Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

92%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 140 reviews
Lemonade Diet

Lemonade Diet

The fasting diet the stars are drinking up.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Master Cleanser Diet, also known as The Lemonade Diet, is a fasting plan that will shed pounds quickly. The diet was created by Stanley Burroughs more than 50 years ago. Burroughs, a proponent of varying alternative health remedies, had no medical or nutritional training.

The Lemonade Diet claims that its fasting technique rids the body of toxins that are induced by bad diet, lack of exercise and "negative mental attitudes." But where does the lemonade come into play? Well, that's all your going to ingest for 7-10 days. The magic elixir, purported to have been used by celebrities like Beyonce, Denzel Washington and Robin Quivers (of the Howard Stern Show) has grown in popularity, evidenced by the user video diaries that can be found on sites like YouTube.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Fast weight loss, although there are no scientifically proven benefits to the Lemonade Diet, but that's obviously going to happen when you starve yourself
CON
  • There is no medical evidence that cleansing diets work to rid the body of toxins
  • It's a short-term solution to something that needs to be a lifetime change
  • The Lemonade Diet, like all extended fasts, can have adverse effects on your organ function and metabolism.
Diet and Nutrition

The Lemonade Diet has fasters drink anywhere from 6 to 12 glasses of lemonade daily. The maple syrup diet recipe for the concoction is as follows:

  • 2 Tbsp. lemon juice or lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. real maple syrup
  • 1/10 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 8 oz. water
EXERCISE

Exercise is not addressed on The Lemonade Diet. And how could you properly exercise when you are fasting on a liquid diet?

CONCLUSION

Fasting, or "cleansing" diets, are fantastic bait for people looking for a quick fix to their weight woes. It's why celebrities are drawn to it. Maybe any possible health risks are okay for them, since they can write it off as a danger they take on for their career. But for the rest of us who should be thinking about a lifetime solution, look for something you can live with forever.

Common Misspellings

lemonaide diet, lemon diet, limon diet, lemonade deit

How Does Lemonade Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Lemonade Diet
  • 35 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 15 of 18, 343 total comments)

basia10

+

My Grandmother who was from Louisiana used to tell me about this lemon and cayenne pepper cleanse hum! I wonder if this is it. Anyway it works wonders for cleansing, I did it recently for 4 days, which today is the fifth day and I'm taking a break today, but I will be back on it tomarrow. You can truley feel the effects. I have done fasting many times in my 46 years of life for cleansing purposes. But I must say this will really test your will power! (mind over matter)!!!!!

posted Nov 20th, 2008 10:34 pm


Miss Gates

+

I tried it once before but didnt stick to it. I will try it this year again on the first of Decemeber (after Thanksgiving) and will motivate myself to stick to it.

Wish me luck!!!!!!!!!!

posted Nov 20th, 2008 6:18 pm


Kinyonga

+

I am on day one, started with my Mrs. she has a migraine and resting after 12 hours, I am hanging in there. :- )

posted Nov 18th, 2008 1:21 am


oneroxie

+

I did the cleanse while teaching aerobics twice a week, ten of my pounds came off of my 130 pound frame and upon completion I could not stop losing for another five pounds, but somewhere i picked it back up so im thinking of doing it again.

posted Nov 15th, 2008 5:39 pm


candy

-

i do not like diets!!!

posted Nov 13th, 2008 2:01 pm


ha ha i laugh at you

-

i do not belive in diets even if they cleanse the body!!!!

posted Nov 13th, 2008 1:53 pm


Garcia

+

I start today...wish me luck!!!



