Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

35%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 315 reviews
Cambridge Diet

Cambridge Diet Review: Does it Work?

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Cambridge Diet is a weight loss program offering pre-packed meals, counseling, and low calorie meal suggestions. It’s considered a VLCD, which means it’s a very low calorie diet.

One can select between 415 to 1500 calories depending on one’s weight loss goals, gender, and tolerance. Consultants are offered not just to guide, but to recommend what calorie limit one should follow. There have been numerous diets observed by our experts, and the highest rated one has been  the 18Shake Diet. It offers a diet pill and meal replacement that aim to reduce appetite for hours, all while providing fat burning effects with its all natural ingredients. More information about the 18Shake Diet can be seen in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Cambridge DietIngredients and Side Effects

Here are some noteworthy ingredients added to their prepackaged foods:

Skimmed Milk Powder

Maltodextrin

Guar Gum

Refined Fractionated Palm Oil

Acesulfame K

Sucralose

Carrageenan

Flavourings

Dried Glucose Syrup

Silicon Dioxide

Oligofructose

 

Guar Gum:Fiber extract taken from the guar plant. It’s used as a general thickener in processed foods, as well as a laxative.  It can promote side effects that include:

         • Diarrhea, gas, and loose stools.

         • Indigestion, nausea, and stomach pains.

Acesulfame K:Artificial sweetener around 200 times sweeter than standard sugar. A study by PLOS One found that:

“Long-Term Artificial Sweetener Acesulfame Potassium Alters Neurometabolic Functions”

This study showed that in mice there was an effect on insulin and leptin levels.  The same study added:

“chronic use… could affect cognitive functions, potentially via altering neuro-metabolic functions”

It also has shown the potential for other side effects according to a review by the Oxford Journals:

“long-dated function on the adult’s sweet preference”

This study was conducted on mice that were given their mother’s breast milk or amniotic fluid in birth, and their preference for sweets changed.

Sucralose:Artificialsweetener that can be around 1,000 times much sweeter than sugar. It has been used controversially since some studies have shown it to be potentially dangerous. One such study was performed by Duke University and it revealed:

“numerous adverse effects”

“reduction in beneficial fecal microflora, increased fecal pH, and enhancedexpression levels of P-gp”

This means the body considers it a toxin, and it reduces healthy bacteria which helps support the immune system according to this clinical study.

Carrageenan:Thickener and binder extractedfrom red seaweed.The University of Iowa ran a study which showed:

“carcinogenic properties of degraded carrageenan”

“ulcerations and neoplasms in association with exposure to carrageenan”

This has shown the possibility for causing serious issues in the body.

The link provided here has the top 10 ranked diets of the year.

The types of foods offered by the Cambridge Diet are meal replacement shakes, bars, pasta, rice, soups, desserts, and other snacks. According to the official website:

“products contain the vitamins and minerals you need for balanced nutrition and healthy weight loss”

Most of what one eats will be the prepackaged foods. This can make it easier to handle a caloric loss, as the foods are specially formulated to be lower in calories. There are also 6 steps outlined one must follow, though where one begins depends on what the counselor advises. Here are the steps:

• Sole Source: 3 to 4 prepackaged foods are eaten a day. The Sole Source Plus option allows for 3 prepacked goods alongside meal of 200 calories, or 4 of the companies meals with 200 ml of skimmed milk.

• 2nd Stage: Protein rich meals are added as well as some skimmed milk and vegetables alongside up o Cambridge meals. It’s typically limited to 810 calories a day for a week long period.

• 3rd Stage: 2 of the meals, some milk, and a 1,000 calorie a day limit. This is enforced for 2 weeks.

• 4th Stage: 2 prepackaged meals, some skimmed milk, and more regular meals.

• 5th Stage: One Cambridge meal and breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner for a total of 1500 calories.

• 6th Stage: Once your heathy weight is reached, this stage helps maintain results. One prepackaged meal a day is recommended alongside continued support from a consultant.

It’s unclear whether or not the consultants have any background in diet and nutrition. It’s unlikely however that they use real certified dieticians, which can be potentially dangerous or lead to wrong advice. Our experts have analyzed many diets and have ranked the top 10 in the list here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Cambridge Diet Quality of Ingredients

Since the beginning of the program asks for a majority of foods to be selected from the company’s prepackaged foods, it’s important for the ingredients to be wholesome.

Unfortunately, they use artificial sweeteners and cheap thickeners often used to replace fiber. These kinds of additives can actually make weight loss harder, as studies have shown they may cause metabolism disorders as well as other side effects.

