Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

35%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 315 reviews
Cambridge Diet

Cambridge Diet Review: Does it Work?

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Cambridge Diet is a weight loss program offering pre-packed meals, counseling, and low calorie meal suggestions. It’s considered a VLCD, which means it’s a very low calorie diet.

One can select between 415 to 1500 calories depending on one’s weight loss goals, gender, and tolerance. Consultants are offered not just to guide, but to recommend what calorie limit one should follow. There have been numerous diets observed by our experts, and the highest rated one has been  the 18Shake Diet. It offers a diet pill and meal replacement that aim to reduce appetite for hours, all while providing fat burning effects with its all natural ingredients. More information about the 18Shake Diet can be seen in the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Cambridge DietIngredients and Side Effects

Here are some noteworthy ingredients added to their prepackaged foods:

Skimmed Milk Powder

Maltodextrin

Guar Gum

Refined Fractionated Palm Oil

Acesulfame K

Sucralose

Carrageenan

Flavourings

Dried Glucose Syrup

Silicon Dioxide

Oligofructose

 

Guar Gum:Fiber extract taken from the guar plant. It’s used as a general thickener in processed foods, as well as a laxative.  It can promote side effects that include:

         • Diarrhea, gas, and loose stools.

         • Indigestion, nausea, and stomach pains.

Acesulfame K:Artificial sweetener around 200 times sweeter than standard sugar. A study by PLOS One found that:

“Long-Term Artificial Sweetener Acesulfame Potassium Alters Neurometabolic Functions”

This study showed that in mice there was an effect on insulin and leptin levels.  The same study added:

“chronic use… could affect cognitive functions, potentially via altering neuro-metabolic functions”

It also has shown the potential for other side effects according to a review by the Oxford Journals:

“long-dated function on the adult’s sweet preference”

This study was conducted on mice that were given their mother’s breast milk or amniotic fluid in birth, and their preference for sweets changed.

Sucralose:Artificialsweetener that can be around 1,000 times much sweeter than sugar. It has been used controversially since some studies have shown it to be potentially dangerous. One such study was performed by Duke University and it revealed:

“numerous adverse effects”

“reduction in beneficial fecal microflora, increased fecal pH, and enhancedexpression levels of P-gp”

This means the body considers it a toxin, and it reduces healthy bacteria which helps support the immune system according to this clinical study.

Carrageenan:Thickener and binder extractedfrom red seaweed.The University of Iowa ran a study which showed:

“carcinogenic properties of degraded carrageenan”

“ulcerations and neoplasms in association with exposure to carrageenan”

This has shown the possibility for causing serious issues in the body.

The link provided here has the top 10 ranked diets of the year.

The types of foods offered by the Cambridge Diet are meal replacement shakes, bars, pasta, rice, soups, desserts, and other snacks. According to the official website:

“products contain the vitamins and minerals you need for balanced nutrition and healthy weight loss”

Most of what one eats will be the prepackaged foods. This can make it easier to handle a caloric loss, as the foods are specially formulated to be lower in calories. There are also 6 steps outlined one must follow, though where one begins depends on what the counselor advises. Here are the steps:

• Sole Source: 3 to 4 prepackaged foods are eaten a day. The Sole Source Plus option allows for 3 prepacked goods alongside meal of 200 calories, or 4 of the companies meals with 200 ml of skimmed milk.

• 2nd Stage: Protein rich meals are added as well as some skimmed milk and vegetables alongside up o Cambridge meals. It’s typically limited to 810 calories a day for a week long period.

• 3rd Stage: 2 of the meals, some milk, and a 1,000 calorie a day limit. This is enforced for 2 weeks.

• 4th Stage: 2 prepackaged meals, some skimmed milk, and more regular meals.

• 5th Stage: One Cambridge meal and breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner for a total of 1500 calories.

• 6th Stage: Once your heathy weight is reached, this stage helps maintain results. One prepackaged meal a day is recommended alongside continued support from a consultant.

