Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

35%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 315 reviews
Cambridge Diet

Cambridge Diet Review: Does it Work?

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Cambridge Diet is a weight loss program offering pre-packed meals, counseling, and low calorie meal suggestions. It’s considered a VLCD, which means it’s a very low calorie diet.

One can select between 415 to 1500 calories depending on one’s weight loss goals, gender, and tolerance. Consultants are offered not just to guide, but to recommend what calorie limit one should follow. There have been numerous diets observed by our experts, and the highest rated one has been  the 18Shake Diet. It offers a diet pill and meal replacement that aim to reduce appetite for hours, all while providing fat burning effects with its all natural ingredients. More information about the 18Shake Diet can be seen in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Cambridge DietIngredients and Side Effects

Here are some noteworthy ingredients added to their prepackaged foods:

Skimmed Milk Powder

Maltodextrin

Guar Gum

Refined Fractionated Palm Oil

Acesulfame K

Sucralose

Carrageenan

Flavourings

Dried Glucose Syrup

Silicon Dioxide

Oligofructose

 

Guar Gum:Fiber extract taken from the guar plant. It’s used as a general thickener in processed foods, as well as a laxative.  It can promote side effects that include:

         • Diarrhea, gas, and loose stools.

         • Indigestion, nausea, and stomach pains.

Acesulfame K:Artificial sweetener around 200 times sweeter than standard sugar. A study by PLOS One found that:

“Long-Term Artificial Sweetener Acesulfame Potassium Alters Neurometabolic Functions”

This study showed that in mice there was an effect on insulin and leptin levels.  The same study added:

“chronic use… could affect cognitive functions, potentially via altering neuro-metabolic functions”

It also has shown the potential for other side effects according to a review by the Oxford Journals:

“long-dated function on the adult’s sweet preference”

This study was conducted on mice that were given their mother’s breast milk or amniotic fluid in birth, and their preference for sweets changed.

Sucralose:Artificialsweetener that can be around 1,000 times much sweeter than sugar. It has been used controversially since some studies have shown it to be potentially dangerous. One such study was performed by Duke University and it revealed:

“numerous adverse effects”

“reduction in beneficial fecal microflora, increased fecal pH, and enhancedexpression levels of P-gp”

This means the body considers it a toxin, and it reduces healthy bacteria which helps support the immune system according to this clinical study.

Carrageenan:Thickener and binder extractedfrom red seaweed.The University of Iowa ran a study which showed:

“carcinogenic properties of degraded carrageenan”

“ulcerations and neoplasms in association with exposure to carrageenan”

This has shown the possibility for causing serious issues in the body.

The link provided here has the top 10 ranked diets of the year.

The types of foods offered by the Cambridge Diet are meal replacement shakes, bars, pasta, rice, soups, desserts, and other snacks. According to the official website:

“products contain the vitamins and minerals you need for balanced nutrition and healthy weight loss”

Most of what one eats will be the prepackaged foods. This can make it easier to handle a caloric loss, as the foods are specially formulated to be lower in calories. There are also 6 steps outlined one must follow, though where one begins depends on what the counselor advises. Here are the steps:

• Sole Source: 3 to 4 prepackaged foods are eaten a day. The Sole Source Plus option allows for 3 prepacked goods alongside meal of 200 calories, or 4 of the companies meals with 200 ml of skimmed milk.

• 2nd Stage: Protein rich meals are added as well as some skimmed milk and vegetables alongside up o Cambridge meals. It’s typically limited to 810 calories a day for a week long period.

• 3rd Stage: 2 of the meals, some milk, and a 1,000 calorie a day limit. This is enforced for 2 weeks.

• 4th Stage: 2 prepackaged meals, some skimmed milk, and more regular meals.

• 5th Stage: One Cambridge meal and breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner for a total of 1500 calories.

• 6th Stage: Once your heathy weight is reached, this stage helps maintain results. One prepackaged meal a day is recommended alongside continued support from a consultant.

It’s unclear whether or not the consultants have any background in diet and nutrition. It’s unlikely however that they use real certified dieticians, which can be potentially dangerous or lead to wrong advice. Our experts have analyzed many diets and have ranked the top 10 in the list here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Cambridge Diet Quality of Ingredients

Since the beginning of the program asks for a majority of foods to be selected from the company’s prepackaged foods, it’s important for the ingredients to be wholesome.

Unfortunately, they use artificial sweeteners and cheap thickeners often used to replace fiber. These kinds of additives can actually make weight loss harder, as studies have shown they may cause metabolism disorders as well as other side effects.

It’s also difficult to understand what kind of help is provided by the counselors, which remains to be seen whether or not they are actually certified to give health and nutrition advice.  The link provided here has a list of the highest rated diets.

A review on the Cambridge Diet was performed by the British Dietetic Association, and they have listed possible side effects which include:

“bad breathe, a dry mouth, tiredness, dizziness, insomnia, nausea, and constipation”

They also advise for medical support when a person is to receive less than 600 calories, which some plans offered by the company suggest only 450 calories a day. It’s unclear if the counselors offer any support for this type of reduction in calories.

