Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

93%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 290 reviews

Cambridge Diet

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com


Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 12 of 58, 1148 total comments)

Gazala Khan

I have done this deit for 6weeks almost lost 2stones its very hard but yo do get on with it as the results are excellent.

posted Jan 21st, 2009 1:12 pm


callim

had a good day today...saw my counsillor for the first time since christmas and i was pleased and rather surprised that i had only put on half of the weight that i thought i had..makes me feel better....which sounds strange but it could have been so much more...

posted Jan 20th, 2009 12:05 pm


callim

i had complete midset on thurs.....then it all went to pot on friday.....

my friend had invited me over for dinner and said that she was cooking tandoori ring and salad which was great....until i got there and she had made curry with all the works....naan bread...pakoras..and dessert....i felt awful...i could n't say no as she had gone to all the trouble to make it.....

saturday was eating out for my son's birthday...so i knew that that would be a 'go with the flow'......

i was all for starting again this morning...then cravings set in and i had to give in...

i so need to lose this weight and i can't seem to get off the starting blocks again....

anyway i have bagged up all my clothes that don't fit me at the moment and put them away and will get them out in 12 weeks time and hope that they are fitting or too big....

sorry for the moan...but i feel better know..thanks..xxx

posted Jan 18th, 2009 12:12 pm


Kathryn Eatough

Hi all,

I have completed 1st week - not been too hard!! 3rd evening could have eaten a scabby cat!, then the feeling good and energy kicked in. I have lost 9lb and for next week will incorporate a light healthy meal early evening.

I have a problem that on Saturday night we are all going to an Indian - that is spurring me on - and am worried that it may make me ill after just doing sole source and add a meal. Anyone any ideas? I aim to immediately go back to the shakes to reduce any damage.

We have to live our lives and learn to incorporate these events so I do not feel guilty but don't want to be ill.

MONICA - Your doing really well and I have the same problem each month.
I find that if I allow for this and not beat myself up it really helps. At this time your body is craving carbohydrates and magnesium. I have some chicken and pasta/rice and an oat based cereal (porridge, ready brek) or wheetabix. You will not be doing any damage and it makes you less likely to want take-away and junk food. You will gain weight anyway but you will be managing it.

Give it a try as I know we are all different and keep going.

Here's to another good week for us all - Spring and summer just around the corner (we hope!)

posted Jan 18th, 2009 10:54 am


babsmorag

i dont think its possible to lose 2 stone in 2 weeks unless you are ill but you can lost over a stone, i'm getting abit bored today its saturday again and it always makes me want to go out for a nice dinner and wine but i'm forcing myself to look at websites full of swim wear and party dresses for summer to avoid me checking the fridge out !!! its hard going

posted Jan 17th, 2009 11:47 am


aqsa

Hi,
i joined CD on 15th jan and i want to loose 2 tone or 10kg in 2 week.is it possible with this diet.please write me if you lost 2 stones in 2 weeks.

posted Jan 16th, 2009 8:26 am


Monica

I could kick myself!!!

I have lost 1 stone 2 lbs since starting in November BUT my problem is my monthly cycle. I know it's coming and YET when my cravings kick in I just give into them!!! I just eat take aways all week (but I make sure I go to the gym to counteract it). I know I can do this and soooo want to lose the weight but feel as if each time I make progress I take two steps back.

I know I've written about this before but damn no matter how many times I tell myself I shouldnt eat the junk, I still do, it's as if I have two voices in my head.

