Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

35%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 315 reviews
Cambridge Diet

Cambridge Diet Review: Does it Work?

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Cambridge Diet is a weight loss program offering pre-packed meals, counseling, and low calorie meal suggestions. It’s considered a VLCD, which means it’s a very low calorie diet.

One can select between 415 to 1500 calories depending on one’s weight loss goals, gender, and tolerance. Consultants are offered not just to guide, but to recommend what calorie limit one should follow. There have been numerous diets observed by our experts, and the highest rated one has been  the 18Shake Diet. It offers a diet pill and meal replacement that aim to reduce appetite for hours, all while providing fat burning effects with its all natural ingredients. More information about the 18Shake Diet can be seen in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Cambridge DietIngredients and Side Effects

Here are some noteworthy ingredients added to their prepackaged foods:

Skimmed Milk Powder

Maltodextrin

Guar Gum

Refined Fractionated Palm Oil

Acesulfame K

Sucralose

Carrageenan

Flavourings

Dried Glucose Syrup

Silicon Dioxide

Oligofructose

 

Guar Gum:Fiber extract taken from the guar plant. It’s used as a general thickener in processed foods, as well as a laxative.  It can promote side effects that include:

         • Diarrhea, gas, and loose stools.

         • Indigestion, nausea, and stomach pains.

Acesulfame K:Artificial sweetener around 200 times sweeter than standard sugar. A study by PLOS One found that:

“Long-Term Artificial Sweetener Acesulfame Potassium Alters Neurometabolic Functions”

This study showed that in mice there was an effect on insulin and leptin levels.  The same study added:

“chronic use… could affect cognitive functions, potentially via altering neuro-metabolic functions”

It also has shown the potential for other side effects according to a review by the Oxford Journals:

“long-dated function on the adult’s sweet preference”

This study was conducted on mice that were given their mother’s breast milk or amniotic fluid in birth, and their preference for sweets changed.

Sucralose:Artificialsweetener that can be around 1,000 times much sweeter than sugar. It has been used controversially since some studies have shown it to be potentially dangerous. One such study was performed by Duke University and it revealed:

“numerous adverse effects”

“reduction in beneficial fecal microflora, increased fecal pH, and enhancedexpression levels of P-gp”

This means the body considers it a toxin, and it reduces healthy bacteria which helps support the immune system according to this clinical study.

Carrageenan:Thickener and binder extractedfrom red seaweed.The University of Iowa ran a study which showed:

“carcinogenic properties of degraded carrageenan”

“ulcerations and neoplasms in association with exposure to carrageenan”

This has shown the possibility for causing serious issues in the body.

The link provided here has the top 10 ranked diets of the year.

The types of foods offered by the Cambridge Diet are meal replacement shakes, bars, pasta, rice, soups, desserts, and other snacks. According to the official website:

“products contain the vitamins and minerals you need for balanced nutrition and healthy weight loss”

Most of what one eats will be the prepackaged foods. This can make it easier to handle a caloric loss, as the foods are specially formulated to be lower in calories. There are also 6 steps outlined one must follow, though where one begins depends on what the counselor advises. Here are the steps:

• Sole Source: 3 to 4 prepackaged foods are eaten a day. The Sole Source Plus option allows for 3 prepacked goods alongside meal of 200 calories, or 4 of the companies meals with 200 ml of skimmed milk.

• 2nd Stage: Protein rich meals are added as well as some skimmed milk and vegetables alongside up o Cambridge meals. It’s typically limited to 810 calories a day for a week long period.

• 3rd Stage: 2 of the meals, some milk, and a 1,000 calorie a day limit. This is enforced for 2 weeks.

• 4th Stage: 2 prepackaged meals, some skimmed milk, and more regular meals.

• 5th Stage: One Cambridge meal and breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner for a total of 1500 calories.

• 6th Stage: Once your heathy weight is reached, this stage helps maintain results. One prepackaged meal a day is recommended alongside continued support from a consultant.

