Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

93%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 290 reviews

Cambridge Diet

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com


Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 16 of 58, 1148 total comments)

Helen M

Snowy - I had really achy legs for a couple of days (day 2/3 I think) but it went and am now OK and have got my energy back.

Mini Dee - I am amazed you lost 2 stone in a month and were not that overweight. I have lost 11lb since last Monday and would really like to shift another stone before Christmas. This would bring me back within healthy BMI Range. I was doubting I could do it, but having seen that you did 2 stone in a month then maybe I can do it. Was there anything special that you did. I swim just over a kilometre every morning and usually do lots of other exercise. I was so tired first few days that I just did not want to attempt pushing myself further than the swimming and risk losing motivation. Has anyone else been able to loose 2 stone that quickly.

Also, I am finding that freezing some of the bars (toffee) in little cubes, gives me a little treat. I can pretend it's a sweet!!

posted Nov 16th, 2008 8:19 am


Gail

Day 12 and I have lost 13 llb! plus 10.5 inches. I started at 15,11 and am aimming to get under 14 stone for Xmas. yes its really hard a first - day 3/4 i could have given up but I did not and how pleased am I now? I now dont feel hungry at all and my big fat tummy is going down each day. Drink the water and buy blender. This will work - no pain no gain - keep at it - it feels great!!!

posted Nov 16th, 2008 4:22 am


Snowy

I have been on the diet, sole source for 4 days, not a single sausage has passed my lips and feel fine. I went to swap some of my shakes on day 2, got on CD ladies scales and had lost 6lb in 2 days.
This is a last resort for me, I have done WW, Slimming World and Rosemary Conelly and losing 1lb a week just isn't enough for me. I desperately want to have another child, but don't want to be this size when I fall pregnant and I am so determined to lose some weight. My son is 9 and when I fell pregnant with him I was a size 12. Now I am a size 18/20 and I just cant bare to imagine what I would look and feel like if I was pregnant!! Doctor told me I am ok to keep trying for a baby and shouldnt not try because of my weight, its just me worrying.
Has anyone else experienced achey knees and legs on this diet?? I got told it was something to do with toxins. Hope it passes though.
I have my first official weigh in tommorrow.
Good luck to all.
Snowy

posted Nov 13th, 2008 5:10 pm


jenni

eh coke zero is not allowed any more so ya councellor is wrong so tell ya councellor she needs to update her self about that one pmpl

posted Nov 13th, 2008 2:23 pm


P@ul@

my 1st week on the cd, previously done lighter life 2yrs ago nd lost 3st in 12wks and im pleased 2 say i kept 2st of i put 1st on ov the 2yrs so im now trying this and i cant believe ive lost 9 POUNDS in a week, im well pleased, im not a soup person im more for the shakes, i like the porrige but wat i do is i put a spoon full ov my chocolate shake in with the porridge it just gives it a betta taste i also hav tried it with a spoon full ov banana nd that was nice to, but every 1s tastes r different but hope it mite help sum people every1 keep up the gud work XXX

posted Nov 13th, 2008 1:31 pm


Ella

Started the Cambridge Diet on Tuesday.
So far finding it is trial and error with the sachets. Had the porridge - it was OK, but a little gloopy. Could not eat the Spicy Tomato flavour soup (I normally love tomato soup) - and ended up throwing it away because it tasted very chemically and did not blend well. The Chicken & Mushroom soup is OK - tarted it up a little with some dried herbs and black pepper - and also gave it a really good blend with a hand blender (finding a blender is a must-have on this diet). Very happy to have found the Chocolate Mint shake (my friend recommended this one) - it doesn't have a nasty aftertaste, and is actually quite tasty. Have been making sure I have enough liquids - have replaced my old "Tea white with one" with Black Coffee and a no-cal sweetner tablet. Also allowing myself a can of Coke Zero (I am told by my counsellor this is allowed !). So far so good - feel fine - a little bit hungry, but that should pass soon when I get in full swing ! So looking forward to loosing weight. My friend is in her 8th week, and she has lost 2 stone already. I have about 3 stone to lose - but ideally would like to lose a little bit more, and then reintroduce healthy smaller portions, and keep my wine intake just for treats ! First weigh in on Tuesday...

