Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews

Lemonade Diet

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit


Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 16 of 18, 341 total comments)

teine

This will be my second time using the Master Cleanser. All I can say is that is works!! I lost 30 lbs in 14 days. I had so much energy, and was not hungry at all . This works only for those who are determine to lose the weight. I am so happy with results

posted Oct 13th, 2008 4:47 pm


Tora

hi Sally, \\n\\nThis is my second time doing this cleanse. I started again today. Everyone's body reacts differently, I do the sea salt flush in the morning and it works within 5 mins. I give myself at least 45 mins to complete that process. throughout the day, I tend to have to use the restroom a little more from all the liquids. The backend works normally takes place in the morning and at night. I hope that that helps.

posted Oct 7th, 2008 1:11 pm


Sally

Hi, just wondering if anyone can answer a question for me, i have tried going on internet websites but to no avail. I am thinking about going on the master cleanse but im just worried, i have heard that all the toxins will be coming out of the body, but when does this happen? In the morning or do you go throughout the day? I work full time and dont feel comfortable goin to the loo at work. So if i drink the salt water flush do you go straight after that or at night? Can someone please shed any light on the subject? Please email me or respond to this question. Thanks.

posted Oct 7th, 2008 1:17 am


Cherie

Hello everyone! There is a lot of controversy with this cleanse but that is one thing people need to remember...it is a CLEANSE not a diet. After doing lots of research last year i tried this cleanse in Jul of 2007. I was amazed at the energy level that I had. After working 9 hours a day in an extremely hot chemical plant in FL in the heart of the summer I still had energy to go to the gym after work. I went from 217lbs to 195lbs in 10 days...Ok well 9 days cuz on the tenth day I just missed eating something solid so I stopped...I had no cravings for anything unhealthy when I got off the diet...Ate a lot of veggies and chicken...I felt great...The guys at work were concerned with me going ont he diet but afterwards told me the noticed a glow about me. The only thing I didn't like about the lemonade was the pepper...To solve this I would make a gallon of the lemonade without the pepper and then pour 8 oz glasses of it throughout the day and add the pepper then...If I drank it cold and right away it didn't bother me...I also did not use the full amount of maple syrup only about half as it was too sweet for my taste...I'd love to do this cleanse again but right now I'm in iraq so it makes it difficult to get the lemons and the maple syrup...I will do this again though when I go back home...I think it's a wise thing to do especially after the holidays or anytime you start eating unhealthy...It's amazing what still comes out of your body after 10 days with no solid foods...Oh and I did the tea every night but because of my long drive to work I only did the salt water on the weekends...Good luck to anyone who is gonna try...You will feel great...Remember it's all a mind thing!!!

posted Sep 24th, 2008 8:45 am


sam

Hello! Sorry guys that it took me a little while to post my update on this master cleanse. Well, my husband was pretty happy to see me when he got back. He says that he feels like he has a new wife( in a good way!!!) I am happy with the result as well. From 130.8 to 118 in 10 days. After I started eating I gained back 3 lbs. which i know this will happen. I also started going back to the gym so I know that I will start shedding body fat and be fit. I will do this master cleanse 2x a year. After you do this cleanse start to choose food that are healthy rather than eating junk foods. Good luck with you all.

posted Sep 15th, 2008 5:07 pm


Kat

There's a reason it's called the Master CLEANSER. It wasn't meant to be a diet, but a cleansing fast gone awry. If you think you need to fast, at least do a juice fast and get your nutrients. The only source of energy in this is the maple syrup.

posted Sep 15th, 2008 9:00 am


Babygirl

Hello everyone i have started my cleanse diet today and seem kind of hard becuz i am so hungry , i really what to cleanse my body becuz of all the junk that i eat and i cook up a strom for my family but they have 2 eat. I just 2 do it 4 me and hope i can contiune it.Please people wish me Luck i wish my self Luck. IIIIIIII LLLLOVE 2222 EEEEAT.

posted Sep 11th, 2008 6:18 pm


evelyn caro

today's date: sept. 4 august 21 i started a liquid diet in preparation for the master cleanse. i drank soy milk for 5 days while i got the ingredients together. tuesday, august 26, i started the diet. this is day 10, and i have lost 14 lbs. day 6 was hard for me, i started breaking out in tiny bumps over both eyebrows and down my nose, like a mini mask. by day 7 the bumps all encompassed my face, neck, chest, and both hands. this was very discouraging but i knew that the toxins had to be removed from my body. so today the bumps are partly dried, but they itch. i have decided to stay on the diet until the lemons i bought run out. i have been exercising a lot, i don't have a car so everywhere i go, i walk. i feel comfortable not eating food, that means less fat in my body. i have wanted to stop so that i could go to avalanche pizza and eat the vegan stuff. i can wait. i've learned that you must be in the right frame of mind to do this diet. i am ready for a change, so change happened. thank you for reading!

posted Sep 5th, 2008 8:26 pm


tikki

Hey guys, this is not the first time for me, but I decide to try it again and I am on the fifth day and going the temptations are there but I want to lose some weight but I don't actually feel or see myself looking any different until the second week of the cleanse but IT WORKS I am hoping to go until the end of September 2 see if I can look extremely good. I'll gonna post u another result in a week's time hope I last

posted Sep 1st, 2008 8:32 am


Sara

My husband is considering this diet and asked me to research it for him. He has been overweight his whole life. He was actually in pretty good shape when we got married, but that was over five years ago and he has since gained about 55lbs. His current lifestyle is not suited to keep any weight off that he may lose w/ this diet. He tried a similar diet once and didn't even make it through the first day. I know he will neither eat right nor exercise to keep the weight off...he just wants a quick fix. Sounds nasty to me. Even if I wanted to do this diet, I couldn't cause I'm nursing my four-month-old. I'll stick with healthy, sensable eating and exercise to get back to my pre-pregnancy size. Good luck, suckers!

