Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

84%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 150 reviews

Alli

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com


Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 19, 378 total comments)

Cathy

I used Alli for about five months, and I did get results, I lost 20 pounds, I loved it, in fact I am getting back on it again TODAY.

posted Nov 3rd, 2008 8:54 am


Bonnie

I began taking alli about 1 1/2 weeks ago. I haven't had any real problems with it. I thought that I would have the diarrhea like some of the others here have complained of, but instead I feel a little constipated. I have started to eat a little more fat than I used to to make the adjustment. I believe that if you do have a system in place of when to 'eliminate', it makes things easier. In other words make it happen at the same time every day, this will keep some of those inconvenient accidents from happening. So far I have lost 4 pounds! So I will keep it up and maybe even increase the dose as some others have for a meal or two each day.

posted Oct 29th, 2008 6:38 pm


Mel

Hi, well I tried the Alli pills and I will not continue! I found a good gum that stops me feeling hungry from a company called www.good-diets.com its cheap and I have lost 55Lb now, I wont go back to the Alli pills due to the toilet problems.

posted Oct 29th, 2008 12:58 pm


Me

Some of these people on this string are morons. Sorry but it is true. One thing is this pill has been out for about 2 years. You are supposed to start a low calorie, low fat diet about a week before you begin the pills. That was all the stored up fat in your digestion system is out and you will have less symptoms. They have a great support website that you can chat with other people using the pill, doctors, pharmacists and a great way to count everything you eat. They also have some awesome recipes. You have to stay below the max fat grams or you are going to have treatment effects. This pill isn't a miracle energy diet pill that you see everywhere else. It blocks 25% of the fat from being absorbed into your intestines. You have to change your eating habits for this pill to work and not cause your bum grief. None of the reviews I read on this website even sound remotely like anyone who got serious about this pill and visited Alli's website or they would know better than to jump into the pill and try to eat whatever they wanted. Like Pizza or a Big Mac. I am sorry I am just reading all these reviews and can't help but to LOL. I lost 20lbs on Alli. But I have problems with self control so I am currently not on it anymore. But everyone here is convincing me to try it again just to prove to them they are wrong.

posted Oct 28th, 2008 8:55 pm


Angie

First of all.....if you're trying to lose weight and have resorted to taking pills....you don't freaken eat pizza and cheeseburgers like the people complaining below!!!!! That's just common sense people! Also, if you actually read the book it tells you to avoid foods high in fat...LIKE PIZZA AND CHEESEBURGERS!!!! or you'll experience the unwated side effects....i.e...yellow/orange oily stuff coming out your booty! Obviously, if you're still eating pizza and cheeseburgers, you're really not too worried about losing weight...so why shell out $60 a pop just to complain because you didn't want to follow the instructions? Heck...that's lunch and dinner for you for a month right there if you're hitting up McDonald's dollar menu for the Double cheeseburger. Anyway...now that I'm done ranting....I absolutely LOVE Alli....it is my best friend. I take 2 before each meal three times a day. Why? When I told my doctor that I was taking one 3 times a day and that it wasn't working like I wanted it to, he told me taking 2 before each meal 3 times a day is the exact same as taking the prescription form of it. So I started that 3 weeks ago, and I'm amazed. I'm a vegetarian which (for me)means I tend to eat a lot more carbs to make up for that space on my plate where the steak once was. I only weigh myself every 2 weeks, so when I weighed last week, I had lost 8.5 pounds. I'm not really worried about what number I get down to...I just want to get back down to where I'm comfortable in my skin and my clothes....where I can walk around my house in my bra and underwear in the morning while getting dressed for work without worrying about what my husband is thinking about me in his head (although he's wonderful and thinks I'm "perfect" just the way I am). ANYWAY. So yes...I totally recommend Alli to anyone that is fed up with weightwatchers (what I was doing before Alli), with Size 0 (what I was taking before weight watchers) or any other "diet" or pill that has you off for wasting time and money on it.....BUT ONLY if you are serious about losing the weight and not looking for something to rid yourself of the pizza or cheeseburger you just ate! You do have to watch what you eat....don't pop a pill and then drive through Jack in the Box.

posted Oct 27th, 2008 6:45 pm


Zee

Well I tried it and took it back to GNC.
I found that afer I ate a pizza, yellow/ orange gooh whas comming out the back end. it was so gross. It looked loke the oil that came off of pizza. I think it might have worked if i didnt get scared of all tht stuff that was in my toilet. I think i am going to loose the old fashion way. I joined the gym and started spin classes- so far Ive lost 7 lbs.

posted Oct 27th, 2008 12:06 am


Jenn

I have been doing Alli with my Weight Watchers plan for four days. Three pounds gonna already.. And no side effects. Works great with Weight Watchers because the plan is low-fat and high in fiber. So far I have had no inconvient trips to the bathroom.. Hope not too! I believe that while doing any eating modification plan (I HATE THE WORKD D-I-E-T!) you have to stick to the rules and it will work. I read one review that the user hates Alli because she had a cheeseburger and it made her sick... (I think her words were "I felt like it was coming out of me whole").....Well--duh! Read the instructions...be prepared..and be smart in your choices! I will update in a few weeks!