It’s unclear whether or not the consultants have any background in diet and nutrition. It’s unlikely however that they use real certified dieticians, which can be potentially dangerous or lead to wrong advice. Our experts have analyzed many diets and have ranked the top 10 in the list here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Cambridge Diet Quality of Ingredients

Since the beginning of the program asks for a majority of foods to be selected from the company’s prepackaged foods, it’s important for the ingredients to be wholesome.

Unfortunately, they use artificial sweeteners and cheap thickeners often used to replace fiber. These kinds of additives can actually make weight loss harder, as studies have shown they may cause metabolism disorders as well as other side effects.

It’s also difficult to understand what kind of help is provided by the counselors, which remains to be seen whether or not they are actually certified to give health and nutrition advice.  The link provided here has a list of the highest rated diets.

A review on the Cambridge Diet was performed by the British Dietetic Association, and they have listed possible side effects which include:

“bad breathe, a dry mouth, tiredness, dizziness, insomnia, nausea, and constipation”

They also advise for medical support when a person is to receive less than 600 calories, which some plans offered by the company suggest only 450 calories a day. It’s unclear if the counselors offer any support for this type of reduction in calories.

The Price and Quality of Cambridge Diet

The price depends more on how often once decides to use the prepackaged meals. The official website states it will cost per week 48.30 pounds, which rounds to a weekly price of $63.46. Since this is a UK based plan, no consultations are available outside the US. In fact, on the official site there is a map where support and availability is offered, and there are no listings for the US.

The quality of meals is poor, as the additives included are often found in processed foods. It can also be expensive to have to keep using the company’s foods, as the final stage of maintenance requires one pre-packaged meal a day.

Business of Cambridge Diet

The contact information for the diet is as follows:

Phone Number: (44)(0) 1536 403344

Address:Stafford House, 10 Brakey Road

                   Corby, Northants, NN17 5LU

Email: admind@cambridgeweightplan.co.uk

The official website lists how to become a paid consultant for the company. Nowhere in the job skills is there any notice for people to have a background in health and nutrition. The company only asks for people with a background in sales who are organized and can plan ahead.

This means that it’s likely the people who are meant to give support have no skills in helping people with weight loss. The link cited here has the top 10 ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Cambridge Diet

Here are some direct quotes from user reviews:

“not the best diet health wise… nails went brittle thin, hair began to thin rapidly”

“never felt full, I always felt hungry”

“Having a bad time with motivation”

“the first few days are the hardest”

Though there were some weight loss results for people, there were also issues due to a lack of calories. Many felt weakened, less energetic, and much more fatigued than usual.

Some also had symptoms that are clear signs of nutrient deficiencies such as brittle and weak nails, thin hair, and increased stress. This was often the case for people who attempted this diet. 

The top 10 ranked diet plans can be seeninthe link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Cambridge DietWork?

The Cambridge Diet is similar to other diet plans which offer pre-packaged foods. There’s also counseling offered, but it’s clear that the support is from people who are more business people rather than nutrition experts. Many of the foods offered have processed ingredients, though they are low in calories. Reviews have been mixed with some experiencing health issues and hunger. Though a low calorie plan like this can work, any reduction in calories can result in weight loss. There’s nothing special added to the prepackaged foods which isn’t found in a standard processed meal.

Our experts have performed many reviews and have discovered that the most effective diet is the 18Shake Diet. It provides a combination of a meal replacement and a diet pill. They both provide only natural ingredients, no stimulants, and no unwanted artificial or additives. Its effects include appetite suppression, increased fat burning, and more. When used together it enhances weight loss at a faster rate. Customers have also left positive testimonials on the official website.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back guarantee. This allows for people to try this product risk free, and with no questions asked. More information about the specifics of the 18Shake Diet is available here.

How Does Cambridge Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Cambridge Diet
  • 35 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 16 of 59, 1167 total comments)

gemss

+

started weights watchers before the cambridge diet in jan08 and only lost 14 pound in 5 months. started cambridge diet in july and have lost 3 and half stone. The cambridge diet has really changed my life. although i found the first 3 days hard the weight loss soon took over. I have one day off a week on weigh day. eat what i fancy but i don't go mad. The weight still comes of at least 3 pound a weeks. The weight would come of quicker if i didn't cheat but it helps me get through the week something to look forward to. for me 3 pound a week is excellent considering I have Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome have tried every diet and this is the first to really work for me.


