Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

31%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 156 reviews
Alli

Alli Review: Does it Work?

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
What is it?

Alli is a weight loss pill intended to help people burn one pound of fat, for every 2 pounds lost through exercise. It’s an over the counter medication made to help reduce about 25% of the fat one eats.

It’s only available for people 18 and older, and for those who would be considered obese with a BMI of 25 or more. You also have to introduce a low-calorie, low-fat diet, and you have to make sure to take Alli alongside fats in your meals. The intended purpose of Alli is to remove some fat calories from your diet, by not having it digested, and instead being passed through one’s stool. So is this really an effective weight loss pill? What kinds of weight loss effects are possible? Featured in this Alli review is all the information needed to make an informed decision.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

Alli Ingredients and Side Effects

Orlistat

FD&C Blue No. 2

Edible Ink

Gelatin

Iron Oxide

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Povidone

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate

Sodium Starch Glycolate

Talc

Titanium Dioxide

 

Orlistat: The sole key active ingredient in Alli. It’s used to help reduce the absorption of some fats, by having them removed by bowel movements.

You are advised to skip dosing these pills if you have a meal with no fats. It’s also advised to get no more than 30% of your calories from fat to make good use of this ingredient. Both Drugs.com and the official website for Alli confirm:

“Orlistat can make it harder for your body to absorb fat-soluble vitamins”

“may recommend that you take vitamin and mineral supplements while you are taking this medication”

This can reduce the intake of vitamins A, D, E, and K. When using this pill, it’s important to watch out for signs of vitamin and mineral deficiency. This can potentially lead to issues such as:

  • Brittle nails and dull looking hear.
  • Extreme fatigue.
  • Vision problems.
  • Mood swings and symptoms of depression.
  • Reduced muscle mass and weakness in the limbs.
  • Blindness.
  • Increased risk for disease.

Orlistat itself has also been shown to potentially cause side effects that include:

  • Blood in the urine.
  • Severe lower back pain.
  • Kidney problems including little to no urination.
  • Liver issues that may cause nausea, itching, loss of appetite, dark urine, fatigue, and yellowing of the skin and eyes.
  • Oily and or fatty stools.
  • Gas and oily discharge.
  • Stomach pain, increased bathroom usage, and rectal pain.
  • Inability to control your bowel movements.
  • Several other side effects

There are also other side effects that if experienced, it’s advised to seek immediate medical help. This can be a sign of serious health problems that can be potentially life threatening if not treated.

The official website does list some possible side effects, but a list on Drugs.com features all the possible issues people have experienced.

A clinical study of this ingredient showed very poor weight loss benefits.  The Cochrane Metabolic and Endocrine Disorders Group ran a study showing the effects of the active ingredient when used for over a year:

“compared to placebo, Orlistat reduced weight by 2.9 kg”

2.9 kg is 6.39 pounds. So people lost around 1.87 pounds each month. This is significantly less weight loss than what other supplements can provide. You also have to make sure to consider all the possible side effects, as well as reduce your calories and increase exercise.

The company claims that you can lose around 5% of your total body fat if taken according to their demands, but this still isn’t very much. The added diet and exercise is likely a major part of why there’s weight loss.

FD&C Blue No. 2: Synthetic food coloring added to help provide a blue color. It has no nutritional value, and is only added to make these pills appear blue. Rats given this ingredient were subject to:

“statistically significant increases in brain cancer”

This is according to a study by the Center for Science in the Public Interest.  They also advise that this ingredient should be banned, since it has no nutritional value. It’s also believed that this ingredient may cause hyperactivity as well.

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate: A detergent and foaming agent that may cause skin and eye irritation.

Sodium Starch Glycolate: White powder added to help a pill dissolve and absorb better. It can be extracted from common allergens like wheat and corn. Those allergic or sensitive to these ingredients won’t know which is added, since manufacturers aren’t required to list what extracts are used.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Alli Quality of Ingredients

10 of the 11 ingredients are inactive, meaning they have no weight loss purpose.

