Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

35%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 315 reviews
Cambridge Diet

Cambridge Diet Review: Does it Work?

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Cambridge Diet is a weight loss program offering pre-packed meals, counseling, and low calorie meal suggestions. It’s considered a VLCD, which means it’s a very low calorie diet.

One can select between 415 to 1500 calories depending on one’s weight loss goals, gender, and tolerance. Consultants are offered not just to guide, but to recommend what calorie limit one should follow. There have been numerous diets observed by our experts, and the highest rated one has been  the 18Shake Diet. It offers a diet pill and meal replacement that aim to reduce appetite for hours, all while providing fat burning effects with its all natural ingredients. More information about the 18Shake Diet can be seen in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Cambridge DietIngredients and Side Effects

Here are some noteworthy ingredients added to their prepackaged foods:

Skimmed Milk Powder

Maltodextrin

Guar Gum

Refined Fractionated Palm Oil

Acesulfame K

Sucralose

Carrageenan

Flavourings

Dried Glucose Syrup

Silicon Dioxide

Oligofructose

 

Guar Gum:Fiber extract taken from the guar plant. It’s used as a general thickener in processed foods, as well as a laxative.  It can promote side effects that include:

         • Diarrhea, gas, and loose stools.

         • Indigestion, nausea, and stomach pains.

Acesulfame K:Artificial sweetener around 200 times sweeter than standard sugar. A study by PLOS One found that:

“Long-Term Artificial Sweetener Acesulfame Potassium Alters Neurometabolic Functions”

This study showed that in mice there was an effect on insulin and leptin levels.  The same study added:

“chronic use… could affect cognitive functions, potentially via altering neuro-metabolic functions”

It also has shown the potential for other side effects according to a review by the Oxford Journals:

“long-dated function on the adult’s sweet preference”

This study was conducted on mice that were given their mother’s breast milk or amniotic fluid in birth, and their preference for sweets changed.

Sucralose:Artificialsweetener that can be around 1,000 times much sweeter than sugar. It has been used controversially since some studies have shown it to be potentially dangerous. One such study was performed by Duke University and it revealed:

“numerous adverse effects”

“reduction in beneficial fecal microflora, increased fecal pH, and enhancedexpression levels of P-gp”

This means the body considers it a toxin, and it reduces healthy bacteria which helps support the immune system according to this clinical study.

Carrageenan:Thickener and binder extractedfrom red seaweed.The University of Iowa ran a study which showed:

“carcinogenic properties of degraded carrageenan”

“ulcerations and neoplasms in association with exposure to carrageenan”

This has shown the possibility for causing serious issues in the body.

The link provided here has the top 10 ranked diets of the year.

The types of foods offered by the Cambridge Diet are meal replacement shakes, bars, pasta, rice, soups, desserts, and other snacks. According to the official website:

“products contain the vitamins and minerals you need for balanced nutrition and healthy weight loss”

Most of what one eats will be the prepackaged foods. This can make it easier to handle a caloric loss, as the foods are specially formulated to be lower in calories. There are also 6 steps outlined one must follow, though where one begins depends on what the counselor advises. Here are the steps:

• Sole Source: 3 to 4 prepackaged foods are eaten a day. The Sole Source Plus option allows for 3 prepacked goods alongside meal of 200 calories, or 4 of the companies meals with 200 ml of skimmed milk.

• 2nd Stage: Protein rich meals are added as well as some skimmed milk and vegetables alongside up o Cambridge meals. It’s typically limited to 810 calories a day for a week long period.

• 3rd Stage: 2 of the meals, some milk, and a 1,000 calorie a day limit. This is enforced for 2 weeks.

• 4th Stage: 2 prepackaged meals, some skimmed milk, and more regular meals.

• 5th Stage: One Cambridge meal and breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner for a total of 1500 calories.

• 6th Stage: Once your heathy weight is reached, this stage helps maintain results. One prepackaged meal a day is recommended alongside continued support from a consultant.

It’s unclear whether or not the consultants have any background in diet and nutrition. It’s unlikely however that they use real certified dieticians, which can be potentially dangerous or lead to wrong advice. Our experts have analyzed many diets and have ranked the top 10 in the list here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Cambridge Diet Quality of Ingredients

Since the beginning of the program asks for a majority of foods to be selected from the company’s prepackaged foods, it’s important for the ingredients to be wholesome.

