Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

77%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 310 reviews

Medifast

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein
BACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

Author

by


Related Diets: Slim-Fast, Bistro MD, DineWise, Nutrisystem, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 12 of 21, 418 total comments)

Pat

Lost 12 pounds in 2 weeks. I did not go on MF for the taste. I went on it so I could change my life. Constipation or direa? I had that eating burgers and chicken nuggets daily for the past years.
I decided that I would not be able to avoid major health issues as I age into the 60s and 70s unless I made a drastic change. The meals & coaching gave me all I needed. This is not a buffet or gormet diet. It is a necessary means to get rid of 50 pounds and learn how to eat properly. Not overnight but I took 5 years to gain that 50 pounds so 4 or 5 months or less is not a problem. Laugh at all the comments about bad tasting food. Never been in the service or newly married at a young age? That food was a lot worse!! Get real or just whine, but don't waste print time because you can't be self motivated. IT IS NOT ABOUT THE FOOD! IT IS ABOUT A LIFE CHANGE!

posted Jan 30th, 2011 11:28 pm


Eve

I also went to the location in Addison, Texas. I saw the pictures of people who had significant weight loss, listened to the sales picthes but in the end I left and told my friend not to go.

It felt like a scam. I do no if it is indeed a scam but it felt like they were money hungry rather than caring about me losing weight in a healthy way.

I also read the ingredients of some of their products. I recommend that you read them too, then decided if you want to put that stuff in your body.

Starting tomorrow, I am going to eat every 2 hours with fruits and veggies and then have a lean meat meal for dinner with jello for dessert.

I hope it will get me back on track without the preservatives and constipation of Medifast.

posted Jan 30th, 2011 7:32 pm


marie

I lost 40 lbs on the medifast program in 4 months. After being on it for awhile I got very board with it and kept adding to it. but I kept eating the food. after 6 months I began to have severe pain in my stomach form all the soy. Every time I ate a meal it was like someone hit me in the tummy. So I stopped. I still believe in the program and its teachings, just not the food for me. Dr. A has great Ideas and beliefs and if we applied them to ourselves and lived by them we would not gain it back and we would succeed at many more things that we try to accomplish in life. So if you have tried and failed do not blame the diet, blame yourself.

posted Jan 24th, 2011 10:04 pm


Jackie

Here is a cheap way to do Medifast! and it does work. You can do like I did and go to their site and write down everything they offer , calories, carbs etc. Then go to Walmart and buy everything yourself. For instance the oatmeal: Walmarts sugar free maple and brown sugar. Soup: Campbells low calorie version Bars: South Beach bars Eggs: Egg whites Drinks: any of the low carb drinks like atkins, Costco has a great one! You can also do 1/2 of the slimfast shake mix with ice and make a great milk shake that is still equal to the medifast one. Nuts, sugar free jello etc etc. Then eat a lean an grean meal that you make yourself like chicken and veggies or salad etc. It works I've done it. I spent about $100 buying everything I needed compared to $300 for their plan. Only set back you dont have a coach. But join Sparks People its FREE and a great site. I hope this helps some of you that don't have the money to buy this plan.

posted Jan 22nd, 2011 5:46 pm


jenm

so i have been on the diet for three weeks and I am stuck? I have only lost 8 pounds in three weeks and have not been able to lose one more pound in about 5 days, is there a reason for this. The only thing i can think is i do have two cups of coffee in the morning with a dash of creamer with my morning meal. Why can I not lose any more weight??? Is there any suggestions?

posted Jan 22nd, 2011 4:51 pm



KellyRae Landa

oh, and by the way, I did the medifast meals on a program called Take Shape for Life. That is how I had a health coach. she was able to give me ideas and help me along my journey! I recommend going thru Take Shape For Life for the medifast, not just ordering it on-line on this webiste! ;)

posted Jan 22nd, 2011 4:12 am



KellyRae Landa

I loved the medifast meals!! My health coach helped me come up with ways to make some of the food taste better that I didn't like at first. For instance, the shakes...I DID NOT like them at all, and she told me to add some diet sierra mist or something like that, so I added cherry coke zero to the shakes instead of water, and it was amazing!! Also, adding chicken bouillon to the chicken and wild rice soup makes it a lot more flavorful! This program is amazing...I lost 30 pounds in 2 months and 7 inches off my waist....I am off the program now and am still losing weight cause I have learned how to eat now!!

