| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 217 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

  • You will lose weight
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.


No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.


For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup,, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet

Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet


The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 36, 716 total comments)


I started the diet on October 26, 2015 and the first four days there was no weight loss. On the last few days the weight seemed to fall off. I lost a total of 16 lbs!!! I plan on doing it again, this time with some excercise. The first day was the worst day for me, I felt light headed then I began to take a vitamin and felt much better. You can eat as much as you want so no one should go hungry. Good luck and just any other diet and you go back to eating bad the weight will come back on.

posted Nov 2nd, 2015 12:54 pm


Started diet on 140kg. Now on day 3. Severe headaches last night, feeling light-headed - lethargic today. Will continue as I have ambitious plan to get to 100kgs.

posted Oct 25th, 2015 1:21 am


Currently finishing day 2 of this diet. Lost 1.5lb on the first day. Excited to see the result at the end. Struggling with taste, everything is so bland!! Going well so far. Not sure how much exercise has to do with the finial outcome but work keeps me on my toes. Love reading all the sucess stories too!

posted Aug 31st, 2015 2:29 am


Hello ...DAY 1.... 166.4... so far so good.. Wish me luck!!

posted May 28th, 2015 12:09 am


am on Day 6 First time...has been the easiest diet ever and was 6 ponds down on the 5th Day and I agree that this diet has lots of nutrition...dont know what the person above was talking about (dangerously low in nutrition and calories) I have been a purest with it as well and have not suffered version allows Beef or skinless chicken on the meat days and does not have all the added things I have seen above; but my cravings for chocolate, ice cream, cookies etc have diet also warns to take a two week break between rounds...I am hoping the next two weeks I will eat smaller portions and stick to healthy foods...then I will try for the next 10 pounds

posted May 23rd, 2015 4:01 pm


first week within 6 days lost 10 lbs. Second week with out break lost 1 lb within 3 days. I really recommend some time break in between diet, otherwise it would be hard to loose

posted Apr 28th, 2015 2:02 am


I don't see how this could be "extremely low calorie" or "unhealthy". Did you see the "unlimited fruits and veggies" almost every day? It does include lean protein or milk on several days. The only thing it cuts out is fat and bread/pasta/sugar. As for the allegedly low calories, I calculate about 56 calories per serving of soup, which you could easily eat 4-8 servings of in a day plus the other things. Bananas and apples have about 100 calories for a medium one (x 8 is 800 calories) plus milk, which is almost the same. Chicken breast has 600 calories (lean beef is the same) for the recommended 20oz. I calculate around 1000 calories per day (some diabetics live on 1200). The only truly extreme low calorie day is the one where only vegetables and baked potato/butter are allowed (around 500). I don't see any evidence that fasting (or almost fasting) for one day every harmed anyone. Or, that going without bread/pasta/sugar and fat for one week every harmed anyone. The key is continuing after the diet to consume limited bread/pasta/sugar and healthy fats like nuts and avocados in order to maintain the weight loss. I've lost 90 lbs and kept it off for the last year and a half following a diet very similar to this and can say this with confidence and experience. One tip I will give, is that I've always found when sugar cravings hit really hard, try eating an apple and a small handful of almonds along with a full glass of water. This almost always works for me and the almonds don't really break the diet significantly as long as you don't overdo it.

posted Apr 13th, 2015 2:07 pm


I have done the diet once before and found it very easy. I am a veggie so I swapped out beef for tofu and milk for almond milk. I also recommend using a low sodium soup stock to reduce water retention. I did not have a lot of weight to loose so I dropped 5 pounds but I felt it was a great reboot for when I might have overindulged a bit. I did not regain any of the weight but I also kept up a healthy diet afterwards. I'm pretty sure if I binged out again it would all pile back. I think that's like most diets though.

posted Apr 11th, 2015 2:22 pm


hey everyone im on banana day and skim milk so far so good. lets do this and im going to take 2 weeks and 1 week apart until i lost 20

posted Apr 9th, 2015 9:52 am


March 2 / 2015 . I'm male age 50 height 5'4" weight 178.8. On the start of the third day I weigh myself and 173.0. That's almost 6 pounds lost in just 2 days . I do get mild headaches . But it's the end of day 3 and I will weight in tomorrow morning again at the start of my 4 th day. It's like (Buckleys Couch med) LOL :) . It's horrible but it works :). I don't cheat on it . If you have the will power , it's only 7 day diet , Not 7 years :) just think next week when you look in the mirror how good you will feel about yourself :)). If ya got a double chin lol watch it disappear :). Good luck and let's get Er done :)

posted Mar 2nd, 2015 10:14 pm

Lisa Bowie

I have done the Cabbage Soup Diet 4 times with a one week break in between. I have lost 9 kg so far. I am going on a cruise in 7 weeks and needed to fit my bikini! I am amazed with this diet. I have done every diet there is and with this one I never feel hungry which is fantastic. My goal is to get to 60 kg and I think this goal will become a reality. Im so proud of myself. I exercise every day and have never had any problems. I also have 2 protein shakes every day. The only thing I have is a bit of gas. I have never done a diet that has had such dramatic results so fast and everyone can notice how much weight ive lost. I have totally stuck to the diet each time. Lisa

posted Feb 18th, 2015 10:22 pm


Any feedback would be appreciated, confused!

