Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews

Lemonade Diet

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit


Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 13 of 18, 341 total comments)

Kimmy

Ok this is day one for me! I only could find Grade A maple syrup myself. I took the recipe and made it in a 32 oz container so it could go to work with me. I used 1 tablespoon of maple syrup per 8oz of water and i found that to be sweet enough. I am hoping this is going to be a good cleanse and if I loose some weight in the process.....BONUS++++ will check back in a few days and update my progress.

posted Jan 19th, 2009 9:08 am


elmerelm

Ok folks I have everythhing except the maple syrup all they sell in Ohio is Grade A dark amber. Acording to all the googles I did on Maple syrup. Grade A and B are close to one another So the results should be the same. B has a more robust "Maple" flavor and possibly more vitamins and minerals. I drank the Salt water this morning to test its affects. Nothing after 3 hours, I hope its the same while driving. Once again I am starting tomorrow, and will update you as I have internet access.
Elmer

posted Jan 18th, 2009 12:20 pm


ray haroldson

I am just starting this program today. I have been taking Prilosec OTC once a day and 1 -80mg ( baby aspirin) at night. should I stop taking these?

posted Jan 17th, 2009 1:01 pm


Mich

I just started yesterday. All three things are the worst I have ever tasten. I got one more sip today of the seasalt. Hopefully I can downed it. I will update in a few days about it.

posted Jan 17th, 2009 10:33 am


Elmerelm

I have read the 5 pages of comments on this web site. I am displeased with the Negative folks out there. I agree with the people who state this is a cleanse not a diet. Yes the best way to lose weight is through a life style change, but change has to start somewhere so why not with this cleanse? I need a quick, short term fix myself. I have 10 days to have a waist that is 2 inches smaller. My body is in a rut I have been hovering between 260-270lbs over the last 4 months ( I am 6'1"). I hope this cleanse will kick start my butt into a downward trend to achieve my goal of 240lbs or less for life. It seems like most people have stated "They will post thier results." only to not ever log on again. I suspect these people did not pass the first 2 days. Folks if I fail to pass these fateful days I will acknowledge my defeat on this website. I believe I will pass for two reasons:
1- I will be driving across country and won't have food at arms reach for snacking.
2- If I do not lose this weight I will lose my job and let down my family and Wife who is 4 months pregnant.

I think those are two very good reasons to prevail. So as many have said before me 'Wish me Luck!" I will be purchasing everything tomorrow and starting this cleanse Monday the 19th of January. I may not have internet access so forgive me if I don't post until the 23rd.

Elmer

P.S. Be sure to watch the NFL AFC championship game on Sunday. I predict the Steelers will beat the Ravens by less then 10 points, and will face the Eagles in the Superbowl. I hope the Cardinals beat the Eagles (the Eagles beat the Steelers earlier this year so I want them to lose).

posted Jan 17th, 2009 1:37 am


Kimmy

I am on day 2 and I am not hungry at all. The sea salt is the worst (i tried it warm, and it went down better) Did not get any result immediatly after drinking but today I think everything is working like it should. My sense of smell is improving, and I feel like I can breath better. I started at 270, I am not a slave to the scale but I am excited to see what comes of all this. My main goal is to rid my body of all the junk that I have been eating in my 39 years of life. I have (had) a sweet tooth out of this world and I love fried foods, so I have research this for several weeks and have gotten into my mind that this is the beginning of the change I so despretly want. This is also a time to get closer to God, while denying myself so my reasons are two-fold. Good luck to everyone and I will continue to update my progress.

posted Jan 16th, 2009 1:08 pm


sam

I have tried this lemonade diet 6 months ago and I lost 12 lbs in 7 days. And I will do it again starting tomorrow. It is not a diet. It's a body cleansing and eliminating toxins in your body. However DON'T mix it with any diet pill because there might be some side effect.

With the sea salt flush I add a tsp of lemon juice to make it more tolerable to take: , taste like you are drinking a warm sour salty lemonade instead of being sweet. I liked it and hope you will too.

posted Jan 15th, 2009 4:23 pm


Jen

First, congratulations to those that are finding the Master Cleanse to be a healthy reward to a clean and purified lifestyle. I agree with the message below, this is not a diet! It is a whole body cleanse, to release your body of any waste it's storing (in organs, tissues, joints, muscles, etc.). As stated many times in these reviews, "the weight loss is just an added bonus!" :)

Second, I know the recipe is not something that taste yummy. But you have to be strong, everything in the elixir serves a purpose. You cannot alter with this or that (honey, laxatives, wheat toast, etc.). Nor is it ok to supplement with a diet pill or a vegetable juice from time to time (not even an Advil or a small piece of gum....it will just counter act with your body changes). Your entire body is looking to flush those things and lower your blood sugar; so you can begin to lose the weight and rid your joints and muscles of any aches and pains. So, if you are altering your daily intake at all, you are truly not on the cleanse. Also, if you cheat and eat, and think you can just start over...you can't. Ideally, you are then going back to "day one!"

