Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 315 reviews
Cambridge Diet

Cambridge Diet Review: Does it Work?

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Cambridge Diet is a weight loss program offering pre-packed meals, counseling, and low calorie meal suggestions. It’s considered a VLCD, which means it’s a very low calorie diet.

One can select between 415 to 1500 calories depending on one’s weight loss goals, gender, and tolerance. Consultants are offered not just to guide, but to recommend what calorie limit one should follow. There have been numerous diets observed by our experts, and the highest rated one has been  the 18Shake Diet. It offers a diet pill and meal replacement that aim to reduce appetite for hours, all while providing fat burning effects with its all natural ingredients. More information about the 18Shake Diet can be seen in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Cambridge DietIngredients and Side Effects

Here are some noteworthy ingredients added to their prepackaged foods:

Skimmed Milk Powder


Guar Gum

Refined Fractionated Palm Oil

Acesulfame K




Dried Glucose Syrup

Silicon Dioxide



Guar Gum:Fiber extract taken from the guar plant. It’s used as a general thickener in processed foods, as well as a laxative.  It can promote side effects that include:

         • Diarrhea, gas, and loose stools.

         • Indigestion, nausea, and stomach pains.

Acesulfame K:Artificial sweetener around 200 times sweeter than standard sugar. A study by PLOS One found that:

“Long-Term Artificial Sweetener Acesulfame Potassium Alters Neurometabolic Functions”

This study showed that in mice there was an effect on insulin and leptin levels.  The same study added:

“chronic use… could affect cognitive functions, potentially via altering neuro-metabolic functions”

It also has shown the potential for other side effects according to a review by the Oxford Journals:

“long-dated function on the adult’s sweet preference”

This study was conducted on mice that were given their mother’s breast milk or amniotic fluid in birth, and their preference for sweets changed.

Sucralose:Artificialsweetener that can be around 1,000 times much sweeter than sugar. It has been used controversially since some studies have shown it to be potentially dangerous. One such study was performed by Duke University and it revealed:

“numerous adverse effects”

“reduction in beneficial fecal microflora, increased fecal pH, and enhancedexpression levels of P-gp”

This means the body considers it a toxin, and it reduces healthy bacteria which helps support the immune system according to this clinical study.

Carrageenan:Thickener and binder extractedfrom red seaweed.The University of Iowa ran a study which showed:

“carcinogenic properties of degraded carrageenan”

“ulcerations and neoplasms in association with exposure to carrageenan”

This has shown the possibility for causing serious issues in the body.

The link provided here has the top 10 ranked diets of the year.

The types of foods offered by the Cambridge Diet are meal replacement shakes, bars, pasta, rice, soups, desserts, and other snacks. According to the official website:

“products contain the vitamins and minerals you need for balanced nutrition and healthy weight loss”

Most of what one eats will be the prepackaged foods. This can make it easier to handle a caloric loss, as the foods are specially formulated to be lower in calories. There are also 6 steps outlined one must follow, though where one begins depends on what the counselor advises. Here are the steps:

• Sole Source: 3 to 4 prepackaged foods are eaten a day. The Sole Source Plus option allows for 3 prepacked goods alongside meal of 200 calories, or 4 of the companies meals with 200 ml of skimmed milk.

• 2nd Stage: Protein rich meals are added as well as some skimmed milk and vegetables alongside up o Cambridge meals. It’s typically limited to 810 calories a day for a week long period.

• 3rd Stage: 2 of the meals, some milk, and a 1,000 calorie a day limit. This is enforced for 2 weeks.

• 4th Stage: 2 prepackaged meals, some skimmed milk, and more regular meals.

• 5th Stage: One Cambridge meal and breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner for a total of 1500 calories.

• 6th Stage: Once your heathy weight is reached, this stage helps maintain results. One prepackaged meal a day is recommended alongside continued support from a consultant.

It’s unclear whether or not the consultants have any background in diet and nutrition. It’s unlikely however that they use real certified dieticians, which can be potentially dangerous or lead to wrong advice. Our experts have analyzed many diets and have ranked the top 10 in the list here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Cambridge Diet Quality of Ingredients

Since the beginning of the program asks for a majority of foods to be selected from the company’s prepackaged foods, it’s important for the ingredients to be wholesome.

Unfortunately, they use artificial sweeteners and cheap thickeners often used to replace fiber. These kinds of additives can actually make weight loss harder, as studies have shown they may cause metabolism disorders as well as other side effects.

It’s also difficult to understand what kind of help is provided by the counselors, which remains to be seen whether or not they are actually certified to give health and nutrition advice.  The link provided here has a list of the highest rated diets.

A review on the Cambridge Diet was performed by the British Dietetic Association, and they have listed possible side effects which include:

“bad breathe, a dry mouth, tiredness, dizziness, insomnia, nausea, and constipation”

They also advise for medical support when a person is to receive less than 600 calories, which some plans offered by the company suggest only 450 calories a day. It’s unclear if the counselors offer any support for this type of reduction in calories.