The only truly beneficial ingredient is Orlistat, and its results on long term weight loss have been poor. You also have to make sure to take it alongside fats, so people who don’t eat much dietary fats wouldn’t see much improvement.

Clinical studies have shown that it may lead to serious side effects, of which there are many. Other studies have revealed that its weight loss effects are poor. Just over a pound of weight loss is possible each month, which isn’t much. This also comes at the addition of added diet and exercise, as well as special intake considerations, as not all people are advised to take this weight loss pill.

You also have to watch out for fat soluble vitamin loss, which may require extra supplementation with multivitamins.


The Price and Quality of Alli

Alli is available for purchase in store and in online retail stores. One 40 day supply sells for $69.99 on Amazon.com. So you’re essentially paying $1.74 per pill.

Most of what’s inside this pill has no weight loss effect. It’s mostly made up of food coloring, pill stabilizers, and additives to ease digestion.

The sole active ingredient has been shown to help reduce dietary fats, but its possibility for side effects and vitamin and mineral loss. Also, the weight loss benefits have been incredibly poor, and as you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Alli” section, it’s not well reviewed by users.

Business of Alli

Alli is owned by the pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline; their US division can be reached below:

Phone Number: (800) 671-2554

Email: Consumer.Communications@GSK.com

No returns are offered on Alli.

The makers have also been the subject of controversy over marketing and illegal actions.  They also were subject to the biggest fine ever imposed on a drug company. The Department of Justice adds:

“Unlawful promotion of certain prescription drugs, its failure to report safety data, and its civil liability for alleged false price reporting”

“largest health care fraud settlement in US history”

They hid information about possible side effects, and they manipulated prices for several of their drugs.

In 2014, they also recalled Alli after fears of contamination.  The FDA adds:

“the company believes some packages of the product were tampered with”

It’s unknown how this could have happened, but they voluntarily recalled all batches of Alli in the US.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Alli

Several customer reviews are available online. Here’s what a few have experienced:

“hate so much that I paid for a product that did absolutely nothing”

“exercised as I did before, failed to lose any weight”

“It was disgusting and uncontrollable”

“Does not work at all”

Side effects were often listed, and they ranged from loose and oily stools, flatulence, increased bathroom usage, and sudden unexpected stools. A few people mentioned they couldn’t be far away from a bathroom, as they would suddenly get the urge to have to go immedietly.

A lack of weight loss was also listed as a problem. Currently 571 reviews on Amazon.com confirm the lack of beneficial effects. Many struggled to see any weight loss even with proper diet and exercise.

There was often concern that the new batches of Alli just aren’t as good, and that there’s a lack of any noticeable change.


Conclusion - Does Alli Work?

When considering weight loss pills like Alli, it’s important to look at clinical studies and customer opinions. Many users who tried Alli failed to see any change, and many severe side effects have also been listed. Though Alli can help reduce some fat intake, it only works to reduce fat, and it has no metabolism boosting or other calorie burning effects. So sugar and carbohydrates won’t be reduced.

Also, the possibility for loss of fat soluble vitamins might require extra supplementation. A better solution is available that has only natural ingredients, no laxative like side effects, and great customer reviews. The very best option of 2016 is the all-natural  Sletrokor.

It doesn’t require a special diet, and you can rest assured this supplement won’t have laxative like side effects. Customers have also raved about the beneficial and long lasting weight loss effects. You can find these testimonials on their official website, with people leaving nothing but positive weight loss results.

Sletrokor is even supported by an industry great 30 day money back guarantee. So you can take this supplement with the knowledge you’re backed by a great risk free guarantee.