posted Oct 21st, 2008 3:00 pm


astar

I have been taking alli on and off for a year. I have lose close to 50lbs. Remember I said on and off. I would forget to take them and with my schedule been working full time, kids, classes, helping with homework , my daughters basketball, track, cheerleading and cooking its amazing I can remeber anything. But it does work I was able to stick with it for 3 months and lost 27lbs. The only thing I didn't like was I had started to have breakout of pimples in my face. Because to the oil was coming though my pores. But overall I love them.

posted Oct 16th, 2008 12:43 pm


bob

I love it it is great i lost 50 pounds

posted Oct 15th, 2008 12:08 pm


Leakybutt

When they say not to exceed 15 grams of fat in a meal, take heed!! After Hurricane Ike, my friends and I were stuck at home with nothing better to do than eat. We grilled steak and ate Rotel and Velveeta cheese dip and had ice cream for dessert. I hadn't taken an Alli capsule for two days, so I thought I was safe. WRONG!! I was doing laundry the next evening and felt my butt getting wet. I went to the bathroom, and low and behold, my butt was leaking orange fat. All I can say is thank God I was at home and not at work! I would have just died. This stuff is serious! I don't think I will be using this again, but more power to those of you that do.

posted Oct 14th, 2008 2:00 pm


annie

*******READ READ READ****** I was on the precription Xenical in 2000 and it worked wonders in the 3 wks i was on it, but i broke out in a rash so my dr. thought i was haveing a reaction from it. so i thought i would try Alli to see what happened. i started alli in dec o7, i was on it for about 3 mths and nothing happened. not weight lose no nothing that is even suppose to happen. so in may 08 i talked to my doctor i talked with my parmicist so i took Alli again but 2 pills 3 times a day which 2 Alli pills is exactly the same as one Xenical pill. i was doing good, i was loosing weight, i had no rashes. i did that for about 2 mths and i had to stop i got a stomach cramp sooooooooo bad i thought it was my appendix or something. with in a week i was fine but when i started the Allis again the would work. i stayed on the for a month or so and it was like i wasn't even taking any thing. i don't take anything now. i just diet and exercise. and since oct. 07 i've lost 80 lbs. i did learn to control my fat and watch what i eat. so if u try Alli make sure u try to eat as little fat as u can. Just watch out in case u have cramps.

posted Oct 11th, 2008 5:03 pm


ara

I want to know for how long can i take Alli , i have now taken it for more than a year. i like it very much .

posted Oct 11th, 2008 12:06 pm


Shay

Update...I have lost 10 pounds so far with my Alli plan. More important than the punds lost is the difference I see in the mirror. My tummy was pretty fatty after having two kids. less than 2 months and 10 punds down, I have a flat tummy again:) Alli is working great and it is so easy to do!

posted Oct 9th, 2008 5:57 pm


laboricua taina

hi in from nj and i start taking alli 4 days ago i dond have side effect the only i pee i lot i have couple of friends they take alli and they loose weigh i hope this work on me i just want to loose 40 pound ......

posted Oct 9th, 2008 4:12 pm


Jeni

This is my 3rd day, technically 4th cuz its the mid of the night. I have steadily written down my intake. I am getting fewer calories and fat then I have ever thought. But, it keeps me motivated to eat right. No side effects in the bowel area, lol. Thank god. Ive even lost 4 lbs already. God bless Alli!

posted Oct 7th, 2008 1:58 am


helen z.

i hear so many people complain about alli... but if you just follow the instructions, it really is incredible! my doctor recommended it so i felt safer than just some crazy miracle pill off the Web. I won't lie, i had a few unsightly slips, but maybe that's the built in "placebo effect," "pavlov's dog"... whatever you want to call it. Don't have to tell me twice... no fast food, no junk... or you will pay. And not with inconvenient trips to the bathroom.... but with your health. Alli put me on a positive path and has helped me lose 75 pounds this year. I'm happy with my new weight, and feel strong enough and prepared to maintain it. So much so I threw away ALL of my "big fat clothes!!!" No going back. Healthy for me.

posted Oct 5th, 2008 1:49 am


Evangelina

Oh, it hurt so bad. Every time I made pee pee or poo poo, it hurt! I ate a cheeseburger and I swear the whole thing came out the other side! God, I hate you Alli!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted Oct 1st, 2008 6:37 pm


sunshine

I have been taking the pill for two days now. No side effects yet.. I will keep you posted

posted Oct 1st, 2008 12:18 am


Colombiana

I started taking the pills three days ago, no side effects yet, I am trying to follow a diet low in fats, but I have to be honest, I didn't do it yesterday morning, I eat regular food without thinking about calories or fat, still no side effects. I am trying to lose 13 pounds that I've gained since I got a car and stoped walking, I soon as I reach that goal, I will stop taking them, hope it will be soon. I will keep you posted.

posted Sep 15th, 2008 9:00 am


Alli Addict

I soiled my eating them pills. I still like them though, it makes me feel I'm dong something worthlile plus contributing to the economy at the same time.

posted Sep 4th, 2008 8:23 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account