Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

35%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 315 reviews
Cambridge Diet

Cambridge Diet Review: Does it Work?

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Cambridge Diet is a weight loss program offering pre-packed meals, counseling, and low calorie meal suggestions. It’s considered a VLCD, which means it’s a very low calorie diet.

One can select between 415 to 1500 calories depending on one’s weight loss goals, gender, and tolerance. Consultants are offered not just to guide, but to recommend what calorie limit one should follow. There have been numerous diets observed by our experts, and the highest rated one has been  the 18Shake Diet. It offers a diet pill and meal replacement that aim to reduce appetite for hours, all while providing fat burning effects with its all natural ingredients. More information about the 18Shake Diet can be seen in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Cambridge DietIngredients and Side Effects

Here are some noteworthy ingredients added to their prepackaged foods:

Skimmed Milk Powder

Maltodextrin

Guar Gum

Refined Fractionated Palm Oil

Acesulfame K

Sucralose

Carrageenan

Flavourings

Dried Glucose Syrup

Silicon Dioxide

Oligofructose

 

Guar Gum:Fiber extract taken from the guar plant. It’s used as a general thickener in processed foods, as well as a laxative.  It can promote side effects that include:

         • Diarrhea, gas, and loose stools.

         • Indigestion, nausea, and stomach pains.

Acesulfame K:Artificial sweetener around 200 times sweeter than standard sugar. A study by PLOS One found that:

“Long-Term Artificial Sweetener Acesulfame Potassium Alters Neurometabolic Functions”

This study showed that in mice there was an effect on insulin and leptin levels.  The same study added:

“chronic use… could affect cognitive functions, potentially via altering neuro-metabolic functions”

It also has shown the potential for other side effects according to a review by the Oxford Journals:

“long-dated function on the adult’s sweet preference”

This study was conducted on mice that were given their mother’s breast milk or amniotic fluid in birth, and their preference for sweets changed.

Sucralose:Artificialsweetener that can be around 1,000 times much sweeter than sugar. It has been used controversially since some studies have shown it to be potentially dangerous. One such study was performed by Duke University and it revealed:

“numerous adverse effects”

“reduction in beneficial fecal microflora, increased fecal pH, and enhancedexpression levels of P-gp”

This means the body considers it a toxin, and it reduces healthy bacteria which helps support the immune system according to this clinical study.

Carrageenan:Thickener and binder extractedfrom red seaweed.The University of Iowa ran a study which showed:

“carcinogenic properties of degraded carrageenan”

“ulcerations and neoplasms in association with exposure to carrageenan”

This has shown the possibility for causing serious issues in the body.

The link provided here has the top 10 ranked diets of the year.

The types of foods offered by the Cambridge Diet are meal replacement shakes, bars, pasta, rice, soups, desserts, and other snacks. According to the official website:

“products contain the vitamins and minerals you need for balanced nutrition and healthy weight loss”

Most of what one eats will be the prepackaged foods. This can make it easier to handle a caloric loss, as the foods are specially formulated to be lower in calories. There are also 6 steps outlined one must follow, though where one begins depends on what the counselor advises. Here are the steps:

• Sole Source: 3 to 4 prepackaged foods are eaten a day. The Sole Source Plus option allows for 3 prepacked goods alongside meal of 200 calories, or 4 of the companies meals with 200 ml of skimmed milk.

• 2nd Stage: Protein rich meals are added as well as some skimmed milk and vegetables alongside up o Cambridge meals. It’s typically limited to 810 calories a day for a week long period.

• 3rd Stage: 2 of the meals, some milk, and a 1,000 calorie a day limit. This is enforced for 2 weeks.

• 4th Stage: 2 prepackaged meals, some skimmed milk, and more regular meals.

• 5th Stage: One Cambridge meal and breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner for a total of 1500 calories.

• 6th Stage: Once your heathy weight is reached, this stage helps maintain results. One prepackaged meal a day is recommended alongside continued support from a consultant.

