Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

31%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 156 reviews
Alli

Alli Review: Does it Work?

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
What is it?

Alli is a weight loss pill intended to help people burn one pound of fat, for every 2 pounds lost through exercise. It’s an over the counter medication made to help reduce about 25% of the fat one eats.

It’s only available for people 18 and older, and for those who would be considered obese with a BMI of 25 or more. You also have to introduce a low-calorie, low-fat diet, and you have to make sure to take Alli alongside fats in your meals. The intended purpose of Alli is to remove some fat calories from your diet, by not having it digested, and instead being passed through one’s stool. So is this really an effective weight loss pill? What kinds of weight loss effects are possible? Featured in this Alli review is all the information needed to make an informed decision.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

Alli Ingredients and Side Effects

Orlistat

FD&C Blue No. 2

Edible Ink

Gelatin

Iron Oxide

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Povidone

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate

Sodium Starch Glycolate

Talc

Titanium Dioxide

 

 

Orlistat: The sole key active ingredient in Alli. It’s used to help reduce the absorption of some fats, by having them removed by bowel movements.

You are advised to skip dosing these pills if you have a meal with no fats. It’s also advised to get no more than 30% of your calories from fat to make good use of this ingredient. Both Drugs.com and the official website for Alli confirm:

“Orlistat can make it harder for your body to absorb fat-soluble vitamins”

“may recommend that you take vitamin and mineral supplements while you are taking this medication”

This can reduce the intake of vitamins A, D, E, and K. When using this pill, it’s important to watch out for signs of vitamin and mineral deficiency. This can potentially lead to issues such as:

  • Brittle nails and dull looking hear.
  • Extreme fatigue.
  • Vision problems.
  • Mood swings and symptoms of depression.
  • Reduced muscle mass and weakness in the limbs.
  • Blindness.
  • Increased risk for disease.

Orlistat itself has also been shown to potentially cause side effects that include:

  • Blood in the urine.
  • Severe lower back pain.
  • Kidney problems including little to no urination.
  • Liver issues that may cause nausea, itching, loss of appetite, dark urine, fatigue, and yellowing of the skin and eyes.
  • Oily and or fatty stools.
  • Gas and oily discharge.
  • Stomach pain, increased bathroom usage, and rectal pain.
  • Inability to control your bowel movements.
  • Several other side effects

There are also other side effects that if experienced, it’s advised to seek immediate medical help. This can be a sign of serious health problems that can be potentially life threatening if not treated.

The official website does list some possible side effects, but a list on Drugs.com features all the possible issues people have experienced.

A clinical study of this ingredient showed very poor weight loss benefits.  The Cochrane Metabolic and Endocrine Disorders Group ran a study showing the effects of the active ingredient when used for over a year:

“compared to placebo, Orlistat reduced weight by 2.9 kg”

2.9 kg is 6.39 pounds. So people lost around 1.87 pounds each month. This is significantly less weight loss than what other supplements can provide. You also have to make sure to consider all the possible side effects, as well as reduce your calories and increase exercise.

The company claims that you can lose around 5% of your total body fat if taken according to their demands, but this still isn’t very much. The added diet and exercise is likely a major part of why there’s weight loss.

FD&C Blue No. 2: Synthetic food coloring added to help provide a blue color. It has no nutritional value, and is only added to make these pills appear blue. Rats given this ingredient were subject to:

“statistically significant increases in brain cancer”

This is according to a study by the Center for Science in the Public Interest.  They also advise that this ingredient should be banned, since it has no nutritional value. It’s also believed that this ingredient may cause hyperactivity as well.

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate: A detergent and foaming agent that may cause skin and eye irritation.

Sodium Starch Glycolate: White powder added to help a pill dissolve and absorb better. It can be extracted from common allergens like wheat and corn. Those allergic or sensitive to these ingredients won’t know which is added, since manufacturers aren’t required to list what extracts are used.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Alli Quality of Ingredients

10 of the 11 ingredients are inactive, meaning they have no weight loss purpose.

