Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 298 reviews

Medifast

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein
BACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

Author

by


Related Diets: Slim-Fast, Bistro MD, DineWise, Nutrisystem, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 13 of 21, 409 total comments)

Melissa David

Amazing program! You follow it, it works!!

posted Nov 16th, 2010 9:21 pm


Kay

I have never tried a diet so easy. No it's not a diet for people wanting to loose a few pounds, Yes, it can be hard. However if you follow the program as written, it is impossible not to loose weight. I have been on this diet for 3 months and have lost 48 pounds. My way of looking at food has completely changed!

posted Nov 15th, 2010 10:22 pm


Brenda

I also tried it as far as the taste of the shakes I perfer SiimFast

posted Nov 11th, 2010 12:29 pm


angie

loved it. came off fast and easily without taking my muscle away because my body was fully supported by nutrition. LOVE IT

posted Nov 10th, 2010 8:47 pm


Maria

WHAT A SCAM!!! This company has NO MONEY BACK guarantee. I was sold on this program by a health coach
I met in Chicago. I thought it would be a great program to help
me shed my last 40 lbs, but unfortunately the program is just not for me. I am not saying it doesn't work, but it's not
a good fit for my taste and my lif...estyle.
I tried to return the products and was told I could not return any of
it, it has been 3 days only. Apparently
once you open the boxes and use a packet, they can only exchange it, but not
return it. I know plenty of other
programs and companies that stand by their products and offer a full money back
guarantee within the first week. Other companies realize that their product might not be for everyone and that??s why they offer full refunds. THIS COMPANY clearly doesn??t back their own product line ?? how else would you explain what they did to me? What also makes no sen...se is that they CAN exchange your open boxes (so clearly they do take them back), but simply REFUSE to refund your money! I have never been more dissatisfied as a customer in my life! I will never recommend this to any of my friends, but if anyone asks, I??ll point them to Nutrisystem instead, at least they have guarantees and don??t make people flush over $300 down the drain. I??ll be sure to let everyone know what a horrible experience I had to steer more people away from this!!!!

posted Nov 9th, 2010 4:40 pm


Rob

it's great... 30 pounds lost in 3 months and it's still off 3 months later

posted Nov 4th, 2010 6:11 pm


Carrie

This plan really works, as long as you follow the plan. The 1st week was the hardest as far as hunger goes. Highly recommend using the online support provided.

posted Nov 2nd, 2010 7:05 pm


Jerome

The 1st week I lost 6lbs. The second week I lost 5 lbs. Total weight loss after 2 1/2 weeks is 14 lbs. Do I think this works... I know it works. I have run out of holes in my belt, I can tuck my shirt in over a flat stomach, my pants are falling down. I am soooooo pleased with the results I am giddy.

posted Oct 25th, 2010 4:42 am


Dianna

I just want to say "thank you" to the wonderful counselors at Medifast in Addison,TX. The plan is simple, the food is awesome and the counselors are great!!! I have lost over 50lbs and I'm now on maintenance.

posted Oct 24th, 2010 4:05 pm


suesuee

I have been on program for 5 weeks and am down 22lbs...was a bit tough the first few days (like duh, I wasn't consuming what made me fat in the first place) but found lots of variety and especially like the cappicino and soups...as good as you can get anywhere..also the completly balanced vitamins have made me feel the best I've felt in years and I have lots more energy...onward to the next 25lbs....

posted Oct 13th, 2010 3:14 pm


Brya

my doc recco'd I try this. i'm down 15 pounds in two months and feel relaly good about meeting my goal by end of year.

posted Oct 1st, 2010 12:39 pm


Michaela

Really easy to follow and the food's surprisngly good. I lost about 10 pounds in my first month. I really love the shakes. My favorite L&GM that I have once a week is grilled salmon (with balsamic vinagrette for my sauce), with spinach and baby greens salad, baked sweet potato and fresh green beans.