Unfortunately, they use artificial sweeteners and cheap thickeners often used to replace fiber. These kinds of additives can actually make weight loss harder, as studies have shown they may cause metabolism disorders as well as other side effects.

It’s also difficult to understand what kind of help is provided by the counselors, which remains to be seen whether or not they are actually certified to give health and nutrition advice.  The link provided here has a list of the highest rated diets.

A review on the Cambridge Diet was performed by the British Dietetic Association, and they have listed possible side effects which include:

“bad breathe, a dry mouth, tiredness, dizziness, insomnia, nausea, and constipation”

They also advise for medical support when a person is to receive less than 600 calories, which some plans offered by the company suggest only 450 calories a day. It’s unclear if the counselors offer any support for this type of reduction in calories.

The Price and Quality of Cambridge Diet

The price depends more on how often once decides to use the prepackaged meals. The official website states it will cost per week 48.30 pounds, which rounds to a weekly price of $63.46. Since this is a UK based plan, no consultations are available outside the US. In fact, on the official site there is a map where support and availability is offered, and there are no listings for the US.

The quality of meals is poor, as the additives included are often found in processed foods. It can also be expensive to have to keep using the company’s foods, as the final stage of maintenance requires one pre-packaged meal a day.

Business of Cambridge Diet

The contact information for the diet is as follows:

Phone Number: (44)(0) 1536 403344

Address:Stafford House, 10 Brakey Road

                   Corby, Northants, NN17 5LU

Email: admind@cambridgeweightplan.co.uk

The official website lists how to become a paid consultant for the company. Nowhere in the job skills is there any notice for people to have a background in health and nutrition. The company only asks for people with a background in sales who are organized and can plan ahead.

This means that it’s likely the people who are meant to give support have no skills in helping people with weight loss. The link cited here has the top 10 ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Cambridge Diet

Here are some direct quotes from user reviews:

“not the best diet health wise… nails went brittle thin, hair began to thin rapidly”

“never felt full, I always felt hungry”

“Having a bad time with motivation”

“the first few days are the hardest”

Though there were some weight loss results for people, there were also issues due to a lack of calories. Many felt weakened, less energetic, and much more fatigued than usual.

Some also had symptoms that are clear signs of nutrient deficiencies such as brittle and weak nails, thin hair, and increased stress. This was often the case for people who attempted this diet. 

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be seeninthe link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Cambridge DietWork?

The Cambridge Diet is similar to other diet plans which offer pre-packaged foods. There’s also counseling offered, but it’s clear that the support is from people who are more business people rather than nutrition experts. Many of the foods offered have processed ingredients, though they are low in calories. Reviews have been mixed with some experiencing health issues and hunger. Though a low calorie plan like this can work, any reduction in calories can result in weight loss. There’s nothing special added to the prepackaged foods which isn’t found in a standard processed meal.

Our experts have performed many reviews and have discovered that the most effective diet is the 18Shake Diet. It provides a combination of a meal replacement and a diet pill. They both provide only natural ingredients, no stimulants, and no unwanted artificial or additives. Its effects include appetite suppression, increased fat burning, and more. When used together it enhances weight loss at a faster rate. Customers have also left positive testimonials on the official website.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back guarantee. This allows for people to try this product risk free, and with no questions asked. More information about the specifics of the 18Shake Diet is available here.

How Does Cambridge Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Cambridge Diet
  • 35 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 59, 1167 total comments)

laura winton

hi i looking to start this diet and need more info on where to start,i wanna aim to loose 2stone.laurax

posted Jan 3rd, 2010 5:33 pm


dan

i was 16.8 stone did it around 9 month's ago lost 18 pounds in first week went down to 13.4 in 9 weeks came off it after 9 month i was 14.4 back on it,now after 1 week im around 13.2 stone .all i can say is it s great i go gym lift very heavy .my advice is its the best diet i been on and go for it .the 1's who find it hard try not to think to much about it just lookforward to ya next shake :P i have breakfast cappuccino dinner porridge and before work cappuccino again i love em find what u like and enjoy and watch the weight fall off good luck to u all .allso do some kind off belly Exercise sit up crunch etc gl all.my goal is just under 12 stone thx for reading

posted Dec 23rd, 2009 2:21 am


userfile
Kerrie James

-

I am day 5 and finding it really hard! I am so hungry.. I dont have any side affects and have followed it very strictly but havent lost a single 1 lb.