Weight-142lbs

posted Nov 13th, 2008 10:36 am


Emily Cox

+

I tried the 4 day cleanse using Simply Slender Lemonmade Diet. I do not feel like I was starving myself and have experienced all the claims made by a "cleansing" diet. I have so much more energy, my skin looks more radiant, no bloated feeling and just an overall feeling of well being. I recommend . . Emily

posted Nov 12th, 2008 1:39 pm


KARMISHA

+

I TRIED THIS DIET AND I TELL YOU IT DOES WORK. AT FIRST I THOUGHT TO MYSELF ANOTHER FAD DIET. YOUR NOT HUNGRY AND YOU ARE FULL OF ENERGY. I LOST 12 LBS IN 10 DAYS. WHEN I FIRST STARTED I EVEN TOOK PICTURES TO TRACK MY PROGRESS.

posted Nov 11th, 2008 10:02 am


meme

+

I will start the process tomorrow. I am not sure what to expect. I want a jump start on eating healthier. I will post my process.

posted Nov 8th, 2008 4:37 pm


Anna

+

I did the diet for 4 days and over the course (plus the days after) lost 7 pounds. (i'm 5'6" and now 140lbs). I feel that besides the weight loss and added energy, it has taught me discipline in being able to say "no" to foods i couldn't refuse in the past (I have a terrible sweet tooth.)
I don't suggest doing it for too long, but if you are healthy, a few days of the diet will do u good. :)

posted Oct 30th, 2008 2:35 am


Michelle

-

Made me fatter

posted Oct 28th, 2008 11:50 am


coco

+

started today.

horrible taste, but motivated. the lemonade is somewhat ok... but the water in the morning!!!! with the salt! I can barrely chunk that down my throat for one day.... i hope ill be able to do it 10 more times....

still havent gone to the bathroom...

found maple syrup in europ! WOOHOO! but dont know if its b... hopefully doesnt matter???

and if i really cant make it with the water in the morning can i do tea instead?

thanx

good luck ;0) im sure motivated when i saw the comment that she went from 130 to 118, cause im 130 and my goal is 120 :0)

posted Oct 26th, 2008 7:16 am


coc

+

can i substitute it with honey? will i still lose 2 kg in 11 days? we dont have maple syrup or any other substitutes they reccomend here in europe.... :0( so will i still lose the weight with honey?

posted Oct 25th, 2008 3:23 pm


coco

+

hej u guys! i live in europe. i am 58 kg and i want to lose weight in the next few days to go on my trip all refreshed :0) i want to be 55kg like before! i have 11 days left. however here in europe we dont have maple syrup (i know, i loved it in the u.s.) but can i substitute it with honey? will i still lose the weight? please answer quick, i need to start it tomorrow! i know of all the other substitutions but we dont have them here. only honey. please answer, and good luck to u guys doing it! thanx

posted Oct 25th, 2008 3:19 pm


Robby

+

I'm on my 10th day and so far so good !!!

My opinion only;

Step 1 is to get past the 2nd day-craving food and a staving.

Step 2 is by about day 5-6 it becomes more of a routine. Still get hungry but since you're well into it it's much easier to stick it out.

Step 3 is waiting for your tongue to go back to "pink"-I'm told this is the indicator that your body has been "cleansed" I'm sure a few extra days won't hurt.

Step 4 is to come off the diet "As explained" follow the directions and don't shock your body.

Step 5 is to eat healthier, I'm not giving up my pleasures but will definitely watch what I'm eating-Remember to enjoy life but be smart.

Step 5 is to do this probably once a year-when is TBD spring or fall.



On day 10 my tongue is almost pink; I've lost 8lbs, 1.5" off my waist, 2.5" off my stomach and 2" off my chest-all looking and feeling better. I'm 5'9" and started at 165lbs

posted Oct 23rd, 2008 8:20 am


teine

+

this works..No joke..I lost mad weight, and I felt great..This is the best cleanse. I am planning to do go a month..I want to lose more!!!!!!!

posted Oct 22nd, 2008 6:20 pm


kayla

-

I hate it!

posted Oct 19th, 2008 6:40 am


carla

+

today is my second day and all is well so far I have been going to the restroom very often.. bm's and urinating far to much..I want to eat really bad but im hanging in there...

posted Oct 17th, 2008 7:37 am


ASIA

+

WELL TOMORROW WILL BE MY FIRST DAY STARTING THIS CLEANSING AND IM EXCITED I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN BI MY WHOLE LIFE SOME PPL WILL SAY IM THICK I FEEL IM HUGE SO WISH MY LUCK

posted Oct 16th, 2008 7:03 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




text

Related Diets: Quantum Wellness, Detox Diet, Liquid Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Oprah 21 Day Cleanse, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Lemonade Diet?