Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

93%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 290 reviews

Cambridge Diet

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com


Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 58, 1148 total comments)

Kate1

Hi i need a partner to boost me for my cd

posted May 22nd, 2011 11:38 am


Kate

Btw after how many days will my body reach ketosis

posted May 22nd, 2011 11:25 am


Kate

Hi alll... Iv been trying my best to be on CD but am not able to. Had all the shakes from monday- friday n then finally hogged on food on saturday n sunday(today). Promised myself to keep going but food just cant get off my mind. Pls help need some mental support and push.

posted May 22nd, 2011 11:23 am


EarthxAngelx

Hiya
I am about to start the CD and would love a "buddy" to chat with and keep each other motivate ... I am 16 stone 6 , size 18/20 and 5ft 8 tall. My goal is to reach 12 stone and hopefully a size 14.... Anyone care to join me in a ride of a life time?lol. I look forward to hearing from you xx

posted May 16th, 2011 9:47 am


Shelly

I started the CD 7 days ago. I struggled with hunger pains the first 2 days but after that I am fine. I have 3 shakes a day and a normal meal. In between I eat cucumbers and maybe some yogi 0% if I haven't had milk. I feel soooo much better and wake up in the morning without that tired feeling and I have certainly got rid of the excess bloating. tomorrow is weigh day so I am looking forward to that to see how much ive lost. I also have hypothyroid so I don't expect very speedy results. I will try to stick it out as long as I can.

posted May 15th, 2011 6:29 am


krissyb

is cambridge diet safe? im also a smoker

posted Apr 30th, 2011 9:56 am


roxanne

oooo day 1 and i feel like im starving...so made the porridge for tea and its disgusting i need to loose 4 stone and i know i will but i need to focus cause all i think about is food!!!lol help???

posted Apr 19th, 2011 12:26 pm


Marian

I have just started the diet yesterday and i find it ok so far? i have tried to stop cravings and my husband is all over my kitchen cooking nice meals which was quite tempting...lol but i have stood by the diet so far. Today is my day two and i am finding it ok. although have started having the headaches but i am trying to control it. i wore a shirt today that i havent tried on in two and it fits ok, this is motivating me to stick to the diet, i also realise that anytime i feel hungry i just drink a glass of water which helps alot. anyone starting the diet that needs a buddy am avaliable.

posted Apr 17th, 2011 12:30 am


Shareem

I have been on the ss plan for 4 days, finding it great. Not been hungry at all just really craving some solid food!

I cheated by weighing myself tonight but Iv lost 16lbs in 4 days :)

I'm 16 stones and my goal weight is 10 stone, if I carry on losing like I am I'll get there in no time :)

I honestly love the plan, think it's alot easier to follow and stick to than healthy eating diets like weight watcher etc as food is just not an option so you don't get tempted to cheat with that slice of chocolate cake or fly chip. With Cambridge you know if you decide to cheat all your body will come out of ketosis and that 4 days of that struggle is totally ruined.

My only problem is for two days I've only had time/remembered to have one shake which I know is really bad for me but as of tomorrow I am going to set my alarm on my phone as a reminder to take my shake!

posted Apr 10th, 2011 5:34 pm


kay

This is an excellent diet. i lost 7 stone in about 5months i had the odd day off! i was 18 stoneandwent to 11 stone. as long as you dont go back to your old eating habits u willbe fine. but you have to be really wanting to lose the weight or you will not want to be drinking shakes everyday. best thingi ever did + worth every penny. good luck to you all.

posted Apr 4th, 2011 11:48 am


Laurie

Anyone looking for an online CD buddy?

posted Apr 3rd, 2011 2:12 am


Plankwing

I lost 45 lb on Cambridge in five months late '82 to spring '83. It did help me change my eating habits and I kept the weight off for two years. I was badly injured in an accident and spent the next five months on my back, gained 20 lb. I am now 90 lb overweight (my wife is a great cook but it's not her fault I eat too much ...) and have decided it is time to get back to correct weight. After reviewing many possible diet plans, I'm commencing Cambridge again because I know it works.

posted Mar 17th, 2011 9:14 pm


Shin007

Starting tomorrow could do wiv sum support, or a diet partner ?

posted Mar 11th, 2011 11:44 am


Mich

I have been on the Cambridge Diet for 7 days today. It has been really challenging. Every movie/show on telly seems to have people with delicious food! The whole FOOD issue has been magnified and I feel starving each day. BUT... I have stuck to the diet like gum to a shoe!
Strangely, besides feeling better in a Body which has definitely lost AT THE LEAST 2kg /4.4 pounds [only weighing in tonight with counsellor] I have experienced other benefits.
I am sleeping better and the daily headaches I experienced seem a thing of the past ?? no more anti-inflammatories or pain-killers are going down the Hatch. Bloating of the stomach also has disappeared.
So ?? despite having to negotiate hourly, sometimes ??minute-ly?? with my Brain to ??Hang in there, that I will give It more food soon?? [yes I??m conning my Brain] ?? I am heading off tonight to purchase a second week of FOOD ?
Good conning everyone :) Stick to it - heath is paramount!!
.... and THANK YOU Cambridge!!

posted Feb 28th, 2011 6:09 am


Chrys

hi i have just started the CD diet today i am 11stones at the moment, so i really hope its workes for me, i take only 3 shakes a day, and when i get hungry i will eat cucumbers and carrots.
i want to loose 44 lbs. wish me luck :)

posted Feb 24th, 2011 2:58 am


sabina

hiya i keep starting the cd diet but keep getting really hungary and stop, i have started it agian and have the odd spoons of food through out the day plus the cd milkshakes through out the day, will it still work for me, please could i get advice...thanks

posted Jan 25th, 2011 11:34 pm


Shin007

Hey ppl been reading everyones comments about cd I started wensdy have been good and not cheated have about 11 weeks to go b4 I go on holiday anyone else newly started wants to share storys would e nice, I've got just about 3 st to loose

posted Jan 21st, 2011 6:20 pm


sabina

hiya i have just started the CD diet today i am 11stones and 11pounds at the moment, so i really hope its workes for me, found the mushroom soup horrible, but shakes are okay, going back on wednesday i will keep everyone updated on my weigh in....wish me luck

posted Jan 5th, 2011 6:53 pm


Aussie G

I read the 'original' book for the Protein Diet. The best advise was this:
Regard the 'shake' as a medication. Take it at your regular time, as a "medication" and "No solid thing will pass my lips".
Yes the first few days are the worst, just hang in there.
Tell the Head Waiter or Bar man you are on a Special Diet and could they bring you a glass of water. Worked great for me.
Unfortunately I have not yet vanquished my phsychological comfort eating.
Good Luck.

posted Dec 23rd, 2010 12:19 am


Susan

WHY are the CD shakes and soups SO loaded with SODIUM, it's not necessary it ruins the taste! From a nurse's view pt. that much sodium is NOT heart smart or good for those with High BP...

posted Dec 17th, 2010 4:37 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account