Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews

Lemonade Diet

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit


Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 14 of 18, 341 total comments)

Branna

I am starting today, looking to loose 18lbs in ten days, wish me luck.



I will update daily

posted Dec 29th, 2008 11:14 am


dana

I will be starting the diet n the morning..I have worked my way from meat so when I'm done with this cleanse I will be on the right track by eating healthy and feeling GREAT.........

posted Dec 28th, 2008 7:12 pm


tyra

I'm starting tomorrow, i will keep you guys posted.

posted Dec 26th, 2008 1:12 am


mary

the sea salt flush tastes yuck and i finished it about one hour kater. but the lemon mix is great

posted Dec 22nd, 2008 4:08 pm


ishia

can you use home water for this deit? please answer back.

posted Dec 19th, 2008 4:26 pm


weight be gone

well i've been loking for the recipe to this diet since beyoncee said she used it for dreamgirls,and i am greatful to have found it.i start tomorrow i plan 2 do it for7 days and ill take it from there.ill keep y'all posted.

posted Dec 18th, 2008 4:03 pm


Chaquita

The lemonade diet does work if you do it right. The first time I tried it, I did it for four days and lost 10 pounds. About 5 pounds settled in afterwards for a net loss of five. I did the diet again three weeks later and for seven days. I only lost a total of 6 more pounds but I stopped the fast because I didnt want to lose too much. I lost a total of 9 pounds and have not gained it back and this was June of 2008 when I did the second cleanse. I dont recommend any pre-mixed powders. I made mine myself. I used the diet at a time when I been under a lot of stress, so I ate what I wanted, when, and how much. I found my self not being able to fit into the clothes I had been able to wear three months before. I needed something to get me back to where I was before. For anyone struggling with it, I only did the diet for four days because it was real rough. The second time was much easier. Good luck.

posted Dec 18th, 2008 2:23 am


KT

This diet really worked. I felt more energized afterwards. I did it for about 9 days and lost about 14 pounds. Although I lost weight on the diet, the key to keeping it off has been watching calorie intake, eating healthier food (at least 50% organic, 100% organic meat), and exercise.

posted Dec 12th, 2008 3:44 pm


Ilana

SECOND DAY:

My first day was ok. The drink is not the best ever but its not impossible to drink all i kept thinking about it was how i wanted this to work for me.

I weighted myself before the diet and i was 56.6Kg and today i was 55.6Kg.

See you tommorrow.

posted Dec 10th, 2008 11:05 am


Ilana

I started the diet today.

I got the Simply Slender Diet Drink from GNC and it is around $37.

I am planning on doing it for 4 days and then for four days more in the following week.

posted Dec 9th, 2008 9:58 am


Felecia

Well tomorrow will be my first day! I have not seen the recipe for the salt water, does anyone have the recipe and when are you suppose to consume it? Thanks

posted Dec 7th, 2008 10:38 pm


VIC

Well I am on my 7th day and I still have energy and my clothe are fitting comfortable.
I plan to do this for 14days. Then for an additional 2days I wll drink freshly squeezed (fruit juice) Then for an additional 3days I will intake protein shakes for Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
After that I will start introducing food to my system.
This will consist of a high protein intake rather than carbs.

I am at 235lbs, my goal is 200lbs.

posted Dec 7th, 2008 10:37 am


sweetyb

i dont believe on diet.. ur just gonna starve urself and is not healthy.. it myt have side effect later.. i workouot and and is a healthier.. i look good and got muscle. slim.. people ask me how i get so toned and slim.. and i say i workout.. diet is not the idea to loose weight.. your just gonna starve yourseld.

posted Dec 4th, 2008 11:08 pm


Kauttia

I start my Cleanse Tommrow.... I'm scared of the sea salt and water... I guess I have to get up Reallllllllllll Early to stay actually close to the bathroom.. I'm glad my bathroom is done being Remodeled Because I serouisly Could have been in trouble.. Just think Of me Running Next door to my neighbor to ask to use the bathroom and blow it up?!?! But Around day 2-4 days.. I'll keep ya posted When I start to Vent of the smelling of food in my house... smh

posted Dec 3rd, 2008 10:37 pm


SonMadi

I started the cleansing today - Dec 2nd - and it has been extremely easy. My plan is to continue for 10 days. I will post an update then.

posted Dec 2nd, 2008 4:42 pm


Gigi

I did it for 10 days last December and lost a lot of weight and kept it off until the past two months. It's not easy if you are going through menopause and dealing with lots of stress and grief - death in family. I put some weight back on and feel miserable, so I started again and I'm on day 2. IT DOES CLEANSE YOU -- trust me, that is the main reason people gain weight is what goes in stays in.

posted Dec 2nd, 2008 9:57 am


ale

i am on day one!! it is hard i couldnt help it eating a grape! hope its not a big deal but i will still do it!!!

posted Nov 28th, 2008 10:45 pm


Janie

I used the Simply Slender Lemonade Diet which is already mixed and in a bottle. I only did it for 4 days which is what my doctor recommended. I have done longer fasts using this recipe and it is really just too extreme for me at this point. I believe in the benefits of this fast and liked this recipe. For those who just can not do anything as extreme as 10 - 40 days and are limited Simply Slender is a healthy alternative and I found still gives you all the benefirts of the original recipe.

posted Nov 21st, 2008 1:49 pm


basia10

My Grandmother who was from Louisiana used to tell me about this lemon and cayenne pepper cleanse hum! I wonder if this is it. Anyway it works wonders for cleansing, I did it recently for 4 days, which today is the fifth day and I'm taking a break today, but I will be back on it tomarrow. You can truley feel the effects. I have done fasting many times in my 46 years of life for cleansing purposes. But I must say this will really test your will power! (mind over matter)!!!!!

posted Nov 20th, 2008 10:34 pm


Miss Gates

I tried it once before but didnt stick to it. I will try it this year again on the first of Decemeber (after Thanksgiving) and will motivate myself to stick to it.

Wish me luck!!!!!!!!!!

posted Nov 20th, 2008 6:18 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account