Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

35%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 315 reviews
Cambridge Diet

Cambridge Diet Review: Does it Work?

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Cambridge Diet is a weight loss program offering pre-packed meals, counseling, and low calorie meal suggestions. It’s considered a VLCD, which means it’s a very low calorie diet.

One can select between 415 to 1500 calories depending on one’s weight loss goals, gender, and tolerance. Consultants are offered not just to guide, but to recommend what calorie limit one should follow. There have been numerous diets observed by our experts, and the highest rated one has been  the 18Shake Diet. It offers a diet pill and meal replacement that aim to reduce appetite for hours, all while providing fat burning effects with its all natural ingredients. More information about the 18Shake Diet can be seen in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Cambridge DietIngredients and Side Effects

Here are some noteworthy ingredients added to their prepackaged foods:

Skimmed Milk Powder

Maltodextrin

Guar Gum

Refined Fractionated Palm Oil

Acesulfame K

Sucralose

Carrageenan

Flavourings

Dried Glucose Syrup

Silicon Dioxide

Oligofructose

 

Guar Gum:Fiber extract taken from the guar plant. It’s used as a general thickener in processed foods, as well as a laxative.  It can promote side effects that include:

         • Diarrhea, gas, and loose stools.

         • Indigestion, nausea, and stomach pains.

Acesulfame K:Artificial sweetener around 200 times sweeter than standard sugar. A study by PLOS One found that:

“Long-Term Artificial Sweetener Acesulfame Potassium Alters Neurometabolic Functions”

This study showed that in mice there was an effect on insulin and leptin levels.  The same study added:

“chronic use… could affect cognitive functions, potentially via altering neuro-metabolic functions”

It also has shown the potential for other side effects according to a review by the Oxford Journals:

“long-dated function on the adult’s sweet preference”

This study was conducted on mice that were given their mother’s breast milk or amniotic fluid in birth, and their preference for sweets changed.

Sucralose:Artificialsweetener that can be around 1,000 times much sweeter than sugar. It has been used controversially since some studies have shown it to be potentially dangerous. One such study was performed by Duke University and it revealed:

“numerous adverse effects”

“reduction in beneficial fecal microflora, increased fecal pH, and enhancedexpression levels of P-gp”

This means the body considers it a toxin, and it reduces healthy bacteria which helps support the immune system according to this clinical study.

Carrageenan:Thickener and binder extractedfrom red seaweed.The University of Iowa ran a study which showed:

“carcinogenic properties of degraded carrageenan”

“ulcerations and neoplasms in association with exposure to carrageenan”

This has shown the possibility for causing serious issues in the body.

The link provided here has the top 10 ranked diets of the year.

The types of foods offered by the Cambridge Diet are meal replacement shakes, bars, pasta, rice, soups, desserts, and other snacks. According to the official website:

“products contain the vitamins and minerals you need for balanced nutrition and healthy weight loss”

Most of what one eats will be the prepackaged foods. This can make it easier to handle a caloric loss, as the foods are specially formulated to be lower in calories. There are also 6 steps outlined one must follow, though where one begins depends on what the counselor advises. Here are the steps:

• Sole Source: 3 to 4 prepackaged foods are eaten a day. The Sole Source Plus option allows for 3 prepacked goods alongside meal of 200 calories, or 4 of the companies meals with 200 ml of skimmed milk.

• 2nd Stage: Protein rich meals are added as well as some skimmed milk and vegetables alongside up o Cambridge meals. It’s typically limited to 810 calories a day for a week long period.

• 3rd Stage: 2 of the meals, some milk, and a 1,000 calorie a day limit. This is enforced for 2 weeks.

• 4th Stage: 2 prepackaged meals, some skimmed milk, and more regular meals.

• 5th Stage: One Cambridge meal and breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner for a total of 1500 calories.

• 6th Stage: Once your heathy weight is reached, this stage helps maintain results. One prepackaged meal a day is recommended alongside continued support from a consultant.

