Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

36%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews
Lemonade Diet

Lemonade Diet Review: Does it Work?

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Lemonade Diet is a weight loss fad diet that claims it can detoxify and cleanse the body. It’s also known as the Master Cleanse Diet, and it became popularized by the celebrity Beyoncé who also used it.

Only liquids are allowed and it claims it’s able to promote an improved digestive system for more energy, vitality, happiness, and overall health improvement. It was originally mentioned in a book but there have been numerous variations on this diet. Our review experts have researched many different dietsand the most effective for weight loss was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It combines an appetite suppressing meal replacement alongside a fat burning diet pill. Both have natural ingredients with no cheap fillers, stimulants, colors, preservatives, or artificial additives. Read more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet by clicking the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Lemonade Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

For 10 days the goal is to only drink the following:

• Salt water mixture: 2 full tablespoons of non-iodized salt and a one quart of slightly warm water. First thing in the morning one has to drink this on a completely empty stomach.

• Lemonade drink: 10 ounces of spring or purified water are mixed alongside 2 tablespoons of either lemon or lime juice, a tenth of a teaspoon of cayenne pepper, 2 tablespoons of maple syrup.  A minimum of 6 to 12 glasses need to be drank each day.

• A laxative or peppermint tea: The herbal laxative is needed for those who can’t have a normal bowel movement. It’s preferably drunk before bedtime in order for it to process fully by the body. Peppermint tea is also recommended as it can help reduce any bloating, stomach cramps, and nausea.

Under no circumstancesare there any other kinds of food allowed. This is to properly detoxify the body so it can flush out toxins and rejuvenate itself. After the full 10 days are done and weight loss results are achieved, it’s then advised to slowly introduce light foods such as soup, juice, raw fruits, and raw vegetables.

Our experts have compiled a best of list for the highest rated weight loss diets, read which make the list via this link.

It’s mentioned that side effects are possible, and that’s why they allow for peppermint tea and the laxatives. Possible side effects revealed by the official diet are:

• Nausea, food cravings, headaches boredom, nausea, and lack of a normal bowel movement.

It’s claimed that these kinds of side effects are normal, as it’s the body flushing out harmful toxins. This is not proven however. These same kinds of symptoms are possible from eating a diet that is rich in sugary maple syrup, acidic lemon or lime juice, and a diet high in sodium. It may also be due to the lack of sufficientvitamins and minerals.

A Dr. Hansa Bhargava adds:

“If weight loss is your goal, it may work temporarily. Anytime you limit your food intake, especially this drastically, you will lose some weight”

Other issues mentioned by the doctor are:

“problem is, you will losemuscle mass. This diet puts you at risk for nutritional deficiencies, too”

As far as sustained weight loss the doctor saw no benefit:

“you will likely gain the weight back really quickly once you start eating normally”

These are serious issues which show that this diet has not enough nutrition, calories, and an unlikelihood of promoting positive weight loss results.  This is why this fad diet has not been proven to be safe and effective. The doctor finally recommends:

“it is better to lose weight gradually with a balanced diet that makes sure you get the nutrients you need. Cross this one off your list”

For a comprehensive list of the highest rated weight loss diets, click on the link here.

Exercise is not mentioned by this diet, but it's unlikely with a 650 calorie limit that it would be advised.  Health US News.com adds:

“it may even be dangerous to exercise when you’re consuming so few calories. Ask your doctor before exercising while (on this diet)”

This can also potentially make it difficult to perform regular tasks as the caloric demands for both men and women are around 2,000.  The Lemonade Diet offers less than half of the advised daily amount for maintenance and proper physical functions. This can potentially lead to issues such as fatigue and brain fog.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Lemonade Diet Quality of Ingredients

While lemon or lime juice, cayenne pepper, and maple syrup can be healthy in moderation, relying on theingredients for weight loss is not a good way to lose weight. There are far too many potential issues with this mixture, as it does not have enough vitamins and minerals.

There’s also a need for laxatives in order to promote a bowel movement, as no solid foods are allowed on this diet. The fact that one cannot rely on their own body for a natural process shows how potentially unsafe this diet is.