I did the cabbage diet last year and my stomach became as flat as an ironing board! Result! Went down a jeans size and my arms lost weight too.

This time round I'm very confused and upset .i have followed the diet strictly as suggested but I see no real physical weight loss. I started the diet this time in hope for the flat belly as I'm going on holiday but Iv probably lost at minimum weight.
I am due to start my period in ten days n I wondered if this maybe the reason and would I possibly shrink after that ?

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks, Zee

posted Feb 6th, 2015 8:32 am


I'm on Day 5 of this diet and have been exercising moderately both running (2-3 miles 7:00 min miles) and strength training. So far I've lost 13 lbs (Starting Weight - 222, Current Weight -209 - Muscular Build)
I don't add very much sodium/spices to the soup nor veggies soup which makes for a bland tasting diet. If I'm going to subject myself to such a diet, I make sure to cut every calorie possible. My suggestions are, meditate, pray, and persevere. It's not only about losing weight it's a mental challenge, take the challenge and conquer it! Good Luck and God Bless!

posted Jan 15th, 2015 1:29 am


Ive done this diet before and it did the trick. Have just started day 1 again and don't feel hungry yet. Been on a 30 min run too. I blend my soup up and add lots of smoked paprika and also some fat free yogurt once heated with a splash of balsamic vinegar. On banana day i make banana milkshakes with skimmed milk. Hoping to lose 5 kgs in 7 days

posted Dec 15th, 2014 8:18 am


am gg to start day 1 today will let ur know how it goes!!!!

posted Nov 18th, 2014 12:15 am


Our office decided to do a cabbage soup diet challenge. Everyone pays a $4 no-refundable fee, and the winner wins all. I am beginning day4, and it is looking pretty good. II have lost 4 lbs. I drink 8 + glasses of water each day. On banana day, I decided to make a smoothie, and it was delicious. Good Luck

posted Nov 3rd, 2014 7:11 pm

Ms Tee

Started this past Monday 5/5/14 results thus far pd a day. Did not weigh in today, but as of yesterday Friday 5/9/14 I lost 6 pds. Today is steak day and your stool is sorta loose. Not too bad, I would recommend it for a quick fix and especially for an outfit and or an engagement. Yes, you should always incorporate EXERCISE... =) Good Luck!

posted May 10th, 2014 10:43 pm


I have done this diet 3 times over the past 5 years. I am beginning again tomorrow after putting on 7 lbs over the holidays. Its only 7 days to drop 7 to 10 lbs and it works!! The better you stick to the program the better the loss. I have a major sweet tooth and it really does take away the desire after the first few days and after the week of diet continues to work. I have found it easy to keep the weight off because it changes my junk food desires. Whenever I gain a few lbs I begin again. I find it pretty easy to follow, to make up variations in what your allowed to eat, and do not ever feel hungry. I would rather follow a diet for 7 days that you see real results and stay in check than having to be on a diet for weeks or months. This diet works great.

posted Jan 13th, 2014 2:59 am


I started this diet on monday as i am off on holiday soon and need to shed a few kgs. I am currently on day 4 and have so far lost 2kgs. I have felt fine doing my normal exercising, on monday i had a 4 hour dance training and coped perfectly fine. I also went to the gym last night to a 1 hour yoga class and a 15 min run on the treadmill. The only thing with this diet i find annoying is that i have to pee almost every half an hour lol. I consume about 1 or 2 bowls per day, but am starting to get sick of it. I drink lots of water and green tea throughout the day and haven't had any headaches or hunger pains yet which is a good thing. Hope the last 3 days i continue to lose a few kgs, definitely recommend this diet for quick weight loss :)

posted Nov 21st, 2013 1:21 am


Hello to all.
Diet started last Monday and today Sunday on the seventh day , lost 3.2 kg :-) .
Started 82.4 kg and now 79.2 kg.
On the fifth day the soup I could not eat it anymore and I made a little trick , shake the soup and taste changed much by adding spices such as soy, sweet paprika and some hot pepper .
Yesterday was the only day I did sports, running for 40 minutes.
During the week I had absolutely no hunger pangs .
I will continue the diet for another 3 - 4 days . I try to lose a couple more kilos.
The diet I recommend it to all , with regard to weight loss do not expect a 7 or 8 kilos because these values are only for people who are too overweight.
The final target is to reach 74 - 75 kg this goal to be achieved with a more balanced nutrition , weight I had a few years ago .
The most wonderful feeling is to get back pants that when you're 82 - 83 kg you cannot ;-).
I hope that my experience will be of help to everyone.

posted Oct 13th, 2013 6:00 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account