It’s unclear whether or not the consultants have any background in diet and nutrition. It’s unlikely however that they use real certified dieticians, which can be potentially dangerous or lead to wrong advice. Our experts have analyzed many diets and have ranked the top 10 in the list here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Cambridge Diet Quality of Ingredients

Since the beginning of the program asks for a majority of foods to be selected from the company’s prepackaged foods, it’s important for the ingredients to be wholesome.

Unfortunately, they use artificial sweeteners and cheap thickeners often used to replace fiber. These kinds of additives can actually make weight loss harder, as studies have shown they may cause metabolism disorders as well as other side effects.

It’s also difficult to understand what kind of help is provided by the counselors, which remains to be seen whether or not they are actually certified to give health and nutrition advice.  The link provided here has a list of the highest rated diets.

A review on the Cambridge Diet was performed by the British Dietetic Association, and they have listed possible side effects which include:

“bad breathe, a dry mouth, tiredness, dizziness, insomnia, nausea, and constipation”

They also advise for medical support when a person is to receive less than 600 calories, which some plans offered by the company suggest only 450 calories a day. It’s unclear if the counselors offer any support for this type of reduction in calories.

The Price and Quality of Cambridge Diet

The price depends more on how often once decides to use the prepackaged meals. The official website states it will cost per week 48.30 pounds, which rounds to a weekly price of $63.46. Since this is a UK based plan, no consultations are available outside the US. In fact, on the official site there is a map where support and availability is offered, and there are no listings for the US.

The quality of meals is poor, as the additives included are often found in processed foods. It can also be expensive to have to keep using the company’s foods, as the final stage of maintenance requires one pre-packaged meal a day.

Business of Cambridge Diet

The contact information for the diet is as follows:

Phone Number: (44)(0) 1536 403344

Address:Stafford House, 10 Brakey Road

                   Corby, Northants, NN17 5LU

Email: admind@cambridgeweightplan.co.uk

The official website lists how to become a paid consultant for the company. Nowhere in the job skills is there any notice for people to have a background in health and nutrition. The company only asks for people with a background in sales who are organized and can plan ahead.

This means that it’s likely the people who are meant to give support have no skills in helping people with weight loss. The link cited here has the top 10 ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Cambridge Diet

Here are some direct quotes from user reviews:

“not the best diet health wise… nails went brittle thin, hair began to thin rapidly”

“never felt full, I always felt hungry”

“Having a bad time with motivation”

“the first few days are the hardest”

Though there were some weight loss results for people, there were also issues due to a lack of calories. Many felt weakened, less energetic, and much more fatigued than usual.

Some also had symptoms that are clear signs of nutrient deficiencies such as brittle and weak nails, thin hair, and increased stress. This was often the case for people who attempted this diet. 

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be seeninthe link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Cambridge DietWork?

The Cambridge Diet is similar to other diet plans which offer pre-packaged foods. There’s also counseling offered, but it’s clear that the support is from people who are more business people rather than nutrition experts. Many of the foods offered have processed ingredients, though they are low in calories. Reviews have been mixed with some experiencing health issues and hunger. Though a low calorie plan like this can work, any reduction in calories can result in weight loss. There’s nothing special added to the prepackaged foods which isn’t found in a standard processed meal.

Our experts have performed many reviews and have discovered that the most effective diet is the 18Shake Diet. It provides a combination of a meal replacement and a diet pill. They both provide only natural ingredients, no stimulants, and no unwanted artificial or additives. Its effects include appetite suppression, increased fat burning, and more. When used together it enhances weight loss at a faster rate. Customers have also left positive testimonials on the official website.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back guarantee. This allows for people to try this product risk free, and with no questions asked. More information about the specifics of the 18Shake Diet is available here.