posted Aug 26th, 2008 9:26 pm


Freaky

Hey guys! I am so excited...tomorrow is my first day...I'm gonna post everyday...let's see how it really works!

posted Aug 23rd, 2008 9:29 am


venus

hi guys.I'll b starting my lemonade diet tomorrw.lets c wat happens.I hope it works.

posted Aug 17th, 2008 11:11 pm


sam

hi! I am back for my update, it's been seven days on this diet and I started Monday @ 130.8 lbs now it's 120lbs. Woo Hooo!!! I can't believed it for myself . I went to visit my Aunt last night and for the past 6 years this is the first time she ever told me that I am skinny and I lost a lot of weight that she was even thinking of giving it a try. Two more weeks and my hubby will be back!!! I can't wait to see his reaction. I will continue on the diet for three to five more days the latest, so that by the time my husband come back I am eating regular food and he will not have any clue how I lose all this weight. Keep you posted;-) !!!!

posted Aug 17th, 2008 11:11 pm


sheree

I'm on day 3 of my cleanse and i must say i feel great! When i started this cleanse i was only doing it for weight loss,but now i am looking forward to detoxing my body and losing the weight as well.the lemonade is actually good even with cayenne pepper..i haven't had many side effects just an occasional headache and a few body aches but nothing too major. I've lost 8 pounds so far overall i feel great.I'm not using the cleanse as a temporary weight loss I'm doing it to overall to make life changes so my advice to anyone thinking about starting the cleanse is to go for it! It wil take alot of will and dertermination to finish but once you're done it will be a good decision made

posted Aug 12th, 2008 5:23 pm


sam

I just started my lemon diet today, and I like the taste of the lemonade with cayenne pepper since i always like spicy food and spices. I am getting a little hungry but I am surprise that I can control my cravings to even taste any food. I will have some laxative tea before bed and will have the sea salt flush tomorrow. My husband is gone for a business trip and he won't be back in three weeks. I can't wait to see the look in his face when he see me. keep you posted.....

posted Aug 12th, 2008 9:20 am


skinny

don't drink the cleanser...all you have to do is limit calories in and expend calories out by excercise. trust me on this one.

posted Aug 5th, 2008 9:31 pm


Shabakka

I have read all of the above comments. Let me share my experience with the master cleanse. Last Oct. (2007) I did the cleanse for 18 days and lost close to 50 lbs. I went from 240-245 down to 193. I suspect I gained a few pounds back, but did not feel them as my 38 waste paints (down from 42 inch waste) did not feel more snug. Here was my plan. About a month before starting the cleanse I had a pretty healthy diet. I elimanated the junk foods, fried foods and incorported much more whole and raw (salads) into my diet. This was the diet I planned to continue after the cleanse. Everything went well until the last week of November. On thanksgiving I allowed myself to indulge a little. Interestingly many things that I was afraid of did not tempt me. No desire for any of the sweets. After thanksgiving I began to slip into my old eating patterns, i.e. fried foods and my breakfast beacon, eggs and cheadder cheese. I went back to SAD (standard American diet) during the month of december and in Jan. I felt the weight inching back up. I did not stop; I continued to eat SAD. In June I decided to get a physical because I knew that an important element to keep weight off is to also excercise. I was afraid to excercise because of heart problems. Dr sent me to cardologist. Cardologist said my heart was great. The problem I had was weight. The weight is bearing down on my stomach causing me to have acid reflux. The acid reflux cause heart burn and I thought I was having heart problems. The key to successful weight loss is to prepare for a new way of life. Also, I like the cleanse as I am in agreement with the body taking a break to work on functions that it generally does not have time to, especially because of SAD. I would like to quickly address two above responses. The cleanse is not starving yourself as those who have anorexia nervosa. Anorexia Nervosa is a psychological disorder. Aother stopped the cleanse because of the physica reaction they had. According to everything that I have read, those reaction are natural. The more you have means the more intense your cleanse is. Remember once the toxins are released from the tissue into your body there may be some reactions. This is why it is so important to do the tea at night and salt water flush in the morning.

posted Aug 5th, 2008 9:31 pm


TJ

well im goin 2embark on this on tuesday. ive just come back from a longggg holiday and i feel and look hugeeeeeee!!!! i also ate a lot of rubbish while i was away so im pretty sure that i need a good cleaning out! my husband is goin away 4a month, so i wanna try it d whole time he's away wit abt a 5 day break in between simply bcz im not sure that its safe 2do it 4a full 30days, so ill break it up in between. ive read ur comments and im pretty excited so wish me luck!!!! will luv 2c his face when he ges back 2a new slimmer wife!!

posted Aug 4th, 2008 9:51 am


Karmisha

This lemonade drinks is great! It taste great and you feel excellent. Someone had stated that you are hungry with this detox. Totally not true! This is coming from a person (me)who can eat a horse if I did not pop a phentermine pill. The key is this, you must drink the lemonade. If you feel as though your getting hungry, drink. I lost 10 lbs in 10 days. It was so great, I am about to start again!

posted Aug 1st, 2008 8:51 am


serendipity

I'm at the end of my second day.. I don't know why but I feel really full.. no hunger at all... I'm planning this for 21 days well actually I want to lose at least 10 kgs but I don't know how many days will be enough.. I think something betwen 15 and 21

posted Jul 29th, 2008 10:34 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account