It’s unclear whether or not the consultants have any background in diet and nutrition. It’s unlikely however that they use real certified dieticians, which can be potentially dangerous or lead to wrong advice. Our experts have analyzed many diets and have ranked the top 10 in the list here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Cambridge Diet Quality of Ingredients

Since the beginning of the program asks for a majority of foods to be selected from the company’s prepackaged foods, it’s important for the ingredients to be wholesome.

Unfortunately, they use artificial sweeteners and cheap thickeners often used to replace fiber. These kinds of additives can actually make weight loss harder, as studies have shown they may cause metabolism disorders as well as other side effects.

It’s also difficult to understand what kind of help is provided by the counselors, which remains to be seen whether or not they are actually certified to give health and nutrition advice.  The link provided here has a list of the highest rated diets.

A review on the Cambridge Diet was performed by the British Dietetic Association, and they have listed possible side effects which include:

“bad breathe, a dry mouth, tiredness, dizziness, insomnia, nausea, and constipation”

They also advise for medical support when a person is to receive less than 600 calories, which some plans offered by the company suggest only 450 calories a day. It’s unclear if the counselors offer any support for this type of reduction in calories.

The Price and Quality of Cambridge Diet

The price depends more on how often once decides to use the prepackaged meals. The official website states it will cost per week 48.30 pounds, which rounds to a weekly price of $63.46. Since this is a UK based plan, no consultations are available outside the US. In fact, on the official site there is a map where support and availability is offered, and there are no listings for the US.

The quality of meals is poor, as the additives included are often found in processed foods. It can also be expensive to have to keep using the company’s foods, as the final stage of maintenance requires one pre-packaged meal a day.

Business of Cambridge Diet

The contact information for the diet is as follows:

Phone Number: (44)(0) 1536 403344

Address:Stafford House, 10 Brakey Road

                   Corby, Northants, NN17 5LU

Email: admind@cambridgeweightplan.co.uk

The official website lists how to become a paid consultant for the company. Nowhere in the job skills is there any notice for people to have a background in health and nutrition. The company only asks for people with a background in sales who are organized and can plan ahead.

This means that it’s likely the people who are meant to give support have no skills in helping people with weight loss. The link cited here has the top 10 ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Cambridge Diet

Here are some direct quotes from user reviews:

“not the best diet health wise… nails went brittle thin, hair began to thin rapidly”

“never felt full, I always felt hungry”

“Having a bad time with motivation”

“the first few days are the hardest”

Though there were some weight loss results for people, there were also issues due to a lack of calories. Many felt weakened, less energetic, and much more fatigued than usual.

Some also had symptoms that are clear signs of nutrient deficiencies such as brittle and weak nails, thin hair, and increased stress. This was often the case for people who attempted this diet. 

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be seeninthe link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Cambridge DietWork?

The Cambridge Diet is similar to other diet plans which offer pre-packaged foods. There’s also counseling offered, but it’s clear that the support is from people who are more business people rather than nutrition experts. Many of the foods offered have processed ingredients, though they are low in calories. Reviews have been mixed with some experiencing health issues and hunger. Though a low calorie plan like this can work, any reduction in calories can result in weight loss. There’s nothing special added to the prepackaged foods which isn’t found in a standard processed meal.

Our experts have performed many reviews and have discovered that the most effective diet is the 18Shake Diet. It provides a combination of a meal replacement and a diet pill. They both provide only natural ingredients, no stimulants, and no unwanted artificial or additives. Its effects include appetite suppression, increased fat burning, and more. When used together it enhances weight loss at a faster rate. Customers have also left positive testimonials on the official website.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back guarantee. This allows for people to try this product risk free, and with no questions asked. More information about the specifics of the 18Shake Diet is available here.

How Does Cambridge Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Cambridge Diet
  • 35 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 59, 1167 total comments)

anne

+

hi all....as i wanted to lose a stone for an special occasion....i went on the C D .In a week i lost 8lbs ...i just feel great and very motiviated.recommend to any one

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 4:04 am


Monica

couldnt wait so i weighed myself today .. and I've lost 6½ pounds so far ... oh what joy .. I even look smaller :) back later with an update ...

posted Apr 1st, 2009 9:20 am


Monica

Morning All .. I'm BACCKKKKKKK .. LOL .. yes I know what I said before about CD being expensive every two weeks BUT I've made some sacrifices and I'm now back on it. I've realised that I cannot continue the way I have been and this seems like the best way forward *better the devil you know and all that*. I started CD on Saturday and I can honestly say I'm trying my best to keep focused on what I'm doing.