How Does Cambridge Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Cambridge Diet
  • 35 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 59, 1167 total comments)

Kate

Btw after how many days will my body reach ketosis

posted May 22nd, 2011 11:25 am


Kate

+

Hi alll... Iv been trying my best to be on CD but am not able to. Had all the shakes from monday- friday n then finally hogged on food on saturday n sunday(today). Promised myself to keep going but food just cant get off my mind. Pls help need some mental support and push.

posted May 22nd, 2011 11:23 am


EarthxAngelx

Hiya
I am about to start the CD and would love a "buddy" to chat with and keep each other motivate ... I am 16 stone 6 , size 18/20 and 5ft 8 tall. My goal is to reach 12 stone and hopefully a size 14.... Anyone care to join me in a ride of a life time?lol. I look forward to hearing from you xx

posted May 16th, 2011 9:47 am


Shelly

+

I started the CD 7 days ago. I struggled with hunger pains the first 2 days but after that I am fine. I have 3 shakes a day and a normal meal. In between I eat cucumbers and maybe some yogi 0% if I haven't had milk. I feel soooo much better and wake up in the morning without that tired feeling and I have certainly got rid of the excess bloating. tomorrow is weigh day so I am looking forward to that to see how much ive lost. I also have hypothyroid so I don't expect very speedy results. I will try to stick it out as long as I can.

posted May 15th, 2011 6:29 am


krissyb

is cambridge diet safe? im also a smoker

posted Apr 30th, 2011 9:56 am


roxanne

+

oooo day 1 and i feel like im starving...so made the porridge for tea and its disgusting i need to loose 4 stone and i know i will but i need to focus cause all i think about is food!!!lol help???

posted Apr 19th, 2011 12:26 pm


Marian

I have just started the diet yesterday and i find it ok so far? i have tried to stop cravings and my husband is all over my kitchen cooking nice meals which was quite tempting...lol but i have stood by the diet so far. Today is my day two and i am finding it ok. although have started having the headaches but i am trying to control it. i wore a shirt today that i havent tried on in two and it fits ok, this is motivating me to stick to the diet, i also realise that anytime i feel hungry i just drink a glass of water which helps alot. anyone starting the diet that needs a buddy am avaliable.

posted Apr 17th, 2011 12:30 am


Shareem

+

I have been on the ss plan for 4 days, finding it great. Not been hungry at all just really craving some solid food!

I cheated by weighing myself tonight but Iv lost 16lbs in 4 days :)

I'm 16 stones and my goal weight is 10 stone, if I carry on losing like I am I'll get there in no time :)

I honestly love the plan, think it's alot easier to follow and stick to than healthy eating diets like weight watcher etc as food is just not an option so you don't get tempted to cheat with that slice of chocolate cake or fly chip. With Cambridge you know if you decide to cheat all your body will come out of ketosis and that 4 days of that struggle is totally ruined.

My only problem is for two days I've only had time/remembered to have one shake which I know is really bad for me but as of tomorrow I am going to set my alarm on my phone as a reminder to take my shake!

posted Apr 10th, 2011 5:34 pm


kay

This is an excellent diet. i lost 7 stone in about 5months i had the odd day off! i was 18 stoneandwent to 11 stone. as long as you dont go back to your old eating habits u willbe fine. but you have to be really wanting to lose the weight or you will not want to be drinking shakes everyday. best thingi ever did + worth every penny. good luck to you all.

posted Apr 4th, 2011 11:48 am


Laurie

+

Anyone looking for an online CD buddy?

posted Apr 3rd, 2011 2:12 am


Plankwing

+

I lost 45 lb on Cambridge in five months late '82 to spring '83. It did help me change my eating habits and I kept the weight off for two years. I was badly injured in an accident and spent the next five months on my back, gained 20 lb. I am now 90 lb overweight (my wife is a great cook but it's not her fault I eat too much ...) and have decided it is time to get back to correct weight. After reviewing many possible diet plans, I'm commencing Cambridge again because I know it works.

