Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 302 reviews

Medifast

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein
BACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

Author

by


Related Diets: Slim-Fast, Bistro MD, DineWise, Nutrisystem, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 21, 413 total comments)

Lisa

I just started this today and I have to say that I feel hungry. Will my body adjust to this?I had pancake for breakfast, a shake mid morning, soup for lunch & a snack so far and i cant wait to go home and have dinner

posted Mar 7th, 2011 2:25 pm


bek

lost 26 lbs in 2 months. was not starving. Had to get used to eating meals more frequently!!

posted Mar 4th, 2011 4:12 pm


sue miles

Medifast worked for me. was easy to follow and flexible

posted Mar 4th, 2011 3:03 pm


Nikki

I did this diet years ago and lost 50 lbs and kept it off for years. I'm about ready to do it again. You will find your favoritest , but I stick to the dutch chocolate and vanilla shakes with an occasional soup or bar. For the most part, I stayed away from the packaged foods because I didn't love them. This diet is very effective if you stick to it. On average, I lost 8-10 lbs a week for the first 6 weeks.

posted Feb 28th, 2011 1:29 pm



Kimberly Morgan Higginson

I have been reading all the comments on Medifast on this site, and I notice that, positive or negative, no one argues that the diet is not effective.

I have been doing Medifast for 1 week and have lost 4 pounds. I am optimistic that I can get to my goal by July 7, when my sister is getting married. Seeing the weight come off is motivating enough to embrace powdered food!

posted Feb 27th, 2011 2:53 pm


Linda

The packets of food where terrible and some could not be consumed due to the horrible taste.

posted Feb 26th, 2011 12:03 am


VTMommy

I wish that I could say I liked it. I LOVED it when I got down to 145lbs from 185lbs but one year later I have gained it all back still eating healthy. I think it really ruined my metabolism. I also agree with the other posters on two things - 1. the stomach cramps - I thought I had an ulcer or IBS and went to a doctor. They felt it was the food. 2. I also experienced hair loss and it is just now growing back after taking supplements.

I wish I love this program because I loved being 145lbs.

posted Feb 20th, 2011 10:26 pm


Tawny

the easiest and best program I've ever done. This has changed my life!!!

posted Feb 19th, 2011 10:33 pm


Darcy

I too started this diet 5 days ago and am down 3 pounds (it doesn't help that Valentine candy and cookies were at my house and I indulged a little :). I have noticed that the soups and oatmeal taste MUCH better if you add water and let them sit for a few hours. I plan this for my next meal then cook according to directions prior to eating. They rehydrate more and taste better. Also Mrs Dash, pepper or a little salt helps. Adding Splenda to the oatmeal helped as well. Love the PB bars and Chili Cheese puffs. Yuck to the pretzels!

posted Feb 16th, 2011 8:12 pm


Barb

Just started the program with great optimism and high hopes. -- I love oatmeal and thought the breakfasts would be a breeze . But -- Good Grief -- I almost gagged -- had to rinse my mouth to get rid of the cloying taste of soy. Going to be a long haul !! The Peanut Butter Bars are tasty.

posted Feb 14th, 2011 11:56 am



garbia66

I have been on Medifast for exactly 4 weeks and I have lost 20lbs. I love the food & the variety of food. I like oatmeal & the eggs, the soups, the a good number of the bars, the hot chocolate, dark chocolate shakes. The soups actually have meat in them and veggies in it. My fiance is also on the diet and has lost 29 lbs in 3 weeks. He likes the shakes and the bars where I like to eat the other things because I like to actually feel like I have a meal. My fiance's father has lost 90lbs and his mom lost 70lbs.

This is a life change. If you go back to eating the same as before after you go off the diet you will gain the weight back. There is no magic cure. Medifast is a tool that can help people accomplish their goals.

posted Feb 12th, 2011 1:46 am


anon

i started medifast on february 1st. i am 5'3'' and weighed 152lbs. in seven days, i lost exactly 4.6lbs. the first two days being the greatest weight loss since it was mainly water weight. so far this works like wonders! i can't wait to see myself at the end of day 28. i am aiming to be 135lbs on day 28. afterwards i plan on taking march off and then restarting medifast in april for 3-4 weeks. my ultimate goal is to be 120lbs!!!

posted Feb 8th, 2011 7:05 am


tina

first of all, this diet was recommended to me by my doctor. i had tried EVERY diet there was. i had success on some, like weight watchers and herbalife, but always gained the weight back. my doctor patiently waited till i was mentally ready to commit to a new life, not a diet. after 2 back surgerys and developing sever arthritis in my ankles and knees from the weight i have been carrying around most of my life, i decided i didnt want to live that way anymore and didnt want to die ashamed and in pain. so i started medifsat. i have now been on medifast for 7 weeks and have lost 39 pounds. i already feel tons better. the food is not that bad. most of it is pretty good. i have learned to be creative and seek out new ways to prepare it and my lean and green meals. i have not been constipated at all or have not lost any hair. i take regular womans vitamins everyday and i make sure to eat my snack everyday and i make sure to eat something with healthy fat also. it is a commitment. not a diet. for the first time in my life i have hope. even if i have to stay on it the rest of my life it would be worth it. thank you medifast