The Price and Quality of Cambridge Diet

The price depends more on how often once decides to use the prepackaged meals. The official website states it will cost per week 48.30 pounds, which rounds to a weekly price of $63.46. Since this is a UK based plan, no consultations are available outside the US. In fact, on the official site there is a map where support and availability is offered, and there are no listings for the US.

The quality of meals is poor, as the additives included are often found in processed foods. It can also be expensive to have to keep using the company’s foods, as the final stage of maintenance requires one pre-packaged meal a day.

Business of Cambridge Diet

The contact information for the diet is as follows:

Phone Number: (44)(0) 1536 403344

Address:Stafford House, 10 Brakey Road

                   Corby, Northants, NN17 5LU

Email: admind@cambridgeweightplan.co.uk

The official website lists how to become a paid consultant for the company. Nowhere in the job skills is there any notice for people to have a background in health and nutrition. The company only asks for people with a background in sales who are organized and can plan ahead.

This means that it’s likely the people who are meant to give support have no skills in helping people with weight loss. The link cited here has the top 10 ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Cambridge Diet

Here are some direct quotes from user reviews:

“not the best diet health wise… nails went brittle thin, hair began to thin rapidly”

“never felt full, I always felt hungry”

“Having a bad time with motivation”

“the first few days are the hardest”

Though there were some weight loss results for people, there were also issues due to a lack of calories. Many felt weakened, less energetic, and much more fatigued than usual.

Some also had symptoms that are clear signs of nutrient deficiencies such as brittle and weak nails, thin hair, and increased stress. This was often the case for people who attempted this diet. 

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be seeninthe link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Cambridge DietWork?

The Cambridge Diet is similar to other diet plans which offer pre-packaged foods. There’s also counseling offered, but it’s clear that the support is from people who are more business people rather than nutrition experts. Many of the foods offered have processed ingredients, though they are low in calories. Reviews have been mixed with some experiencing health issues and hunger. Though a low calorie plan like this can work, any reduction in calories can result in weight loss. There’s nothing special added to the prepackaged foods which isn’t found in a standard processed meal.

Our experts have performed many reviews and have discovered that the most effective diet is the 18Shake Diet. It provides a combination of a meal replacement and a diet pill. They both provide only natural ingredients, no stimulants, and no unwanted artificial or additives. Its effects include appetite suppression, increased fat burning, and more. When used together it enhances weight loss at a faster rate. Customers have also left positive testimonials on the official website.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back guarantee. This allows for people to try this product risk free, and with no questions asked. More information about the specifics of the 18Shake Diet is available here.

How Does Cambridge Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Cambridge Diet
  • 35 /100

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 59, 1167 total comments)



I've lost 11Kg in 4 weeks, doing well but I'm thinking of jumping up a step or two but I lost my book with all the approved foods and weights and really want to investigate the options before my next consult.

posted May 2nd, 2016 9:40 am



I did this diet in 2014 f

posted Mar 31st, 2016 2:55 pm

dale wall


I and my x wife took it in the 80s and it didn't like it ether one of us lost any weight she was over 290 pounds. she has to be taken care of all the time, She said that it was out of Canada were this product was not was USDA approved. Three years after taking it she had a Stroke and she has lost all her memory . I am telling you this because I don't want this to happen to any of you that are using it.

posted Mar 10th, 2016 6:39 am



I used the chocolate shakes for a couple of meals a day many years ago with great results so I have been doing it again for a month now and I love it! it works and is so easy to do especially if I add a few berries or other fruit and ice and blend it. The tastiest most satisfying shakes ever!

posted Feb 22nd, 2016 10:06 pm


Perhaps the naysayers should just read about the purpose of this diet originally before comment. The program was the brain child of British scientist Alan Howard, who worked at Cambridge University. Professor Howard's initial diet was designed for heart patients who needed a healthy way to lose weight while waiting for surgery.

posted Feb 22nd, 2016 9:00 am



It wont let me get on the Australian site to find a consultant in my area I would dearly love to lose about 15kgs and am very interested on how this product works and cost thank u

posted Feb 21st, 2016 11:18 pm



2,5 weeks into it, already lost 5 kg!

posted Jan 23rd, 2016 2:10 pm


i have been on this for nearly 4 months and lost over 2 stones. i feel great about myself and now actaully think what i am putting into my stomach before eating as i do not want to get big again.....you start making healthier choices and ofcourse you do have some bad days but you just go back to your NEW Lifestyle.
Its all about perseverance and sticking to it

posted Jan 18th, 2016 12:18 pm


will start this Wed need to loose almost 30 Kg :(

posted Dec 7th, 2015 12:38 pm


Best weight loss program for me. Ive tried numerous other programs like Jenny Craig, Cowens, etc but nothing has worked like this one.

