of a medical doctor and licensed dietician.
My experience with this product was very positive until I stopped using it. I was on the after-diet maintenance program which also failed for me. I don't drink alcohol, take drugs or smoke. My addiction is junk food and have to change my eating habits for ever. My advice to anyone starting Medifast is to think about life after Medifast.

posted May 2nd, 2011 12:15 pm


Ashley

Medifast tastes awful...Newest best product out is Body by Vi nutritional shakes, almost the same concept but actually tastes good!

posted Apr 30th, 2011 5:22 pm


kathy

I got hives within a few hours of trying the first product. Two of the foods ( oatmeal, soup) I could not even finish. Chalky lumps in dishwater gray warm water for the oatmeal were gag-inducing. The soup did not hydrate properly and so the vegetables were like little rocks. The lemon bar was not bad but had a chemical taste to it. The chocolate shake was tolerable.
When I told the Medifast rep I was covered in hives ( a first for me) he said to take Benadryl, but I felt that you should not have to take drugs to eat. So, I followed the return instructions and took out the four products I tried. I paid $284.50 and my return was initially indicated to be $220 ( with the cost of the items I had tried subtracted). I see my return was processed for $185. I paid $22 to ship is back, so I am out $122. Not much of a return policy if you ask me. BUYER BEWARE!!!

posted Apr 29th, 2011 5:00 pm


me

I decided it was time to do something about my weight. I want to be healthy and do all the fun types of exercises out there; hiking, swimming, biking all that goodness. Unfortunately at my weight I'm afraid i'm more of a "go out to eat and then come back and fall asleep" kind of girl.

My aunt had great success with this program, she lost about 50 lbs in 2 months. WOW! If I could lose 50 lbs I'd go to the store in a bikini!! Ok so no, i wouldn't but imagine all the cute dresses I could wear and not look so...huge. I'm over 75 lbs overweight so a bikini isn't happening, but to be a normal size and be able to try on outfits and not feel like a stuffed sausage would be amazing! That's why I decided to try it for myself. I was a little worried because my aunt's got way more will power than I do... I love to eat, I'm not going to lie. But I decided to check it out, what did I have to lose?

First off, I'm so glad I read the reviews here. I checked out what everyone was saying was good. If you're going to do this program I suggest you order online or by phone. I dont see the point of the centers, I can weigh myself at home thank you very much!

If you go online they have the "packages" for men, women, etc. they have the option of personalizing your meals instead of getting the basic package. DO THIS!!! It's so much better than getting foods you dont want to eat. Ahem, the oatmeal!!! I tried the brown sugar and maple one... yeah... no. I couldn't even try to eat it. It was horrible!

My suggestions from what I've tried so far. Beef stew, mmm... the brownies, s'mores bar, the eggs (sprinkle a little seasoning on there and dont mind the texture so much, I think they're pretty good for what they are), chocolate chip pancakes, chocolate shakes yum!, chili cheese puffs are tasty (great afternoon salty craving killer), chili's alright. My suggestion on the chili and the stew, mix the water in maybe an hour before you try to eat it. That way the dehydrated veggies can be back up to par.

This is day 3 for me, I honestly thought i was going to have a box of food sitting in my dining room because of the bad reviews but some of this stuff is pretty good. I'm honestly craving the brownie. I'm not going to lie... my first bite (I tried it last night) wasn't that great, but of course I needed to eat it so I was just going to force myself to do it, but bite #2? Oh, are those tiny chocolate chips? yum!! and the next few bites... heavenly.
Maybe i'm just geting used to this food... but that brownie was delightful.

If this is dieting, I'm so down for it. I tried Quick Weight Loss (here in Texas) and that was nothing but a waste of money!! Seriously 600 plus down the drain. Some of their supplement were ok but I didn't have the time to make all of my own food.

Medifast is the best choice for me. I don't have to worry about trying to make a bunch of food in advance. I'm hoping if I see a good amount of results in the end of the 30 days to do another month until I knock out these 75 lbs.

posted Apr 29th, 2011 1:34 pm


erin

I lost about 12 pounds in the first months but the food taste horrible! and I cant eat 6 times a day. Anyone I know including myself who has lost weight with this program gained it all back immediatly coming off the program

posted Apr 27th, 2011 12:24 pm


Franco Di Palma

Started four days ago and already down five pounds. Other than getting use to eating much less it is very easy. By now I hardly get hungry at all. Love it and hope to stay on it until long after I reach my goal weight.

posted Apr 25th, 2011 10:54 am


Mad Dog

The only people I know that have gone on this diet have (in the nicest terms I can think of) turned looney. I would like to know if anyone else has experienced this or have had significant trouble in their relationship since taking it, where there wasn't much trouble before?

posted Apr 25th, 2011 10:29 am


Randine

I am gluten intolerant. Does your program support this need?

posted Apr 22nd, 2011 11:35 pm


Sonya

So my mom started the medifast program about 3 weeks ago, and has already lost 15 pounds! I jumped on the first chance to buy myself the program since I've been stuck at a plateau for over a month. It's been 3 days and I'm finally getting over that hump. I feel great, the food is a little tricky to figure out the consistency and cooking it properly. Last thing you want to do is waste your money by over cooking (chili) or over watering (pancakes). It's not gourmet food and takes a little getting use to but you learn to like it real quick once you start seeing results. Enjoy your one Lean green meal a day, that meal will help you continue to the next day.

posted Apr 16th, 2011 10:22 am


Kim

I have been on this only a week but have already lost 5 lbs. I need to lose about 25 lbs. A co worker of mine has lost 100 lbs in 5 months on it. The food is ok and not great. The fact you eat 5 small meals throughout the day and then one lean and green..makes this very do-able. I am hardly every hungry. The brownie is good and I eat it at night before I go to bed. I do like the beef stew, choc shake, PB choc crunch bar is ok not great, pancakes are ok not great (with sugar free syrup). I do not care for the tomato soup, what sucks is that you get 7 of each food item so if you dont like it you are stuck with 6 more to eat.

For people who want to lose weight and want prepared meals this is a GREAT way but of course you have to change your eating habits permanently to have long term success. Peace.

posted Apr 16th, 2011 3:22 am


Bethany

I just started nthis 3 days ago and the food is not very good but i believe the results will be worth it. I was so hungry the first day second a little but feeling great now, more energy and not hungry at all just have to be patient. Im doing this because I saw results didnt read on internet and they were incredible my mom was a size 18 appx 9 months ago she is a 4 now and so skinny I have never seen her this small beore and the best part is due to her bad leg she couldent exersize and still lost it now im going to exersize with it and hope to loose 30lbs by mid summer.....

posted Apr 7th, 2011 12:35 pm


Success!

I did lose 20lbs in the month of February 2011and maintained the weight loss during March 2011. February weight loss was from meals only and no exercise. Now, I'm getting started again with the meals and exercising. I plan to see even better results.

posted Apr 7th, 2011 11:36 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account