Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

93%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 290 reviews

Cambridge Diet

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com


Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 15 of 58, 1148 total comments)

Helen M

Results so far, 11 lbs 1st week, 6 lbs 2nd week. 1st day of week 3 and another 1 lb gone. 9 lbs to go, hopefully before Christmas. It really is worth it. I have been adding protein into the diet for about the past 5 days and it does not seem to have made any difference to weight loss and it really is nice to eat something semi normal again.

posted Nov 25th, 2008 5:15 am


gemss

started weights watchers before the cambridge diet in jan08 and only lost 14 pound in 5 months. started cambridge diet in july and have lost 3 and half stone. The cambridge diet has really changed my life. although i found the first 3 days hard the weight loss soon took over. I have one day off a week on weigh day. eat what i fancy but i don't go mad. The weight still comes of at least 3 pound a weeks. The weight would come of quicker if i didn't cheat but it helps me get through the week something to look forward to. for me 3 pound a week is excellent considering I have Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome have tried every diet and this is the first to really work for me.


.

posted Nov 24th, 2008 6:38 pm


eve

best diet i have been on, its also taught me to eat healthy and can still have my choc.

posted Nov 23rd, 2008 4:33 pm


jane

hi - started this diet in may 08. have now lost 5st 5lb, and finally feel as if i am getting my life back, althoug i still have a long way to go.

posted Nov 22nd, 2008 6:26 am


Helen M

Thought my weight had stuck last Sunday. No movement on the scales for three days, then suddenly lost a pound a day for two days and then two pounds today. That means 11 lb last week and 4 lb so far this week. Have actually started replacing one of my packs with a tin of tuna fish, just so I had something to eat that was quite normal. Does not seem to have done any harm. Have continued to swim every morning and am now back up to my usual speed. Also this week started doing 20 mins a night on my rowing machine, and seemed ok. However, went for a walk with my dogs tonight over hills I would usually walk over with no trouble. I was absolutely whacked when I got home. ever mind, can't have it every way. Still intending to stick with it for another 3 weeks in the hope I will lose my remaining 12 lb. Good luck everyone.

posted Nov 21st, 2008 1:07 pm


vicki

Has any one used this diet while going to the gym, as love the gym but want faster results than weight watchers.

posted Nov 21st, 2008 9:34 am


PInky

It worked so well for me ... i didnt ever think i could lose 2 stones in 4 weeks

posted Nov 20th, 2008 11:41 am


joan

fantastic diet so fast i lost 10 pounds first week bloody brilliant i ve lost 5 stone my councillor jenni is brilliant and I live in warwick and she covers that area i love this diet and recommend it

posted Nov 20th, 2008 11:28 am


lesley

Have been on it since the 1st July and lost 4stone... I have tried them all but this one fits into my life and works... You will only put the weight on if you go back to old habits.. A diet is a change of lifestyle.

posted Nov 20th, 2008 11:14 am


Sara

Hi,

i am so much worried about my weight.Is there any body help to tell that can i loose 4 stone 3 months?



my fat is in my mid and uper section.My height is very 5:0 ft and i am carrying 85 kg wieght.





is there any body has experince to loose that much in 3 months.

posted Nov 20th, 2008 9:52 am


LOOPYLAU

Hi all... just had a quick read of allyour reviews and comments and really find these a boost! MELLY... keep up the good work, its hard i know, but dont let the kebab get the better of you!!!! Its defo worth it in the end! Im now on wk 10 after weigh in last night (lost a further 4 lbs) Have now lost in total 2 stone! I have to admit, im not sticking to it everyday, specially wkend, but stil lseem to be losing an average of 3-4 lbs a wk! So even tho i have a sneaky chinese takeout, cheese, wine, bread, chrisps and all the nice things... stick to it in the day and still lose!!!!!! So a treat every now and then cant hurt!!!!! Feel it makes me want to stuck with the C/D diet even more, as a treat every now and then is nice!
Well... keep up the good work everyone & i shall report again soon!!!!! xx

posted Nov 20th, 2008 8:54 am


Lindsey

Helen M i lost 15lbs in my 1st 2 weeks but after a month i slowed down a bit but after 4 and a half months of being on the diet im on track ive lost 4st 6lbs ive took a bit of time out i.e my birthday weekend my husbands birthday weekend and i put away 2 - 3 bottles of wine every saturday i think its great going!!!!

