Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

93%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 290 reviews

Cambridge Diet

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com


Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 58, 1148 total comments)

Mz..Ditzy

This diet is s**t......Yes you have fast weight loss, but they don't tell you about the side effects, like regaining weight fast even if you have done maintance....hair loss which I did suffer and now I have kidney problems, doctor has said it was probably due to high water intake and stressing my kidneys out :( this diet caters for people who are at there wits end and want that miracle..but nothing is better than healthy eating and exercise.


PLEASE REALLY CONSIDER WHAT THIS DIET CAN DO TO YOUR BODY BEFORE GOING ON IT AS OBVIOUSLY CAMBRIDGE DIET COUNSELLORS ARE NOT GONNA GIVE YOU THE HORROR STORIES.

posted Sep 1st, 2009 10:58 am


lynda

hi everyone ive now been on the diet for 8 weeks and 6 days, i have lost a total of 3 stone and due to go and get weighed again tomorrow. i have tried so many other diets with little results but this diet beats them all and im loving it x

posted Aug 28th, 2009 5:44 am


Elin HOpkins

HI just started SS today- not enjoying it at the moment! BUT am very encouraged by all your stories! Going to try and stick to SS for a week, bit might have a chicken Salad on the weekend for a treat. I want to loose about 2 stone! I'll let u know how I go! x

posted Aug 26th, 2009 2:18 pm


donna

im on day 4 of ss plus food and have just been to see my councellor to change my shakes and have already lost 3 1b which is fab. I WONT LIE THE FIRST FEW DAYS ARE TORTURE and having to take my daughter and her friend out for burger and fries was sooo bad but i have done it and feel really pleased with myself. keep going all of you.

posted Aug 7th, 2009 9:21 am


Emma

Hi I am currently 13.5 stone, I am starting the diet tomorow and want to drop 3.5 stone - how long do you think this will take?
Thanks x

posted Aug 2nd, 2009 2:36 pm


donna

hi everyone, thought id let you all know how im doing. well i started the cambridge diet 14 weeks ago have lost 48lb so far (3st 6lb) only 8 lb left til i reach my goal and cant believe how quick and easy it has been. it does get easier after the 1st few days for def and before long its just your way of life and i find i dont think about it anymore. dont get me wrong ive had about 2 weeks off the diet in this time when ive been on holiday/birthday but somehow managed to stay the same when i weighed?!. the last few weeks, although mainly sticking to ss have had chicken salads in the night. i drink loads of coke zero, and water and diet coke now and again, and even had the odd treat after ive weighed on a thursday! i just hope when i reach my goal ill be able to maintain my weight- but its been the best thing ive ever done.

posted Jul 20th, 2009 2:27 pm


SHARLI

Hi all, just started on ss yesterday, and desperate to lose 3 stone asap, been fat for 7 years and now practically live as a hermit! My partner lost 5 st on ss 2 years ago but i just never had the willpower to stick with it for more than 1 day! Can someone tell me if its true that after the 3rd day it gets easier? And whats the truth about diet/zero coke? Also I have heard that there are other things you can do with the soups ie muffins etc, anyone have any recipes??
Good luck all xxxx

posted Jul 9th, 2009 9:09 am


1sttimedieter

I am starting on the 1000 calorie on Saturday for 1 week, then the 800 for 1 week then SS hopefully to lose at least 2 stone. My son, who has a lot more to lose will be doing it with me. I am a little anxious as I have no friends who are willing to support me on this diet (my first one ever by the way). They have all said that I will lose weight, but as soon as I come off the diet and start eating again, the weight will go straight back on and some. Also I am being repeatedly told that this is not a healthy diet. Obviously reading Nicolas comments is very worrying. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

