| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 309 reviews

Cambridge Diet

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.


Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.


There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet,

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 15 of 58, 1157 total comments)


I found it so hard to stay on this diet, couldnt sleep because I was so hungry!!! And before anybody says it drinking water doesnt really help at all, did lose 8 pounds the first week but had no life and was miserable

posted Nov 26th, 2008 5:55 pm


Hi all .. I'm on my 3rd week now. First two weeks I have lost 12 lbs. Excited is not the word!! Body shape has changed. I havent done as much exercise as I am used to and the weight is still falling off.

My only problem will be next week when I am due on. I get strong cravings and have to eat anything that comes into my mind. It's an urge I have to try and control though. I will keep doing CD as long as I can afford it and as long as I keep getting results.

posted Nov 26th, 2008 3:20 pm


Hi all .. I'm on my 3rd week now. First two weeks I have lost 12 lbs. Excited is not the word!! Body shape has changed. I havent done as much exercise as I am used to and the weight is still falling off.

My only problem will be next week when I am due on. I get strong cravings and have to eat anything that comes into my mind. It's an urge I have to try and control though. I will keep doing CD as long as I can afford it and as long as I keep getting results.

posted Nov 26th, 2008 3:11 pm


I know it works coz last year I did ss religiously for 2 weeks and lost a stone and a half , ever since though I have found it very hard and extremely difficult to focus and continue on this diet but because I know it works I refuse to give up. I need a diet buddy to keep me motivated. my email is please feel free to contact me for inspiration. Im going on holiday in 2 weeks time so I really want to lose at least a stone then continue when I get back.

posted Nov 26th, 2008 10:10 am


hi in response to slating weight watchers and taking lazy option with cambridge.

In the past my doctor perscribed me slimming tablets xenical and the side affect i had was not nice. I would never want to take that again. so been there and done that im afraid to say. No Major weight loss even with dietician help too.

weight watchers is a sensible diet no dought there and i did not mean to sound like i was slating it.. over the past 8 years for me weight watchers has helped me get some of my weight off. with lots of exercise daily.

having {pcos} and having two children my body has become so use to this diet. hence 4 months to get 14 pound off with daily exercise.

which when I have so much weight to lose was so hard and demotivating ,my body needed a shock to system.

now following cambridge and I have to say I do exercise, wii fit is excellent. I have got the most weight off I ever have. I now feel I have my life back. even though i still have some weight to go. By no means have I taken a lazy option just the right one for me at this time in my life.

I wish everyone luck with cambridge and I really hope there are lots of posts from people after they reach there goals.

hopefully when I get to my goal weight watchers or an alternative healthy eating plan will help me maintain my weight loss achieved with cambridge. I will do whatever I can to keep this weight off after years of battling with it.

posted Nov 25th, 2008 6:51 pm


Anyone that can do this and keep the weight off i toally admire....I did this had still had major issues around food and I am back to the start.....overweight and unhappy....not the diet 's fault I know....but didnt teach me anything!!!
Now on weight watchers and learning to live and eat...not dreaming of food....allowed my treats along the way..............a life style health issues......worth the slower loss ....have lost 21/2 stone in three months....this is my new lifestyle..

Well good luck to everyone on the cambridge xx

posted Nov 25th, 2008 2:58 pm


hi there, i did 2 weeks on sole source back in august and quit as i felt soo hungry all the time, now im back on it and on day 2 which im feeling really positive this time. i have my 21st birthday party in january so atleast i have something to keep me motivated. im currently 13st 7 and would like to lost 4 stone. i hope i can achieve this weight this time. your comments are really helping and when im feeling crap i just come on here and have a look at your weight losses and it keeps me going.. keep up the good work :)

posted Nov 25th, 2008 10:27 am


All the people slating weight watchers diet are obviously doing it wrong and taking the lazy option to lose weight with cambridge.

I considered this diet but long term it does not teach you to eat healthly and even the cambridge councellor I met said you have to stay on the shakes long term.

I have lost 3lbs every week on weight watchers through healthy eating and regular exercise. Also go out every weekend for nights out.

Hmmmm Slightly slower weight loss with weight watchers or No life with cambridge and disgusting crap you have to eat lol...know which one i choose.

And before people start saying how healthy it is, why do doctors give diet pills and gastric bands if this is so good??? Surely this is cheaper than surgery, but they know it's not a long term option.