posted Mar 17th, 2011 9:14 pm


Shin007

Starting tomorrow could do wiv sum support, or a diet partner ?

posted Mar 11th, 2011 11:44 am


Mich

+

I have been on the Cambridge Diet for 7 days today. It has been really challenging. Every movie/show on telly seems to have people with delicious food! The whole FOOD issue has been magnified and I feel starving each day. BUT... I have stuck to the diet like gum to a shoe!
Strangely, besides feeling better in a Body which has definitely lost AT THE LEAST 2kg /4.4 pounds [only weighing in tonight with counsellor] I have experienced other benefits.
I am sleeping better and the daily headaches I experienced seem a thing of the past ?? no more anti-inflammatories or pain-killers are going down the Hatch. Bloating of the stomach also has disappeared.
So ?? despite having to negotiate hourly, sometimes ??minute-ly?? with my Brain to ??Hang in there, that I will give It more food soon?? [yes I??m conning my Brain] ?? I am heading off tonight to purchase a second week of FOOD ?
Good conning everyone :) Stick to it - heath is paramount!!
.... and THANK YOU Cambridge!!

posted Feb 28th, 2011 6:09 am


Chrys

hi i have just started the CD diet today i am 11stones at the moment, so i really hope its workes for me, i take only 3 shakes a day, and when i get hungry i will eat cucumbers and carrots.
i want to loose 44 lbs. wish me luck :)

posted Feb 24th, 2011 2:58 am


sabina

hiya i keep starting the cd diet but keep getting really hungary and stop, i have started it agian and have the odd spoons of food through out the day plus the cd milkshakes through out the day, will it still work for me, please could i get advice...thanks

posted Jan 25th, 2011 11:34 pm


Shin007

Hey ppl been reading everyones comments about cd I started wensdy have been good and not cheated have about 11 weeks to go b4 I go on holiday anyone else newly started wants to share storys would e nice, I've got just about 3 st to loose

posted Jan 21st, 2011 6:20 pm


sabina

hiya i have just started the CD diet today i am 11stones and 11pounds at the moment, so i really hope its workes for me, found the mushroom soup horrible, but shakes are okay, going back on wednesday i will keep everyone updated on my weigh in....wish me luck

posted Jan 5th, 2011 6:53 pm


Aussie G

+

I read the 'original' book for the Protein Diet. The best advise was this:
Regard the 'shake' as a medication. Take it at your regular time, as a "medication" and "No solid thing will pass my lips".
Yes the first few days are the worst, just hang in there.
Tell the Head Waiter or Bar man you are on a Special Diet and could they bring you a glass of water. Worked great for me.
Unfortunately I have not yet vanquished my phsychological comfort eating.
Good Luck.

posted Dec 23rd, 2010 12:19 am


Susan

-

WHY are the CD shakes and soups SO loaded with SODIUM, it's not necessary it ruins the taste! From a nurse's view pt. that much sodium is NOT heart smart or good for those with High BP...

posted Dec 17th, 2010 4:37 pm


tracy

+

I have been on the Cambridge for 9 weeks now and have lost 39.5lb so far. I have tried every diet under the sun and this is the best diet I have come across it isn't as hard as I thought it'd be the only down side is the social side of things. But I figured that I was more unhappy with my weight and could manage to not take part in most social events until I felt happy in myself. I have cheated here and there had the odd naughty weekend but then regretted it when I was in my 1st 3 days again cos they are the worst. If I have had anything to eat I have tried to stick to protein and if I have had a drink I have stuck to vodka and diet coke as there aren't many carbs in that. I plan on sticking to it now on the days that I haven't got something social on over Christmas and then getting back on it strict in Jan. I found not having a goal worked for me and I am always pleasantly surprised on weighing day which spurred me on to carry on, just take each day as it comes :-)

posted Dec 15th, 2010 2:14 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Isopure Shakes, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Cambridge Diet?