Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

93%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 290 reviews

Cambridge Diet

A liquid diet that may be too calorie restrictive for long-term success.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

With new diets hitting the market faster than we can lose a pound, it is not too often that you stumble upon a diet that has been around for more than 20 years. The Cambridge Diet has proudly clocked some years under its svelte belt. Developed in the 80s, it still enjoys a very loyal and passionate audience of dieters who have been successful at losing weight and keeping it off.

It is a liquid diet program that involves drinking 3 servings of the signature Cambridge Diet formula each day with or without food. The three servings provide you with protein (either 30 or 50 grams), carbohydrates, fat, fiber and your daily-required vitamin and mineral allowances.

About ten years ago, the Cambridge Diet added an additional product to their 330 Original Product. The 420 Food for Life product contains 100% of the required daily protein needs in 3 servings whereas the 330 Product contains 75% of the required protein. The protein source comes from whey and soy. Both of them are nutritional supplements that do not contain drugs, medicine, stimulants or herbs.

There are four ways for you to follow the Cambridge Diet: - The Fast Track: Consume 3-4 servings of Cambridge a day and no additional food. - The Alternate Program: Use 3-4 servings of Cambridge for one day with no food and then the following day, consume 3 servings of Cambridge with the addition of 400-800 calories of low fat, low calorie health food. Continue to alternate in this manner. - The Regular Program: Eat 3 servings of Cambridge 15- 20 minutes prior to each low calorie meal. Calories should not exceed 400-800 for the entire day. - The Regular Program 2: Consume 3 servings of Cambridge and eat one meal of low calorie food each day. Calories should not exceed 400- 800 calories for the entire day.

PRO
  • Cambridge Diet contains all the essential nutrients
  • Has a proven success rate
  • Safe for diabetics and those with high blood pressure
CON
  • Its limited consumption of food may incite excessive eating
  • May be too calorically-restrictive for some individuals
  • Does not teach you to eat in a healthy and long-term way
  • Long-term weight loss may not be sustained
  • Calories might be too restrictive for exercise
DIET and NUTRITION

The foundation of the Cambridge Diet is its signature line of shakes. They come in an array of flavors like chocolate, vanilla, eggnog, strawberry, cappuccino, banana cream and many more. The shakes come in two styles: The Original and the Food for Life.

The Food for Life product contains 51 grams of protein, 54 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fat and 140 calories per shake. It also includes 100% of the Recommended Daily Allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals. The Original contains 31 grams of protein and contains about 110 calories per shake.

There is also a line of additional Cambridge products like soups, nutrition bars, and super oats.

When taken the prescribed three times a day, you'll only consume 420 calories. If you select to follow a plan that allows for food, you should not consume anymore than an additional 800 calories a day and these calories should come from low-calorie and low-fat foods like vegetables and lean proteins. If you are on the smaller side, it is recommended that you only consume an additional 400 calories on top of the 420 calories for the Cambridge products.

You are also strongly encouraged to drink at least 3-4 liters of water each day.

EXERCISE

Since the Cambridge Diet is so restrictive, exercise should be done cautiously. It is not recommended to start a new strenuous exercise program while on the Cambridge Diet. Moderate exercise like walking or biking is useful once you start to lose weight, providing that it is approached with caution and not done with excess.

CONCLUSION

There is no question that The Cambridge Diet has been around for a long time. And in the process, many have had luck losing weight by following its strict dietary regimen. Since the diet is so low in calories, check with your doctor before starting it, especially if you have an existing medical condition.

The Cambridge Diet devotees swear by the diet's ability to help them lose weight as long as the program is followed correctly. But like most diets that rely on shakes or supplements to shed pounds, its potential for long-term weight loss and for instilling sound and healthy eating habits in you is not that promising.

Common Misspellings

cambrdge Diet, cambradge diet, cambridge deit, camebridge diet, cambridge liquid diet, cambridgediet.com


Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Liquid Diet, Master Cleanse Diet, New Lifestyle Diet, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, 21 Pounds in 21 Days


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 18 of 58, 1148 total comments)

RB

Ive just come back from my first weigh in.. I lost 7lbs and 6oz and more than a few inches!