Got weighed and had put back on ½ stone (not happy!) so there ya go .. this proves that I'm either a greedy git and have no willpower or the scales were wrong .. hmmm, I wonder which it is :)

I'll update in two weeks time .. or sooner if I feel like venting ..

*waves bye*

posted Mar 30th, 2009 4:14 am


jane

+

hi every one - have been on cd since april last year and have now lost 6 and a half stones. I do two shakes, and a healthy meal in the evening - this means i can still socialise by eating out whenever i want to - i just order fish/chicken with vegetables or salad. The benefits are fantastic - i feel i have much more energy, and have now found that i LOVE walking (before i would take the car a few hunred yards down the road!!). Still have 3 and a half stone to loose to my target weight, but this time, i can actually see light at the end of the tunnel, and hopefully i will achieve this goal before my summer holiday in august. Good luck to you all - and keep up the good work - YOU ARE WORTH IT!!!

posted Mar 29th, 2009 6:39 am


Rachb26

+

hi all im new to this site but it seems the place for motivation lol!! i started the cd last thursday and had had my first weigh in today.... i lost 8 1/4lb!! i was REALLY HAPPY as i had a slip up over the weekend and went out and had a few vodkas!! lol

i find this diet great it seems to work but it takes a lot of will power, especially as my boyfriend is a lover of chinese food! but im going to stick to it as im going on holiday to Dubai in September and i want to lose 5 stones!!

good luck all

Rach xx

posted Mar 26th, 2009 1:15 pm


braz

Hi everyone!
I've started the CD 21 days ago, after a great first week (lost 2,5 kg) suddenly statred lacking energy and consequently lapsing. As a result - last 2 weeks - no change. Still feeling motivated to continue, really want to lose about 3 stones by summer. Any tips on how to speed up the process and to resist "one-off slips" that could spoil the whole week? Thank you and good luck to everybody who is doing it!

posted Mar 26th, 2009 11:17 am


Monica

@ Ishi .. well done on the weight loss .. but .. I'm not sure that you should be having the porridge, two shakes and then a meal .. that's not the objective of CD (I think) .. shouldnt it be the porridge, a shake and another shake for the evening or a meal in the evening? Please check it out. The gym does help speed up the weight loss though but I'm sure you shouldnt be doing that until probably the third week as the first two weeks is just liquid intake and you will probably burn more calories than you are taking in .. again .. check it out.

Good luck

posted Mar 26th, 2009 8:55 am



ISHi

Hi ive started the CD 9 days ago at 15.5 stones. I am now 14.11 st. I am drinkin my 3 litres of water every day but still feel so tired. My target is to reach to 13st. I have made a few changes. I will be starting the Gym in a few days and currently I am having the CD porridge in the morning along with 2 shakes and a meal in the evenin of complex carbs protein based with wholemeal tortillo lol... instead of just dropping the wieght i have decided ton use CD products to benefit from the nutrition and also work out in the gym to tone up...am I doin the right thing? please advise anyone?????? thanx!!

posted Mar 26th, 2009 6:26 am


sarah82

+

Hi everyone. I'm finding reading the comments is very helpful to me. I started the sole source on Tuesday and 2 days in I'm 7lb lighter, so good luck to everyone doing it, yes it is hard but it really does work I promise you