.

posted Nov 24th, 2008 6:38 pm


eve

+

best diet i have been on, its also taught me to eat healthy and can still have my choc.

posted Nov 23rd, 2008 4:33 pm


jane

+

hi - started this diet in may 08. have now lost 5st 5lb, and finally feel as if i am getting my life back, althoug i still have a long way to go.

posted Nov 22nd, 2008 6:26 am


Helen M

+

Thought my weight had stuck last Sunday. No movement on the scales for three days, then suddenly lost a pound a day for two days and then two pounds today. That means 11 lb last week and 4 lb so far this week. Have actually started replacing one of my packs with a tin of tuna fish, just so I had something to eat that was quite normal. Does not seem to have done any harm. Have continued to swim every morning and am now back up to my usual speed. Also this week started doing 20 mins a night on my rowing machine, and seemed ok. However, went for a walk with my dogs tonight over hills I would usually walk over with no trouble. I was absolutely whacked when I got home. ever mind, can't have it every way. Still intending to stick with it for another 3 weeks in the hope I will lose my remaining 12 lb. Good luck everyone.

posted Nov 21st, 2008 1:07 pm


vicki

+

Has any one used this diet while going to the gym, as love the gym but want faster results than weight watchers.

posted Nov 21st, 2008 9:34 am


PInky

+

It worked so well for me ... i didnt ever think i could lose 2 stones in 4 weeks

posted Nov 20th, 2008 11:41 am


joan

+

fantastic diet so fast i lost 10 pounds first week bloody brilliant i ve lost 5 stone my councillor jenni is brilliant and I live in warwick and she covers that area i love this diet and recommend it

posted Nov 20th, 2008 11:28 am


lesley

+

Have been on it since the 1st July and lost 4stone... I have tried them all but this one fits into my life and works... You will only put the weight on if you go back to old habits.. A diet is a change of lifestyle.

posted Nov 20th, 2008 11:14 am


Sara

+

Hi,

i am so much worried about my weight.Is there any body help to tell that can i loose 4 stone 3 months?



my fat is in my mid and uper section.My height is very 5:0 ft and i am carrying 85 kg wieght.





is there any body has experince to loose that much in 3 months.

posted Nov 20th, 2008 9:52 am


LOOPYLAU

+

Hi all... just had a quick read of allyour reviews and comments and really find these a boost! MELLY... keep up the good work, its hard i know, but dont let the kebab get the better of you!!!! Its defo worth it in the end! Im now on wk 10 after weigh in last night (lost a further 4 lbs) Have now lost in total 2 stone! I have to admit, im not sticking to it everyday, specially wkend, but stil lseem to be losing an average of 3-4 lbs a wk! So even tho i have a sneaky chinese takeout, cheese, wine, bread, chrisps and all the nice things... stick to it in the day and still lose!!!!!! So a treat every now and then cant hurt!!!!! Feel it makes me want to stuck with the C/D diet even more, as a treat every now and then is nice!
Well... keep up the good work everyone & i shall report again soon!!!!! xx

posted Nov 20th, 2008 8:54 am


Lindsey

+

Helen M i lost 15lbs in my 1st 2 weeks but after a month i slowed down a bit but after 4 and a half months of being on the diet im on track ive lost 4st 6lbs ive took a bit of time out i.e my birthday weekend my husbands birthday weekend and i put away 2 - 3 bottles of wine every saturday i think its great going!!!!

posted Nov 19th, 2008 4:40 pm


Lindsey

+

I started this diet in the middle of july i have now lost 4st 6lbs i think this diet is great. Does any one have any exiciting things to do with the shakes as i dont really like the soups i already put 2 trays of ice cubes in the shakes (blender) it makes them like slush puppies yum!!
When my councillor has bin on a saturday i binge out then go for a good work out sunday swimming and the gym!!!!

posted Nov 19th, 2008 4:30 pm


melly

+

Ok I am on my second day of the ss I need to lose quiet alot of weight and i have tried everything else. I got health problems so losing weight is a must now. Day 1 was not that hard but today i am dying for a kebab lol. But I think of it like this being on this diet will give me the chance to re-evaluate my eatting habbits. I am only 23 I think i should get it right from now so my health does not become worse.