posted Oct 1st, 2010 12:37 pm


Anne-Marie

6 weeks and 19lbs GONE!

posted Sep 30th, 2010 5:13 am


Carolyne

I went to the location in Addison, Texas and was very disappointed. They promised to take my picture for me to see what my weight loss would be and I would alternate speaking to people weakly but it never happened. I spent $800 and only lost 10 pounds. My father became sick and passed away. I asked if I could restart my program and I was told it had expired. No motivation from the staff at all!

posted Sep 28th, 2010 12:49 am


kc

I went on Medifast after someone I knew tried it. I had tried Nurtasystem first and was disappointed with the food. It looked so good on the packages but tasted like crap. I've read all these comments... here's what I'll say about Medifast... First?I lost 40lbs in about 5 months. I did not exercise. I had one cheat day a month and my one ??lean green meal? each day usually consisted of a steak and some green veggie. I did not portion control this meal. As for the Medifast food itself --- think convenient and easy. It??s not a liquid diet. There are several options besides shakes. My advice is not to consider it food though. Nothing tastes as good as if it was slathered in butter or covered in syrup. There are some things that are completely gross (my mother and I differ on these items). I would say ?? try everything once. You can ship back anything you get and exchange it for something else if you??ve only tried one item out of the box. Well worth the effort because the stuff they send you in the start-up package is NOT their best stuff (mom and I agree on this). Once you??ve lost your weight --- give yourself and extra 5 or 10. Transitioning back to regular food is a slow process and you may be tempted to shove something previously forbidden in your mouth (like a pound of pasta). That being said, I kept the weight off (except about 6lbs which I gained that first month off the diet) for over a year so far. If it takes me 8 years to gain it back and 8 months to lose it? seems like a worthwhile diet. Best of luck to all of you.

posted Sep 26th, 2010 11:49 pm


Rob

I would like to respond to the comment made by ANONYMOUS AND OVER 50. I regret that this person has had such a negative experience with Medifasst. I have had a very different experience, and I am male and 53. Our physician recommended this diet to my wife who has significant chronic medical/health issues. She asked me to join her, and I did just to support her--not because I really wanted to. HOWEVER, I am glad I did. Our Medifast/Take Shape for Life Health Coach is a 58 year old RN who has worked in this practice of 6 physicians for years. The other Health Coaches in our area are also Registered Nurses working in this same medical group. I highly recommend this diet, based on my experience. My wife and I are losing weight at an average rate of 4 lbs./week. I realize that we are fortunate, and perhaps not the norm, to have our physicians and nurses using this system themselves, and coaching their patients through the process.

posted Sep 25th, 2010 1:56 pm


shaun

i don't know why anyone would buy this diet. everything this diet offers you can do yourself at the store cheaper by buying fat free, or low fat, i have started a diet 3 month ago and the first month i lost 28 lb and about 10 pounds the last 2 only because of bbq season. if you watch your fat intake and buy whole grain and eat more seafood, rice, and salads. with italian dressing or fat free dressing and exercise everyday for 30 minutes you will loose weight. also if you get the fake scrambled eggs they are not bad, and silk vanilla soy is a good supplement for milk. it is really good.

posted Sep 23rd, 2010 12:07 pm


Marcia Wilder

This is the first time I've heard of this program. I think I would like to try it just
to see what happens!

posted Sep 19th, 2010 2:43 am


Melanie

The taste!!! I just couldn't stand it. I ended up giving it all away.

posted Sep 14th, 2010 4:45 pm


fixitmama

Bought one months worth of food and started. I've dropped a few pounds already this week. HOWEVER, there are very few things I have eaten which are even remotely edible. Absolutely yucki. I don't even feel like I'm eating food. It feels like I'm taking in chemicals. I will finish out my month because I spent $300, but I will not do it again, no matter how much weight I lose. I think I will try and follow the model and eat six small meals a day, but eat real things like celery sticks, etc.

posted Sep 8th, 2010 6:05 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account