How Does Alli Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Alli
  • 31 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 19, 380 total comments)

Robin

+

I am on my 5th day of this pill.I am 5 foot 5 and weigh 216.5 I want to lose at least 40 lbs.I have not had any treatment affects, but have been pooping more, 2-3 times per day. This morning I weighed myself in at 214.7, so about 2 lbs. I am eating right and watching the fat , this is not as hard as I thought it would be. I do not feel like I am starving. I hop this product really helps me loose weight, I am tired of being big.

posted Oct 4th, 2009 12:24 am


jenbrensoph

I haven't taken this, and don't plan to, but I was interested in reading feedback on it. I certainly don't want to laugh at someone else's misfortune....BUTT, having said that--I haven't laughed SO HARD or been so grossed out since I found out that my father-in-law poops right next to the fairway when he's golfing because he doesn't want to waste time going to a BATHROOM. Kbrownie44--if you're not a comedian, you should be!! I was laughing so hard that my 14 year old daughter came out of her bedroom to see what could be so funny while sitting at the computer, alone, at 11:00bm...This is definitely a skit worth doing on SNL. Good luck all you guys...but I think I will try something else.

posted Oct 2nd, 2009 2:17 am


Michaela

+

This product is wonderful for people who already exercise regularly and watch what they eat.

20 months ago I was in a snowboarding accident and tore a ligament in my ankle. I was very active up untill then, but because of my injury I was unable to do ANY workouts involving my feet and gained 40 lbs!

I've been dieting and exercising for the past 9 months and have only lost 10 lbs. After hearing a good review from a friend I decided to try Alli.

In the 1st week I've lost 4.7 lbs! Only 25.3 to go! The only side effects I 've ever had is always from dinner, which has always been my biggest meal of the day. I can only imagine what would happen if you had a horrible diet and took this pill!

The key is diet and exercise!!

posted Sep 25th, 2009 11:55 pm


Charlotte

+

I've only been on it just over a week. On ky 7 day weigh in i lost 6lb. Ive not had any problem with 'bowel movements' like other people have said they have had, just a little more wind than usual. Worth it if it loses weight this quick though! :)

posted Sep 25th, 2009 11:32 am


KBrownie44

-

yes, Alli will help you lose weight and teach you to eat properly with healthy food and exercise...but the side effects are horrible! when they mention on the website and on the side of the bottle that you may experience "lose bowel movements" or "oily spotting and stools," it's just an understatement! I've never been so afraid to take a supplement in my life! I'd eat healthy and all that jazz, but I was still afraid I'd crap my pants! There were several days that I had to go home from work just to change my clothes because of the oily spotting (which is more of a grease stain!)...If you don't mind pooping out bacon grease that smells more like last month's leftovers rotting in the city dump, then this product is great...otherwise, be afraid, be very afraid!

posted Sep 15th, 2009 5:34 pm


Deb

+

I used Alli and planned my own meals. Lost a lot of weight in the first 6 months. Enough to keep me motivated, more than when I was just exercising and eating better on my own. Only had a bad side effect once when I went way over the fat gram restriction.

posted Sep 12th, 2009 10:16 pm


Juanita

+

This is a great plan overall.

You actually get punished with disgusting side affects when you eat something you shouldn't. :)

I actually have been eating very well since starting...due to the rediculously high cost of the pills and the fear of side affects. Great stuff!

posted Sep 11th, 2009 1:46 pm


Sam1104

Starting Alli today.
I gave it a trial-run a few weeks back, didn't change my diet, lost a little weight (4 or 5 pounds) but suffered the most horrific side effects. Changes of clothes were needed regularly (!) and EVERYONE knew when I had visited the bathroom.
But seeing as I have a months supply bought and paid for I figured I might as well commit to the diet as fully as I can (I'm useless at diets!)
Start weight - 200 pounds. Will update regularly :)

posted Sep 7th, 2009 8:32 am


Shannon

+

Alli is a great aid for someone who is going to be commited to the diet and exercise. I have been on alli almost 3 weeks now and am happy to report I have had little side effects. The key is to really stay below the 15 g of fat. The only time I had any side effects was when I had a meal of 14 g of fat and I noticed later that day I had diarrhea. Otherwise I've had far no accidents or anything along those lines like some other reviewers. I really think it's because I'm strict to stay within the 15 g. So far in the 3 weeks I have lost 6lbs.

