Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 302 reviews

Medifast

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein
BACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

Author

by


Related Diets: Slim-Fast, Bistro MD, DineWise, Nutrisystem, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 21, 413 total comments)

Mimi

I just started the 2 week trial program to see if I could stick to this and what the food tasted like. They sent me 2 weeks of chicken noodle soup, 2 weeks of oatmeal (which i have never liked) and a variety of shakes and brownies. There is no variety the same food day in and day out. I don't care how good or bad the food would be that is boring. I am not sure I will be able to last a full 2 weeks, eating the same thing everyday! I am very disappointed and the food does taste terrible.

posted Mar 19th, 2012 9:22 pm


Rob

I think the problem most people have with the taste of the food is due to the fact that our society is used to food that is loaded with sugar, sodium, artificial flavors and sweeteners. It takes a while for the taste buds to grow accustomed to food without those ingredients. Once you adjust, you'll find that the high-fat, sugary, artificially-flavored foods you once enjoyed don't taste as good as you remember. That makes it easier to transition to whole, natural healthy foods whr you can actually enjoy the taste of real food. Medifast is just a bridge to get you from where you are to where you want to go, and if you are truly motivated to reach your goal, the taste of Medifast food becomes a non-issue. Good Luck!

posted Mar 15th, 2012 1:13 am


Rob

I'm a Take Shape For Life Health Coach, and I believe, and my clients would testify, that the key for long-term weight management is lifestyle change. Most people can't do that by themselves, that's why my coaching business is thriving. I help people set health goals and support them through the process, at the same time teaching the Habits of Health. 85% of people who lose weight on diest gain it back - plus about 10lbs more - within 2-years. With a health coach, it's almost the opposite. More people are successful because of the support, encouragement, and accountability. Please feel free to contact me if you're interested in more information about health coaching.

posted Mar 15th, 2012 1:05 am


Marion

It's very important to become involved with the online MF community. There you learn things like the fact that if you soak the soups over-night they are much better. That if you stick with it, your tastes will change. Can't count how many people hated the oatmeal in the beginning, but later came back to it and loved it. The MF community members will also give you lots of tips on how to prep the food. The information on the packets isn't always the best way to do it... and for folks saying just the same # of calories in "real" food... it's not the same. The MF meals are vitamin fortified. If you try to eat the low-level of calories without the suppliments added to the MF meals, you'll be under-nourished. The MF meals are formulated to keep you out of starvation mode. The MF nutritional support will advise how to modify the diet if you want to exercise (i.e. a 4-2 plan instead of a 5-1 plan), because if you increase the calorie deficit too much by exercising a lot, your body will start conserving fat instead of shedding it.

Btw, your example MF meal above is misleading. I've yet to see a 7oz tilapia fillet. When I measure out my 7oz of tilapia, it usually works out to 6 or 7 tilapia filets and I have to split it between two meals (meaning I actually end up eating two lean and green meals that day, for a total of seven meals). Also, during the 5-1 phase, you would not have sugar snap peas or carrots in your lean and green meal!

I've been on it since October and have lost 40lbs.

Again, anyone who decides to give MF a try, please, please, please connect with the mymedifast.com community for guidance and support. It makes all the difference.

posted Mar 13th, 2012 6:45 pm


Valerie

The food tasted horrible. I tried it for 4 days and it never got better for me. I am sure you can loose weight with it because I want to throw up everytime I eat...Do not recommend this at all!

posted Mar 12th, 2012 2:14 pm


Gail

Hi, I have been on medifast for almost three months. I have lost almost 40 pounds since I started. Yes you do need to find out what you like and what you do not. I loved the bars and the soft serve. I did hit a stand still for a while. it seemed like no matter what i did i held at a certain weight. I got discourage but kept at it. Now Iam strarting back down. I found out that I need oatmeal for breakfast and that keeps me feeling fuller all day long. don't know why but right now I am not questioning it. Keep with it as it does work if you work it.

posted Mar 12th, 2012 12:55 am


Ashley

I started this diet on February 7th because I was tired of feeling FAT. My friend and I am are doing it together. I have lost 10 pounds so far and I am still working towards losing 10 more. The food is diet food. Try a little of everything too see what you like. I eat the blueberry oatmeal for breakfast, the bars for snack, the soups for lunch and the pretzels or chocolate shakes for my other snack. I have my lean and green for dinner and then another yummy treat which is their chocolate chip cookie. It is yummy especially when you cook it in the oven as well as the brownie. DO IT and you will lose weight. I have struggled my whole life losing weight this is the first time I have actually lost weight. So thank you medifast!!!!