The Price and Quality of Cambridge Diet

The price depends more on how often once decides to use the prepackaged meals. The official website states it will cost per week 48.30 pounds, which rounds to a weekly price of $63.46. Since this is a UK based plan, no consultations are available outside the US. In fact, on the official site there is a map where support and availability is offered, and there are no listings for the US.

The quality of meals is poor, as the additives included are often found in processed foods. It can also be expensive to have to keep using the company’s foods, as the final stage of maintenance requires one pre-packaged meal a day.

Business of Cambridge Diet

The contact information for the diet is as follows:

Phone Number: (44)(0) 1536 403344

Address:Stafford House, 10 Brakey Road

                   Corby, Northants, NN17 5LU

Email: admind@cambridgeweightplan.co.uk

The official website lists how to become a paid consultant for the company. Nowhere in the job skills is there any notice for people to have a background in health and nutrition. The company only asks for people with a background in sales who are organized and can plan ahead.

This means that it’s likely the people who are meant to give support have no skills in helping people with weight loss. The link cited here has the top 10 ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Cambridge Diet

Here are some direct quotes from user reviews:

“not the best diet health wise… nails went brittle thin, hair began to thin rapidly”

“never felt full, I always felt hungry”

“Having a bad time with motivation”

“the first few days are the hardest”

Though there were some weight loss results for people, there were also issues due to a lack of calories. Many felt weakened, less energetic, and much more fatigued than usual.

Some also had symptoms that are clear signs of nutrient deficiencies such as brittle and weak nails, thin hair, and increased stress. This was often the case for people who attempted this diet. 

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be seeninthe link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Cambridge DietWork?

The Cambridge Diet is similar to other diet plans which offer pre-packaged foods. There’s also counseling offered, but it’s clear that the support is from people who are more business people rather than nutrition experts. Many of the foods offered have processed ingredients, though they are low in calories. Reviews have been mixed with some experiencing health issues and hunger. Though a low calorie plan like this can work, any reduction in calories can result in weight loss. There’s nothing special added to the prepackaged foods which isn’t found in a standard processed meal.

Our experts have performed many reviews and have discovered that the most effective diet is the 18Shake Diet. It provides a combination of a meal replacement and a diet pill. They both provide only natural ingredients, no stimulants, and no unwanted artificial or additives. Its effects include appetite suppression, increased fat burning, and more. When used together it enhances weight loss at a faster rate. Customers have also left positive testimonials on the official website.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back guarantee. This allows for people to try this product risk free, and with no questions asked. More information about the specifics of the 18Shake Diet is available here.

How Does Cambridge Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Cambridge Diet
  • 35 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 59, 1167 total comments)

Charlene

+

Been on the CB diet since Nov 13 first weigh in lost 5.6lbs very pleased really no negatives as far as the shakes and soups I'm experimenting with flavorings as well to keep it intersting and flavorful a few times have been hungry at night did eat half a bar with a cup of tea before bed last evening was enough . I focus daily on the GOAL I want to achieve and I know this is going to help me do that

posted Nov 22nd, 2010 7:31 pm


Maggie

+

Has suited me very well. Easy to take meals to work and even with having to eat the odd meal. I have lost 18 pounds in 6 weeks and intend to lose one more stone. After I reach my goal weight, I will continue with the meal supplements as it fits in to my lifestyle so well and saves the dreaded supermarket shopping!!

posted Nov 15th, 2010 1:37 pm


Hilary

Hi everyone ! Please can someone give an guide on cost for this CD ? ?
Thnks

posted Nov 13th, 2010 7:39 pm


cindy

i want to start the diet after xmas i really need to lose at least 4 stone to be a healthy weight...all im scared of tho is hearing how people put all the weight back on and i dont want to work so hard on losing the weight then start introducing normal foor and pile it all back on,can some one please tell me more about this diet and how it works as im gettin so down about my weight :[

posted Nov 11th, 2010 11:41 pm


Becx

+

I have been on ss 3 shakes a day for 11 days got 21 pound to loose and lost 11 already 10 to go! First few days were awful but feel fine now! Obviously it's hard you have to stay focused! I am back in my pre pregnancy jeans already! I think you have got to be sensible with what you eat when you finish the diet! I have never been this successful on any diet before! Give it ago x

posted Nov 11th, 2010 9:41 pm


Muffin

+

I am on a CD now for one week. I have cheated, yes. :-) but still I am satisfied with ongoing process. I hate chicken/mushroom soup as to me it is totally oversalted. Most of the soups are... I can hardly eat it. But other than that I am doing fine and kilos go down... I will see how will it go on... and if I can manage to reach my goals. and especially I am inquisitive to see how will I get back to real life without gaining the weight back. wish me luck.

posted Nov 10th, 2010 8:45 am


Gemma

+

Hi Everyone, I have been doing the CD diet for 2 months now and lost 2 and a half stone. I have been having 4 shakes a day on the soul source and have just started reintroducing food for the last couple of days. I now have 3 shakes and one small salad (under 200cals). I am actually finding it harder now I have introduced food as when I was just using shakes I didn't have to think about preparing food etc. Please tell me this gets easier :)

I still have 6 weeks left on the diet so I am hoping to lose a lot more!