The only truly beneficial ingredient is Orlistat, and its results on long term weight loss have been poor. You also have to make sure to take it alongside fats, so people who don’t eat much dietary fats wouldn’t see much improvement.

Clinical studies have shown that it may lead to serious side effects, of which there are many. Other studies have revealed that its weight loss effects are poor. Just over a pound of weight loss is possible each month, which isn’t much. This also comes at the addition of added diet and exercise, as well as special intake considerations, as not all people are advised to take this weight loss pill.

You also have to watch out for fat soluble vitamin loss, which may require extra supplementation with multivitamins.


The Price and Quality of Alli

Alli is available for purchase in store and in online retail stores. One 40 day supply sells for $69.99 on Amazon.com. So you’re essentially paying $1.74 per pill.

Most of what’s inside this pill has no weight loss effect. It’s mostly made up of food coloring, pill stabilizers, and additives to ease digestion.

The sole active ingredient has been shown to help reduce dietary fats, but its possibility for side effects and vitamin and mineral loss. Also, the weight loss benefits have been incredibly poor, and as you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Alli” section, it’s not well reviewed by users.

Business of Alli

Alli is owned by the pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline; their US division can be reached below:

Phone Number: (800) 671-2554

Email: Consumer.Communications@GSK.com

No returns are offered on Alli.

The makers have also been the subject of controversy over marketing and illegal actions.  They also were subject to the biggest fine ever imposed on a drug company. The Department of Justice adds:

“Unlawful promotion of certain prescription drugs, its failure to report safety data, and its civil liability for alleged false price reporting”

“largest health care fraud settlement in US history”

They hid information about possible side effects, and they manipulated prices for several of their drugs.

In 2014, they also recalled Alli after fears of contamination.  The FDA adds:

“the company believes some packages of the product were tampered with”

It’s unknown how this could have happened, but they voluntarily recalled all batches of Alli in the US.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Alli

Several customer reviews are available online. Here’s what a few have experienced:

“hate so much that I paid for a product that did absolutely nothing”

“exercised as I did before, failed to lose any weight”

“It was disgusting and uncontrollable”

“Does not work at all”

Side effects were often listed, and they ranged from loose and oily stools, flatulence, increased bathroom usage, and sudden unexpected stools. A few people mentioned they couldn’t be far away from a bathroom, as they would suddenly get the urge to have to go immedietly.

A lack of weight loss was also listed as a problem. Currently 571 reviews on Amazon.com confirm the lack of beneficial effects. Many struggled to see any weight loss even with proper diet and exercise.

There was often concern that the new batches of Alli just aren’t as good, and that there’s a lack of any noticeable change.


Conclusion - Does Alli Work?

When considering weight loss pills like Alli, it’s important to look at clinical studies and customer opinions. Many users who tried Alli failed to see any change, and many severe side effects have also been listed. Though Alli can help reduce some fat intake, it only works to reduce fat, and it has no metabolism boosting or other calorie burning effects. So sugar and carbohydrates won’t be reduced.

Also, the possibility for loss of fat soluble vitamins might require extra supplementation. A better solution is available that has only natural ingredients, no laxative like side effects, and great customer reviews. The very best option of 2016 is the all-natural  Sletrokor.

It doesn’t require a special diet, and you can rest assured this supplement won’t have laxative like side effects. Customers have also raved about the beneficial and long lasting weight loss effects. You can find these testimonials on their official website, with people leaving nothing but positive weight loss results.

Sletrokor is even supported by an industry great 30 day money back guarantee. So you can take this supplement with the knowledge you’re backed by a great risk free guarantee.