posted Mar 9th, 2012 9:43 pm


worst tasting stuff

The food was AWFUL! It all tasted like cardboard! The eggs are powder, the soups are all dehydrated so they are crunchy and inedible, the protein powders are thick and taste like baby formula, it just hits the back of your throat...I am on my 4th day and yes I have lost 4 pounds, but that's because I only eat half a protein bar cause it takes me 15 minutes to get it down between the gagging..i am only eating half of everything! it's awful! Take their idea...high protein, low carbs, 5 100 calorie meals a day, and 1 small veggie and lein meat a day and you will lose weight with EDIBLE food

posted Mar 5th, 2012 8:35 pm


Nancy

I need to lose 15 lbs. I went on Weight watchers and followed it to the letter, weighing everything, exercising, etc. It took me 5 months to lose 5 lbs. I got so frustrated I went off the diet and gained it all back. SO I decided to try Medifast. So far so good...I have lost 5 lbs in 1 month. I figured out what I like, the dutch chocolate shake, the bars and the brownies and the Maryland crab soup. I think it will be easy to live off of that for the next 2 months so I can take off all the weight. Try Medifast...it works!

posted Mar 3rd, 2012 12:10 am


itworks75

I started this diet because I gained a tremendous amount of weight during my 2nd pregnancy in 2003. I stayed overweight from 2004-2009 and in return my health suffered including my feet, hips, and legs. I was in so much pain from carrying the extra weight that I told myself that I'd rather just die. I couldn't play with my son or walk far without the hip pain making me cripple over in severe, throbbing pain. I couldn't do anything I wanted to do anymore and slowly became a recluse. I was just a shadow of my former self. So, at work a friend/co-worker told me about a diet called "Medifast", she gave me a few packets/bars of her stock and told me to try it out for a day to see if I liked the food. I did like the food, I mean it's definately "diet food"...it doesn't taste gourmet or fatty but it is not inedible like some posters say. I decided in March of 2009 to fork over 250 something for a month's worth of food. The first few days were hard, I won't deny that. I felt hungry and tired. Also at first I would weight myself daily because you drop 1-2 pounds a day the first week or two and it was motivating me to stick with it; however during week 3 I lost nothing, at that time I didn't know that's a common thing because your body is adjusting. I also could not drink wine anymore which was extremely difficult for me to adjust to because I loved having wine during the weekends. Anyway, I stuck with it and at 6 weeks I had lost 22 pounds. I continued to stick with it and within five months I lost a total of 89 pounds - went from a size 20 to a size 4. My hair did not FALL OUT, some do and some don't and my gallbladder did not go crazy like some report; in fact my severe PMS and period issues went away - I would have severe cramps, bloating and fatigue all my life and those symptoms completely went away during the program. Here it is 2012 and I've been on the maintenace program since my weight loss and have not gained anything back - nothing! I have muscles now and run marathons. I make love with the lights on and wear all the cute clothes that show off my healthy figure. I have energy to do anything I want and my depression is completely gone!!!!! Yes, it's a diet and yes it's hard at first but you got to want to LIVE because when you are fat you aren't living you are DYING!!!!! I would have rather just withered away and died than continue to stay overweight. I was so miserable and Medifast helped me change my eating habits and yes YOU CAN DO ANYTHING YOU PUT YOUR MIND TO!

posted Feb 26th, 2012 5:53 pm


Jim

I just started the Medifast program a week ago. So far I am completely satisfied. I staeted out by getting rid of all the food in the house that would not comply with the diet, living alone makes this easier. I keep to the progeam, to a T, and was extremely suprised when I had my first weigh in this morning. I lost 12.6 lbs. I read several reviews and one mentioned disiness and almost blacking out. I have a fairly active day at work and I have not frly any of these symptoms. I actually feel no different than prior to starting the program. I do realize that everyone is different. However, I think that was a rare case. Well, I have 79 more pounds to go. I just keep my mind set on the goal and stay positive!!

posted Feb 26th, 2012 4:05 am


SHEILA

I have been on Medifast for about two weeks. There are 70 choices of food to choose from including oatmeal, soups,
shakes and bars. I am on vacation and unable to weigh myself but the first week, I lost 6 lbs. I only have 30 to lose so I was thrilled with losing that much in a week. The food is edible and the plan works!!

posted Feb 23rd, 2012 4:33 pm


Jean

Horrible taste, I could not get though one afternoon on this stuff, wondering why I spend the money, I could cook an egg in the morning, light soup for lunch, eat a lean meat and vegetable for lunch and would have lost just as much weight. I don't understand how people eat this stuff...

posted Feb 14th, 2012 7:05 pm


Curtis

I loved it. Lost 50lbs in 4 mos. It was very easy combined with gym time.

