| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 302 reviews

Cambridge Diet

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.


Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.


There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet,

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 17 of 58, 1155 total comments)


Hey I started the diet last Wednesday, had my first weigh in today which was great i lost 6lbs and an inch of my waiste.I'm on the sole source, it's not that bad as i thought, the shakes are really nice but i really do not like the soups. The first couple of days were difficult, i thought about cheating a couple of times but i stopped and looked at myself in the mirror and thought noooooooo i don't want to be this size anymore. I have 4stones to lose before next year. I'm doing this diet as i am getting married and i want to look stunning so if i continue losing this much each week, i will reach my goal in no time. For all those people who are thinking about doing the diet, i definitely recommend it but you have to really stick to it. My counsellor said the key to lose alot of weight is to drink a lot of water,the more you drink the more you lose. Hopefully next Tuesday i have more good news so i will keep you posted for all those that are interested. Mwah

posted Nov 11th, 2008 6:37 pm


have through day 2 ok finding it hard to drink so much water

so far so good

posted Nov 11th, 2008 3:24 pm

sally ann

Hi everyone!

i started this diet a 6 weeks ago and dropped 10lbs which was fantastic until i went on holidays........and just did the dog on it, not at all impressed with myself because the weight is creeping up again. iv moved back home with my parents so the idea of "no thanks mum im not eating real food only allowed 3 shakes to eat per day" is not going to go down too well. whats the best alternative on the diet before the xmas rush? everything is up in a heap between being living at home and trying to avoid dinners & breakfasts and then going staying with my boyfriends at weekends...........OH FOR THE SINGLE LIVING ON YOUR OWN LIFE!! help me please!

posted Nov 11th, 2008 3:06 pm


Help!!! have just had a row with my 10 yr old who has such an attitude at the moment he has wound me up like a coil and i have wound up so much emotionally ....i raided the biscuit tin......feel really bad now...does anybody else go through similar prblems...could really do with a pick me d you deal with them while on cd!!!!

posted Nov 11th, 2008 2:56 pm

Sonia Evans

Started the diet last week wednesday. Have been feeling very ill with the flu- but trying my hardest to keep on track. This morning I was sick everywhere and had bad tummy pains. I'm also finding it hard to drink so much water- only had 500lms today. I will try to change my hadit drastically. Today has been the only day that I have had soup. I'm on 3 shakes a day. Some people have commended that I look like i've lost weight- actuly i have 6lbs. I now have under 3 stones to go.

Trying to stay focused and want to make long term changes in my life. This has already started I've been to a party over the weekend and only had a couple of veg, coupled with the fact that I do not touch the junk that is offered in the office- I love body too much to spoil it now!

posted Nov 11th, 2008 1:52 pm


I have started this diet on and off for a while now!! But I am getting married on May 2nd and I determined to get down by 4 to 5 stones. Do you think this will be possible. I cant wait to see the results but I always feel strong at the beginning and then seem to falter after a couple of days. Then think well I have already failed so why keep trying!! I am really trying to do this not just for my sake but for my daughters as well!!!

posted Nov 10th, 2008 5:22 pm


hello everyone -
well finished my first week!
I lost 6.5 pounds! woop!
So...on wednesday, I found not eating too tough, so i've introduced two shakes a day and a meal consisting of either chicken/fish/vegatables/steak.
So - it proves, that even with the meal - it still does work well.
Am I wrong in saying, that alot of people of this website are aiming too loose over at least 3 stone?
I'm not ashamed to say, currently i'm 5'5 and weigh 12st 3...and looking too shift this two stone. I've been advised that i am still quite small to be on this i'm doing it in total for 3 weeks and heading back to weight watchers. (where I previously lost 1st 7pounds in 6 months)
I'd really love to hear other peoples weight and their experiences...I find this website very uplifting!!

posted Nov 10th, 2008 2:42 pm


I agree that this diet is not a long term solution but it does help those of us who are morbidly obese to lose weight with out becoming disillusioned and depressed. When you finish your weight loss on the Cambridge diet remember to go up the plans so that you slowly get used to eating in moderation. I would advise anyone who is finishing this diet to look into healthy eating possibly joining a slimming club such as Weight Watchers or Slimming World to make sure the weight doesn't go back on.

posted Nov 9th, 2008 4:35 pm


After my holiday and a good 6 weeks of delaying my commitment to the diet I am now back on tract and am feeling better in myself for it, even though I am getting some of the side effects again; but I have to say they do NOT last too long. MISSY I have read your comments and can understand where you are comming from, but every body is different and the diet works in different ways for each of us, I have been o the plan for a while now and have lost over 2 1/2 stone and have never felt more energised and good about myself, maybe you were unlucky with your illness on the plan. I wish you all the luck on your new diet.

posted Nov 9th, 2008 3:30 pm


I have been a WeightWatcher for the last 3 years. Lost a total of 5 stone but have put back 2 and cannot for the life of me shift it. This is my first day on CD. I LOVE the chocolate velvet drink as that fixes my sweet tooth, not too keen on the porridge though. I went to sleep last night dreaming of food and woke up with food on my mind. Will stick to this though as I've paid good money for it.