posted Nov 4th, 2010 7:42 am


welshy

hi i started today all going ok so far just hope it works for me x

posted Oct 19th, 2010 1:14 pm


ekta

hi,
i have started the diet today finding it very hard but i have to do it . i have a question if i am on ss programe how much i can reduce in a week ??. thanx all the best to all

posted Oct 14th, 2010 3:22 am



istainton

+

i have been on the cd for just over 2 months and have lost 2 stone only a stone to go :) i found it hard to start with but lost 7lbs in my first week, i am now on 3 shakes and a meal as im 5ft 9 i had to start with 4 shakes,
i would def say if you decide to do it then really stick to it as i have cheated a couple of times and it costs a lot really so im determand to finish with a positive attitude and get through it as dont have long left really, in the eve try to keep yourself busy ither on pc or a wii or just a hobbie you have, i am so pleased i started this as have lost 2 dress sizes and cant wait to finish now and be happy with what iv managed :)

posted Oct 13th, 2010 5:20 pm


Saynowt8

I started the diet on Saturday and gave in by Saturday night I felt really faint and had a really bad head. Started again today and was really good until I got home.....got some bad news again reached for the fridge....god I hate myself.

But after reading all your comment I am determined to try again tomorrow so watch this space

Louise

posted Oct 11th, 2010 2:23 pm


sarah

I dono, loosing that much weight without a doctor or a dietitian, my mom did this and lost lots of muscle, regained the weight after. Because of that her GP has her on PronoKal instead, you don't regain the weight or lose body muscle

posted Sep 17th, 2010 8:08 pm


Desperatehousewife32

+

Hi,

I don't know if anyone is interested but I've just embarked on the cambridge diet and I'm keeping an online diary/blog for anyone thinking of doing it. A friend of mine did it and lost two stone in under two months.

posted Sep 13th, 2010 3:06 pm


kcsl

Don't seem to be many men on here; hope I'm not the only one.

I've always been overweight and started out at 22 1/2 stone. My partner and I decided on doing the CD but because my BMI was over 40, I needed a doctors approval. To sort of get in training, I decided to replace one or two meals a day with a slim fast untill we could start on the CD together.

My partner and I started the CD one week ago to the day and have been having just the 4 shakes and so far, so good.

Withinin a couple of days, my partner said she was losing a lot of fluid from around her ankles and legs and I've noticed that my finges seem to be less chuby.

I've been hopping on the scales now and again and seem to have lost almost a stone.

No real hunger pains unless I smell french fries and then I can hear my stomach moaning, and I do miss bread.

The big problem for me has been the amount of fluid you have to drink. I don't drink much as it is and this has been a real killer for me. However, CD have some poweder flavouring that you can pop into water and it just gives a hint of taste. Thats made it better for me. Now, as soon as I feel hungry I have a couple of gulps from my water bottle and that seems to keep me going to my next feeding time.

The worst time of the day is the evening when I would normally settle down to watch TV. Its then that I miss not eating a snack and so I try to keep busy with my hobbies to take my mind off food - it seems to be working.

Over all, nowhere near as bad as I thought it would be and I'll hopefully stick with it.

posted Sep 1st, 2010 5:11 am


hayley

+

I am on day 5 of cd and this is the worst day of all. i was hopin it would feel easier. I am feeling very hungry and have stuck 2 the 3 shakes a day with just water so cant understand why? I thought by now i wud b passed the hunger stage. I have lost 7lbs so far so that helps my state of mind. I really am findin it hard not 2 giv in. Please please stop me!!! lol

posted Aug 28th, 2010 7:04 pm


stephanie

+

This is my 4th week and i have lost nearly 2 stone. it was really hard at first but i was determainded to stick to it. i have another stone to lose so i will probably be on it another 3 weeks. its the best diet i have ever been on. i get most hungry at night but i go out walking as it helps me to stay out of the cupboards!!! good luck everyone

posted Aug 19th, 2010 2:28 pm


sonia

how much weight could I lose in 3 weeks

posted Aug 8th, 2010 12:58 pm


sonia

Hi im starting the CD on wednesday and am very excited. I want to loose about two stone. I just wanted to ask can you eat any vegatables on this diet?

posted Aug 8th, 2010 12:56 pm


Elisabeth M Gordon

EXCELLENT. It very defintely works. I only like the Vanilla Shake. I mix it with approx 20 mls of really cold water (from the fridge)as I prefer a cold & milder taste PLUS 3 teasp Psyllium Husks for fibre and which gives it a slightly thicker texture PLUS 2 teasps of Spiulina. I then beat it well and drink immediately. Deeelicious. The soups? I like the veg and Oriental one. I mix with 10mls of very hot water PLUS lots of parsley and a few green veg. I then beat it as before...with an electric blender. The bars...the cranberry one is my favoutite. I cut it up into small pieces and nibble it with a cup of green tea. Persevere. It's worth it.

posted Jun 30th, 2010 9:03 am


Annette MacLean

+

First weigh in lost 11 lbs I am delighted !

posted Jun 9th, 2010 4:45 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Isopure Shakes, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Cambridge Diet?