So I am stickin at it I dont really like the shakes but the porridge and soups are nice. I am lookin forward to see what i have lost on monday. So until then.


Mx

posted Nov 19th, 2008 10:53 am


calli

+

Sounds like you are all doing really well....

i am back on track now and on day 3 and feel great...had a blip and ended up soradiclly picking carbs and sweets over the past couple of weeks...still managed to lose but maybe not as much as i could have....really motivated now...even more so as my mum has just started it....suprisingly she is doing really well especially as she is diabetic!!

keep up the good work..

calli xxx

posted Nov 19th, 2008 7:01 am


ruth

+

Hi there started this diet 6 weeks ago had my weighin yesterday and i have 3 pond to go before i have lost 2 stone that will be by next week. so 7 weeks lost 2 stone and 7 inch's of my waist really happy. I want to loose another 2 stone by christmas it can be done if you stick at it and not cheat as i always say you are only cheating yourself and spending all that money out.. well done everyonexxxx

posted Nov 19th, 2008 6:17 am


Emsy

+

I started the Cambridge diet last Wednesday. I am following the Sole Source programme. I had my first weigh in today, and have lost 7lbs in 6 days !

Only another 2 and a half stone to go...



To add to the coke zero debate - My counsellor had also advised me that I could have coke zero - I have been having either one or two cans a day. It certainly hasn't affected my weight loss, and I am definately in ketosis - just checked with a ketostix, and the colour was between the two darkest shades.

posted Nov 18th, 2008 8:14 am


MiniDee

+

Helen M, it was 5 weeks and I interval trained 3 times a week and exercised a total of 5 days (especially PowerPlating and pilates). Energy was difficult at first, but I continued gently. There were times I had to eat carbs and come out of ketosis to fuel the training, but then went into ketosis very quickly again. I lost 13 lbs in the first week. And then an average of 4 lbs a week. I treated the whole experience like 'fat' club! When I was on SS, I had my 1st drink at 11am which help stave off hunger. I found if I was peckish after gym, I'd have decaff coffee which helped. Good luck.

posted Nov 18th, 2008 4:25 am


Snowy

+

I had my first weigh in on Friday, I started the diet on Monday and have lost 8lb in 5 days!! And 6 inches off so I am pleased. People have started to notice as well now. My husband is away on business, I cant wait for him to come back and see the difference.

I did however make the mistake of being really weak and rubbish and eating half a jacket potatoe on Saturday, take it from me that it is not adviseable as i was very sick afterwards. I am not tempted to eat anything now!! I am starving though :-(

But on a more positive note, i havent got achey legs and knees anymore :-) and I am still going strong on week 2 of sole source.

Keep going you guys, it will be worth it.

Snowy x

posted Nov 17th, 2008 8:16 am


scw

+

2nd week of being good and lost 3lb, so thats 5lb in two weeks, if I can do the same ech week, I will have lost 1 stone by Christmas, which will make 3 1/2 stone in total. NOT BAD HEY.
I find drinking hot water warms me up now it is getting colder, try it...

posted Nov 16th, 2008 8:30 am


Helen M

+

Snowy - I had really achy legs for a couple of days (day 2/3 I think) but it went and am now OK and have got my energy back.

Mini Dee - I am amazed you lost 2 stone in a month and were not that overweight. I have lost 11lb since last Monday and would really like to shift another stone before Christmas. This would bring me back within healthy BMI Range. I was doubting I could do it, but having seen that you did 2 stone in a month then maybe I can do it. Was there anything special that you did. I swim just over a kilometre every morning and usually do lots of other exercise. I was so tired first few days that I just did not want to attempt pushing myself further than the swimming and risk losing motivation. Has anyone else been able to loose 2 stone that quickly.

Also, I am finding that freezing some of the bars (toffee) in little cubes, gives me a little treat. I can pretend it's a sweet!!

posted Nov 16th, 2008 8:19 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, Isopure Shakes, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, 21 Pounds in 21 Days

Whats better than
Cambridge Diet?