There’s also a salt flush which can contain a large amount of sodium which can promote water weight gain. The extreme limit by eating only 650 calories is also another issue which can cause many side effects.

Better options for weight loss are available via the list of the top ranked weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Lemonade Diet

The price will likely be cheap since the bulk of the diet is limited and relies on the same basic foods. Howeverthere’s no evidence that sustaining oneself on these kinds of foods would be safe and effective for weight loss. Health experts have also agreed that this is simply another fad diet lacking in sufficient nutrition and calories.

Due to the many potentially side effects which can damage the body, there’s far too much risk involved with this diet.

Business of Lemonade Diet

The diet was first mentioned in a book called the “The Master Cleanse” which was published in 1976 by Stanley Burroughs. The creator has not provided any proof showing whether or not this is a safe and effective diet.

He has also been charged in many lawsuits for proving false and ineffective nutrition and health advice. He was a specialist in natural medicine, which is a field of medicine which his not accepted in the medical community.

Our experts have rated many weight loss diets, the best are featured in the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Lemonade Diet

Featured below are some reviews from users of the Lemonade Diet:

“This diet is very restrictive”

“I was miserable. I had no energy… felt like I wassuffering from a rare disorder”

“It’s mostly nonsense from those who don’t understand physiology or any aspect of medicine”

“The cleanse is not the best way to lose weight”

People often had extreme hunger pains from a lack of solid foods. There were major complaints as well from those who lose some weight but managed to pile it back on as soon as they ate normally.

The majority of users had trouble not thinking about food, and once they resumed eating they felt like they had to binge. Some failed to lose any weight at all.

Common symptoms were listed by users including nausea, headaches, fatigue, low blood sugar, mood swings, irritability, difficulty sleeping, and low mental performance. Some also experienced serious issues such as extremely low blood sugar and depression.

Click on the link provided here for a comprehensive listing of the best diets for weight loss.

Conclusion - Does Lemonade Diet Work?

The Lemonade Diet is similar to other fad diets which suggest limiting oneself to just a few foods. Only liquids are allowed, and the diet suggests only using it for 10 day periods. Since the caloric limit is 650 a day, this will likely result in weight loss. Any extreme caloric deprivation like this is known to promote weight loss. The issue is that it’s not sustainable. Many people have experiencedseriousside effects, and they also mentioned how all the lost weight returned as soon as normal eating continued. The diet has also not been proven to be safe and effective. There are health professionals who have concluded that this diet is not safe or effective. It enforces a strict lack of calories with very little to no nutrients.

Our experts have rated many kinds of diets and the most effective one for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. In it is a meal replacement for hours of appetite suppression as well as a fat burning diet pill. No added stimulants, binders, colors, preservatives, fillers, or any unwanted additives are included. They combine to help suppress appetite, burn fat, increase metabolism, and provide well-rounded weight loss support.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by an entire 30 day money back return policy. This allows customers to keep their money with no questions asked for an entire 30 days. To learn more about the 18Shake Diet, click on the link cited here.

How Does Lemonade Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Lemonade Diet
  • 36 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 13 of 18, 343 total comments)

Janie

For those of you who can't find the grade B maple syrup, try getting the premixed version called Simply Slender. You can get it at GNC stores. You can also check the simplyslenderdiet website and find a store near you that sells it. It really worked great for me and I didn't have to track anything down or mess with sqeezing lemons.

posted Jan 19th, 2009 5:13 pm


Melissa

I'm on day one and just starting the sea salt wasn't the greatest but i did try putting some lemon in it and that helped alot I was wondering if anyone knew where i could get the lax. tea I tryed giant eagle and didn't find it would it be at gnc or wegmans? I was also wondering if you could not put the caynne in the lemon aid and just take the capsils 4 times a day?

posted Jan 19th, 2009 9:55 am


Kimmy

+

Ok this is day one for me! I only could find Grade A maple syrup myself. I took the recipe and made it in a 32 oz container so it could go to work with me. I used 1 tablespoon of maple syrup per 8oz of water and i found that to be sweet enough. I am hoping this is going to be a good cleanse and if I loose some weight in the process.....BONUS++++ will check back in a few days and update my progress.