It’s unclear whether or not the consultants have any background in diet and nutrition. It’s unlikely however that they use real certified dieticians, which can be potentially dangerous or lead to wrong advice. Our experts have analyzed many diets and have ranked the top 10 in the list here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Cambridge Diet Quality of Ingredients

Since the beginning of the program asks for a majority of foods to be selected from the company’s prepackaged foods, it’s important for the ingredients to be wholesome.

Unfortunately, they use artificial sweeteners and cheap thickeners often used to replace fiber. These kinds of additives can actually make weight loss harder, as studies have shown they may cause metabolism disorders as well as other side effects.

It’s also difficult to understand what kind of help is provided by the counselors, which remains to be seen whether or not they are actually certified to give health and nutrition advice.  The link provided here has a list of the highest rated diets.

A review on the Cambridge Diet was performed by the British Dietetic Association, and they have listed possible side effects which include:

“bad breathe, a dry mouth, tiredness, dizziness, insomnia, nausea, and constipation”

They also advise for medical support when a person is to receive less than 600 calories, which some plans offered by the company suggest only 450 calories a day. It’s unclear if the counselors offer any support for this type of reduction in calories.

The Price and Quality of Cambridge Diet

The price depends more on how often once decides to use the prepackaged meals. The official website states it will cost per week 48.30 pounds, which rounds to a weekly price of $63.46. Since this is a UK based plan, no consultations are available outside the US. In fact, on the official site there is a map where support and availability is offered, and there are no listings for the US.

The quality of meals is poor, as the additives included are often found in processed foods. It can also be expensive to have to keep using the company’s foods, as the final stage of maintenance requires one pre-packaged meal a day.

Business of Cambridge Diet

The contact information for the diet is as follows:

Phone Number: (44)(0) 1536 403344

Address:Stafford House, 10 Brakey Road

                   Corby, Northants, NN17 5LU

Email: admind@cambridgeweightplan.co.uk

The official website lists how to become a paid consultant for the company. Nowhere in the job skills is there any notice for people to have a background in health and nutrition. The company only asks for people with a background in sales who are organized and can plan ahead.

This means that it’s likely the people who are meant to give support have no skills in helping people with weight loss. The link cited here has the top 10 ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Cambridge Diet

Here are some direct quotes from user reviews:

“not the best diet health wise… nails went brittle thin, hair began to thin rapidly”

“never felt full, I always felt hungry”

“Having a bad time with motivation”

“the first few days are the hardest”

Though there were some weight loss results for people, there were also issues due to a lack of calories. Many felt weakened, less energetic, and much more fatigued than usual.

Some also had symptoms that are clear signs of nutrient deficiencies such as brittle and weak nails, thin hair, and increased stress. This was often the case for people who attempted this diet. 

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be seeninthe link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Cambridge DietWork?

The Cambridge Diet is similar to other diet plans which offer pre-packaged foods. There’s also counseling offered, but it’s clear that the support is from people who are more business people rather than nutrition experts. Many of the foods offered have processed ingredients, though they are low in calories. Reviews have been mixed with some experiencing health issues and hunger. Though a low calorie plan like this can work, any reduction in calories can result in weight loss. There’s nothing special added to the prepackaged foods which isn’t found in a standard processed meal.

Our experts have performed many reviews and have discovered that the most effective diet is the 18Shake Diet. It provides a combination of a meal replacement and a diet pill. They both provide only natural ingredients, no stimulants, and no unwanted artificial or additives. Its effects include appetite suppression, increased fat burning, and more. When used together it enhances weight loss at a faster rate. Customers have also left positive testimonials on the official website.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back guarantee. This allows for people to try this product risk free, and with no questions asked. More information about the specifics of the 18Shake Diet is available here.