posted Mar 26th, 2009 6:05 am


Helen M

+

Back on the CD. I lost just short of 2 stones before Christmas last year. I was back within a healthy BMI and although would have liked to have lost another stone, I called it a day because it was Christmas. Despite eating really well through Christmas and January, I did not really put any weight on other than a fluctuating pound or two. Then, disaster, I went ski-ing. Was eating loads of nice food and although I never put on more than a couple of pounds on holiday, I just could not stop eating when I got home and suddenly I had put a stone back on. I am back on diet since yesterday and am 3lb lighter this morning. I drank diet coke yesterday, I know you are not supposed to but I just needed it. Does anyone else drink diet coke out there whilst on it. Has it slowed you down. This time I am on it until I do get down to what I want to be so that is 1 stone 11lb away, as of today. This site kept me going last time and I hope it will do the same this time. Good Luck everyone. Helen M

posted Mar 24th, 2009 5:41 am


Simone

i am on my first day of the diet today and finding it okay so far, i guess i wont be thinking that come day 3, lol. anyway so good to hear other people's success stories and hope i will be able to add mine as well in the future :-)

posted Mar 23rd, 2009 5:41 am


aqsa

Hi,
i had my ist weigh yesterday and i lost 1..5 kg in week.This resulat is not according to my expectaion but atleast i lost something

posted Mar 20th, 2009 5:22 am


Monica

Ok .. havent posted in a while, that's b/c i've not been good. I've managed to lose over a stone (but that's since November last year - and keep it off) and I have not been strict at all with this. I just find the whole thing v expensive. I live by myself so I know for sure I wouldnt be spending £75 every two weeks on food anyway - this amount of money each month is madness .. yes it works but so would Slimfast if i did it the CD way religiously. I'm not saying I dont like this way but I just find the whole process expensive.

I'm going on holiday in July and really want to lose about another 2 stones.

Maybe diet and exercise might work (just not as fast) ...

n e ways .. i'll let you know how i get on in the next few weeks!

posted Mar 17th, 2009 1:17 pm


aqsa

Hi Fiona K ,

How you are doing?How much you lost in total.I always get inspiration from u.

posted Mar 17th, 2009 10:14 am


Aileen

Hi All
Ive started the CD today and Im on 3 shakes a day. Its now 6pm and Ive had my last one.. help!! I need to loose 6 stone to be at my happiest. I have a big chariety night out in two weeks time that I will be going to and will have to eat (its black tie) so I cant sit with everyone at the table and have a shake!!!! Just wondering how to handle the day after and any other advise on it. Keep telling myself that this wont be for long.......


posted Mar 13th, 2009 1:59 pm


nilly

-

hey everyone i have now been on cambridge for 6 weeks.

although its very good. but i am absolutely starving.

i really crave for my indian curry or a piece of toast or a bar of chocolate.

fair enoug youre not aloowed to have conventional foods its worth it in the end.

but its just so much torture i have cried so many times. but i knwo it will be worth it in the end. so i will be keeing up with the regime.

anyway all the best to people who do wana go ahead with it. but one thing i must state is you have to have an immense amount of will power and determination to stay on this diet for long.

posted Mar 9th, 2009 3:08 pm


aqsa

Hi samiam ,
I am from pakistan but i live in UK.I am using this diet.its hard to stick to it.As you know family Culture.My husband want to put on weight and i want to loose.I am coming back home ist time after my marraige.I have to lose 3 stone.

posted Mar 9th, 2009 11:38 am


cheekygops

+

Hi to everyone. I now going onto week 5 of ss, all going well! Have lost 21lbs in four weeks, have had some bad cravings but I now know its emotional hunger!! Keep going everyone. After so many failed attempts have got my head and determination in the right place.
Keep strong, does work and is worth it. keep you updated. x

posted Mar 9th, 2009 6:40 am


samiam

day one of ss after a week of 2 shakes and a meal. almost raided the fridge then told myself to go online, thank god for this site, i just got my motivation back and now it ss all the way. I have to lose 5 stone i think thats about 70 lbs and i really need this support site as i live in Pakistan and bought my shakes back from dubai so i don't have a local counselor, though i do have a doctor. any advise on how often i should way myself. i lost 2.5 kg last week. love reading all the posts xx

posted Mar 7th, 2009 10:21 am


Ellen

+

Early days for me - this is my third day on CD, but so far so good. I think l'll find it more difficult at the weekend.

posted Mar 5th, 2009 6:18 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Isopure Shakes, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Cambridge Diet?