Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

93%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 290 reviews

Cambridge Diet

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com


Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 58, 1148 total comments)

Annette MacLean

First weigh in lost 11 lbs I am delighted !

posted Jun 9th, 2010 4:45 pm


Annette MacLean

day four feeling so much better and pleased I have stuck to it !Glad Saturday is by tho :)

posted Jun 6th, 2010 6:26 am


Annette MacLean

Hi ,I have am on day two of this diet ,struggling a bit ,headachey but determined to do my best .

posted Jun 4th, 2010 10:53 am


hattie

Hello,

Marisa, thanks for feedback. Can I ask you how long did it take you to loose 85lbs? Did you exercise during the diet to tone up or are did you do it on higher plans? How are you finding maintaining your weight loss.
Thanks well done on your fab loss x

posted May 31st, 2010 5:34 am


Gracie

I am 27, a mom of 3 and very interested in the diet but i am breastfeeding a 6month old. I am willing to stop nursing because i am currently 18st and my BMI is well over 42. I need to lose almost half my weight because the older you get the harder it is to lose the weight and i need a bit of advice.

posted May 22nd, 2010 11:16 am


Marisa

Hello everyone, I recently lost 85 pounds on this diet, and wanted to answer some of your questions. There is no risk to your heart, because there is enough protien in the shakes to keep your heart (a muscle) strong. I personally used 5 of the FFL shakes per day. I had one every three hours, with water or diet coke inbetween. 3 or 4 per day was not enough for me. I did not put anything in my mouth that I had to chew, as that can increase your appetite, just the 5 shakes and nothing else. The first three days are hell, then it starts to get easier on day 4. By two weeks, as long as you haven't cheated at all, you will feel great, and not be hungry. BUT, don't cheat, if you do, you have to start over again. You will feel cravings with 5 shakes, but not true hunger. Good luck, you can do it!

posted May 15th, 2010 1:55 am


yuli

this is my second day i feel a little weak and headache a bit but im more strong then i thought i would be.


I thought i saw my face less blown up in one day.

could be my mind but it feels good

good luck were in this together
self management . taking charge

thanks for the comments very inspirational

posted May 13th, 2010 6:32 am


Marie

I started C.D 2 weeks ago and have just been weighted for the 2nd time, I have lost 15lb in 2 weeks, which is the most I have ever lost on any doet in such a short space of time, I only have another couple of stone to lose so I am delighted with how quickly this can be achieved. I have even cheated a little, I have drank coke zero, eaten sugar free gum and also all types of meat, pork, lamb etc. I really havent struggled and feel full from the shakes. I would say to anyone starting this or thinking of starting the first 3 / 4 days are the hardest when you try to adjust to no snacking. I have found having a bar rather than a shake for lunch breaks up the day and gives me something to look forward to eating. But I recomend the diet 100%, it really is quick weight loss

posted Apr 22nd, 2010 5:58 am


jenniem123

Hi im new to this, so bare with me, i started sole source yesterday, i feel hungry but not starving, i hope it stays like this as i could live with that for a while lol, Just a question.....What damage does this diet have on the heart? x :)

posted Apr 21st, 2010 2:46 am


Jules

This is my first day on ss and finding it hard so far. Heard that it does get better after day 4 tho.Does it make any difference to weight loss if you have the odd diet coke/ coke zero, any one tried this with positive results ???

posted Apr 19th, 2010 11:50 am


poppy

Hi, i am 12 stone and starting cd on sunday, how much weight can be expected to lose in 6 weeks doing sole source? x

posted Apr 15th, 2010 1:55 pm


abi cutie 91

Just because I have been to couselling sessions before and I hated them! but no where seems to sell it online! please help! xxx

posted Apr 10th, 2010 12:47 pm


abi cutie 91

Hey, I need to lose about 2 stone...where can I get CD and is it just 3 shakes a day, one for breakfast, lunch and dinner.along with light exercise?...can you get it online?..and does it work?! Advie would be great! thank youu xxx

posted Apr 10th, 2010 12:25 pm


donna

hi everyone, im am starting ss on mon as i have 8 wks til i go on holiday and 2 stone to lose! i did this diet last year april-july and lost 3 1/2 stone and managed to maintain it till xmas but have since eaten like a pig and put nearly 2 stone on- gutted!! am determined now to get into it again and start to feel great again. best diet ive ever done- will keep you posted. well done everyone and keep up the good work!!

posted Apr 9th, 2010 9:33 am


perminder kaur

I THINK THIS IS THE BEST DIET I HAVE BEEN ON,AS I HAVE STARTED TO LOSE THE WEIGHT.AND I FEEL SLIM AGAIN.

posted Apr 8th, 2010 5:16 pm


hayley

i've been on cambridge for 5 days now and the first 2 days were awful! mind tricks, feeling sick, dizzy, weakness, sweats...ec.t, but now i have past that iam doing fine, i have now got over the temptation of eating food around me. At the start of this i had 3 stone to lose, in 5 days iam already 8lb lighter! Good Luck everyone, if you ever feel like throwing in the towel...remember we are all going through the same and will get through it together. :-)

posted Mar 19th, 2010 1:28 pm


suzi

hello

I have 4 stone to loose i am starting on Tue i am so nervous any advice people x

posted Mar 11th, 2010 9:45 am


sarah

Hi all i start cambridge diet on monday and have 41/2 stone to loose. Think giving up booze guna be hard as i like my wine!! but i like being slimmer more! and i feel soooo fed up being this big.I think hearing other people going through same things and feelings is really inspirational. Good luck to everyone and lets all get focused!

posted Mar 3rd, 2010 11:21 am


Janey

I am starting CD tomoz, read lotsa reviews on here and now quite nervous!!! Hope I can manage it as need to lose about 4 stone. Have a hol at end of May and wud like to have lost about 2 - 3 by then.

posted Mar 3rd, 2010 6:32 am


pinky

Not for me I'm afraid Donna. I was waiting for day 4 to be a magical feeling of getting to feel better, but it was not to be. Was talking to someone on this diet last week and she obviously wasnt aware of her but her breath smelt horrible. Obviously well ketosed!. Good luck anyway.

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 3:48 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account