Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 184 reviews

Cabbage Soup Diet

The very definition of an ill-advised fad diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Look up the definition of fad diet and you’ll see a picture illustrating the Cabbage Soup Diet. It should not be followed as a long-term eating plan, as it is dangerously low in calories and could do more harm than good. It is possible to lose 10 pounds in a week when you stick to this uber-low calorie plan.

The Cabbage Soup Diet does offer fast weight loss, but it is completely lacking in nutrition, flavor and variety. You'll consume mostly soups of cabbage, onion, celery, carrots, tomatoes and mushrooms. Nutritionists argue that the pounds shed are more likely attributed to the dramatic and dangerous loss in calories and not the proposed fat-burning power found in the cabbage. This diet deprives your body of essential nutrients and has been correlated to difficulty concentrating, feeling light-headed and weak.

PRO
  • You will lose weight
CON
  • Unhealthy
  • Dangerously caloric intake
  • Primarily losing water weight
  • Will regain lost weight if don't stick to healthy eating and exercise following completion
  • Does not promote exercise; would be too weak to do so
DIET and NUTRITION

The one-week Cabbage Soup Diet relies on this simple plan:

  • Day One All-you-can-eat soup and fruit (no bananas). Consume plenty of water, cranberry juice and unsweetened tea.

  • Day Two Consume all the soup and vegetables you like (no beans, peas or corn). Have a buttered baked potato with dinner. No fruit today.

  • Day Three Eat all the soup, fruits and vegetables you like, nothing else.

  • Day Four Eat your soup, no more than eight bananas and all the skim milk you want.

  • Day Five Have at least one serving of soup today. You can also have 10-20 ounces of skinless chicken or beef and no more than six tomatoes. Drink plenty of water.

  • Day Six Eat plenty of vegetables and your servings of beef. Today is the day you can go a bit overboard with the meat (2 steaks if you like) - just make sure to add salad and vegetables. Stay away from the carbs - no fries, potatoes, etc.

  • Day Seven Have at least one serving of soup. Only eat brown rice, vegetables and unsweetened fruit juice.

EXERCISE

No recommendations are made. Given the severely low calories you'll be consuming, you likely won't have the strength for physical activity.

CONCLUSION

For rapid weight loss as a jump-start to a more healthy eating plan, the Cabbage Soup Diet could possibly be a solution. However, fasting or liquid diets like Cabbage Soup promising dramatic weight loss results in only a week are typically only helping you shed water weight. This weight will creep right back on once you stop the diet and continue with previous poor eating habits. Finishing the Cabbage Soup Diet and beginning a healthy eating and exercise regimen is the best advice anyone following this unhealthy approach can receive. Be sure to speak with your physician before beginning.

Common Misspellings

cabbge soup diet, cabbage soup deit, cabage soup diet, cabbagge soup, cabbagesoupdiet.com, cabbage diet, cabagge soup diet, soup diet


Related Diets: Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Grapefruit Solution, 21 Pounds in 21 Days, Martha's Vineyard Diet



Wikipedia

The Cabbage soup diet is a radical weight loss diet designed around heavy consumption of a low-calorie cabbage soup over the time of seven days. It is generally considered a fad diet, in that it is designed for short-term weight-loss and requires no long-term commitment. It has inspired several copy-cats based around similar principles.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 36, 702 total comments)

qiuuu

am gg to start day 1 today will let ur know how it goes!!!!

posted Nov 18th, 2014 12:15 am


Tay

Our office decided to do a cabbage soup diet challenge. Everyone pays a $4 no-refundable fee, and the winner wins all. I am beginning day4, and it is looking pretty good. II have lost 4 lbs. I drink 8 + glasses of water each day. On banana day, I decided to make a smoothie, and it was delicious. Good Luck

posted Nov 3rd, 2014 7:11 pm


Ms Tee

Started this past Monday 5/5/14 results thus far pd a day. Did not weigh in today, but as of yesterday Friday 5/9/14 I lost 6 pds. Today is steak day and your stool is sorta loose. Not too bad, I would recommend it for a quick fix and especially for an outfit and or an engagement. Yes, you should always incorporate EXERCISE... =) Good Luck!

posted May 10th, 2014 10:43 pm


Diane

I have done this diet 3 times over the past 5 years. I am beginning again tomorrow after putting on 7 lbs over the holidays. Its only 7 days to drop 7 to 10 lbs and it works!! The better you stick to the program the better the loss. I have a major sweet tooth and it really does take away the desire after the first few days and after the week of diet continues to work. I have found it easy to keep the weight off because it changes my junk food desires. Whenever I gain a few lbs I begin again. I find it pretty easy to follow, to make up variations in what your allowed to eat, and do not ever feel hungry. I would rather follow a diet for 7 days that you see real results and stay in check than having to be on a diet for weeks or months. This diet works great.