posted Jun 30th, 2009 4:47 pm


nicola

hey to everyone! came across this diet whilst browsing! hope you dont mind me contributing..
last year summer of 2008 I reached my goal weight and lost 4 stone, I was thrilled! I went on the maintenance and compleated it sucsessfully.
A year on.... I put on all my weight plus another stone, I have bowel abnormalities, stiffness of the joints and suffered with cysts.
I cant pin point a particular reason for this other than the CD.
Me now.....I go to the gym 3 days a week and horse ride 4 times, eat what i like but in quantity and even had some ice cream for tea tonight... and ive lost a stone in 6 weeks, I KNOW ITS NOT A QUICK AS THE CD, but I am gradually on the mend with the problems caused from lack of calorie intake, although the protein is sufficient in the CD I generally dont think I would be suffering now If I hadnt gone on the CD.
Good luck to everyone whos on it....please please all be very careful.
ALSO PLEASE NOTE THAT IM 21 SO I SHOULDNT BE SUFFERING LIKE THIS AT SUCH A YOUNG(ISH) AGE!! HA

hope i havnt bored you all
take care love nicola xxx

posted Jun 19th, 2009 6:24 pm


Jackie Kerr

Hi everyone I started today - its 4.30 pm i made up the chilli soup for my lunch had to throw it away yuck! my friend said I should of made it thinner - I then made up a vanilla shake much better when can I use the gelatine for the shakes sounds great I have a stone to lose .....feel very tierd now its tough but reading the reviews its worth it x

posted Jun 18th, 2009 11:34 am


Laura

I've been on the CD- SS and have lost 1 stone in 9 days. Enough said!!

posted Jun 16th, 2009 6:12 am


Angie

I have lost 3 stone in 13 weeks on this diet so far-I could never have done this on any other diet. I've also lost just over 30 inches so far too.

I don't find that I'm hungry at all. Apart from the first few days before I went into ketosis. The cravings were hard to deal with at the beginning but now it doesn't really bother me. I'm almost halfway there now-I hope to be at my goal by September/October. I'm so glad I did this diet-it's changed my life.

posted Jun 16th, 2009 5:36 am


michelle

hi everybody, im starting this again today but i do the ss+ with the small meal, i lost 2st last time very quickly 10lb my first wk & 7lb second which was amazing & a great feeling, i have my holidays coming up so here i go again with 2 1/2 stone to lose im not sitting on the beach next to my teenage daughter & me looking a little chunky lol. good luck everyone everybody :)

posted Jun 8th, 2009 6:09 am


Katy

I started ss today and have so far had 1 shake. Not the tastiest thing in the world and i'm already hungry. I have found that mixing it with hot water makes it nicer to drink. Tommorow morning ill have the porridge as i think it will kickstart the day better. I currently need to lose 3.5 stone so wish me luck

posted Jun 5th, 2009 6:36 am


Emma

im starting ss tomorrow for the second time. i tried it last year and only lasted 2 weeks, but did lose 13 pounds in that space of time.. i am now a stone heavier than i was when i started the first time.. i need to lose 4 stone to be ideal weight and finally fit my skinny jeans again. wish me luck, il post again after my first weigh in. xxxx

posted May 26th, 2009 4:46 pm


Laura Manning

Hi, I am thinking of starting the Cambridge diet. I am concerned that my will power won't be strong enough or that the results won't be as good as those I've heard so I and was hoping for some feedback and advice, both the positives and negatives.
Thanks

posted May 25th, 2009 5:16 pm


butterfly

Starting SS today so excited can't wait to start losing, feel like I have taken charge of my life, I am determined to stick with it. I found everyones comments very motivating, will let you know how my weight loss progresses.

posted May 24th, 2009 5:58 am


Aqsa

Hi Zhenya ,

How much you lost in one week?

posted May 20th, 2009 9:13 am


Lorna1983

Hi All,

I am on day two now, so far so good! I have been slimming world since Jan 09 and struggled to lose a stone so I thought I would give this a try.

L

posted May 20th, 2009 8:10 am


TeeTeeUK

Hi Everyone,

I'm on my fourth day. I am truely blessed as i've not had any headaches, or much hunger. I cut out sugar about 8 weeks before starting and tried to eat more healthily.

I have gone from drinking virtuely no water to having over 3 litres on the first 2 days, about 2.5 on the 3rd day and about 1 litre so far today (but will definitely have the full 3 litres recommended).

I am going to the toilet ever 15 mins after drinking. I think i've been 4 times today already! I feel like I am constantly on the loo. LOL.

But, despite following the SS Plan religiously, in the last 3.5 days I have not lost a thing.

Any advice, or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thx

posted May 14th, 2009 11:06 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account