It’s also difficult to understand what kind of help is provided by the counselors, which remains to be seen whether or not they are actually certified to give health and nutrition advice.  The link provided here has a list of the highest rated diets.

A review on the Cambridge Diet was performed by the British Dietetic Association, and they have listed possible side effects which include:

“bad breathe, a dry mouth, tiredness, dizziness, insomnia, nausea, and constipation”

They also advise for medical support when a person is to receive less than 600 calories, which some plans offered by the company suggest only 450 calories a day. It’s unclear if the counselors offer any support for this type of reduction in calories.

The Price and Quality of Cambridge Diet

The price depends more on how often once decides to use the prepackaged meals. The official website states it will cost per week 48.30 pounds, which rounds to a weekly price of $63.46. Since this is a UK based plan, no consultations are available outside the US. In fact, on the official site there is a map where support and availability is offered, and there are no listings for the US.

The quality of meals is poor, as the additives included are often found in processed foods. It can also be expensive to have to keep using the company’s foods, as the final stage of maintenance requires one pre-packaged meal a day.

Business of Cambridge Diet

The contact information for the diet is as follows:

Phone Number: (44)(0) 1536 403344

Address:Stafford House, 10 Brakey Road

                   Corby, Northants, NN17 5LU

Email: admind@cambridgeweightplan.co.uk

The official website lists how to become a paid consultant for the company. Nowhere in the job skills is there any notice for people to have a background in health and nutrition. The company only asks for people with a background in sales who are organized and can plan ahead.

This means that it’s likely the people who are meant to give support have no skills in helping people with weight loss. The link cited here has the top 10 ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Cambridge Diet

Here are some direct quotes from user reviews:

“not the best diet health wise… nails went brittle thin, hair began to thin rapidly”

“never felt full, I always felt hungry”

“Having a bad time with motivation”

“the first few days are the hardest”

Though there were some weight loss results for people, there were also issues due to a lack of calories. Many felt weakened, less energetic, and much more fatigued than usual.

Some also had symptoms that are clear signs of nutrient deficiencies such as brittle and weak nails, thin hair, and increased stress. This was often the case for people who attempted this diet. 

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be seeninthe link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Cambridge DietWork?

The Cambridge Diet is similar to other diet plans which offer pre-packaged foods. There’s also counseling offered, but it’s clear that the support is from people who are more business people rather than nutrition experts. Many of the foods offered have processed ingredients, though they are low in calories. Reviews have been mixed with some experiencing health issues and hunger. Though a low calorie plan like this can work, any reduction in calories can result in weight loss. There’s nothing special added to the prepackaged foods which isn’t found in a standard processed meal.

Our experts have performed many reviews and have discovered that the most effective diet is the 18Shake Diet. It provides a combination of a meal replacement and a diet pill. They both provide only natural ingredients, no stimulants, and no unwanted artificial or additives. Its effects include appetite suppression, increased fat burning, and more. When used together it enhances weight loss at a faster rate. Customers have also left positive testimonials on the official website.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back guarantee. This allows for people to try this product risk free, and with no questions asked. More information about the specifics of the 18Shake Diet is available here.

How Does Cambridge Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Cambridge Diet
  • 35 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 15 of 59, 1167 total comments)

Tamika

+

Hi everyone its really nice to read all the stories posted I took is on the sole source it will be my 5 week for my first 4 weeks I lost 22 pounds and yes it should be more but I cheated couple of times so now I am on track for the week I have to lose 102 pounds more to go can some please help when I cheat I will drink a dieter's tea and I will walk extra miles and plus I drink about 5 1.5 litres of water per day. PLEASE HELP!!!

posted Nov 29th, 2008 12:27 pm


pauline

+

hi everyone ,this is week 3 and i still have not lost anymore weight go to diet teachers on mon for my 3rd weigh in lrts hoping her scales say different to mine.i am detemined to stick with it .my husband had steak and chips with peppercorn sauce last night for tea and i had my chichen and mushroom soup c/d and i was not the least bit bothered . but if i am not loosing weight i don't know what to do .my husdand thinks i look thinner. but before i started the c/d i took photo's of my stomache and i can tell you it was not a pretty sight infact if ever i lost my phone i may well be arrested for giving people heart attacks! well anyway i took another photo of my stomache again last night and you could really tell how much smaller it is i was quite amazed and chuffed. so maybe i am retaining fluid because on my little ketone sticks it is number 3 pink well that's all for now check in tomorrow, this is good it's like therapy writing it all down and much cheaper!!!!