Although the diet is a little unsociable, its definatly worth it. I cant wait for next weeks weigh in now.

hope to be two sone lighter by the end of december.. fingers crossed.

posted Nov 1st, 2008 9:52 am


trisha

trying hard not to cheat today

posted Oct 31st, 2008 3:33 am


trish

does anyone know what colour the ketostix shiukd be when you enter ketotis ? I keeo checking and mine only seem to show 0.05 traces, shouldot be light or is it the darker the better? been on the diet for 7 weeks and lost nearly 2 stone , but the last few weeks cheated a little bit , nothng major, just tiny tastes of the family meal, keep promising myself i won't cheat tomorrow, not put any weight back on, and still losing but only 1.5 lb or so a week. if anyone knows about the ketostix please advise.

posted Oct 30th, 2008 3:51 pm


gaynor

forgot to mention - have lost a total of 21 inches on this diet

posted Oct 30th, 2008 2:51 pm


gaynor

I have been on this diet for 9.5 weeks now. First 2 weeks lost 16lb - do not cheat (even half a sausage) and it will work for you. I have now lost 3 stone in total - aiming for 5 stone. Had my first meal tonight - chicken and green veg - feel great and love my new look. You need to be motivated to succeed on this diet - I have 3 kids and, even though they eat all the noce stuff, I have not cheated - want to shift this weight. I can have a little bit of what I fancy once all the weight has come off. Will never not eat choc or pizza again but I know it needs to be in moderation. If I can survive and feel good on this low cal diet then surely my body did not need all that rubbish in the first place. Stay positive and don't cheat!! - you will only be cheating yourself. It was eating all the c..p that got you here in the first place

posted Oct 30th, 2008 2:37 pm


gaynor

I have been on this diet for 9.5 weeks now. First 2 weeks lost 16lb - do not cheat (even half a sausage) and it will work for you. I have now lost 3 stone in total - aiming for 5 stone. Had my first meal tonight - chicken and green veg - feel great and love my new look. You need to be motivated to succeed on this diet - I have 3 kids and, even though they eat all the noce stuff, I have not cheated - want to shift this weight. I can have a little bit of what I fancy once all the weight has come off. Will never not eat choc or pizza again but I know it needs to be in moderation. If I can survive and feel good on this low cal diet then surely my body did not need all that rubbish in the first place. Stay positive and don't cheat!! - you will only be cheating yourself. It was eating all the c..p that got you here in the first place

posted Oct 30th, 2008 2:32 pm


Tracy-Anne

These are all very inspiring -it's odd tthat I cannot find a person that says something negative. I have been on the diet for almost 3 weeks now with some tiny cheats here and there and by tiny i mean half a sausage or half a can of tuna if I am feeling starving. I am also drinking all my water. I have only lost 5.5 lb after 3 weeks of sheer starvation. How is this possible. Given I am not obese, but I am 3 stone over weight. This is frustrating the living daylights out of me. Can anyone relate or adviseplease!!!

posted Oct 30th, 2008 3:52 am


maggiemay

DAY 5

Feel okay, no headaches, a bit of back ache, but drank more water and am okay now.
Put my order in for next week, was looking forward to bars, did`nt realise had to wait till week 3, never mind.
cant wait till Thursday to be weighed, have lost 1" off waist. Good Luck everyone

posted Oct 28th, 2008 6:05 pm


BB

Just started - day 2
Contemplating eating my computer and keyboard, right now!!!!
Have been successful before on CD losing 20lb.
Finding feeding the kids brutal

posted Oct 28th, 2008 1:39 pm


ruth

Hi there just going into my third week had my second weigh in today and i have lost 1 stone and all together i have lost 5 inch's off my waist well pleased all in 2 weeks. well done to everyone else stick to it we will all be able to fit in that nice dress for chrismas and new year i have another 4 stone to loose hope i can do most of it by then,,,

posted Oct 28th, 2008 11:34 am


Chrissie

Second Weigh-In

I have just completed my second week
and have lost a further 4lb. I have lost 7lb in two weeks.

My inch loss is still going ok. I did not lose anything off my chest and hips but lost 2" off my waist.

