Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

35%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 315 reviews
Cambridge Diet

Cambridge Diet Review: Does it Work?

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Cambridge Diet is a weight loss program offering pre-packed meals, counseling, and low calorie meal suggestions. It’s considered a VLCD, which means it’s a very low calorie diet.

One can select between 415 to 1500 calories depending on one’s weight loss goals, gender, and tolerance. Consultants are offered not just to guide, but to recommend what calorie limit one should follow. There have been numerous diets observed by our experts, and the highest rated one has been  the 18Shake Diet. It offers a diet pill and meal replacement that aim to reduce appetite for hours, all while providing fat burning effects with its all natural ingredients. More information about the 18Shake Diet can be seen in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Cambridge DietIngredients and Side Effects

Here are some noteworthy ingredients added to their prepackaged foods:

Skimmed Milk Powder

Maltodextrin

Guar Gum

Refined Fractionated Palm Oil

Acesulfame K

Sucralose

Carrageenan

Flavourings

Dried Glucose Syrup

Silicon Dioxide

Oligofructose

 

Guar Gum:Fiber extract taken from the guar plant. It’s used as a general thickener in processed foods, as well as a laxative.  It can promote side effects that include:

         • Diarrhea, gas, and loose stools.

         • Indigestion, nausea, and stomach pains.

Acesulfame K:Artificial sweetener around 200 times sweeter than standard sugar. A study by PLOS One found that:

“Long-Term Artificial Sweetener Acesulfame Potassium Alters Neurometabolic Functions”

This study showed that in mice there was an effect on insulin and leptin levels.  The same study added:

“chronic use… could affect cognitive functions, potentially via altering neuro-metabolic functions”

It also has shown the potential for other side effects according to a review by the Oxford Journals:

“long-dated function on the adult’s sweet preference”

This study was conducted on mice that were given their mother’s breast milk or amniotic fluid in birth, and their preference for sweets changed.

Sucralose:Artificialsweetener that can be around 1,000 times much sweeter than sugar. It has been used controversially since some studies have shown it to be potentially dangerous. One such study was performed by Duke University and it revealed:

“numerous adverse effects”

“reduction in beneficial fecal microflora, increased fecal pH, and enhancedexpression levels of P-gp”

This means the body considers it a toxin, and it reduces healthy bacteria which helps support the immune system according to this clinical study.

Carrageenan:Thickener and binder extractedfrom red seaweed.The University of Iowa ran a study which showed:

“carcinogenic properties of degraded carrageenan”

“ulcerations and neoplasms in association with exposure to carrageenan”

This has shown the possibility for causing serious issues in the body.

The link provided here has the top 10 ranked diets of the year.

The types of foods offered by the Cambridge Diet are meal replacement shakes, bars, pasta, rice, soups, desserts, and other snacks. According to the official website:

“products contain the vitamins and minerals you need for balanced nutrition and healthy weight loss”

Most of what one eats will be the prepackaged foods. This can make it easier to handle a caloric loss, as the foods are specially formulated to be lower in calories. There are also 6 steps outlined one must follow, though where one begins depends on what the counselor advises. Here are the steps:

• Sole Source: 3 to 4 prepackaged foods are eaten a day. The Sole Source Plus option allows for 3 prepacked goods alongside meal of 200 calories, or 4 of the companies meals with 200 ml of skimmed milk.

• 2nd Stage: Protein rich meals are added as well as some skimmed milk and vegetables alongside up o Cambridge meals. It’s typically limited to 810 calories a day for a week long period.

• 3rd Stage: 2 of the meals, some milk, and a 1,000 calorie a day limit. This is enforced for 2 weeks.

• 4th Stage: 2 prepackaged meals, some skimmed milk, and more regular meals.

• 5th Stage: One Cambridge meal and breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner for a total of 1500 calories.

• 6th Stage: Once your heathy weight is reached, this stage helps maintain results. One prepackaged meal a day is recommended alongside continued support from a consultant.

It’s unclear whether or not the consultants have any background in diet and nutrition. It’s unlikely however that they use real certified dieticians, which can be potentially dangerous or lead to wrong advice. Our experts have analyzed many diets and have ranked the top 10 in the list here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Cambridge Diet Quality of Ingredients

Since the beginning of the program asks for a majority of foods to be selected from the company’s prepackaged foods, it’s important for the ingredients to be wholesome.

Unfortunately, they use artificial sweeteners and cheap thickeners often used to replace fiber. These kinds of additives can actually make weight loss harder, as studies have shown they may cause metabolism disorders as well as other side effects.

It’s also difficult to understand what kind of help is provided by the counselors, which remains to be seen whether or not they are actually certified to give health and nutrition advice.  The link provided here has a list of the highest rated diets.

