| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 309 reviews

Cambridge Diet

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.


Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.


There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet,

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 13 of 58, 1157 total comments)


Great product!! Stands apart from all other diet products that I've tried (I take it with small healthy meals) - I feel better on this and lose weight better than on anything else.

posted Jan 12th, 2009 1:50 pm


although really unfortunate about the gall bladder story there is little evidence to say this diet is connected so people should not get in to a panic , the gall bladder stores bile which is needed to digest fat and the most common cause if obesity and high cholesterol of which most of us are trying to reduce. Women are more prone especially id they take a contraceptive pill or have bowel disorders obviously you must always review with your GP if you have any concerns but hopefully most people would have improved gall bladder function when the weight is lost and maintainance is started ...No offence to the previous reviewer hope you ok and have no complications with surgery

posted Jan 12th, 2009 4:11 am

Stephanie Hemsley

Been on diet,lost lots but now have to have gaul bladder removed because of rapid weight loss.please everyone going on this diet have a word with your doctor first but I wasnt advised so to do. Be Carefull

posted Jan 11th, 2009 6:53 pm


I started the CD last year and lost 2 stone - yes it was hard at first but as you feel healthier and see the weight coming off very quickly it spurred me on. I had lapses like everyone else but remember you have not failed, it is natural event that your body goes through, just get back on track as soon as you can.
I did this on the vanilla shakes only as I am lactose intolerant and when I felt really hungry or cold added a meal of porridge and still was losing.
I want to lose a stone to bring me to target weight. CD does work and has all the minerals and vitamins you need just don't exercise for the first couple of weeks as you will be tired.
Good luck everyone and keep going - it's worth it.

posted Jan 11th, 2009 10:21 am


i actually feel alittle better today i think the fact that the weather is freezing and it was sat night made things seem worse so fingers crossed for weigh in on tuesday

posted Jan 11th, 2009 10:20 am


Hi all im new to this im on day 6 of ss and although it hasnt been to bad to date i feel worse todat than any other day(maybe cooking the sunday dinner for the family didnt help iv weighed myself today and iv lost 12lb woooop!!! just feeling down and drained!!! well done to you all i think your a great group n fantastic for supporting eachother keep it up! xx

posted Jan 11th, 2009 10:14 am


on day 5 and its killing me as well ..please tell me when i will feel great and full of energy as i just feel hungover without the booze and my mouth is soooo dry !

posted Jan 10th, 2009 12:43 pm


Day 3 and this is killing me, yesterday was harsh, but this AM felt ok. Then i could feel my sugar levels drop at about 3pm and feel like poo at the minute. Not sure if will be able to continue this past the weekend. Keep reading the 1st 3days are the worst, well tomorrow is day 4 so i'll go on how i feel then and see if i am in Ketosis. Hope this gets easier, as i keep thinking of food.

posted Jan 7th, 2009 12:29 pm


is any 1 having problems getting back to it after christmas still....or am i the only 1....any tips other than drinking water...i am really good all day until it comes to cooking dinner and then i eat half the kitchen.....


posted Jan 7th, 2009 2:14 am


Hello Cambridge Dieters! I wanted to reach out and personally invite you to join our new community here at It's free and just takes a minute. You'll be able to save your favorite content on the site, as well as direct message one another. We hope this will better suit the needs you have as some of our most active readers. Happy New Year! - Brandi Join our new Diet Community Today!

posted Jan 5th, 2009 11:32 pm


Day one out the way, and the cravings have kicked in, but i dont feel to bad in saying no. Had about 5-6 pints of water through out the day which hasnt been so bad. Had to have a sleep earlier to counter act the hunger when the kids were eating. Day two tomoz, hope the energy returns soon.

posted Jan 5th, 2009 5:34 pm


starting this thursday 8/1. my friend lost 4 stone in 20 weeks. hope i can lose 5 stone before summer. wish me luck xx

posted Jan 5th, 2009 2:36 pm


Starting the CD SS tomorrow, saw my counciler on Sat, and got weighed in at 12, 10, with a 28.8 BMI. Target weight is 10, 6 with a 25 BMI, and have set myself a 12 week target - 3months of non take aways, going out etc, have totally cleared my diary out so no distractions. God help me when the family have a roast on Sundays, i'll have to lock myself away lol. Good luck to all, as i assume there will be a few of us starting this diet tomorrow. Good luck all, will keep you updated as we go along.

posted Jan 4th, 2009 10:09 am


Hi all,
Reading all your posts has really inspired me to go for CD. I am going to meet my local counsellor next tues afternoon at 4.30pm, I am so excited now. I have around 5 stone to lose and I'm getting married August 2009 so need to do this, I tried my wedding dress on yesterday and have at least 3 inches to lose around my back half in order to fit into it.....if I shed even more and have to have it downsized then fantastic.
Good luck to you all. I shall update once started. Kate x

posted Dec 30th, 2008 4:29 am


Hi everyone, off to see my counsellor today to get ready to start on the first day 2009. I am so full of determination to do this and get the figure I have so longed for. Goodluck to everyone for 2009 and will keep you updated on my progress x

posted Dec 29th, 2008 10:42 am


I am starting this diet again in the new year after putting back on my 2 stone weight loss! This time im hitting it hard and aim to loose 4 stone. I am 5 ft 8 and weigh just over 13 stone. BMI is about 29 and want it to be about 22. Earlier on in the year just before summer I done it for 6 weeks and lost 10 lbs in 5 DAYS. Amazing it definately works but you need to go on a weight maintainence programme after to keep it off. I am glad I had this experience so that this time I know what i need to do. I have been on ww also for the last few months but find becasue I can eat food I dont really count points and just guess and it really wasn't for me! Good luck everyone whatever way you loose weight its hard for us all but the results are the key to motivation x

posted Dec 23rd, 2008 9:34 am


great diet , no need for food preperation
tasty :)) wide range of selection

posted Dec 20th, 2008 6:48 pm


hi all, i have been on the diet for 8 weeks and have stuck to it completely with no cheats! so far and i have lost 3st 1lb and i feel great!! i have found that i crave different food now like boild cabbage weird! so it really dose get better. stick with it x

posted Dec 15th, 2008 6:36 am


hi all, i have been on the diet for 8 weeks and have stuck to it completely with no cheats! so far and i have lost 3st 1lb and i feel great!! i have found that i crave different food now like boild cabbage weird! so it really dose get better. stick with it x

posted Dec 15th, 2008 5:59 am


I everyone on this chat site from England? I'm in the U.S.. Does anyone know if the program offered in the U.S. the same stuff as you get in England?

posted Dec 13th, 2008 11:09 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account