posted Nov 29th, 2008 3:33 am


Donna Hamilton

+

I am trying to lose my last 20 pounds and I am having a REALLY difficult time. I use to be able to stick to sole source but now- I am struggling. Seriously, I'm so close to my goal- I'm 5'8 and weigh 160 pounds....I want to be 140....does anyone have any tips to give me? I believe in this diet but- havent seen the scale move lately.....what's the deal?!?!

posted Nov 28th, 2008 2:10 pm


Monica

+

Had the worst week. Have had everything I'm not supposed to plus eating the bars/drinking the shakes as a meal replacement. I am due on and my willpower just goes out of the window. This happens to me EVERYTIME and I just cannot control it. The urges are too strong. Hopefully I can exercise it off and not gain anything. Weigh in next week :(

posted Nov 28th, 2008 10:12 am


rosy

+

I love this diet, first week was horrible but once that's done it gets so much easier. I'm on week 5 and so far have lost 2 stone. My friend lost 5 stone in 14 weeks and a year later is still maintaing.

posted Nov 28th, 2008 7:33 am


pauline

+

haven't been hungry on c/d and drink 21/2lts water plus 200mls skimmed milk i find it easy to follow and the willpower to stay with it for now but this is my 3rd week and i have only lost 61/2 and that was in week 1 just hope next week i have a big weight loss just to prove that i can loose weight and have the willpower to stick with it. i am still very positive.the only thing i can think of is i take medication from doctor does anyone know if that could stop me loosing weight on c/d because i have lost weight on ww without any bother but i put it all back hence c/d.

posted Nov 27th, 2008 3:53 pm


pauline

+

hi evertone i started c/d 3 weeks ago my daughter is getting married in feb2009 she has lost about 20lbs in 4 weeks. i thought great a quick fix i will do it 1st week great lost 61/2lbs i was amazed .week2 thought this is great the diet is ok you dont feel hungry plenty of water i am doing fine . week 2 weigh in i am full of confidence got on scales at diet teachers house stayed the same. week 3 get weighed tomorrow and guess what i have only lost 1lb .what's that all about i am going to give it another week and if i have not lost any weight well there must be something wrong with me. is it that i have been fat for that long it just does not want to shift. can anyone suggest something that might help.

posted Nov 27th, 2008 3:20 pm


harry

+

hey everyone im on the cambridge diet again i dne it b4 for3 weeks and lost 1 stone buh wen i hit the barrier the waall i stoped n i doubled the weigh on a again, im starting it again this time with hope i will fullfill the task in hand n get my body tha i want , has anyone got any tips on how toi handle the seduction of the brain telling u to eat, i try distract ma self jus rle hard i wna loos 5 stones by march i wnt my life how it used to me any tips on how to handle these problems im so confused :s

posted Nov 27th, 2008 7:41 am


calli

+

You do get cravings on this program just like anyother...the determination should hopefully deter yourself from givng in to those cravings...however if you do surcombe...like i have on many occasions...don't beat yourself up about it....the CD is easy enough to get back on track and carry on where you left off....

I have been on the CD for 8 wks and have been really happy with the results..it is not coming off too quickly which is just the way i want it...still have another stone and half to lose...but in those 8 wks i have dropped 2 dress sizes..so sometimes inches count more than pounds....

the aim is to try and stay focused as much as possible...Be proud of what you have achieved so far...this weight mullarky is not easy....

christmas is coming and the goose is getting slimmer!!!!!

posted Nov 27th, 2008 2:17 am


deborah richardson

+

hi i been on this diet a week and thought it was great im now avin it tough just want to eat and im not even hungry think it in my head i wud really just like to speak to some one who been in this situation as i want to continue this diet

posted Nov 26th, 2008 7:52 pm


Jennifer

-

I found it so hard to stay on this diet, couldnt sleep because I was so hungry!!! And before anybody says it drinking water doesnt really help at all, did lose 8 pounds the first week but had no life and was miserable

posted Nov 26th, 2008 5:55 pm


Monica

+

Hi all .. I'm on my 3rd week now. First two weeks I have lost 12 lbs. Excited is not the word!! Body shape has changed. I havent done as much exercise as I am used to and the weight is still falling off.

My only problem will be next week when I am due on. I get strong cravings and have to eat anything that comes into my mind. It's an urge I have to try and control though. I will keep doing CD as long as I can afford it and as long as I keep getting results.

posted Nov 26th, 2008 3:20 pm


Monica

+

Hi all .. I'm on my 3rd week now. First two weeks I have lost 12 lbs. Excited is not the word!! Body shape has changed. I havent done as much exercise as I am used to and the weight is still falling off.