posted Dec 3rd, 2015 5:35 am



It should be pointed out there is a difference between the American CD & the UK CD.I am doing the American version. I lost 50 lb in 4 months with 1 plateau in 2013. For 90 days I did the SS with some breaks with meals added.My blood pressure, A1C, and cholesterol numbers were all good by the end of the diet. I recommend starting out eating low carb before doing the SS to reduce cravings, & withdrawal. It is recommended to drink 8 to 10 8 ounce glasses of water. I recommend taking potassium and magnesium supplements as I experienced some leg cramps at night.Pros:It is simple to follow. It removes regular food from the equation if doing the SS.Weight loss can be rapid - encouraging success, and it is nutritionally sound, Weight loss IS sustainable IF the recommended Cambridge maintenance program is followed. Cons: This diet is not easy.It won't be sustainable unless the necessary maintenance program is followed. Calorie intake is lower and may not be suited to all individuals.

posted Oct 11th, 2015 12:50 pm



As with all diets - I don't think there's such a thing as a "good diet" or "bad diet", it's more about what works for You. For example my best friend had great results with Slimming World diet, but I couldn't stand it. Then I've had great results with Cambridge, but she couldn't stand it. The thing I like about Cambridge is the fact that you don't have to think or plan ahead, you just have what you're told to have and nothing else. Yes the first week is murder. Headaches and hunger. Buy yourself some headache pills for the first week. After a few days the hunger goes away, and what kept me going was herbal and fruit teas - with sweeteners of course. The results come very quickly. And seeing your consultant for weighing in, gives you the extra boost of motivation. Personally I like this diet and it works for me. Yes it's boring and you miss the food but the results are worth it.

posted Sep 5th, 2015 4:58 am



The program has become relatively easy to me after 8 days. I could walk now without feeling like I could faint. So far I lost 3 kg despite having PCOS. I'm so happy at this rate I might finish in 3 or 4 months.

As for the taste thank god I told the consultant to give me a good variety. because I found out that some products were terrible alone even the popular ones that I have been excited about and I plan on avoiding them next month.

posted May 18th, 2015 12:48 pm

John Woods


On the weekend I won the Australian Cambridge Slimmer of the year after losing 42kg.

My advice would be to stick with it. The first week I found to be hard but once that was over the diet for me became real easy to do.

The feeling that you have when you reach your goal is unbelievable. I always knew I had excess of 40kg to lose but I never looked to far ahead. For me the way my body changed and fitting into clothes was more important than the kilos lost.

Good luck with your diet, I know its corny but if I can do it then anyone can. Just stick with it and in no time you will be a new person

posted May 6th, 2015 11:43 am



I have been changing my eating habits to healthier options with no luck due to pcos, this my last resolution and I'm hoping it will work to shed my excess weight.

The cons so far as I'm still on day 2 is that the meals taste weird its like someone promised you chocolate but mixed medicine in it you can clearly taste the chocolate but you know there is something else. I'm looking forward to see how this turns out.

posted May 5th, 2015 9:03 am


Day one ok days two and three I had the worst headache of my life (I'm on stage 2) going to persevere but I'm hungry :(

posted Mar 11th, 2015 9:45 pm


Stupid, Stupid, diet!!! Of course weight is going to drop if you starve your body, eat 800 cals a day worth of chocolate and you will drop wait. All this diet will do is destroy metablosim result in greater weight gain once you come off their profit hungry crappy ingrediant product. Research iifym (if it fits your macros), and educate yourselfs the basics of nutrition. workout your maintanaince calories, record all the food you eat during a week (everything!!!!) use an app like myfitness pal, if your wait goes up, you are eating in a calorie surplus, so need to reduce calories (start with 500). if your wait does not change after recoding evrything, you know that is your maintaince level. to lose wait all you have to eat in a deficit, so cut 300 calories from from your maintainance, then when you plataeu a wait loss stops drop another 250 calories. you should only be aiming to lose around 2lbs a week. or you will destroy your metabolism, end up with saggy stretch marks. i am a personal trainer and it pains me to see people falling for this crap and destroying your bodies. nothing healthy about starving yourselves. Its not difficult to lose weight with a sensible understanding of basic nutrition, and you will be able to continue to eat the foods that you love (within reason). I have a girl dropping 2lbs a week whilst consuming 1,800 calories a day, and she has a nomal metabolism. im sick of these companies taking advnatage of the uneducated promising unatainable goals. If anybody wants help, I will aid you with a sensible nutritional plan that will guarantee sustainable fatloss over a prologonged time, allowing to eat foods that you like. at the end of the day its a lifestyle choice and a marathon not a sprint. I will feel a thousand times better doing this the proper way.email totalaesthetics22@gmail.com (I am completely free) and I will do my best to get back to you and help you!

posted Jan 23rd, 2015 3:16 pm



Love it Love it Love it. Great meals. love the chocolate velvet the most.

posted Jan 22nd, 2015 11:59 am



So easy,fast results, lots of flavours to chose from. Cost is offset by the fact that I don't buy coffees or snacks anymore

posted Nov 22nd, 2014 11:44 am


yeaah its just the best

posted Nov 29th, 2013 7:52 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.


Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.


There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Isopure Shakes, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Cambridge Diet?