posted Nov 19th, 2008 4:40 pm


Lindsey

I started this diet in the middle of july i have now lost 4st 6lbs i think this diet is great. Does any one have any exiciting things to do with the shakes as i dont really like the soups i already put 2 trays of ice cubes in the shakes (blender) it makes them like slush puppies yum!!
When my councillor has bin on a saturday i binge out then go for a good work out sunday swimming and the gym!!!!

posted Nov 19th, 2008 4:30 pm


melly

Ok I am on my second day of the ss I need to lose quiet alot of weight and i have tried everything else. I got health problems so losing weight is a must now. Day 1 was not that hard but today i am dying for a kebab lol. But I think of it like this being on this diet will give me the chance to re-evaluate my eatting habbits. I am only 23 I think i should get it right from now so my health does not become worse.


So I am stickin at it I dont really like the shakes but the porridge and soups are nice. I am lookin forward to see what i have lost on monday. So until then.


Mx

posted Nov 19th, 2008 10:53 am


calli

Sounds like you are all doing really well....

i am back on track now and on day 3 and feel great...had a blip and ended up soradiclly picking carbs and sweets over the past couple of weeks...still managed to lose but maybe not as much as i could have....really motivated now...even more so as my mum has just started it....suprisingly she is doing really well especially as she is diabetic!!

keep up the good work..

calli xxx

posted Nov 19th, 2008 7:01 am


ruth

Hi there started this diet 6 weeks ago had my weighin yesterday and i have 3 pond to go before i have lost 2 stone that will be by next week. so 7 weeks lost 2 stone and 7 inch's of my waist really happy. I want to loose another 2 stone by christmas it can be done if you stick at it and not cheat as i always say you are only cheating yourself and spending all that money out.. well done everyonexxxx

posted Nov 19th, 2008 6:17 am


Emsy

I started the Cambridge diet last Wednesday. I am following the Sole Source programme. I had my first weigh in today, and have lost 7lbs in 6 days !

Only another 2 and a half stone to go...



To add to the coke zero debate - My counsellor had also advised me that I could have coke zero - I have been having either one or two cans a day. It certainly hasn't affected my weight loss, and I am definately in ketosis - just checked with a ketostix, and the colour was between the two darkest shades.

posted Nov 18th, 2008 8:14 am


MiniDee

Helen M, it was 5 weeks and I interval trained 3 times a week and exercised a total of 5 days (especially PowerPlating and pilates). Energy was difficult at first, but I continued gently. There were times I had to eat carbs and come out of ketosis to fuel the training, but then went into ketosis very quickly again. I lost 13 lbs in the first week. And then an average of 4 lbs a week. I treated the whole experience like 'fat' club! When I was on SS, I had my 1st drink at 11am which help stave off hunger. I found if I was peckish after gym, I'd have decaff coffee which helped. Good luck.

posted Nov 18th, 2008 4:25 am


Snowy

I had my first weigh in on Friday, I started the diet on Monday and have lost 8lb in 5 days!! And 6 inches off so I am pleased. People have started to notice as well now. My husband is away on business, I cant wait for him to come back and see the difference.

I did however make the mistake of being really weak and rubbish and eating half a jacket potatoe on Saturday, take it from me that it is not adviseable as i was very sick afterwards. I am not tempted to eat anything now!! I am starving though :-(

But on a more positive note, i havent got achey legs and knees anymore :-) and I am still going strong on week 2 of sole source.

Keep going you guys, it will be worth it.

Snowy x

posted Nov 17th, 2008 8:16 am


scw

2nd week of being good and lost 3lb, so thats 5lb in two weeks, if I can do the same ech week, I will have lost 1 stone by Christmas, which will make 3 1/2 stone in total. NOT BAD HEY.
I find drinking hot water warms me up now it is getting colder, try it...

posted Nov 16th, 2008 8:30 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account