How Does Cambridge Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Cambridge Diet
  • 35 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 59, 1167 total comments)

Tonijones

Hi fellow dieters! I started step 2 on the Cambridge diet on Sunday 2/10/11 I have 3 milkshakes a day and one small meal. I have been struggling with the 3 a day and some days only managing two - is this bad? Also for dinner I have been having steamed veg and grilled turkey or a prawn salad today I'm having boiled egg salad. I don't yet know if I have hit ketosis yet as I am
Not feeling anything I was told I would, I don't have head aches or am I tired.
The only shake I seem to like and can drink without eveing is the mint choc one or sometimes the banana depending how smooth I can get it! Would really like someone to do this with some
Help and guideness. Xxxx

posted Oct 5th, 2011 6:00 am


Ian

Hi guys and girls. I have been inspired to try the cambridge diet and a work colleague ive not seen for a while lost 4 stone in 8 weeks. I found a councelor ans have a meeting on monday. She advised me to start dropping carbs from my meals and eat protein to prepare for starting as this helps with the headaches, its not as much of a shock to the system apparently. I'm looking to lose 3 stone, maybe 3 and a half. I will post back some results soon.

posted Sep 10th, 2011 3:09 pm


staci

ive been on the cd diet in the past lost a stone kept it off thats been few month but got 4 to 5 to go so back on it just wasnt in the frame of mind deffo this time no stopping me been on it 5 days now bought ketosis strips thats me in it now only side affect i had was that found it hard to go to the toliet got something for it from the herbail shop all good now am doing the ss for few weeks anyway then once loss a good bit going to change to 8-10

posted Sep 9th, 2011 12:55 pm


CONDOR

HI GREAT TO DIET THE BEST WAY IS SHAG AS MUCH AS YOU CAN I LOST POUNDS AND I LOVED IT

posted Sep 4th, 2011 6:50 pm


Kirsty

Im on 4th date, started with 3 CD meals + 1 meal. Did a ketosis test today and the stick didnt change colour even though I followed precisely and exercised (walking on my treadmill). That pissed me off, called my counsellor & she said I didnt do the diet (have been eating cards!) that pissed me off even more! Anyway going for my first weigh in on Monday, I have a few health issues that directly affect my weight so lets see...

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 1:55 pm


koms

Hi ppl. I have a question to ask...Can i eat an apple a day while being on the 3 pkts of CD.....

posted Aug 24th, 2011 10:07 pm


Nickie

Hey day 2 on cb and feeling slightly weird this morning like im not here !! but loveling the soups and the boost of this forum is good gives u insentive when u here all the brilliant weight loss stories x

posted Aug 12th, 2011 4:39 am


kareng

I started the cambridge Diet on Saturday on step 2. I have found ok but have had a headache for a coule of days I do keep drinking as much as recommend, anybody want to pair up and share experiences would be great plus i am a vegetarian so any recipe ideas would be great :)

posted Aug 10th, 2011 11:23 am


Hayley

+

I must say ss is the easiest diet i've ever done. It does have its hard moments but it's okay. I'm 20 years old and started 4 weeks ago weighing 16stone at 5ft2 now i've lost 19lbs & have gone down 2 dress sizes! I still have 5 stone to go but will hopefully lose it by my 21st in decemember. Also having a day off every 2 weeks & it helps having something too look forward to after working 60 hours a week.

posted Jul 6th, 2011 7:03 pm


Stacey27

Day 1 and im feeling hungry and got a headache :( still must plod on :)

posted Jul 1st, 2011 10:22 am


shazzy

+

Really wanted to eat late evening last night, i went to bed a little earlier than normal.
woke this morning, first thing i did was have 2 large glass of water. Then at 8.30am my CD, followed by a cup of coffee!! im on day 2.

posted Jun 30th, 2011 3:26 am


shazzy

I have today started the Cambridge sole source 3
shakes a day! im 16st 12lbs. 5ft 3inch
what can i expect to lose in my 1st week !
its been a difficult day will it get easier in the coming days!

posted Jun 29th, 2011 12:17 pm


Kyle

Been on CD for 7 weeks, lost 3 stone and 6inch from my waist!