posted Aug 23rd, 2009 7:27 am


mia

i just started taking alli yesterday so far so good i hope i dont poop on myself!!!! im trying to eat all healthy things and smaller portions. so we will see how it works for me. i am 5"7 and weight 185 i want to get to 160 even.

posted Aug 20th, 2009 2:46 am


heather

i justed starter alli 8-10-09 i talke too my doctorand other doctors they told it was self to us and when pass orange looking stuff the fat is coming out you lossing the weight by cleaning your self out so i am not eating that much i hope i keep on do well

posted Aug 15th, 2009 1:02 am


tc

-

Unless you eat a high fat diet it wonâ??t do much for you. What it did do was make my hair fall out. This is a common side effect. I found people all over the internet complaining about it. When I contacted the company they said they hadn't heard about the problem which was obviously a lie.

posted Aug 7th, 2009 5:46 pm


lynne clark

+

lost 5lb in a week and a half. i have had no side affects the only diet tablet that has worked for me.

posted Jul 31st, 2009 5:02 pm


rach

for the past 6 months or so i started eating right and working out religiously and im happy to say i lost 30 pounds. i started at about 195 and now im down to 165. i've been stuck at 165 for a few months. i've been doing p90x and on low carb diets and i've honestly tried everything lately. im debating whether or not to try this. Would you recomend this for someone like me?

posted Jul 21st, 2009 8:16 pm


Gail

+

been using for 1 month.. lost 27 lbs no treatment effects

posted Jul 9th, 2009 2:10 pm


tean

+

i have been on alli for 6 month i lost 39 pound and i have 35 more to go

posted Jul 8th, 2009 6:37 pm


Skinny24

I am struggling really bad on these tablets..... i have been taking them for a week and lost 2lb, but i am a fussy eater!! i find it differcult to find meals i like..... the only meat i eat is chicken and it has to be breast no bone!! Anyone have any suggestions what i can eat?? what sandwiches i cand take to work??

posted Jul 7th, 2009 11:57 am


userfile
MissCassie

I started Alli yesterday after losing 5lbs with Leptopril. Lets see how it goes. I'm 5'7, 180lbs and the back of Alli says I should weigh 172, lets see how long it takes me to get there, because I WILL get there, I just need a little boost, diet and exercise alone is a long long process. Update in a few weeks or sooner if there is progress

posted Jul 3rd, 2009 8:59 am


Heather

+

i forgot to mention that I did not exercise at all =]

posted Jun 29th, 2009 2:28 pm


heather

+

I have been taking alli for about 3 weeks. I ordered it and it sat in my cabinet for about a month then i decided it was worth a try. I have lost about 20 lbs in 3 weeks!! Of course I have been eating very healthy meaning small portions, but I do not limit myself to anything. Its okay to have any food you want as long as you dont have that much. a few bites of unhealthy food will satisfy you if you are eating a low fat, low calorie diet. I have not been eating anything with added sugar unless i just really wanted it, and then i only eat like a few bites. I did up the dose to 2 capsules with every meal, which is how much the prescription version is. As for the side effects. they were very minimal, i was really freaked out before taking alli due to everyone saying it had these crazy side effects. There was some oily discharge =/ But that is how the pills work to eliminate the fat in your diet. If you stick to a low fat diet then alli is amazing. I just have 15 lbs. to go and with alli I think It won't be that much longer.
I would reccomend this to anyone, because the results totally outweigh the "side effects" but they c an be avoided anyway just by following the guidelines =]]]

posted Jun 29th, 2009 2:26 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com

Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical

Whats better than
Alli?