Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 298 reviews

Medifast

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein
BACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

Author

by


Related Diets: Slim-Fast, Bistro MD, DineWise, Nutrisystem, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 12 of 21, 409 total comments)

RN

I lost 40 lbs in 3 mths. I followed it faithfully-so hungry some overnights I would get up and eat undressed lettuce blends. Someone who tried the oatmeal said it looked and tasted like baby food. Loved the weight loss. Gained it all back within a year. I want to try it again, but I just CAN'T make myself eat that food 'again. Also, had horrible hair loss due to drastic reduction in good fatty acids that the human body needs to be healthy,. The only advise I was given was to buy Medifast's fish oil supplements,.

posted Jan 14th, 2011 12:36 am


JU

I wish I could respond to so many of these negative comments. I love medifast. I have lost nearly 80 pounds in 7 months and kept it off for two years. it changed my life. the food takes time to adjust to. its not delicous homemade stuff - its shakes (use a blender and ice) soup, some good some really bad, bars (i like these) brownies - yummm with coffee, oatmeal (hated at first, learned how to cook and now love) pudding (eh, its ok) and hot drinks like hot cocoa, chai latte, and cappucino... half the thing with the food is being creative and trying different ways of preparing to your liking.

its easy because, like lots of folks have said, you dont have to think about it. i ordered online - i did not go into a center and i do NOT recommend the centers - order it online and use the social site - its like a facebook for medifast people...you dont need a coach or a center - just order the food and reach out to people in the medifast community. there are some amazing stories. remember, as with all weight loss, plenty of plans will change your body - but only YOU can change your mind. weight loss, especially significant weightloss requires commitment and a desire to change your thoughts, habits, and behavior. medifast is not the solution, but it is part of the prescription. good luck to anyone who is thinking about it - if its not medifast, i hope you find what will inspire you. you are welcome to contact me if you like - i would love to help anyone...you cant keep it if you dont give it away. :)

posted Jan 12th, 2011 11:35 pm


JU

I wish I could respond to so many of these negative comments. I love medifast. I have lost nearly 80 pounds in 7 months and kept it off for two years. it changed my life. the food takes time to adjust to. its not delicous homemade stuff - its shakes (use a blender and ice) soup, some good some really bad, bars (i like these) brownies - yummm with coffee, oatmeal (hated at first, learned how to cook and now love) pudding (eh, its ok) and hot drinks like hot cocoa, chai latte, and cappucino... half the thing with the food is being creative and trying different ways of preparing to your liking.
its easy because, like lots of folks have said, you dont have to think about it. i ordered online - i did not go into a center and i do NOT recommend the centers - order it online and use the social site - its like a facebook for medifast people...you dont need a coach or a center - just order the food and reach out to people in the medifast community. there are some amazing stories. remember, as with all weight loss, plenty of plans will change your body - but only YOU can change your mind. weight loss, especially significant weightloss requires commitment and a desire to change your thoughts, habits, and behavior. medifast is not the solution, but it is part of the prescription. good luck to anyone who is thinking about it - if its not medifast, i hope you find what will inspire you. you are welcome to contact me if you like - i would love to help anyone...you cant keep it if you dont give it away. :) granolachick77 at gmail.com

posted Jan 12th, 2011 11:34 pm


Donna

I admire anyone who stayed on this diet because the food is so bad that I can't do it! Sorry, but a balanced diet of low carb and low fat and low calorie is better than this stuff!

posted Jan 11th, 2011 3:46 pm


jenm

This diet is extremely easy to follow, not all the food is great but its a sacrifice to make in a short time and learning how to change your eating habits. It is totally true about losing atleast 5 pounds a week if your true to it. I also did a 15 day cleanse and detox before i starterd to flush all the toxins out of my body and it helps to be regular going through the first stages of the diet. I will recommend this diet to everyone i know that is really serious about losing weight in a healthy way.

posted Jan 10th, 2011 7:30 pm


Stephen Whitney-Wise

There is no doubt that dieting is tough. There is no simple, easy solution to shedding pounds. Discipline and a willingness to enter into a transformative process requires a certain amount of grit. Medifast has been an essential part of this transformative process for me. Follow the plan and you will shed the pounds. I did and have lost over 20 pounds with diet and exercise. I recommend this diet.

posted Jan 7th, 2011 5:59 am


Betty Duke

Lost 50 lbs in 5 months. Gained it all back in about 5 months. DO NOT recommend it. Shakes and soups are not eatable. Bars and pudding and cinnamon pretzel sticks are about it. It is expensive and lost hair and was constipated.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 2:09 am


E.Mort

This is one of those diets that you have to make the decision to either be unhealthy in the way where you are overweight, or unhealthy in the way where you are on a pretty extreme diet.

Medifast pros:
- You in no way ever have to think about what you are going to eat (which is what gets me in trouble) because this is extremely strict.
- You WILL lose weight, very fast

Medifast cons:
- You will either become constipated or have diarrhea for however long you are on this diet, particularly if you eat anything with the fake sugars
- You will feel sick for the first few days.
- Don't bother with the soups. They are nearly impossible to get to an edible state.