I agree with the few negative posts on here that no one posts here after being on the diet 4-6 months

posted Nov 25th, 2008 10:06 am


hi, me and my hubby are doing this together. iam 5ft3 and weighed 15st 10
just finished week 3s/s today 21lb lost todate.
paul is 6ft1 19st 4 and he has lost 18lb with a meal a day.
You do get your rough days but we feel so much better miss going to the pub and we both intend to have a few drinks at xmas and eat sensably were both aiming for 3 stone lost for xmas then back on it to loose the rest. dont give up.We have tried everything in the past our insperation this time was our eldest daughter has just started in the raf and we promised her we would do it to prove that sometimes things are difficult but you have to stick at it looking forward to her pass out !

posted Nov 25th, 2008 7:03 am

Helen M

Results so far, 11 lbs 1st week, 6 lbs 2nd week. 1st day of week 3 and another 1 lb gone. 9 lbs to go, hopefully before Christmas. It really is worth it. I have been adding protein into the diet for about the past 5 days and it does not seem to have made any difference to weight loss and it really is nice to eat something semi normal again.

posted Nov 25th, 2008 5:15 am


started weights watchers before the cambridge diet in jan08 and only lost 14 pound in 5 months. started cambridge diet in july and have lost 3 and half stone. The cambridge diet has really changed my life. although i found the first 3 days hard the weight loss soon took over. I have one day off a week on weigh day. eat what i fancy but i don't go mad. The weight still comes of at least 3 pound a weeks. The weight would come of quicker if i didn't cheat but it helps me get through the week something to look forward to. for me 3 pound a week is excellent considering I have Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome have tried every diet and this is the first to really work for me.


posted Nov 24th, 2008 6:38 pm


best diet i have been on, its also taught me to eat healthy and can still have my choc.

posted Nov 23rd, 2008 4:33 pm


hi - started this diet in may 08. have now lost 5st 5lb, and finally feel as if i am getting my life back, althoug i still have a long way to go.

posted Nov 22nd, 2008 6:26 am

Helen M

Thought my weight had stuck last Sunday. No movement on the scales for three days, then suddenly lost a pound a day for two days and then two pounds today. That means 11 lb last week and 4 lb so far this week. Have actually started replacing one of my packs with a tin of tuna fish, just so I had something to eat that was quite normal. Does not seem to have done any harm. Have continued to swim every morning and am now back up to my usual speed. Also this week started doing 20 mins a night on my rowing machine, and seemed ok. However, went for a walk with my dogs tonight over hills I would usually walk over with no trouble. I was absolutely whacked when I got home. ever mind, can't have it every way. Still intending to stick with it for another 3 weeks in the hope I will lose my remaining 12 lb. Good luck everyone.

posted Nov 21st, 2008 1:07 pm


Has any one used this diet while going to the gym, as love the gym but want faster results than weight watchers.

posted Nov 21st, 2008 9:34 am


It worked so well for me ... i didnt ever think i could lose 2 stones in 4 weeks

posted Nov 20th, 2008 11:41 am


fantastic diet so fast i lost 10 pounds first week bloody brilliant i ve lost 5 stone my councillor jenni is brilliant and I live in warwick and she covers that area i love this diet and recommend it

posted Nov 20th, 2008 11:28 am


Have been on it since the 1st July and lost 4stone... I have tried them all but this one fits into my life and works... You will only put the weight on if you go back to old habits.. A diet is a change of lifestyle.

posted Nov 20th, 2008 11:14 am



i am so much worried about my weight.Is there any body help to tell that can i loose 4 stone 3 months?

my fat is in my mid and uper section.My height is very 5:0 ft and i am carrying 85 kg wieght.

is there any body has experince to loose that much in 3 months.

posted Nov 20th, 2008 9:52 am


Hi all... just had a quick read of allyour reviews and comments and really find these a boost! MELLY... keep up the good work, its hard i know, but dont let the kebab get the better of you!!!! Its defo worth it in the end! Im now on wk 10 after weigh in last night (lost a further 4 lbs) Have now lost in total 2 stone! I have to admit, im not sticking to it everyday, specially wkend, but stil lseem to be losing an average of 3-4 lbs a wk! So even tho i have a sneaky chinese takeout, cheese, wine, bread, chrisps and all the nice things... stick to it in the day and still lose!!!!!! So a treat every now and then cant hurt!!!!! Feel it makes me want to stuck with the C/D diet even more, as a treat every now and then is nice!
Well... keep up the good work everyone & i shall report again soon!!!!! xx

posted Nov 20th, 2008 8:54 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account