How Does Alli Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Alli
  • 31 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 12 of 19, 380 total comments)

Colombiana

I started taking the pills three days ago, no side effects yet, I am trying to follow a diet low in fats, but I have to be honest, I didn't do it yesterday morning, I eat regular food without thinking about calories or fat, still no side effects. I am trying to lose 13 pounds that I've gained since I got a car and stoped walking, I soon as I reach that goal, I will stop taking them, hope it will be soon. I will keep you posted.

posted Sep 15th, 2008 9:00 am


Alli Addict

I soiled my eating them pills. I still like them though, it makes me feel I'm dong something worthlile plus contributing to the economy at the same time.

posted Sep 4th, 2008 8:23 am


Lila

my bum bum feels all the more fine now that i started taking them. i would say by christmas time 2029 i'll be at my adored wight by taking this product. thanks for ya'll supporttsz!

posted Sep 4th, 2008 8:23 am


Shay

I have been on alli for one week now. I lost 2 pounds. I kept my fat well under the reccomended guidelines and experienced no treatment effects:) This week I will work on getting my calorie intake lower and kick up my water intake.

posted Sep 1st, 2008 8:32 am


Kristin

Well, since 8/17 and since my last post, I have lost 12 lbs and some inches. I have been following a diet of no more than 15 fat grams per meal and no more than 1800 calories a day, and some moderate exercise. I did go off one Sunday night at a social function. I was really grateful that I was on vacation and at home Monday morning!! LOL!! The "treatment effects" were really not that bad and manageable. I am 41, and losing weight isn't as easy as it used to be. I am grateful that I decided to try Alli. It keeps me honest. My midsection is slowly but surely, getting smaller, and that is a BIG motivation!! I will keep you posted.. Good luck and God bless, everyone! :0)

posted Aug 28th, 2008 11:08 pm


Jess

I've taken Alli for 1 week with a low fat diet. No side effects. No weight loss. Nothing. What is wrong?

posted Aug 27th, 2008 10:09 pm


Anon

A review of a product, goes something like this " I tried Alli, and I lost 10 pounds" or "I tried Alli and got sick" ect,ect, ect. "I haven't tried it yet, but I will keep you posted", is NOT a review, that is worthless drivel taking up posting space.

posted Aug 27th, 2008 10:44 am


ACTUALLY

this pill does more than train you like a dog. It blocks some of the fat that you eat, therefore also helping to reduce calories. Stupid. How fat and bitter are you?

posted Aug 25th, 2008 10:24 pm


queen

I have not tried alli. But I will at the beginning of the week. Hope I lose the weight. I weigh 236. Hoping to lose at least 50lbs. Stay tune.

posted Aug 24th, 2008 8:31 pm


Kristin

I started taking Alli on 8/17. I am getting ready for my time of the month, which brings about 10 extra pounds, so I am not going to get on the scale until it is over. I have noticed that my face is smaller and some pants that were so tight that the button popped off of two weeks ago, are now comfortable and looser. My desire to eat fatty foods is quashed by the treatment effects that I had after eating a small piece of sausage at a BBQ joint on Monday! The orange message was loud and clear! I have been sticking to a low fat, low calorie diet and been fine!! I know Alli isn't supposed to suppress your appetite, but I haven't been hungry, which is a good thing!! I will keep you posted..

posted Aug 21st, 2008 4:14 pm


Anonymous

Hello all! I am a stay at home mother of two. With my first child, 7 years ago, I gained 70 lbs. After 3 years I still had 24 lbs to lose inorder to be at the top of the healthy wieght range for my size. I went to weight watchers...after several months I reached my goal of 130lbs...I became a lifetime member of weight watchers and kept the weight off for 3 years until I had my second child ten months ago. Again, I gained 70 lbs...I have been back at weight watchers off an on since giving birth but have not been able to keep any weight off...the program works but I just cannot stay motivated. I have read the side effects of Alli and my understanding is that Alli does basically "train" you to stick to a diet. Many feel this is stupid, a waste of money, or something that will need to be taken for life. If the pill works to get a person motivated and to think harder about what they consume then it might be a great choice. If once a person loses the weight and is worried about putting it back on, I suggest Weight Watchers. I will begin taking Alli in conjunction with WW in two days. If the pill works and I commit to the diet(life style change) that I was committed to for three years before than I will no longer need the pills because I will have truely changed my life. The great thing is this...with weight watchers you stay on their program and keep your goal weight for 6 weeks and then you become a lifetime member which means you dont have to pay anymore. You can go to as many meetings as you want anytime. You are still held responsible for staying on track becasue you have to weigh in at least once a month and must be within two pounds of your goal to stay for free. In conclusion, I think that Alli can be used as a motivating tool. Yes you have to change your life which is possible to do without the the help or cost of a diet pill. But honestly some of us need help. We cant all afford a personal trainer or nutritionist to keep us on track. And once you no longer need or want the pill, there are options out there to keep us on track with our healthy lifestyle. Even if Alli does not work for some, it has helped others change their lives. Just be smart and fully understand what is required of you now and for the rest of your life and you will be successful! Good luck:)

