| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 309 reviews

Cambridge Diet

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.


Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.


There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet,

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 58, 1157 total comments)


Really wanted to eat late evening last night, i went to bed a little earlier than normal.
woke this morning, first thing i did was have 2 large glass of water. Then at 8.30am my CD, followed by a cup of coffee!! im on day 2.

posted Jun 30th, 2011 3:26 am


I have today started the Cambridge sole source 3
shakes a day! im 16st 12lbs. 5ft 3inch
what can i expect to lose in my 1st week !
its been a difficult day will it get easier in the coming days!

posted Jun 29th, 2011 12:17 pm


Been on CD for 7 weeks, lost 3 stone and 6inch from my waist!

Have stuck to to it 100%, it is hard, but worth it for the results. Only got 10lb till I reach my target.

posted Jun 21st, 2011 4:16 pm


i have just started the CD last saturday and go for my 1st weigh in tonight. my first couple of days were really hard as i was at the in-lwas and whilst they were tucking into a roast i had a shake :-( but i hav stuck to it but find the porridge terrible and some of the shakes asweel, but hey if it helps me loose this 5 st then its worth it. i am looking for support buddies if anyone wants to buddy up xxx

posted Jun 17th, 2011 11:50 am


hi i'm now going into my 3rd week of the cd, i was told at the beginning that the 1st few days would be really difficult, unsure why but i found it ok, i lost 10lbs in my 1st wk and my 2nd weigh in is tomorrow fingers crossed. if you do feel hungry i suggest you eat vegetables def not carrots tho as they have lots of carbs in them if having salad and you need to use a dressing use balsamic vinegar. good luck everyone and well done to those who are managed their 1st week as i know it can be difficult x

posted Jun 12th, 2011 7:33 am


started the cd 3 weeks ago and i must say this is not for the weak people. On the first week I cheated nearly everyday with atleast a spoonful of food... I'm telling you it is sooo tempting just to eat... I'm sitting here just now one day before weigh in and on my third week and I've been cheating for the last three days... just felt really hungry and ate everything I felt like eating, drank cola the usual.. drank alcohol last night for the first time since I started and I swear to god I drank three glasses of vodka and was drunk lol Happy days... me and my mate thats also on the diet just decided (quite dangerous) so don't try this at home haha Just honestly this diet is amazing when you stick to it but the best tip I think I can give anyone is just to drink as much water as possible to stop you getting hungry and remember that determination you have during the day when your so up for loosing weight and nothing will stop you... because your not actually hungry all the time just at night when your chilled and theres nothing to do but watch tv and you feel a real urge to eat but just remember that feeling in the morning when you stuck to your diet the whole day before... And most of all how awful you feel when you've cheated... :( Not nice you feel like a total looser because you really have to base alot on this diet to be able to do it... I myself have pcos which is a condition that basically makes you fat.. Not with everyone but in my case I have every symptom going.... Lucky me eh :) But anyway to cut a long story short I'm 19 years old and just looking really for that confidence thats going to turn me from bubbly fat girl with a shit dead end job to the girl next door with a straight head and prospect... I honestly think that this diet and weight loss itself will change my life... Not been the greatest so far and to be honest its not all been weight but at the end of the day I and all of you are only going to live once !!! PLEASE DON'T TAKE THAT LIGHTLY JUST REALLY THINK ABOUT IT ! Do you actually want to go through your life thinking how much happier you would be slimmer or do just make it happen girls :) First thing I recommend before you start is to to take a few pictures and then have a look at some new ones even as little as month after you start and see this difference.. you feel like a new person too ! Just make sure your doing it for you xxxxx

posted May 28th, 2011 9:35 pm


I'm on my 3rd day of the CD. Day 1 was fine. Day 2 all I could think about was food I hardly ever eat - pies, pizza, lasagne. Today I'm a bit better. Still thinking about food, but not as bad as yesterday. Trying to drink lots of water - not easy in winter.