A review on the Cambridge Diet was performed by the British Dietetic Association, and they have listed possible side effects which include:

“bad breathe, a dry mouth, tiredness, dizziness, insomnia, nausea, and constipation”

They also advise for medical support when a person is to receive less than 600 calories, which some plans offered by the company suggest only 450 calories a day. It’s unclear if the counselors offer any support for this type of reduction in calories.

The Price and Quality of Cambridge Diet

The price depends more on how often once decides to use the prepackaged meals. The official website states it will cost per week 48.30 pounds, which rounds to a weekly price of $63.46. Since this is a UK based plan, no consultations are available outside the US. In fact, on the official site there is a map where support and availability is offered, and there are no listings for the US.

The quality of meals is poor, as the additives included are often found in processed foods. It can also be expensive to have to keep using the company’s foods, as the final stage of maintenance requires one pre-packaged meal a day.

Business of Cambridge Diet

The contact information for the diet is as follows:

Phone Number: (44)(0) 1536 403344

Address:Stafford House, 10 Brakey Road

                   Corby, Northants, NN17 5LU

Email: admind@cambridgeweightplan.co.uk

The official website lists how to become a paid consultant for the company. Nowhere in the job skills is there any notice for people to have a background in health and nutrition. The company only asks for people with a background in sales who are organized and can plan ahead.

This means that it’s likely the people who are meant to give support have no skills in helping people with weight loss. The link cited here has the top 10 ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Cambridge Diet

Here are some direct quotes from user reviews:

“not the best diet health wise… nails went brittle thin, hair began to thin rapidly”

“never felt full, I always felt hungry”

“Having a bad time with motivation”

“the first few days are the hardest”

Though there were some weight loss results for people, there were also issues due to a lack of calories. Many felt weakened, less energetic, and much more fatigued than usual.

Some also had symptoms that are clear signs of nutrient deficiencies such as brittle and weak nails, thin hair, and increased stress. This was often the case for people who attempted this diet. 

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be seeninthe link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Cambridge DietWork?

The Cambridge Diet is similar to other diet plans which offer pre-packaged foods. There’s also counseling offered, but it’s clear that the support is from people who are more business people rather than nutrition experts. Many of the foods offered have processed ingredients, though they are low in calories. Reviews have been mixed with some experiencing health issues and hunger. Though a low calorie plan like this can work, any reduction in calories can result in weight loss. There’s nothing special added to the prepackaged foods which isn’t found in a standard processed meal.

Our experts have performed many reviews and have discovered that the most effective diet is the 18Shake Diet. It provides a combination of a meal replacement and a diet pill. They both provide only natural ingredients, no stimulants, and no unwanted artificial or additives. Its effects include appetite suppression, increased fat burning, and more. When used together it enhances weight loss at a faster rate. Customers have also left positive testimonials on the official website.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back guarantee. This allows for people to try this product risk free, and with no questions asked. More information about the specifics of the 18Shake Diet is available here.

How Does Cambridge Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Cambridge Diet
  • 35 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 14 of 59, 1167 total comments)

Spencer

+

Day one out the way, and the cravings have kicked in, but i dont feel to bad in saying no. Had about 5-6 pints of water through out the day which hasnt been so bad. Had to have a sleep earlier to counter act the hunger when the kids were eating. Day two tomoz, hope the energy returns soon.

posted Jan 5th, 2009 5:34 pm


allypo

+

starting this thursday 8/1. my friend lost 4 stone in 20 weeks. hope i can lose 5 stone before summer. wish me luck xx

posted Jan 5th, 2009 2:36 pm


Spencer

+

Starting the CD SS tomorrow, saw my counciler on Sat, and got weighed in at 12, 10, with a 28.8 BMI. Target weight is 10, 6 with a 25 BMI, and have set myself a 12 week target - 3months of non take aways, going out etc, have totally cleared my diary out so no distractions. God help me when the family have a roast on Sundays, i'll have to lock myself away lol. Good luck to all, as i assume there will be a few of us starting this diet tomorrow. Good luck all, will keep you updated as we go along.

posted Jan 4th, 2009 10:09 am


Kate

+

Hi all,
Reading all your posts has really inspired me to go for CD. I am going to meet my local counsellor next tues afternoon at 4.30pm, I am so excited now. I have around 5 stone to lose and I'm getting married August 2009 so need to do this, I tried my wedding dress on yesterday and have at least 3 inches to lose around my back half in order to fit into it.....if I shed even more and have to have it downsized then fantastic.
Good luck to you all. I shall update once started. Kate x

posted Dec 30th, 2008 4:29 am


caroline

+

Hi everyone, off to see my counsellor today to get ready to start on the first day 2009. I am so full of determination to do this and get the figure I have so longed for. Goodluck to everyone for 2009 and will keep you updated on my progress x