posted Aug 20th, 2008 5:10 pm


This pill is unnecessary

This pill doesn't do anything except train you...like you're a dog. How? Because if you eat healthy you'll be fine, but if you cheat you'll pay the price in the form of leaking an oily, smelly fluid out your bum. The pill itself does not make you lose weight, YOU eating healthier does; the pill just lets you know when you've been bad...which you could've discovered on your own without paying $50 and sitting on a toilet all day.

posted Aug 19th, 2008 9:06 am


Brooklyn

Started on Alli with my doctors blessing - she actually gave me a months supply - yes, you better either not take it if your going out for the night and having a regular meal - make sure you have panties on:) otherwise - no problem - eat right - like WW plan and stay clear of fats.. or you'll be staining more than your panties... still have not loss any pounds - but I've only been on it for 2 weeks.., hope this works.

posted Aug 14th, 2008 10:04 am


tonya n tally

I am starting alli today. I've taken a product called renue by suddenly slim and has the same effects as alli with slower results. I will keep you posted on my results

posted Aug 11th, 2008 11:36 am


loni

i didnt like alli they made me so sick to my tummy its not funny so i just stopped taking them i dont recremened them to anyone

posted Aug 4th, 2008 9:51 am


Dave Agresti

Tonight, July 31st, I first learned about Alli, the new diet pill. I never heard of it before so it caught my attention. In the commercial on CNN it was said that "millions of people have lost weight" using Alli. If it's so new, how could that many people report success? I would consider that lying to the public. Shouldn't CNN (and other stations running this commercial) pull the plug on this product? I'd like proof of the millions if it does exist.

posted Aug 1st, 2008 8:51 am


Kim

I used alli for a year. Initially lost 10 lbs but alli no longer works anymore. don't know if this is universal or just me. didn't change a thing. just stopped working.

posted Jul 29th, 2008 8:34 am


Marla 07/19/08

Hi Everyone My name is Marla. I bought the alli starter pack today and will be trying out tomorrow I am going to post a weekly update to let everyone knoe how it goes as I think most people (like myself ) read reviews. Just a little background I am probably not the typical person on here and not looking for the miracle answer. To be honest I am not overweight. I know you must be thinking why would someone not overweight take alli well for me it is to assist in a lifestyle change. I am a 29 year old mom..I am 5'5 and I weigh 131lbs. Sounds preety good huh ,,Well its not I eat 3 fast food meals a day and my body fat percentage is 36%. Thats right 36% which puts me in the category for high risk for a heart attack. Its not always about "looking skinny" however my dr. recommended alli to help me "adjust my lifestyle" and thats what I plan to do. Losing weight I guess is the bonus. Regardless if this pill ccan help me eat healthier and make a lifestyle change Im all for it. I will post weekly and let all know how it pans out.

posted Jul 22nd, 2008 11:26 am


Monica

I have lost three pounds in one week. I usually take 2 Alli a day with one semi-fattening meal. I have no side effects what so ever.

posted Jul 18th, 2008 3:55 pm


aaaaa

sure

posted Jul 13th, 2008 9:09 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com

Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical

Whats better than
Alli?