posted Nov 13th, 2008 4:32 am


calli

oooooooh!!!!! just had the strawberry tetra brick (ready mixed carton) for breakfast...... it was disgusting! had this really funny taste and left an aftertaste in my mouth.....

think i will stick to the sachets.....

posted Nov 13th, 2008 2:28 am


calli

Had my third weigh in yesterday and have lost another 6lbs....and another 5 inches.....fantastic......this is the best result from an eating plan that i have ever had....normally i would lose lbs but i am losing both and the comments i am getting is really mood boosting and motivational.......

It is definately worth sticking to so keep going....

on target for another dress size before christmas...wooohooo!!!!

posted Nov 13th, 2008 2:22 am


mick

ME AND MY WIFE ARE CURRENTLY ON DAY 3 AND UNBELIEVABLY ARE STILL MARRIED! VERY HARD AT THE MOMENT MISSING FOOD A LOT.I THINK IT HELPS DOING THIS TOGETHER .LIKE EVERYONE ELSE,WE'RE FINDING DRINKING SO MUCH WATER REALY DIFFICULT.

posted Nov 12th, 2008 4:33 pm


Monica

..so I weighed myself today (cant wait until next week .. too excited) and found that I've lost 81/2 pounds since SUNDAY!!! I'm not hungry (cheated a little) but still have managed to lose that much!! Roll on next week. Still hate the porridge though!!!

posted Nov 12th, 2008 4:18 pm


Donna

Hey-
So, I have started a personal challenge for the next 3 weeks...this is day 2! I am on sole source- 4 packs a day- and want to lose at least a stone within 3 weeks! I am currently in Canada and brought all my packs with me from London....and want to really kick it up a notch.
I really love the shakes (which I always turn into mousse) and really enjoy the chicken and mushroom soup...but, would love some ideas on what you guys do to spice this diet up!
QUESTION:
Does anyone have any special tricks/recipies to make the food taste better/make you fuller?

I know a girl who microwaves her shakes to make a 'muffin' and her soups to make 'stuffing'.....but, I'm looking for something else. Any suggestions would be great- even if it's combinations- like...banana and chocolate shakes mixed are TASTEY! half pack each and you're all set :)
I'm really going to try to stick to sole source for 3 solid weeks. I am so close to my goal and want to reach it soon! wish me luck and please send me your recipies/ideas :)

Donna

posted Nov 12th, 2008 1:50 pm


MiniDee

Dear Missy

I am so sorry that you have a bad experience with this diet and you are expecting abuse. Everyone's opinion is subjective. You probably get more abuse from the High Street retailers with their size 6-8 mannequins in the windows or from the magazines with their airbrushed models on the covers. Personally, I diet because I want to be in good health to see my children grow. If I am totally honest, I also diet to look good. Some people need a regimented approach like the Cambridge whereas some people are happy to keep to a diet and exerc ise plan even if the weighloss is slower. I wish you luck in losing your weight. Personally I have lost 2 stone on this diet in a month and I am well within my BMI. I exercise out of habit but followed the Cambridge after the birth of my 4th child to make sure I fitted into my pre-pregnancy clothes ( size 8) again. Best of luck, xx

posted Nov 12th, 2008 1:48 pm


Helen M

Reading everyone elses comments is keeping me motivated. I am trying to lose a stone and a half before Christmas and am now entering my third day, having done two days "sole source". The scales seem to show a loss of 6lb in two days which is fabulous. A friends sister has lost just over a stone in two weeks, so the pain is worth it. I was so hungry last night that I was tempted to "lick the spoon" of the dogs food I was preparing, but managed to resist.! Hunger seems worse in the evening so am going to bed really early. Next morning, it does not seem so bad. I am hoping if I can get through a week sole source, I will have got used to it and will stick with it.