posted Jan 19th, 2009 9:08 am


elmerelm

Ok folks I have everythhing except the maple syrup all they sell in Ohio is Grade A dark amber. Acording to all the googles I did on Maple syrup. Grade A and B are close to one another So the results should be the same. B has a more robust "Maple" flavor and possibly more vitamins and minerals. I drank the Salt water this morning to test its affects. Nothing after 3 hours, I hope its the same while driving. Once again I am starting tomorrow, and will update you as I have internet access.
Elmer

posted Jan 18th, 2009 12:20 pm


ray haroldson

I am just starting this program today. I have been taking Prilosec OTC once a day and 1 -80mg ( baby aspirin) at night. should I stop taking these?

posted Jan 17th, 2009 1:01 pm


Mich

I just started yesterday. All three things are the worst I have ever tasten. I got one more sip today of the seasalt. Hopefully I can downed it. I will update in a few days about it.

posted Jan 17th, 2009 10:33 am


Elmerelm

I have read the 5 pages of comments on this web site. I am displeased with the Negative folks out there. I agree with the people who state this is a cleanse not a diet. Yes the best way to lose weight is through a life style change, but change has to start somewhere so why not with this cleanse? I need a quick, short term fix myself. I have 10 days to have a waist that is 2 inches smaller. My body is in a rut I have been hovering between 260-270lbs over the last 4 months ( I am 6'1"). I hope this cleanse will kick start my butt into a downward trend to achieve my goal of 240lbs or less for life. It seems like most people have stated "They will post thier results." only to not ever log on again. I suspect these people did not pass the first 2 days. Folks if I fail to pass these fateful days I will acknowledge my defeat on this website. I believe I will pass for two reasons:
1- I will be driving across country and won't have food at arms reach for snacking.
2- If I do not lose this weight I will lose my job and let down my family and Wife who is 4 months pregnant.

I think those are two very good reasons to prevail. So as many have said before me 'Wish me Luck!" I will be purchasing everything tomorrow and starting this cleanse Monday the 19th of January. I may not have internet access so forgive me if I don't post until the 23rd.

Elmer

P.S. Be sure to watch the NFL AFC championship game on Sunday. I predict the Steelers will beat the Ravens by less then 10 points, and will face the Eagles in the Superbowl. I hope the Cardinals beat the Eagles (the Eagles beat the Steelers earlier this year so I want them to lose).

posted Jan 17th, 2009 1:37 am


Kimmy

+

I am on day 2 and I am not hungry at all. The sea salt is the worst (i tried it warm, and it went down better) Did not get any result immediatly after drinking but today I think everything is working like it should. My sense of smell is improving, and I feel like I can breath better. I started at 270, I am not a slave to the scale but I am excited to see what comes of all this. My main goal is to rid my body of all the junk that I have been eating in my 39 years of life. I have (had) a sweet tooth out of this world and I love fried foods, so I have research this for several weeks and have gotten into my mind that this is the beginning of the change I so despretly want. This is also a time to get closer to God, while denying myself so my reasons are two-fold. Good luck to everyone and I will continue to update my progress.

posted Jan 16th, 2009 1:08 pm


sam

I have tried this lemonade diet 6 months ago and I lost 12 lbs in 7 days. And I will do it again starting tomorrow. It is not a diet. It's a body cleansing and eliminating toxins in your body. However DON'T mix it with any diet pill because there might be some side effect.

With the sea salt flush I add a tsp of lemon juice to make it more tolerable to take: , taste like you are drinking a warm sour salty lemonade instead of being sweet. I liked it and hope you will too.

posted Jan 15th, 2009 4:23 pm


Jen

+

First, congratulations to those that are finding the Master Cleanse to be a healthy reward to a clean and purified lifestyle. I agree with the message below, this is not a diet! It is a whole body cleanse, to release your body of any waste it's storing (in organs, tissues, joints, muscles, etc.). As stated many times in these reviews, "the weight loss is just an added bonus!" :)

Second, I know the recipe is not something that taste yummy. But you have to be strong, everything in the elixir serves a purpose. You cannot alter with this or that (honey, laxatives, wheat toast, etc.). Nor is it ok to supplement with a diet pill or a vegetable juice from time to time (not even an Advil or a small piece of gum....it will just counter act with your body changes). Your entire body is looking to flush those things and lower your blood sugar; so you can begin to lose the weight and rid your joints and muscles of any aches and pains. So, if you are altering your daily intake at all, you are truly not on the cleanse. Also, if you cheat and eat, and think you can just start over...you can't. Ideally, you are then going back to "day one!"