I want to lose 15kg.

posted May 27th, 2011 7:39 am

Andrea M. Kelly

I've used this product before and found it to be one of the greatest things you every could find to aid with weight loss. I would recommend this product to anyone.

posted May 23rd, 2011 3:38 pm


Iv been on CD on n off but finally decided to stick by it. Went well from monday to friday but yesterday being a saturday have just hogged on food yesterday n today. Oh god i really wanna shed all this rigid fat. Need mental support n boost. Hey EARTHANGELS we can be buddies. I plan to restart the diet again tommorrow. Btw can anybody pls telk me after how many days will my body reach ketosis

posted May 22nd, 2011 11:43 am


Hi i need a partner to boost me for my cd

posted May 22nd, 2011 11:38 am


Btw after how many days will my body reach ketosis

posted May 22nd, 2011 11:25 am


Hi alll... Iv been trying my best to be on CD but am not able to. Had all the shakes from monday- friday n then finally hogged on food on saturday n sunday(today). Promised myself to keep going but food just cant get off my mind. Pls help need some mental support and push.

posted May 22nd, 2011 11:23 am


I am about to start the CD and would love a "buddy" to chat with and keep each other motivate ... I am 16 stone 6 , size 18/20 and 5ft 8 tall. My goal is to reach 12 stone and hopefully a size 14.... Anyone care to join me in a ride of a life time?lol. I look forward to hearing from you xx

posted May 16th, 2011 9:47 am


I started the CD 7 days ago. I struggled with hunger pains the first 2 days but after that I am fine. I have 3 shakes a day and a normal meal. In between I eat cucumbers and maybe some yogi 0% if I haven't had milk. I feel soooo much better and wake up in the morning without that tired feeling and I have certainly got rid of the excess bloating. tomorrow is weigh day so I am looking forward to that to see how much ive lost. I also have hypothyroid so I don't expect very speedy results. I will try to stick it out as long as I can.

posted May 15th, 2011 6:29 am


is cambridge diet safe? im also a smoker

posted Apr 30th, 2011 9:56 am


oooo day 1 and i feel like im made the porridge for tea and its disgusting i need to loose 4 stone and i know i will but i need to focus cause all i think about is food!!!lol help???

posted Apr 19th, 2011 12:26 pm


I have just started the diet yesterday and i find it ok so far? i have tried to stop cravings and my husband is all over my kitchen cooking nice meals which was quite but i have stood by the diet so far. Today is my day two and i am finding it ok. although have started having the headaches but i am trying to control it. i wore a shirt today that i havent tried on in two and it fits ok, this is motivating me to stick to the diet, i also realise that anytime i feel hungry i just drink a glass of water which helps alot. anyone starting the diet that needs a buddy am avaliable.

posted Apr 17th, 2011 12:30 am


I have been on the ss plan for 4 days, finding it great. Not been hungry at all just really craving some solid food!

I cheated by weighing myself tonight but Iv lost 16lbs in 4 days :)

I'm 16 stones and my goal weight is 10 stone, if I carry on losing like I am I'll get there in no time :)

I honestly love the plan, think it's alot easier to follow and stick to than healthy eating diets like weight watcher etc as food is just not an option so you don't get tempted to cheat with that slice of chocolate cake or fly chip. With Cambridge you know if you decide to cheat all your body will come out of ketosis and that 4 days of that struggle is totally ruined.

My only problem is for two days I've only had time/remembered to have one shake which I know is really bad for me but as of tomorrow I am going to set my alarm on my phone as a reminder to take my shake!

posted Apr 10th, 2011 5:34 pm


This is an excellent diet. i lost 7 stone in about 5months i had the odd day off! i was 18 stoneandwent to 11 stone. as long as you dont go back to your old eating habits u willbe fine. but you have to be really wanting to lose the weight or you will not want to be drinking shakes everyday. best thingi ever did + worth every penny. good luck to you all.

posted Apr 4th, 2011 11:48 am


Anyone looking for an online CD buddy?

posted Apr 3rd, 2011 2:12 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account