The only thing I'm finding hard so far is the drinking of water. i keep going to the toilet :)

Will let you how i get on in the next two weeks.

posted Nov 9th, 2008 2:40 pm


HI all
Istarted 4 weeks ago and have now lost just under two stone! I did not think this would work but thought i would try it anyway, MY GOD if you dont cheat the results are incredable!
Good luck to all those people who are on it AND DONT CHEAT!

posted Nov 8th, 2008 1:53 pm


Well Have to say this diet isn't as healthy as it makes out it is....You are starving yourself and i've finally seen the light that healthy eating and exercise is the best way to lose weight, this is a LAZY way to diet was on It for 2 weeks lost loads of weight, but ended up with a severe kidney infection, and will never look at this diet again.

I strongly advise people to look at sites were people aren't on the diet to get fairer view of the diet as thats one thing i didn't do before, but have in last few days and it isn't all happy, as of course there gonna give good reviews if they are on the diet... but think how many of the people who write good reviews continue to write reviews (rare they do as probably quit lol) but long term weight loss is better than this crash diet and i agree with dappy mare that if this diet was so good for you, why is it not on the NHS. It's because it's not good for you, you only lose weight cos you're body is starving itself and you are drinking so much water. This Diet was designed for the morbidly obese, cambridge did different versions of it to pray on the vunerable people. I know now I was stupid to ever do this diet and the long term risks to my body ie hair loss, renal failure, infertility is not worth getting to my goal weight a couple of months sooner than I would on a healthy eating and exercise plan.

I know I'll get abuse for this but this is a review post and there needs to be an honest review.

posted Nov 8th, 2008 10:51 am


started today will let you know howit goes

posted Nov 8th, 2008 9:02 am


Its day 3 and I really want my usual friday night takeawy, but I will not cheat! I feel tired, grumpy and bored ... how long will it go on liek this? I have 6 stones to lose so need to make a drastic start before been in the luxury position of choosing healthy food for the long term. I hate been the fattest mum at the school, too tired to play with the kids or go on bike rides. I owe it to them to do something about it, but boy is it hard!!

posted Nov 7th, 2008 3:41 pm


hi - have now been on this diet since may 08 (2 shakes & 1 meal per day), and have lost 4 stone 12lbs, but finding it really hard going at the moment. whereas previously i didnt cheat at all, i now find i am having "bits" that i should really say no to. Still have another 4/5 stone to loose, so dont want to give up yet, but really need some inspiration!!

posted Nov 7th, 2008 9:56 am


Hey guys.....feeling very unwell at the moment...suffering from effects of my flu jab so have mild flu symptoms....having to take cough medicine and halls menthol lozenges....has anyone else had this problem whilst being on CD.....can you give me any tips on how to cope with it as normally i cosy up with hot ribena!!!!! Don't want to ruin CD altho i am not in ketosis a the moment, thru too much sugar....any help welcome! Having said that, doing ok and hopefully i can move another stone before christmas. Keep going and well done to all....

Sophieanne...i also experienced some head rushes when i first started but after day 5 they do start to wear off a little... i think it has something to do with withdrawal from carbs and sugar.....keep going...

posted Nov 7th, 2008 2:24 am



posted Nov 6th, 2008 6:43 pm


Hello All, I'm on day 4 of this diet and still longing for food. Everyone in the office has nice lunches and I eat my soup. Have not cheated though so feel good about that. Reading all your input makes it easier though so thank you. Need to lose 20kgs but not sure how I am going to turn down all the party invites that invariable come around this time. I still want to socialise so any tips?

posted Nov 6th, 2008 7:41 am


Hey girls - i'm 20 years old and on my 3rd day of cambridge. I have to say, I am suprised how the shakes have taken away my hunger. but does anyone else feel kind of unwell? my jaw seems to constantly ache, along with alot of head counsellor says this is normal in the first few days. I'm only doing this for two weeks, then introducing meals with two shakes per day. has anyone endured longer?! I previously lost 21 pounds with weight watchers, but after holiday in august, found it hard to get back on track. now i'm back in the flow with this quick fix and will steadily keep it off with ww!


posted Nov 5th, 2008 7:57 am


Hi there i,ve been on this diet for 3 weeks now and i have lost 18lbs now i am really loving it cant wait till christmas want to loose another 2 stone by then. I lost 11lbs the first weeek 3 the next and 5lbs this week and 5 inch,s of my waist well pleased.. good luck to everyone else stick to it...

posted Nov 5th, 2008 7:20 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account