This diet is easy to stick to, but it is hard on your body. I'm on my last week of a 4 week run, and I won't be getting any more Medifast meals, mostly because they are really expensive and I can't afford to. However, I will be continuing the theory behind this diet on my own until I have reached my goal weight.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 9:28 pm


Preference

I've been on MF for three weeks and lost 15 pounds so far. It seems to be a great program for someone like me who prefers no leeway. I can't make good decisions yet, so MF makes them for me. It does not, however, seem like a good choice for someone with only 10 or 20 pounds to lose. It changes your metabolism until you transition back, and I think for that little weight it would be more trouble than it's worth.

That said, "lose" and "loose" are different words. For the love of god, please stop saying you want to loose weight.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 4:09 pm


Fred M. McCormack

I was a reluctant participant in the Medifast program...for about three days. I found it easy to follow, received good guidance from my coach (a paraprofessional who guided me through the day to day aspects of following this plan) which was augmented by easy access to Medifast physician's, nurses and nutritionists on regular network calls. Of course, my own physician was a key in suggesting this plan.

My progress to date: 85 pounds in about ten weeks. I have a hard time restraining myself from walking up to overweight people and telling them about this plan; it is a life changer.

There are plenty of common sense weight loss programs. This one was right for me.

Thanks for the opportunity to give some feedback.

Regards,
Mick

posted Dec 29th, 2010 3:34 pm


MsLady

My boyfriend has lost 160lbs. in 7 months on Medifast. It has been amazing to watch the weight MELT off his body. I tried the diet and couldn't resist the temptation of food but he has does amazingly well. Thx Medifast.

posted Dec 28th, 2010 3:27 pm


MsLady

My boyfriend has been on Medifast for 7 months and has lost 160lbs!!! It has been unbelivable to watch the weight MELT off his body so quickly. It was hard for him to resist temptation but he never cheated has become a new man. Thanks Medifast.

posted Dec 28th, 2010 2:57 pm


Myriam

Pro: The good thing, I lost twenty five pounds in just four months
Cons: very expensive I had to pay 1500 dollars just to get advice from the girls that work there.
that although they were very nice, but none of them was a nutritionist, they are just people hired to sell the Medifast products.
(Vitamins, meals)

And last but not least I had to pay an average of 75 dollars per week and sometimes more, for food each week because you can not leave without buying the famous 5 meals a week.
Another bad thing is that consuming these products make you very constipated.
and Some products taste really bad, otherwise you feel sick of these products

And the main thing they teach you not to eat food for real people, only packages.
I advise seeing a nutritionist and get a real real food diet.
Maybe it takes longer to lose weight, but you'll be less expensive and healthier.

posted Dec 27th, 2010 11:44 pm


Rick

Loved it! Lost 40lbs in under two months, cholesterol down from 280 to 198, OFF insulin and using oral meds after one month!!



Great coach!

posted Dec 20th, 2010 2:37 pm


John Smith

Way to expensive for the untasty and disgusting blobs they call food. Your better off doing 5 meals a day of fruit and then doing a lean meal and vegetable at night. Don't waste you time. Even if you don't like the food the customer service and exchange policy is terrible!!

posted Dec 18th, 2010 2:10 am


Rick

Loved it! Lost 40lbs in under two months, cholesterol down from 280 to 198, OFF insulin and using oral meds after one month!!



Great coach!

posted Dec 16th, 2010 1:20 am


Debbie Purcell

I have been on Medifast for 1 1/2 years and have done well. I tried to transition and ended up with three unopened cases ($900). I asked my health coach to stop the orders for a few months as I had way too much Medifast. When I tried to re order again, my coach, Dave Williams had accidently cancelled my membership. I called corporate office and explained to them what happened and I wanted my discount reinstated. They told me "sorry". I was up to 18% discount. It really leaves a bad taste in my mouth because I have been so loyal and it was a mistake made by my coach. I never cancelled my membership.

posted Nov 30th, 2010 6:59 pm


Dave Garner

Dr. Fleckenstein: I've read the John's Hopkins research. Their view, based on research -- not on opinion -- differs from yours. I'm inclined to believe JH since you cite no reference for what I can only see as your opinion.

Responding to other comments:

I certainly didn't enjoy the taste in week one, but I decided that didn't matter since I was losing a pound a day and my one "real meal" (the Lean and Green -- protein and three veggie servings) tasted better than anything I could recall. By day three I didn't crave sweets or caffeinated soft drinks) . The complete blood work Medifast requires at the beginning of the program also motivated me to stay with the program, after seeing I was approaching the danger zone for Triglycerides at age 60.

Now, nearly a month into the program, I'm happy with my 20 pound loss and a 1.5 pound loss on Thanksgiving, and find myself more than half way to my goal.

posted Nov 26th, 2010 10:07 pm


Blair

I have lost 78 lbs with a goal of losing 25 more...this has been a great diet for me and also my family. Our family (of 4) has lost a total of 225 Lbs. My husband is on maintenace and keeping the weight off. This diet totally works for us.... and it is staying off.

posted Nov 18th, 2010 8:50 pm


Laura Yager

Easy to follow, no guessing games and easy to maintain!! Great for busy lifestyles!

posted Nov 16th, 2010 9:23 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account