I found the only way it works is you have to have a very regular daily routine. Minimize after hours work functions. Remove yourself from social influance and NO alcohol.

It works, no doubt about it. But you have to commit to lifestyle changes.

posted Feb 12th, 2012 4:11 pm


Raven

I will say this it works. BUT be prepared for light-headedness, I got blacked out vision as if I were ready to pass out. It IS a LIQUID DIET. The soups U see are WATER those bit and I mean bits of veggies in the soup float to the top its not all through the soup. You dont need to work out. U dont have the strength so be SMART. CHECK with your doctor first if you have HBP( High Blood Pressure OR Low Blood PREssure) This is a tough diet and you definantly feel woozy on it, empty like you haven't eaten. I think this should be kept for hospital use. Hospitals would make good money accepting in obese people and using this plan. But I feel U should visit your doctor every three days - until you get used to the diet. BE WARE... if U go back to eating pasta, pizza sandwitches you WILL REGAIN EVERY OUNCE and some.

posted Feb 6th, 2012 12:03 pm


Buyer Beware

Been on the program for a year in a half. Lost 60 lbs out of my 120 I was going for. If you have food allergies don't bother doing this. I wish I would have researched this more before dropping all the money on this. I'm allergic to nuts & since joining I've become allergic to soy & dairy. That is over half of the food they offer. I have a very active physical job that this diet does not give you the energy or the feeling of being full. I was happy about losing the weight I did, but very difficult with the food choices they offer. What I'm not allergic to taste horrible.

posted Feb 5th, 2012 6:31 am


CBAV

My first 3 weeks on Medifast have been very rewarding. Between the convenience of the 5 Medifast meals and the 1 home cooked Lean and Green meal, I am never hungry and the cravings are gone. My doctor was very pleased when I saw him after 8 days on MF. My fasting blood glucose decreased around 40 points and I lost 18 pounds. These improvements came with Medifast being the only difference. No exercise, no medication, just Medifast.

My doctor and I are both big fans of Medifast.

posted Feb 3rd, 2012 1:58 am


Sisi

Medi-fast is VERY expensive.
Look at the nutritional content of the "meals". Basically you get 5 100-120 calorie powdered food like substances a day and a 400 calorie meal you prepare yourself a day. Of course you'd lose weight, because you are starving your body!!!
For starters, their powdered eggs are a much pricier (and nastier) version of egg beaters. Buy some egg beaters and eat 100 calories of those. Or 2 hardboiled eggs (medium) will cost you 125 calories, only 15 calories more than a powdered egg packet.
Lots of companies make low cal protein diet shakes and bars, And those cost about 4-6 dollars for 5-6 portions, and oftentimes less. You can replace a snack or two wtih those.
How about a baby bell cheese and some celery sticks instead too? Or heck some nut butter and celery. Their items are 7 portions for 17 dollars!!!! even their cheapo powdered soups!

I've lost 12 pounds this month on eggs cooked without oil (or just a spray), lots and lots of homemade soup, trader joe mini brie bites, lean protein and veggie dinners, 93% lean ground turkey, my mom's borscht recipe with beans instaed of potatoes and a little low fat sour cream.
Eat sensibly. And eat more than 1200 calories a day. When you eat too little you lose weight, but in the wrong ways. You lose muscle (hence the people who mentioned they had a hard time exercising on the program) and eat more protein and fewer carbs. When you do eat carbs eat complex ones.
A great breakfast? 1 serving of steel cut oats (made with water), 1 tblspoon almond butter unsalted and unsweetened, and some unsweetened frozen wild blueberries or peaches or half of a fresh banana. If you really want to do the tiny meal thing then have half for breakfast and the other half for morning snack.
Then a baby bell cheese round (low fat if you want to conserve more calories) and some celery sticks... You get the idea. Pre-portion things for yourself and eat real food. Drink a slimfast or eat a fiber one bar if you need to too. Just be smart and save your money and don't eat powdered junk.

posted Feb 2nd, 2012 4:14 pm


Miechia

I am pretty sure you will lose weight on the medifast diet. The reason being is the food is so nasty, almost inedible that you will probably be starving yourself from the many skipped meals and passes on the food. This is absolutely the most gross food I have ever eaten. Please invest in a healthy cookbook and skip this waste of money!

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 5:33 pm


roozie1

The BEST food supplements ever!! The meals are NOT inedible. The "shakes" are NOT powder floating in water. The "bars" are NOT a little rice with something on them. Honestly, waste your money. You will lose weight because there is NO sugar in there, but you will be able to last because the food supplements are so good.

posted Jan 23rd, 2012 11:47 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account