posted Jan 22nd, 2011 4:06 am


Brandy

I was able to lose about 28 pounds in a couple of months, but the food tastes terrible. I only liked the capacino, a couple of the small meal bars, and chocolate shakes. The "snacks" that are available so that you can get the "crunch" factor in, are disgusting! I found myself suffering all day, and just looking forward to the Lean and Green meal that I was able to have once a day, but even those options get old, FAST. Long story short; I gained it all back.

posted Jan 18th, 2011 4:01 pm


AstonDan

Medifast is a change in your lifestyle. It is something that you have to convince yourself when you join the program. When I started, my goals were that I wanted to continue to enjoy my children and grandchildren and hopefully someday see great grandchildren. To accomplish this, I had to get healthier. I have been on the plan for 10 weeks and have lost 35 pounds. I feel better and my wife says that I look better. The choice of foods helped me to decide that Medifast was for me. You do have to put some effort in preparing the meals. However, look how much effort you spent in feeding your face. Follow the directions on the package. As you go along, you might have to make some adjustments like more water for the chili. I had trouble with the soups boiling over in a soup mug. Now I prepare them in a larger bowl. After I cover them to steam the goodies, I pour it into a soup mug. Use a small rubber spatula to get all of the soup out of the large bowl. Be sure to lick the spatula to get every last drop. Since the large bowl may have taken some of the heat out of the soup, place your mug back in the micro for about 20 seconds.
The best part of the plan is my coach. She called me every day during the first week and continues to call me weekly. Her tips and encouragement keep me going. After I lose another 15 or 20 pounds, I will go into transition and maintenance and I know that I will succeed and have a healthier lifestyle.

posted Jan 17th, 2011 8:05 pm


RN

I lost 40 lbs in 3 mths. I followed it faithfully-so hungry some overnights I would get up and eat undressed lettuce blends. Someone who tried the oatmeal said it looked and tasted like baby food. Loved the weight loss. Gained it all back within a year. I want to try it again, but I just CAN'T make myself eat that food 'again. Also, had horrible hair loss due to drastic reduction in good fatty acids that the human body needs to be healthy,. The only advise I was given was to buy Medifast's fish oil supplements,.

posted Jan 14th, 2011 12:36 am


JU

I wish I could respond to so many of these negative comments. I love medifast. I have lost nearly 80 pounds in 7 months and kept it off for two years. it changed my life. the food takes time to adjust to. its not delicous homemade stuff - its shakes (use a blender and ice) soup, some good some really bad, bars (i like these) brownies - yummm with coffee, oatmeal (hated at first, learned how to cook and now love) pudding (eh, its ok) and hot drinks like hot cocoa, chai latte, and cappucino... half the thing with the food is being creative and trying different ways of preparing to your liking.

its easy because, like lots of folks have said, you dont have to think about it. i ordered online - i did not go into a center and i do NOT recommend the centers - order it online and use the social site - its like a facebook for medifast people...you dont need a coach or a center - just order the food and reach out to people in the medifast community. there are some amazing stories. remember, as with all weight loss, plenty of plans will change your body - but only YOU can change your mind. weight loss, especially significant weightloss requires commitment and a desire to change your thoughts, habits, and behavior. medifast is not the solution, but it is part of the prescription. good luck to anyone who is thinking about it - if its not medifast, i hope you find what will inspire you. you are welcome to contact me if you like - i would love to help anyone...you cant keep it if you dont give it away. :)