I know it's hard, just be strong....it's mind over matter!...and in the end you will feel so much better....and HEALTHIER!!!

Good luck to you all....

P.S. I lost 8 inches and 30 lbs (did 13 days).

posted Jan 14th, 2009 5:10 pm


luvubetter

honey is not a substitute. after researching i read the b grade is the syrup that should be used.

posted Jan 12th, 2009 6:57 pm


luvubetter

this is day 1 for me. the taste is not bad and i plan on sticking it out for at least 10 days. will check in later.. goal is to drop 30lbs.

posted Jan 12th, 2009 6:35 pm


lena

Well I am now on day 2 and like I said I would give you guys an update. The first day went pretty good. I did a kickboxing class and felt great. I did good up until later in the night when I just suddenly started starving. I did eat a few rice cakes and a couple forks of salad. I hope it doesn't have too much of an impact. I did good this morning as well. A good kickboxing class and an intense ab workout. However I did lose a half of an inch of my waist and hips. Wish me luck.........:)

posted Jan 12th, 2009 3:22 pm


Maya

I'm on day three of the master cleanse I was craving a food so badly today I made one I took half a slice of wheat bread a slice of tomato and some capers. I was so hungry while making the sandwich I would have eaten just about anything. However as soon as I finished the sandwich I realized I actually wasn't really hungry at all and all my favorite foods like french fries and pizza didn't sound at all appetizing. So I took the salt water flush and let everything out of my system and I'm back on the diet. I realize that i'm not actually hungry but I still have cravings for the old junk food I ate. I think this diet is tough but I definitely think that it's doable this little slip up I made today actually pushed me to continue. Good luck to all.

posted Jan 11th, 2009 5:09 pm


lena

I start mine tommorrow. I just went to the store and got my lemons, maple syrup, and cayenne pepper. I figure if I can tolerate airplane food thnis should be alright. I will also be addind my slimquick diet pills and a little yoga in the mornings. I will keep u all updated every other day so you can track my progress as well.........Keep your fingers crossed. I just had a baby about 3 months ago so now i'm at 195 my goal is to be back at 145 so this is just a jumpstart for my actual diet. I'm going to do it for about 10 days, but dpending on how I feel I will do it for the full 14 days.

posted Jan 10th, 2009 8:27 pm


Katlaw

+

Check it out! Foremost, this is a cleansing product, the by product is weight loss. I found it to be very effective. I literally felt like singing the hills are alive with the sound of music......well you get the general idea. It really was a natural high. I supplemented this with vegetable juicing during the day. As I stated the primary purpose is not to lose weight(even though Diet is in the title-I believe more so for marketing purposes). However I loss 25 pounds after 11 days. Again to each his own.

posted Jan 8th, 2009 7:00 am


mary

-

I just started instead of the saltwater I use the tea instead. I have high blood pressure so i decided not to do that. The first day the pepper has my tummy burning and roaring. Ihave went three times already. This is my first day. I will resume until my 15days are up.

posted Jan 7th, 2009 2:00 am


big girl

+

Help!!!! Can I use Grade A instead of Grade B syp

posted Jan 4th, 2009 9:29 pm


clara

+

could this work with out cayenne pepper?

posted Jan 4th, 2009 12:45 am


julie

+

I've tried the diet in the past and I'm about to start it again. Last time I lost 20 pounds in 7 days! You dont need to buy the kit online or anything. I bought the maple syrup at trader joes and bought the lemons and cayenne pepper at ralphs. That's all you need to make it yourself. I dont know about that sea salt stuff. The one thing i would suggest is a laxative tea or just a laxative, once or twice in the first day or two just to get things going. after that you wont need it. hope this helped.

posted Jan 3rd, 2009 10:50 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit

Related Diets: Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Lemonade Diet?