posted Dec 17th, 2009 12:08 pm


kerrie

I am on day 4 of my cd and I am really finding it hard!! I dont have any headaches or anything and I have followed it to the T but I am so hungry!! and I havent lost a single 1lb yet!

posted Dec 17th, 2009 11:59 am



biggysmall

+

hey guys and girls..

i lost 11.5st on lighter than life, i then bulked up 3 st of lean muscle working out to the max and eating high protien meals all day long... worked really well......

i then went travelling and sadly thats where things went wrong,.... i ate and drank and slept like normal

fortunately ive only put on 3 stone of crap on top of what i was now its time to destroy it and get back to my former glory......

the cambridge diet and lighter than life are exactly the same and are made in the same factory......

now for something u didnt know, some of the slimming soups i found in sainsburys by the pharmacy section contain exactly the same amount of nutritional callories... a few things are up or down by a very minute margin but pretty much the same!

i find these companys are out to make thier money of course but CD is cheaper than lighter than life......

however i dont have the money to go back on it so i have found it else where.....

a protien whey will do exactly the same and cost a fraction of the cost..... im using gold standard whey protien, has 100 callories per serving 24 grams of protien andabout 5grams or carbs no sugar or crap like most protiens contain.......

this stuff will last me atleast 3-4 weeks for the price of only £38.00

potentially saving u £80-£120 a month.....

ive been on it now practically a week......
im on morning of day 7 and have lost 13lbs.......

i also drink green tea and drink pepsi max as it has no carbs, sugar, or calories really......


works for me just letting u guys know!

u should loose about a stone more than u want to because of there balancing of liquids in ur body

but U MUST READJUST UR EATING HABBITS FOR LIFE WHEN U HAVE LOST UR WEIGHT, AND U MUST GET HELP FOR ANY EMOTIONAL ISSUES U HAD IN THE FIRST PLACE THAT MAY HAVE CAUSED U TO COMFORT EAT, U HAVE TO EXTRACT UR EMOTIONS FROM EATING HABBITS....


IF U DO NOT DO THIS U WILL END UP PUTTING ALL UR WEIGHT BACK ON

U HAVE TO CHANGE FOR LIFE,......

ALSO BEWARE OF LOOSE SKIN, THERES ONLY SO MUCH THAT WILL GO BACK TO NORMAL..... LOOSING SO MUCH WEIGHT SO QUICK ALOT OF PEOPLE WILL HAVE ISUES NO MATTER WHAT UR COUNCILLERS TELL U... THEY LIE...........

IF U NEED ANY HELP OR ADVICE ON THIS DIET FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME VIA FACEBOOK......

posted Dec 16th, 2009 8:19 am


Tina

Hey Gordon,
Thanks for the reply...I wont...infact I have stopped...Have already lost 4kgs in 2 weeks....not sure if my counsellors scale wasnt working or was it really my 4 kg weight loss...hope I have lost that much of weight.....thanks anyways...
Tina.

posted Dec 15th, 2009 12:29 am


Gordon

Hi Tina,

I am a Cambridge Counsellor and Sole Source is designed to be strictly followed 100% for teh best results. Chocolate is full of calories, sugar (and therefore carbohydrate!). It will likely prevent you going into ketosis, or if you do you will take yourself out each time you have chocolate. Your counsellor should have explained the importance of following the diet strictly - I'd recommend you contact them to discuss this.

posted Dec 13th, 2009 8:45 am


TINA

Hey Everyone...I am new to this diet and on day 4 of SS....Have had a piece of chocolate everyday from the time the diet started.Will that effect my weight loss...Please advise...I really need to know...Thanks
Tina

posted Dec 8th, 2009 5:03 am


Kim

Hi Everyone, I'm on five day with the CD and already lost 2 kilos, very happy. Looking fw to lose 13 kilos more. It's lil hard in the beginning, but after the 4th day it will go easier. Good Luck!