posted Jan 12th, 2011 11:35 pm


JU

I wish I could respond to so many of these negative comments. I love medifast. I have lost nearly 80 pounds in 7 months and kept it off for two years. it changed my life. the food takes time to adjust to. its not delicous homemade stuff - its shakes (use a blender and ice) soup, some good some really bad, bars (i like these) brownies - yummm with coffee, oatmeal (hated at first, learned how to cook and now love) pudding (eh, its ok) and hot drinks like hot cocoa, chai latte, and cappucino... half the thing with the food is being creative and trying different ways of preparing to your liking.
its easy because, like lots of folks have said, you dont have to think about it. i ordered online - i did not go into a center and i do NOT recommend the centers - order it online and use the social site - its like a facebook for medifast people...you dont need a coach or a center - just order the food and reach out to people in the medifast community. there are some amazing stories. remember, as with all weight loss, plenty of plans will change your body - but only YOU can change your mind. weight loss, especially significant weightloss requires commitment and a desire to change your thoughts, habits, and behavior. medifast is not the solution, but it is part of the prescription. good luck to anyone who is thinking about it - if its not medifast, i hope you find what will inspire you. you are welcome to contact me if you like - i would love to help anyone...you cant keep it if you dont give it away. :) granolachick77 at gmail.com

posted Jan 12th, 2011 11:34 pm


Donna

I admire anyone who stayed on this diet because the food is so bad that I can't do it! Sorry, but a balanced diet of low carb and low fat and low calorie is better than this stuff!

posted Jan 11th, 2011 3:46 pm


jenm

This diet is extremely easy to follow, not all the food is great but its a sacrifice to make in a short time and learning how to change your eating habits. It is totally true about losing atleast 5 pounds a week if your true to it. I also did a 15 day cleanse and detox before i starterd to flush all the toxins out of my body and it helps to be regular going through the first stages of the diet. I will recommend this diet to everyone i know that is really serious about losing weight in a healthy way.

posted Jan 10th, 2011 7:30 pm


Stephen Whitney-Wise

There is no doubt that dieting is tough. There is no simple, easy solution to shedding pounds. Discipline and a willingness to enter into a transformative process requires a certain amount of grit. Medifast has been an essential part of this transformative process for me. Follow the plan and you will shed the pounds. I did and have lost over 20 pounds with diet and exercise. I recommend this diet.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 5:59 am


Betty Duke

Lost 50 lbs in 5 months. Gained it all back in about 5 months. DO NOT recommend it. Shakes and soups are not eatable. Bars and pudding and cinnamon pretzel sticks are about it. It is expensive and lost hair and was constipated.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 2:09 am


E.Mort

This is one of those diets that you have to make the decision to either be unhealthy in the way where you are overweight, or unhealthy in the way where you are on a pretty extreme diet.

Medifast pros:
- You in no way ever have to think about what you are going to eat (which is what gets me in trouble) because this is extremely strict.
- You WILL lose weight, very fast

Medifast cons:
- You will either become constipated or have diarrhea for however long you are on this diet, particularly if you eat anything with the fake sugars
- You will feel sick for the first few days.
- Don't bother with the soups. They are nearly impossible to get to an edible state.

This diet is easy to stick to, but it is hard on your body. I'm on my last week of a 4 week run, and I won't be getting any more Medifast meals, mostly because they are really expensive and I can't afford to. However, I will be continuing the theory behind this diet on my own until I have reached my goal weight.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 9:28 pm


Preference

I've been on MF for three weeks and lost 15 pounds so far. It seems to be a great program for someone like me who prefers no leeway. I can't make good decisions yet, so MF makes them for me. It does not, however, seem like a good choice for someone with only 10 or 20 pounds to lose. It changes your metabolism until you transition back, and I think for that little weight it would be more trouble than it's worth.

That said, "lose" and "loose" are different words. For the love of god, please stop saying you want to loose weight.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 4:09 pm


Fred M. McCormack

I was a reluctant participant in the Medifast program...for about three days. I found it easy to follow, received good guidance from my coach (a paraprofessional who guided me through the day to day aspects of following this plan) which was augmented by easy access to Medifast physician's, nurses and nutritionists on regular network calls. Of course, my own physician was a key in suggesting this plan.

My progress to date: 85 pounds in about ten weeks. I have a hard time restraining myself from walking up to overweight people and telling them about this plan; it is a life changer.

There are plenty of common sense weight loss programs. This one was right for me.

Thanks for the opportunity to give some feedback.

Regards,
Mick

posted Dec 29th, 2010 3:34 pm


MsLady

My boyfriend has lost 160lbs. in 7 months on Medifast. It has been amazing to watch the weight MELT off his body. I tried the diet and couldn't resist the temptation of food but he has does amazingly well. Thx Medifast.

posted Dec 28th, 2010 3:27 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account