Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews

Lemonade Diet

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit


Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 17 of 18, 341 total comments)

dizzydesi

I tried it and made it until the end of the 4th day. I had to stop due to all the side effects. Not sure how this is healthy, experienced major headaches, serious hunger, very irritable, and dizziness. Can someone explain the difference between this and anorexia? Both include starvation.

posted Jul 28th, 2008 9:11 am


shanea

I am going to try this I am just worried about anything vital happening I don't think so but if it feel s too wierd I will stop I think that I am skeptical because I have went to all of the sites and some discourage it and I work at a hospital and one of my nurse collegues says don't do it but I am stoked about the testimonies that have done this more than once and have lost I know if I loose weight then I will do better by my self and I am not big I just haven't taken care of my mid section

posted Jul 20th, 2008 3:05 pm


pinky

I'm on day 1 but i've done this before about 2years ago. I really does work if you follow the rules. 2years ago i lost 18 pounds. So i'm going for anyother 18-20 pounds this time. All i could say is that yes its hard at first but after the first 3 days it gets easier. And drink from a straw to prevent your teeth from hurting. =) Good luck !!!!!!!!!!

posted Jul 14th, 2008 11:09 pm


sigkill9

I am on my 2nd day. I am religious about following the instructions. 1st day was HADES. 2nd day has been high level of energy. The first day I did the salty cleanse and nasty BLACK stuff was eliminated. WOW. I will try this for 3 more days...maybe.

posted Jul 11th, 2008 3:26 pm


sigkill9

I am on my 2nd day. I am religious about following the instructions. 1st day was HADES. 2nd day has been high level of energy. The first day I did the salty cleanse and nasty BLACK stuff was eliminated. WOW. I will try this for 3 more days...maybe.

posted Jul 11th, 2008 3:26 pm


Misshottt31008

I'm on day 1 me and my husband both. We decided last night to start the diet and we both are starving...I want to eat so bad. We are walking around the house sniffing things that smells good...We can do it...I HOPE!!

posted Jun 26th, 2008 8:29 am


mirka

ok ... so ive been preparing for the lemonade cleanser and im gonna start it tomorrrow, well tonite i guess would count too. i havent eaten much today, drank alotta water, gonna drink up sum "herbal tea" tonite, do my salt drink tomorrow mornin and start with lemonade after that. im planning on taking pictures of my body and my tongue tonite or tomorrow. and check back to let you all know how its goin.

posted Jun 26th, 2008 8:29 am


blackviolet

I have tried the pre-mixed Simply Slender one that is a 4 day fast. It was expensive, and had lots of other fruits like noni, acai and mangosteen. I ws shocked that I didn't feel hungry, except for craving snacks, and the motion of eating, if you know what I mean. I didn't like the cayenne and it burned. I cheated by adding extra water and some Crystal Lite Lemonade to it, which made it so much better! I didn't lose as much weight as I might have without the Crystal Lite, but I lost about 5+ lbs in those 4 days, and I honestly felt better, happier, and much more energetic. I was so surprised! I'm going to try the homemade lemonade fast. I read that you need to do it a minimum of 4 days, and up to 40 days, if you want! The only health concern after about 2 weeks is not getting enough potassium. I read that if you don't like the cayenne, you can just swallow some cayenne pills, and if you get sick of the lemonade, just drink water. Don't use tap water, and do use Grade B maple syrup, because it tastes better and has more vitamins. Make sure you use REAL maple syrup, without added sugar. The only problem I had was that it made my teeth hurt. I read that to prevent this, it helps if you drink from a straw, and after you're done drinking, swish your saliva around in your mouth and over your teeth a lot, since the saliva helps neutralize the acid. They say don't eat or drink anything else (except water), and don't take any vitamins or pills.

posted Jun 23rd, 2008 10:04 pm


sharon

I am on day 1 and after reading some of these review I really want to continue and not give up but its so hard because I keep thinking about food! LOL I'm on my way to church so I'll try not to think about it so much there

posted Jun 23rd, 2008 10:03 am


Ali

I am on lemonade diet and this is my first day, I am just feeling week and hungry otherwise its taste is not bad at all, i am not sure if i will be able to continue with for 10 days.

posted Jun 23rd, 2008 10:03 am


meme

I am on day 2 of the diet and I have already noticed a change. My body is quickly releasing waste and i know its part of the purifing section of the diet. The lemonade is horrible at first but I drink it cold and its not so bad. It also eliminates your appetite when you are hungry. Think of it a a milkshake for lunch!! NOT SO BAD...DONT GIVE IT UP!!!! I waiting to see my final results

posted Jun 21st, 2008 7:55 am


shugg

I did it fir 10 days and lost 19 pounds. once u go back to eating solids u gain about 5 pouds back. You do however loss inches so thats good. I plan to incorporate this once a week on a two day basis and see how it goes.

posted Jun 18th, 2008 10:23 am


Kelly

It was a testing 11 days, but after going through the cleanse I felt better and looked better. I lost about 15-20 pounds and kept it off because it remotivated me. It may be a test of self-control, but it's worth it. It is good for the body to rest periodically anyway, and I have never been able to fast completely because of how low my blood sugar would get. And, hey, I actually like the spicy lemonade.

posted Jun 7th, 2008 8:09 am


cj

I drank 16 ounces for breakfast, ate a 6" bmt sub from subway for lunch and a half of a pickle for dinner for 2 weeks straight and lost 13 pounds. I wasn't hungry because of the pickle and sub. Try it guys, I feel and look great.

posted May 22nd, 2008 11:50 am


shannon

wow i tried starting this today and after only my secodn dose of the day I've decided to return the product. It burns and tastes horrible. There's no way I can handle this for a whole a day let alone four.

posted May 21st, 2008 11:41 am


Anonymous

Disgusting..... tried it for a few days. Hard not to throw up from the taste of the cayenne.

posted May 21st, 2008 9:56 am


sherry

Yea it works, because you're starving yourself. You're hungry and it tastes horrible!

posted May 19th, 2008 10:44 am


nobuddy

I just used RealLemon brand juice and made lemonade because I liked it, sugar and all and 20 lbs fell off in two weeks doing nothing other than replacing pop with lemonade.

posted May 6th, 2008 8:54 am


anj

It's not a diet! It's a toothbrush cleanse for your insides! Everyone shoud do it at least once in their life.

posted Mar 4th, 2008 12:07 pm


Christine

I heard of a product called Simply Slender a premixed master cleanse lemonade diet, my girlfriend tried it and liked it, back in her skinny jeans!

posted Feb 26th, 2008 2:04 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account