posted Dec 6th, 2009 9:58 am


Diva73

Hi evryone. I am on day 27 of the CD and it is the best diet that I have done. I have lost 23lbs so far and at my weigh in on Monday I intend to hit the two stone mark. Side effects, I have not experienced any I am still the beautiful person I was when I started just smaller. If you have the determination to be strict with yourself and believe that you can be smaller and healthier then this is the diet for you. As for maintenance, I am looking forward to the challenge. I have waited too long for this and do not intend to stop now. By the way I know someone who has followed the lighter life plan (similar diet) and has kept the weight off for a number of years now. I'll be looking a lot hotter in summer and will be able to do a lot of things that I am not able to do now. Good luck to all those who start the journey. x

posted Nov 28th, 2009 12:24 pm


minibuses11


I started cambridge diet sept 2008 lost 6 stone3lb in 3 1/2 months came off it in jan 2009 which was great and i was happyish at the weight, but it was due to the effects on me i came of it, my personality totally changed for the worse, i became depressed, aggressive and plain unbearable to live with, also my hair fell out in handfuls i used to have fine but very thick hair and lots of it, even now it is fine and thin, you also get constipated. the main problem is since i came off it i have eaten nothing but a sandwich at lunch and salad with low fat meat or fish in the evening ( even sunday lunch ) and fruit / yoghurt for a snack and did a lot more exercise than before. i have put back on nearly half the weight i lost making me more unhappy than i was before i even went on the diet. after talking to a dietician and doctor the problems with these diets is that your metabolic rate drops exceedingly low when you are on 500 cals so when you start eating food you metabolic rate stays low, making you put on weight you will also put on about a stone and a half in fluid, as fluid builds back up around your organs to its normal level. I talked to my counsellor she basically blamed me for everything and implied that the diet was the best thing since sliced bread.
After xmas i am starting diet chef it is still low calorie 1200 cals but it is actual food and there are loads of choices so it shouldn't mess with my head .
I wish you all the best luck and hope you don't go through what i did. i read lots of negative reviews and chose to ignore them. i am telling you as it is.

posted Nov 25th, 2009 4:01 pm


linzyloo

+

Im new to this website and came across all these comments posted! I think Im goin to find this website really helpful on my journey :-) Ive Been on the CD Diet Since Monday and i know a souldnt weigh myself but ive lost 8lbs already and im gettin weighed properly by my counseller on sunday... I Cant wait for the result! Ill be updated my profile on sunday with hopefully more lost lbs!

Good Luck to everybody!!!

P.s SS is really hard at first but its defo
worth it!

Speak soon

Take Care Love Linz xx

posted Nov 13th, 2009 9:57 am


mon

after reading comments i am inspired to try it thanks x

posted Nov 4th, 2009 12:46 pm



sweetcheeks

hi everyone! this place is great, haven't see so many people losing weight anywhere else. so far I believe in this diet:))) for me it's something. 'cause i'm always in war with my f... negative and sceptical mind.
'cause haven't started the CD just yet. my first meeting with my counsellor is on Monday. looking forward. in my ideal world I want to lose 5 stones. will see how it goes. my biggest problem after my negative mind is willpower, there are days when I just can't be bothered. gosh, I hate it so much, ha ha. but I'll try to be strong. OK, good luck to everyone. God (or devil, doesn't matter to me, he he) help us to be strong and motivated.

posted Oct 22nd, 2009 6:39 pm



Saima Haq

just started SS today. Wasn't too bad. Was wondering if i could do two shakes with high protein/ Atkins meal. Anyone try that. would love to know since this diet works on the same concept of ketosisi

posted Oct 19th, 2009 12:50 pm


Lawyer 2B slim again

Hello,
I'm the new girl.('',). Hope everyone is having agood day. Is anyone still doing the CD?

posted Oct 13th, 2009 11:21 am


Lyudmila

+

It works! I've lost 10 kg in 1.5 month and didn't put on . Just watch your portion.

posted Oct 7th, 2009 1:57 am


stacy

How much does this diet cost approximatley for a month? im thinking of starting this week, why does everyone ahve so mcuh trouble with the ianatenance, is it because weight loss is too fast?

posted Oct 2nd, 2009 7:43 am


JANICE

I wonder can you have aspirine with this diet?

posted Sep 28th, 2009 1:40 pm


Mz..Ditzy

-

This diet is s**t......Yes you have fast weight loss, but they don't tell you about the side effects, like regaining weight fast even if you have done maintance....hair loss which I did suffer and now I have kidney problems, doctor has said it was probably due to high water intake and stressing my kidneys out :( this diet caters for people who are at there wits end and want that miracle..but nothing is better than healthy eating and exercise.


PLEASE REALLY CONSIDER WHAT THIS DIET CAN DO TO YOUR BODY BEFORE GOING ON IT AS OBVIOUSLY CAMBRIDGE DIET COUNSELLORS ARE NOT GONNA GIVE YOU THE HORROR STORIES.

posted Sep 1st, 2009 10:58 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Isopure Shakes, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Cambridge Diet?