My only problem will be next week when I am due on. I get strong cravings and have to eat anything that comes into my mind. It's an urge I have to try and control though. I will keep doing CD as long as I can afford it and as long as I keep getting results.

posted Nov 26th, 2008 3:11 pm


mica

+

I know it works coz last year I did ss religiously for 2 weeks and lost a stone and a half , ever since though I have found it very hard and extremely difficult to focus and continue on this diet but because I know it works I refuse to give up. I need a diet buddy to keep me motivated. my email is michenjie@hotmail.com please feel free to contact me for inspiration. Im going on holiday in 2 weeks time so I really want to lose at least a stone then continue when I get back.

posted Nov 26th, 2008 10:10 am


gemss

+

hi in response to slating weight watchers and taking lazy option with cambridge.



In the past my doctor perscribed me slimming tablets xenical and the side affect i had was not nice. I would never want to take that again. so been there and done that im afraid to say. No Major weight loss even with dietician help too.



weight watchers is a sensible diet no dought there and i did not mean to sound like i was slating it.. over the past 8 years for me weight watchers has helped me get some of my weight off. with lots of exercise daily.



having {pcos} and having two children my body has become so use to this diet. hence 4 months to get 14 pound off with daily exercise.

which when I have so much weight to lose was so hard and demotivating ,my body needed a shock to system.



now following cambridge and I have to say I do exercise, wii fit is excellent. I have got the most weight off I ever have. I now feel I have my life back. even though i still have some weight to go. By no means have I taken a lazy option just the right one for me at this time in my life.



I wish everyone luck with cambridge and I really hope there are lots of posts from people after they reach there goals.



hopefully when I get to my goal weight watchers or an alternative healthy eating plan will help me maintain my weight loss achieved with cambridge. I will do whatever I can to keep this weight off after years of battling with it.









posted Nov 25th, 2008 6:51 pm


cazzie

-

Anyone that can do this and keep the weight off i toally admire....I did this had still had major issues around food and I am back to the start.....overweight and unhappy....not the diet 's fault I know....but didnt teach me anything!!!
Now on weight watchers and learning to live and eat...not dreaming of food....allowed my treats along the way..............a life style change.....no health issues......worth the slower loss ....have lost 21/2 stone in three months....this is my new lifestyle..

Well good luck to everyone on the cambridge xx

posted Nov 25th, 2008 2:58 pm


emma

+

hi there, i did 2 weeks on sole source back in august and quit as i felt soo hungry all the time, now im back on it and on day 2 which im feeling really positive this time. i have my 21st birthday party in january so atleast i have something to keep me motivated. im currently 13st 7 and would like to lost 4 stone. i hope i can achieve this weight this time. your comments are really helping and when im feeling crap i just come on here and have a look at your weight losses and it keeps me going.. keep up the good work :)



posted Nov 25th, 2008 10:27 am


Ditzy

-

All the people slating weight watchers diet are obviously doing it wrong and taking the lazy option to lose weight with cambridge.

I considered this diet but long term it does not teach you to eat healthly and even the cambridge councellor I met said you have to stay on the shakes long term.

I have lost 3lbs every week on weight watchers through healthy eating and regular exercise. Also go out every weekend for nights out.

Hmmmm Slightly slower weight loss with weight watchers or No life with cambridge and disgusting crap you have to eat lol...know which one i choose.

And before people start saying how healthy it is, why do doctors give diet pills and gastric bands if this is so good??? Surely this is cheaper than surgery, but they know it's not a long term option.

I agree with the few negative posts on here that no one posts here after being on the diet 4-6 months

posted Nov 25th, 2008 10:06 am


clare

+

hi, me and my hubby are doing this together. iam 5ft3 and weighed 15st 10
just finished week 3s/s today 21lb lost todate.
paul is 6ft1 19st 4 and he has lost 18lb with a meal a day.
You do get your rough days but we feel so much better miss going to the pub and we both intend to have a few drinks at xmas and eat sensably were both aiming for 3 stone lost for xmas then back on it to loose the rest. dont give up.We have tried everything in the past our insperation this time was our eldest daughter has just started in the raf and we promised her we would do it to prove that sometimes things are difficult but you have to stick at it looking forward to her pass out !

posted Nov 25th, 2008 7:03 am


Helen M

+

Results so far, 11 lbs 1st week, 6 lbs 2nd week. 1st day of week 3 and another 1 lb gone. 9 lbs to go, hopefully before Christmas. It really is worth it. I have been adding protein into the diet for about the past 5 days and it does not seem to have made any difference to weight loss and it really is nice to eat something semi normal again.

posted Nov 25th, 2008 5:15 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Isopure Shakes, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Cambridge Diet?