Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

93%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 290 reviews

Cambridge Diet

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com


Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 13 of 58, 1148 total comments)


Brandi

Hello Cambridge Dieters! I wanted to reach out and personally invite you to join our new community here at DietsInReview.com. It's free and just takes a minute. You'll be able to save your favorite content on the site, as well as direct message one another. We hope this will better suit the needs you have as some of our most active readers. Happy New Year! - Brandi Join our new Diet Community Today!

posted Jan 5th, 2009 11:32 pm


Spencer

Day one out the way, and the cravings have kicked in, but i dont feel to bad in saying no. Had about 5-6 pints of water through out the day which hasnt been so bad. Had to have a sleep earlier to counter act the hunger when the kids were eating. Day two tomoz, hope the energy returns soon.

posted Jan 5th, 2009 5:34 pm


allypo

starting this thursday 8/1. my friend lost 4 stone in 20 weeks. hope i can lose 5 stone before summer. wish me luck xx

posted Jan 5th, 2009 2:36 pm


Spencer

Starting the CD SS tomorrow, saw my counciler on Sat, and got weighed in at 12, 10, with a 28.8 BMI. Target weight is 10, 6 with a 25 BMI, and have set myself a 12 week target - 3months of non take aways, going out etc, have totally cleared my diary out so no distractions. God help me when the family have a roast on Sundays, i'll have to lock myself away lol. Good luck to all, as i assume there will be a few of us starting this diet tomorrow. Good luck all, will keep you updated as we go along.

posted Jan 4th, 2009 10:09 am


Kate

Hi all,
Reading all your posts has really inspired me to go for CD. I am going to meet my local counsellor next tues afternoon at 4.30pm, I am so excited now. I have around 5 stone to lose and I'm getting married August 2009 so need to do this, I tried my wedding dress on yesterday and have at least 3 inches to lose around my back half in order to fit into it.....if I shed even more and have to have it downsized then fantastic.
Good luck to you all. I shall update once started. Kate x

posted Dec 30th, 2008 4:29 am


caroline

Hi everyone, off to see my counsellor today to get ready to start on the first day 2009. I am so full of determination to do this and get the figure I have so longed for. Goodluck to everyone for 2009 and will keep you updated on my progress x

posted Dec 29th, 2008 10:42 am


Hayley

I am starting this diet again in the new year after putting back on my 2 stone weight loss! This time im hitting it hard and aim to loose 4 stone. I am 5 ft 8 and weigh just over 13 stone. BMI is about 29 and want it to be about 22. Earlier on in the year just before summer I done it for 6 weeks and lost 10 lbs in 5 DAYS. Amazing it definately works but you need to go on a weight maintainence programme after to keep it off. I am glad I had this experience so that this time I know what i need to do. I have been on ww also for the last few months but find becasue I can eat food I dont really count points and just guess and it really wasn't for me! Good luck everyone whatever way you loose weight its hard for us all but the results are the key to motivation x

posted Dec 23rd, 2008 9:34 am


Roa

great diet , no need for food preperation
tasty :)) wide range of selection

posted Dec 20th, 2008 6:48 pm


emily

hi all, i have been on the diet for 8 weeks and have stuck to it completely with no cheats! so far and i have lost 3st 1lb and i feel great!! i have found that i crave different food now like boild cabbage weird! so it really dose get better. stick with it x

posted Dec 15th, 2008 6:36 am


emily

hi all, i have been on the diet for 8 weeks and have stuck to it completely with no cheats! so far and i have lost 3st 1lb and i feel great!! i have found that i crave different food now like boild cabbage weird! so it really dose get better. stick with it x

posted Dec 15th, 2008 5:59 am


Margie

I everyone on this chat site from England? I'm in the U.S.. Does anyone know if the program offered in the U.S. the same stuff as you get in England?

posted Dec 13th, 2008 11:09 am


Spencer

Hello all, i am guy scheduled to start the sole source on 5th Jan (get Xmas out the way), and intend on doing a 3mth programme till end of March. By then i hope to have lost 2 and half stone - currently 12stone 12ibs. Hope thats realistic. Clearing the house of food (in the boot of the wifes car lol) up till the start date. Then once iv lost, will hit the gym once i start eating the solids again. Any tips and advice would go a long way, especally from any guys who might be doing it!!



Good luck all.

posted Dec 13th, 2008 7:53 am


sara

Hi,

i started CD TODAY.I am 13.8 stone at the moent and i have to lost 4 stone by mid of March.Did some body lost 4 stone in 12 weeks.Is it possbile?.is it good to excercise to tone body becuase i have big muscles body.Any tips will be very helpful.

posted Dec 11th, 2008 12:01 pm


pruepraizy

I feel that the Cambridge Diet works very well as the liquid diet reduces the fat content in the body and improves the blood content which will be very useful especially for women. I beleive that with this Cambridge Diet program one can feel succeeded and happy.
****************************************************************************************
posted Dec 8th, 2008 11:12 am


Monica

OK, 4 weeks in .. weighed yesterday .. LOST 1 STONE!!!

Even though I had that REALLY BAD WEEK, I didn't give up. Christmas party is next week and I hope to lose another 7lbs before then and another stone before Christmas.

Will keep you updated :)

posted Dec 7th, 2008 3:49 am


HEL

Just started today. Really need to shift the weight . Not sure what sort of weight you lose in a week ???



Does eveybody know how long you have to stay on Step 1?

posted Dec 5th, 2008 1:44 pm


samantha

Hi all i would like to say well done to u all for choosing the cd!! although im only on day 4 of this diet so far im actually enjoying -although not too keen on some of the soups. im looking forward to my weigh in on monday will let u all know nxt week!! good luck all and keep slurping at ur water!!

posted Dec 5th, 2008 6:06 am


geordiegal

hi all day 5 of starting cambridge doing ok except from being so cold all the time anyone else feeling it.

posted Dec 3rd, 2008 12:00 pm


mica

Findig it hard to focus . I really beleive in this diet as I know it works and it has worked for me before , but I need advice on willpower, and how to remain focused. Please people if you can email me for some much needed motivation and inspiration.
Take care and keep up the good work all of ya. You doing good.

posted Dec 3rd, 2008 8:46 am


SCW

Message for ROSY, can you tell me how your friend managed 5st in just 14 weeks, that is fantastic. Was she 100% strict with the plan and drank all her water?
By the way that is a great loss for you too, well done. I have about 3 stone left to loose and have a wedding in january and would like to loose at least 1 to 1.5st by then, even though xmas is only weeks away. Any yadvise?


Does anybody know what colour the Ketosis sticks should be to know if your body is in Ketosis??

posted Nov 30th, 2008 2:56 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account