posted Nov 12th, 2008 3:51 am


Mya

Hey I started the diet last Wednesday, had my first weigh in today which was great i lost 6lbs and an inch of my waiste.I'm on the sole source, it's not that bad as i thought, the shakes are really nice but i really do not like the soups. The first couple of days were difficult, i thought about cheating a couple of times but i stopped and looked at myself in the mirror and thought noooooooo i don't want to be this size anymore. I have 4stones to lose before next year. I'm doing this diet as i am getting married and i want to look stunning so if i continue losing this much each week, i will reach my goal in no time. For all those people who are thinking about doing the diet, i definitely recommend it but you have to really stick to it. My counsellor said the key to lose alot of weight is to drink a lot of water,the more you drink the more you lose. Hopefully next Tuesday i have more good news so i will keep you posted for all those that are interested. Mwah

posted Nov 11th, 2008 6:37 pm


chris

have through day 2 ok finding it hard to drink so much water



so far so good

posted Nov 11th, 2008 3:24 pm


sally ann

Hi everyone!

i started this diet a 6 weeks ago and dropped 10lbs which was fantastic until i went on holidays........and just did the dog on it, not at all impressed with myself because the weight is creeping up again. iv moved back home with my parents so the idea of "no thanks mum im not eating real food only allowed 3 shakes to eat per day" is not going to go down too well. whats the best alternative on the diet before the xmas rush? everything is up in a heap between being living at home and trying to avoid dinners & breakfasts and then going staying with my boyfriends at weekends...........OH FOR THE SINGLE LIVING ON YOUR OWN LIFE!! help me please!

posted Nov 11th, 2008 3:06 pm


calli

Help!!! have just had a row with my 10 yr old who has such an attitude at the moment he has wound me up like a coil and i have wound up so much emotionally ....i raided the biscuit tin......feel really bad now...does anybody else go through similar prblems...could really do with a pick me up.......how d you deal with them while on cd!!!!

posted Nov 11th, 2008 2:56 pm


Sonia Evans

Started the diet last week wednesday. Have been feeling very ill with the flu- but trying my hardest to keep on track. This morning I was sick everywhere and had bad tummy pains. I'm also finding it hard to drink so much water- only had 500lms today. I will try to change my hadit drastically. Today has been the only day that I have had soup. I'm on 3 shakes a day. Some people have commended that I look like i've lost weight- actuly i have 6lbs. I now have under 3 stones to go.



Trying to stay focused and want to make long term changes in my life. This has already started I've been to a party over the weekend and only had a couple of veg, coupled with the fact that I do not touch the junk that is offered in the office- I love body too much to spoil it now!

posted Nov 11th, 2008 1:52 pm


Nadine

I have started this diet on and off for a while now!! But I am getting married on May 2nd and I determined to get down by 4 to 5 stones. Do you think this will be possible. I cant wait to see the results but I always feel strong at the beginning and then seem to falter after a couple of days. Then think well I have already failed so why keep trying!! I am really trying to do this not just for my sake but for my daughters as well!!!

posted Nov 10th, 2008 5:22 pm


SophieAnne

hello everyone -
well finished my first week!
I lost 6.5 pounds! woop!
So...on wednesday, I found not eating too tough, so i've introduced two shakes a day and a meal consisting of either chicken/fish/vegatables/steak.
So - it proves, that even with the meal - it still does work well.
Am I wrong in saying, that alot of people of this website are aiming too loose over at least 3 stone?
I'm not ashamed to say, currently i'm 5'5 and weigh 12st 3...and looking too shift this two stone. I've been advised that i am still quite small to be on this diet..so i'm doing it in total for 3 weeks and heading back to weight watchers. (where I previously lost 1st 7pounds in 6 months)
I'd really love to hear other peoples weight and their experiences...I find this website very uplifting!!
xo

posted Nov 10th, 2008 2:42 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account