posted Jan 13th, 2014 2:59 am


hayley

I started this diet on monday as i am off on holiday soon and need to shed a few kgs. I am currently on day 4 and have so far lost 2kgs. I have felt fine doing my normal exercising, on monday i had a 4 hour dance training and coped perfectly fine. I also went to the gym last night to a 1 hour yoga class and a 15 min run on the treadmill. The only thing with this diet i find annoying is that i have to pee almost every half an hour lol. I consume about 1 or 2 bowls per day, but am starting to get sick of it. I drink lots of water and green tea throughout the day and haven't had any headaches or hunger pains yet which is a good thing. Hope the last 3 days i continue to lose a few kgs, definitely recommend this diet for quick weight loss :)

posted Nov 21st, 2013 1:21 am


fab

Hello to all.
Diet started last Monday and today Sunday on the seventh day , lost 3.2 kg :-) .
Started 82.4 kg and now 79.2 kg.
On the fifth day the soup I could not eat it anymore and I made a little trick , shake the soup and taste changed much by adding spices such as soy, sweet paprika and some hot pepper .
Yesterday was the only day I did sports, running for 40 minutes.
During the week I had absolutely no hunger pangs .
I will continue the diet for another 3 - 4 days . I try to lose a couple more kilos.
The diet I recommend it to all , with regard to weight loss do not expect a 7 or 8 kilos because these values are only for people who are too overweight.
The final target is to reach 74 - 75 kg this goal to be achieved with a more balanced nutrition , weight I had a few years ago .
The most wonderful feeling is to get back pants that when you're 82 - 83 kg you cannot ;-).
I hope that my experience will be of help to everyone.

posted Oct 13th, 2013 6:00 am


Wheeler

I am currently have way through day 2, my first day went ok - but I woke up around 2am with the worst heart burn I have ever had. ughh too much totatoes and spices in the soup most likely the culpret. I have been eating my vegies all day, and feel more bloated and fatter than I was before I started this diet. I am pounding down the water and stuffing myself with vegies. sure hope this bloating feeling goes away, and trust me I will remember to take Prilosec for the next week!

posted Apr 2nd, 2013 7:38 pm


saa

can anyone tell me if u lose any wieght with out doing any exercise or do i need to do some

posted Mar 20th, 2013 1:48 pm


Sherry

Hello all, I am on day 1 of the CSD and have quite a headache. Have you all experienced headaches on the first day? I am going to stick with it but thought I would ask.

Sherry

posted Mar 19th, 2013 8:11 pm


purplemon

Hello everyone,

I'm on my second day off the CSD and lost three pounds already. :D My weight was 191.5 and now I am 188.5. Can't wait to eat my baked potato. Today was pretty tough, because my husband ate some IN-N-OUT :/, but i kept thinking to myself you lost 3 pounds already! So wish everyone good luck.

posted Mar 3rd, 2013 11:34 pm


Kat

Starting my day 1 today.
I have done this diet before and had good results.
Will keep everyone posted.

posted Feb 19th, 2013 8:51 pm


Will

Today is only my 2nd day, I am a big guy weighed in at 489 before I starting this diet. This morning I weighed in at 486, down 4Pounds!!!!!!!! From just the first day WOW….. completing this diet is so important to me, getting ready for Gastric Bypass Surgery.

posted Jan 31st, 2013 5:56 pm


yulelog

Just starting this today after feeling like I gained 10lbs over the xmas and new year break. Starting weight 144.8lbs

posted Jan 7th, 2013 2:19 pm


Jamie

I am almost finished with day 2. I must admit, it is hard, and i am craving other foods, but i weighed myself this morning after only 1 day and already saw great results. I am also doing 45 min of cardio every morning as i always do. I plan on doing this to quick off my healthier diet. I would def reccommend it.

posted Jan 3rd, 2013 9:57 pm


ROAR

THIS SUCKS!

posted Dec 12th, 2012 6:26 pm


Klove

Starting today at 209. I hope to get to 195 in seven days. I will do very little workout to help weight lose. I will keep you guys posted.

posted Nov 20th, 2012 11:35 pm


MrsKay

I started the CSD yesterday, Im not sure yet whether it works or not since I havent started weighing in. Im afraid if I do and it doesnt go well I will quit before giving it a chance. Im crossing fingers it works for me since I joined The Biggest Loser Challenge at my work place and its coming to an end in two weeks time.

posted Jul 19th, 2012 10:22 am


Cjb

Starting day 1 @ 188.4lbs.

posted Jul 9th, 2012 10:32 pm


melissa

DAY 1.. i've made the soup but decided to blend it, makes it alot easier to get down.

I use Mrs. Dash seasonings to give each bowl a different flavor.

I'll keep you posted on my progress.

posted May 30th, 2012 1:39 pm


Jenny

This was my last ditch effort to lose weight to fit into my wedding dress. I was 5'1, 135lbs and had about a week ! Luckily it worked an my tailor measured me again and was shocked. Lost 5 inches in my weight and about 2 to 3 in thighs, arms. Best for short term immediate weight loss! I'm doing it gain bc I gained back ! But I kept to healthy choice soups bc I had made. Huge pot of soup but it tasted bad !! Good luck !!

posted Apr 14th, 2012 1:52 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account