posted Dec 29th, 2008 10:42 am


Hayley

+

I am starting this diet again in the new year after putting back on my 2 stone weight loss! This time im hitting it hard and aim to loose 4 stone. I am 5 ft 8 and weigh just over 13 stone. BMI is about 29 and want it to be about 22. Earlier on in the year just before summer I done it for 6 weeks and lost 10 lbs in 5 DAYS. Amazing it definately works but you need to go on a weight maintainence programme after to keep it off. I am glad I had this experience so that this time I know what i need to do. I have been on ww also for the last few months but find becasue I can eat food I dont really count points and just guess and it really wasn't for me! Good luck everyone whatever way you loose weight its hard for us all but the results are the key to motivation x

posted Dec 23rd, 2008 9:34 am


Roa

+

great diet , no need for food preperation
tasty :)) wide range of selection

posted Dec 20th, 2008 6:48 pm


emily

+

hi all, i have been on the diet for 8 weeks and have stuck to it completely with no cheats! so far and i have lost 3st 1lb and i feel great!! i have found that i crave different food now like boild cabbage weird! so it really dose get better. stick with it x

posted Dec 15th, 2008 6:36 am


emily

+

hi all, i have been on the diet for 8 weeks and have stuck to it completely with no cheats! so far and i have lost 3st 1lb and i feel great!! i have found that i crave different food now like boild cabbage weird! so it really dose get better. stick with it x

posted Dec 15th, 2008 5:59 am


Margie

+

I everyone on this chat site from England? I'm in the U.S.. Does anyone know if the program offered in the U.S. the same stuff as you get in England?

posted Dec 13th, 2008 11:09 am


Spencer

+

Hello all, i am guy scheduled to start the sole source on 5th Jan (get Xmas out the way), and intend on doing a 3mth programme till end of March. By then i hope to have lost 2 and half stone - currently 12stone 12ibs. Hope thats realistic. Clearing the house of food (in the boot of the wifes car lol) up till the start date. Then once iv lost, will hit the gym once i start eating the solids again. Any tips and advice would go a long way, especally from any guys who might be doing it!!



Good luck all.

posted Dec 13th, 2008 7:53 am


sara

+

Hi,

i started CD TODAY.I am 13.8 stone at the moent and i have to lost 4 stone by mid of March.Did some body lost 4 stone in 12 weeks.Is it possbile?.is it good to excercise to tone body becuase i have big muscles body.Any tips will be very helpful.

posted Dec 11th, 2008 12:01 pm


pruepraizy

+

I feel that the Cambridge Diet works very well as the liquid diet reduces the fat content in the body and improves the blood content which will be very useful especially for women. I beleive that with this Cambridge Diet program one can feel succeeded and happy.
****************************************************************************************
posted Dec 8th, 2008 11:12 am


Monica

+

OK, 4 weeks in .. weighed yesterday .. LOST 1 STONE!!!

Even though I had that REALLY BAD WEEK, I didn't give up. Christmas party is next week and I hope to lose another 7lbs before then and another stone before Christmas.

Will keep you updated :)

posted Dec 7th, 2008 3:49 am


HEL

+

Just started today. Really need to shift the weight . Not sure what sort of weight you lose in a week ???



Does eveybody know how long you have to stay on Step 1?

posted Dec 5th, 2008 1:44 pm


samantha

+

Hi all i would like to say well done to u all for choosing the cd!! although im only on day 4 of this diet so far im actually enjoying -although not too keen on some of the soups. im looking forward to my weigh in on monday will let u all know nxt week!! good luck all and keep slurping at ur water!!

posted Dec 5th, 2008 6:06 am


geordiegal

+

hi all day 5 of starting cambridge doing ok except from being so cold all the time anyone else feeling it.

posted Dec 3rd, 2008 12:00 pm


mica

+

Findig it hard to focus . I really beleive in this diet as I know it works and it has worked for me before , but I need advice on willpower, and how to remain focused. Please people if you can email me for some much needed motivation and inspiration.
Take care and keep up the good work all of ya. You doing good.

posted Dec 3rd, 2008 8:46 am


SCW

+

Message for ROSY, can you tell me how your friend managed 5st in just 14 weeks, that is fantastic. Was she 100% strict with the plan and drank all her water?
By the way that is a great loss for you too, well done. I have about 3 stone left to loose and have a wedding in january and would like to loose at least 1 to 1.5st by then, even though xmas is only weeks away. Any yadvise?


Does anybody know what colour the Ketosis sticks should be to know if your body is in Ketosis??

posted Nov 30th, 2008 2:56 pm


Snowy

+

I love this diet and for the first time in ages I feel different and actually quite chuffed with myself. I have lost 22lbs in 3 weeks. My clothes are really loose round my waist especially and people are starting comment.

I am drinking loads and loads of water, literally 4 litres as my c/d counsellor says the more you PEE the SLIMMER YOU WILL BE!!!! Woohoo. Keep going you guys, we will look fab for Christmas and beyond.



Snowy xxxx

posted Nov 29th, 2008 2:53 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Isopure Shakes, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Cambridge Diet?