As long as I keep losing lbs or inches each week, its keeping me motivated

posted Oct 28th, 2008 4:11 am


maggiemay

Day 4
Oops missed day 3 was so busy all day, didnt miss food and no headaches.
Feel fine, thought of food a bit today, but have kept busy, I cant wait for Thursday for weigh in. Getting up a lot in night for a pee, but thats not too much of a problem. roll on day 5
Good Luck everyone.

posted Oct 27th, 2008 2:29 pm


vicky

Hi Guys...

Well i'm on my 9th week now and have to say for the first 4 weeks i was strick and to the book i didnt cheat once and lost 2 stone.

Now i know some people will be quite annoyed with me for saying this but the last month i have cheated quite a bit and took 8 days off and have still had constant losses week after week.

My total on my last weigh in on saturday was 3 stone in 8 weeks and i feel amazing. This is the best and, for me, easiest diet i hve ever been on. I have cut out the soups now as they started to make me feel a bit ill but and still going strong with my shakes.

Keep strong people, its all worth it

Vicky x

posted Oct 27th, 2008 9:42 am


MiniDee

DAY 14:

Hi, I have lost 13 lbs! I am missing food, but not so hungry. Added some bars this week, but I hate them. The only thing I can stomach is the strawberry and chocolate shake. As my BMI is 21.5 - I am trying to have about 1000 calories a day now. Also, I need to fuel my running (which I have managed to keep up during the diet). Good luck to the rest. I now weigh 8st 11 lbs (123lbs). xx

PS: From someone who has been on diet for the last 24 years of her life... this is the best in terms of quick results and still feeling well. It is also the most difficult but it is worth it!

posted Oct 26th, 2008 8:03 am


Liz

Both my husband and I are doing the diet together. On our second week. The first 2 days I felt awful but now we've got a good routine going and never feeling hungry. I've even got to cook for the children. Amazing results, 1st weigh in I lost 11lbs and hubby lost 17lbs!! Wow.

posted Oct 25th, 2008 5:29 pm


maggiemay

DAY 2
Slept well last night and did not dream of food.
Had my 3 meals with plenty of water between.
Felt very brave going into Starbucks with Hubbie, he had latte and blueberry muffin, I had a double expresso. He has just had a curry for supper and a sml trifle. I still fell very positive and have had no headaches. Roll on tomorrow.

posted Oct 25th, 2008 3:14 pm


linda

Just to say i did the diet 4 months ago lost 2.5 stone in 9 weeks now having a normal lifestyle out much more and enjoying myself,still have not put any weight back on.This diet realy does work i would reccomend to to anyone.

posted Oct 25th, 2008 10:32 am


shazza54

just starting today. Did the diet 3 years ago and lost a stone and a half and felt fantastic. It kept off until recently but I am finding healthy eating is now working (I think due to stress) so called my old counsellor and we are meeting up in a few hours. Feeling a bit scared and had forgotten about the water glugging !



wishe me luck !

posted Oct 25th, 2008 6:46 am


claire

I started the CD on 2nd Oct.
In the first week I lost 7 Ilbs. In the second week a further 4 Ilbs. Then it was my birthday week. I ate out twice, had a very naughty birthday choc brownie and have been suffering from a nasty cough and cold.
My councilor told me that because of all of these factors I may well have gained a Ilb or 2 (your body retains water when you have a couch / cold).
To my (and my councilors amazement I had stayed exactly the same weight. What makes this even more exciting is that today I put my normal size 16 jeans on for the first time this week and they hung off of me! I got an old pair of size 14s out of the wardrobe that I have not been able to wear for 2 years and they fit perfectly!! All this in only 3 weeks.
Everybodys stories are so inspiring and are real help to read each day.
Keep up the excellent work everybody.

posted Oct 24th, 2008 7:41 pm


maria

Hi All
I??m on the fifth day of my diet and I??m feeling ok. I lost 7 lb and I want to carry on. The only problem is that this will be my first weekend on the diet and I??m dreading it. Any tips on how to keep my mind of food?

posted Oct 24th, 2008 4:35 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account