I know it's hard, just be strong....it's mind over matter!...and in the end you will feel so much better....and HEALTHIER!!!

Good luck to you all....

P.S. I lost 8 inches and 30 lbs (did 13 days).

posted Jan 14th, 2009 5:10 pm


luvubetter

honey is not a substitute. after researching i read the b grade is the syrup that should be used.

posted Jan 12th, 2009 6:57 pm


luvubetter

this is day 1 for me. the taste is not bad and i plan on sticking it out for at least 10 days. will check in later.. goal is to drop 30lbs.

posted Jan 12th, 2009 6:35 pm


lena

Well I am now on day 2 and like I said I would give you guys an update. The first day went pretty good. I did a kickboxing class and felt great. I did good up until later in the night when I just suddenly started starving. I did eat a few rice cakes and a couple forks of salad. I hope it doesn't have too much of an impact. I did good this morning as well. A good kickboxing class and an intense ab workout. However I did lose a half of an inch of my waist and hips. Wish me luck.........:)

posted Jan 12th, 2009 3:22 pm


Maya

I'm on day three of the master cleanse I was craving a food so badly today I made one I took half a slice of wheat bread a slice of tomato and some capers. I was so hungry while making the sandwich I would have eaten just about anything. However as soon as I finished the sandwich I realized I actually wasn't really hungry at all and all my favorite foods like french fries and pizza didn't sound at all appetizing. So I took the salt water flush and let everything out of my system and I'm back on the diet. I realize that i'm not actually hungry but I still have cravings for the old junk food I ate. I think this diet is tough but I definitely think that it's doable this little slip up I made today actually pushed me to continue. Good luck to all.

posted Jan 11th, 2009 5:09 pm


lena

I start mine tommorrow. I just went to the store and got my lemons, maple syrup, and cayenne pepper. I figure if I can tolerate airplane food thnis should be alright. I will also be addind my slimquick diet pills and a little yoga in the mornings. I will keep u all updated every other day so you can track my progress as well.........Keep your fingers crossed. I just had a baby about 3 months ago so now i'm at 195 my goal is to be back at 145 so this is just a jumpstart for my actual diet. I'm going to do it for about 10 days, but dpending on how I feel I will do it for the full 14 days.

posted Jan 10th, 2009 8:27 pm


Katlaw

Check it out! Foremost, this is a cleansing product, the by product is weight loss. I found it to be very effective. I literally felt like singing the hills are alive with the sound of music......well you get the general idea. It really was a natural high. I supplemented this with vegetable juicing during the day. As I stated the primary purpose is not to lose weight(even though Diet is in the title-I believe more so for marketing purposes). However I loss 25 pounds after 11 days. Again to each his own.

posted Jan 8th, 2009 7:00 am


mary

I just started instead of the saltwater I use the tea instead. I have high blood pressure so i decided not to do that. The first day the pepper has my tummy burning and roaring. Ihave went three times already. This is my first day. I will resume until my 15days are up.

posted Jan 7th, 2009 2:00 am


big girl

Help!!!! Can I use Grade A instead of Grade B syp

posted Jan 4th, 2009 9:29 pm


clara

could this work with out cayenne pepper?

posted Jan 4th, 2009 12:45 am


julie

I've tried the diet in the past and I'm about to start it again. Last time I lost 20 pounds in 7 days! You dont need to buy the kit online or anything. I bought the maple syrup at trader joes and bought the lemons and cayenne pepper at ralphs. That's all you need to make it yourself. I dont know about that sea salt stuff. The one thing i would suggest is a laxative tea or just a laxative, once or twice in the first day or two just to get things going. after that you wont need it. hope this helped.

posted Jan 3rd, 2009 10:50 am


kadeem

hey guys i have just started the cleanse and trust me it is awful. The taste is horrible and extremely spicy evn tha flush its disgustin as i right i can feel some hot rumbling down my abdomen and i hope its doin its best so day 1 wish me luck cas i am goin to need it :'(:'(....will keep u gys posted

posted Jan 2nd, 2009 12:26 pm


Julia

I'm on the lemonade diet. I alterred it a little bit for my own preference. I started the diet three days ago and ate last yesterday morning. I eased myself into the diet by eating less and less. The lemonade is actually really good and I feel lighter already. I don't drink the sea salt though, I can't do it.. but I don't think there's any harm in not drinking it. I look at it as a double whammy, but I'm fine with just the lemonade. I'm proud of my will power, but I'm getting irritated with being offered food EVERY day by people who know I can't eat.

posted Dec 30th, 2008 12:10 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account