posted Feb 5th, 2011 5:42 pm


Deborah

I went on Medifast 3 different times trying to lose weight before going through in-vitro. I was successful with the weight loss all three times, losing anywhere from 20-40 pounds. (Oh, and had 3 little boys!)
I love that once you get on it the food cravings go away and you really aren't hungry. The problem I have is it's hard for me to transition to the maintanance plan. On Medifast your metabolism slows so much that if you go back to regular eating, let's say 1400 Kcal a day the weight comes right back.
I totally recommend Medifast, but you really need to stick to it and not cheat. Remember, a piece of cake will taste the same 6 months from now, but you'll be thin!

posted Feb 2nd, 2011 10:41 pm


Stefanie

In order to enjoy Medifast you have to be committed and willing to deal with some of the foods that are less tasty. I too at first was skeptical of eating mainly powder and thought it was not right to have to watch my family sit back and eat whatever in front of me. But you have to be strong and determined to reach your weight loss. My sister is 5'2" and went from 160lbs to 120lbs. She looks great and has managed to keep it off for 6 months now. I am only on my second week but I already feel great and have lost 7.4 lbs. I have seen with my own eyes that this is not a scam! It is merely a jump start to a Healthy Lifestyle. Once you meet your weight goal and are off the plan you can incorporate more of the foods you use to eat. But now you will have more control over your portions. That is my main issue is portion control. I hope to report to you by the summer that I have become A LOT closer to my weight goal!!

posted Feb 1st, 2011 11:07 pm


Pat

Lost 12 pounds in 2 weeks. I did not go on MF for the taste. I went on it so I could change my life. Constipation or direa? I had that eating burgers and chicken nuggets daily for the past years.
I decided that I would not be able to avoid major health issues as I age into the 60s and 70s unless I made a drastic change. The meals & coaching gave me all I needed. This is not a buffet or gormet diet. It is a necessary means to get rid of 50 pounds and learn how to eat properly. Not overnight but I took 5 years to gain that 50 pounds so 4 or 5 months or less is not a problem. Laugh at all the comments about bad tasting food. Never been in the service or newly married at a young age? That food was a lot worse!! Get real or just whine, but don't waste print time because you can't be self motivated. IT IS NOT ABOUT THE FOOD! IT IS ABOUT A LIFE CHANGE!

posted Jan 30th, 2011 11:28 pm


Eve

I also went to the location in Addison, Texas. I saw the pictures of people who had significant weight loss, listened to the sales picthes but in the end I left and told my friend not to go.

It felt like a scam. I do no if it is indeed a scam but it felt like they were money hungry rather than caring about me losing weight in a healthy way.

I also read the ingredients of some of their products. I recommend that you read them too, then decided if you want to put that stuff in your body.

Starting tomorrow, I am going to eat every 2 hours with fruits and veggies and then have a lean meat meal for dinner with jello for dessert.

I hope it will get me back on track without the preservatives and constipation of Medifast.

posted Jan 30th, 2011 7:32 pm


marie

I lost 40 lbs on the medifast program in 4 months. After being on it for awhile I got very board with it and kept adding to it. but I kept eating the food. after 6 months I began to have severe pain in my stomach form all the soy. Every time I ate a meal it was like someone hit me in the tummy. So I stopped. I still believe in the program and its teachings, just not the food for me. Dr. A has great Ideas and beliefs and if we applied them to ourselves and lived by them we would not gain it back and we would succeed at many more things that we try to accomplish in life. So if you have tried and failed do not blame the diet, blame yourself.

posted Jan 24th, 2011 10:04 pm


Jackie

Here is a cheap way to do Medifast! and it does work. You can do like I did and go to their site and write down everything they offer , calories, carbs etc. Then go to Walmart and buy everything yourself. For instance the oatmeal: Walmarts sugar free maple and brown sugar. Soup: Campbells low calorie version Bars: South Beach bars Eggs: Egg whites Drinks: any of the low carb drinks like atkins, Costco has a great one! You can also do 1/2 of the slimfast shake mix with ice and make a great milk shake that is still equal to the medifast one. Nuts, sugar free jello etc etc. Then eat a lean an grean meal that you make yourself like chicken and veggies or salad etc. It works I've done it. I spent about $100 buying everything I needed compared to $300 for their plan. Only set back you dont have a coach. But join Sparks People its FREE and a great site. I hope this helps some of you that don't have the money to buy this plan.

posted Jan 22nd, 2011 5:46 pm


jenm

so i have been on the diet for three weeks and I am stuck? I have only lost 8 pounds in three weeks and have not been able to lose one more pound in about 5 days, is there a reason for this. The only thing i can think is i do have two cups of coffee in the morning with a dash of creamer with my morning meal. Why can I not lose any more weight??? Is there any suggestions?

posted Jan 22nd, 2011 4:51 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account