I need to be tied to the house for a week each month without any money to stop me buying the rubbish!!!

phewww .. rant over!!

posted Jan 16th, 2009 6:57 am


sarahd

Hi all on begining week 2 now feel loads better still a bit tired but you cant have it all! lost 15lb so far so alls good...but still very hungry but just tryin to focus on end result well done all xx

posted Jan 14th, 2009 9:14 am


babsmorag

had first weight in lost 10 lb which is great, feel loads better and am even excited about the flavoured water this week !!! good luck to everyone the first week was NOT easy but stuck to it and it paid off

posted Jan 13th, 2009 5:33 pm


chubbychops

Hello everyone Ready to start with this tomorrow, plan to loose five stone by the summer. I am sure it will be hard but worth it. I am sure there are risks but all are bodies are different but at the rate I am going i am eating myself into bad healthy anyway. Here to a slimmer year for all of us. Good luck....keep going it will be worth it as no food is worth it xx

posted Jan 13th, 2009 2:58 pm


loopy lau

Hi all,

I have done this diet before and lost just under 2 stone, but over the christmas period gave up and gained 6 lbs!!! (Not bad for 13 wks off the plan i thought) But.... Am now back on it and on day 2! Im not finding it as hard as the first time, but still thinking of naughty food, specially in the evenings! Ahhhhh! But... fingers crossed this time around i wil lstick to it and get to my goal!!!! First weigh in on Friday - i will update u all!

Keep up the good work all!
Loopy lau x

posted Jan 13th, 2009 8:46 am


Teresa

Great product!! Stands apart from all other diet products that I've tried (I take it with small healthy meals) - I feel better on this and lose weight better than on anything else.

posted Jan 12th, 2009 1:50 pm


babsmorag

although really unfortunate about the gall bladder story there is little evidence to say this diet is connected so people should not get in to a panic , the gall bladder stores bile which is needed to digest fat and the most common cause if obesity and high cholesterol of which most of us are trying to reduce. Women are more prone especially id they take a contraceptive pill or have bowel disorders obviously you must always review with your GP if you have any concerns but hopefully most people would have improved gall bladder function when the weight is lost and maintainance is started ...No offence to the previous reviewer hope you ok and have no complications with surgery

posted Jan 12th, 2009 4:11 am


Stephanie Hemsley

Been on diet,lost lots but now have to have gaul bladder removed because of rapid weight loss.please everyone going on this diet have a word with your doctor first but I wasnt advised so to do. Be Carefull

posted Jan 11th, 2009 6:53 pm


userfile
Kathryn

I started the CD last year and lost 2 stone - yes it was hard at first but as you feel healthier and see the weight coming off very quickly it spurred me on. I had lapses like everyone else but remember you have not failed, it is natural event that your body goes through, just get back on track as soon as you can.
I did this on the vanilla shakes only as I am lactose intolerant and when I felt really hungry or cold added a meal of porridge and still was losing.
I want to lose a stone to bring me to target weight. CD does work and has all the minerals and vitamins you need just don't exercise for the first couple of weeks as you will be tired.
Good luck everyone and keep going - it's worth it.

posted Jan 11th, 2009 10:21 am


babsmorag

i actually feel alittle better today i think the fact that the weather is freezing and it was sat night made things seem worse so fingers crossed for weigh in on tuesday

posted Jan 11th, 2009 10:20 am


sarahb

Hi all im new to this im on day 6 of ss and although it hasnt been to bad to date i feel worse todat than any other day(maybe cooking the sunday dinner for the family didnt help iv weighed myself today and iv lost 12lb woooop!!! just feeling down and drained!!! well done to you all i think your a great group n fantastic for supporting eachother keep it up! xx

posted Jan 11th, 2009 10:14 am


babsmorag

on day 5 and its killing me as well ..please tell me when i will feel great and full of energy as i just feel hungover without the booze and my mouth is soooo dry !

posted Jan 10th, 2009 12:43 pm


Spencer

Day 3 and this is killing me, yesterday was harsh, but this AM felt ok. Then i could feel my sugar levels drop at about 3pm and feel like poo at the minute. Not sure if will be able to continue this past the weekend. Keep reading the 1st 3days are the worst, well tomorrow is day 4 so i'll go on how i feel then and see if i am in Ketosis. Hope this gets easier, as i keep thinking of food.

posted Jan 7th, 2009 12:29 pm


callim

is any 1 having problems getting back to it after christmas still....or am i the only 1....any tips other than drinking water...i am really good all day until it comes to cooking dinner and then i eat half the kitchen.....

Help!

posted Jan 7th, 2009 2:14 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account