Have stuck to to it 100%, it is hard, but worth it for the results. Only got 10lb till I reach my target.

posted Jun 21st, 2011 4:16 pm


sarah7377

i have just started the CD last saturday and go for my 1st weigh in tonight. my first couple of days were really hard as i was at the in-lwas and whilst they were tucking into a roast i had a shake :-( but i hav stuck to it but find the porridge terrible and some of the shakes asweel, but hey if it helps me loose this 5 st then its worth it. i am looking for support buddies if anyone wants to buddy up xxx

posted Jun 17th, 2011 11:50 am


shell

hi i'm now going into my 3rd week of the cd, i was told at the beginning that the 1st few days would be really difficult, unsure why but i found it ok, i lost 10lbs in my 1st wk and my 2nd weigh in is tomorrow fingers crossed. if you do feel hungry i suggest you eat vegetables def not carrots tho as they have lots of carbs in them if having salad and you need to use a dressing use balsamic vinegar. good luck everyone and well done to those who are managed their 1st week as i know it can be difficult x

posted Jun 12th, 2011 7:33 am


samantha

+

started the cd 3 weeks ago and i must say this is not for the weak people. On the first week I cheated nearly everyday with atleast a spoonful of food... I'm telling you it is sooo tempting just to eat... I'm sitting here just now one day before weigh in and on my third week and I've been cheating for the last three days... just felt really hungry and ate everything I felt like eating, drank cola the usual.. drank alcohol last night for the first time since I started and I swear to god I drank three glasses of vodka and was drunk lol Happy days... me and my mate thats also on the diet just decided (quite dangerous) so don't try this at home haha Just honestly this diet is amazing when you stick to it but the best tip I think I can give anyone is just to drink as much water as possible to stop you getting hungry and remember that determination you have during the day when your so up for loosing weight and nothing will stop you... because your not actually hungry all the time just at night when your chilled and theres nothing to do but watch tv and you feel a real urge to eat but just remember that feeling in the morning when you stuck to your diet the whole day before... And most of all how awful you feel when you've cheated... :( Not nice you feel like a total looser because you really have to base alot on this diet to be able to do it... I myself have pcos which is a condition that basically makes you fat.. Not with everyone but in my case I have every symptom going.... Lucky me eh :) But anyway to cut a long story short I'm 19 years old and just looking really for that confidence thats going to turn me from bubbly fat girl with a shit dead end job to the girl next door with a straight head and prospect... I honestly think that this diet and weight loss itself will change my life... Not been the greatest so far and to be honest its not all been weight but at the end of the day I and all of you are only going to live once !!! PLEASE DON'T TAKE THAT LIGHTLY JUST REALLY THINK ABOUT IT ! Do you actually want to go through your life thinking how much happier you would be slimmer or do just make it happen girls :) First thing I recommend before you start is to to take a few pictures and then have a look at some new ones even as little as month after you start and see this difference.. you feel like a new person too ! Just make sure your doing it for you xxxxx

posted May 28th, 2011 9:35 pm


Des

I'm on my 3rd day of the CD. Day 1 was fine. Day 2 all I could think about was food I hardly ever eat - pies, pizza, lasagne. Today I'm a bit better. Still thinking about food, but not as bad as yesterday. Trying to drink lots of water - not easy in winter.

I want to lose 15kg.

posted May 27th, 2011 7:39 am


Andrea M. Kelly

I've used this product before and found it to be one of the greatest things you every could find to aid with weight loss. I would recommend this product to anyone.

posted May 23rd, 2011 3:38 pm


Kate1

Iv been on CD on n off but finally decided to stick by it. Went well from monday to friday but yesterday being a saturday have just hogged on food yesterday n today. Oh god i really wanna shed all this rigid fat. Need mental support n boost. Hey EARTHANGELS we can be buddies. I plan to restart the diet again tommorrow. Btw can anybody pls telk me after how many days will my body reach ketosis

posted May 22nd, 2011 11:43 am


Kate1

Hi i need a partner to boost me for my cd

posted May 22nd, 2011 11:38 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Isopure Shakes, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Cambridge Diet?