Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

84%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 150 reviews

Alli

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com


Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 19, 378 total comments)

Michaela

This product is wonderful for people who already exercise regularly and watch what they eat.

20 months ago I was in a snowboarding accident and tore a ligament in my ankle. I was very active up untill then, but because of my injury I was unable to do ANY workouts involving my feet and gained 40 lbs!

I've been dieting and exercising for the past 9 months and have only lost 10 lbs. After hearing a good review from a friend I decided to try Alli.

In the 1st week I've lost 4.7 lbs! Only 25.3 to go! The only side effects I 've ever had is always from dinner, which has always been my biggest meal of the day. I can only imagine what would happen if you had a horrible diet and took this pill!

The key is diet and exercise!!

posted Sep 25th, 2009 11:55 pm


Charlotte

I've only been on it just over a week. On ky 7 day weigh in i lost 6lb. Ive not had any problem with 'bowel movements' like other people have said they have had, just a little more wind than usual. Worth it if it loses weight this quick though! :)

posted Sep 25th, 2009 11:32 am


KBrownie44

yes, Alli will help you lose weight and teach you to eat properly with healthy food and exercise...but the side effects are horrible! when they mention on the website and on the side of the bottle that you may experience "lose bowel movements" or "oily spotting and stools," it's just an understatement! I've never been so afraid to take a supplement in my life! I'd eat healthy and all that jazz, but I was still afraid I'd crap my pants! There were several days that I had to go home from work just to change my clothes because of the oily spotting (which is more of a grease stain!)...If you don't mind pooping out bacon grease that smells more like last month's leftovers rotting in the city dump, then this product is great...otherwise, be afraid, be very afraid!

posted Sep 15th, 2009 5:34 pm


Deb

I used Alli and planned my own meals. Lost a lot of weight in the first 6 months. Enough to keep me motivated, more than when I was just exercising and eating better on my own. Only had a bad side effect once when I went way over the fat gram restriction.

posted Sep 12th, 2009 10:16 pm


Juanita

This is a great plan overall.

You actually get punished with disgusting side affects when you eat something you shouldn't. :)

I actually have been eating very well since starting...due to the rediculously high cost of the pills and the fear of side affects. Great stuff!

posted Sep 11th, 2009 1:46 pm


Sam1104

Starting Alli today.
I gave it a trial-run a few weeks back, didn't change my diet, lost a little weight (4 or 5 pounds) but suffered the most horrific side effects. Changes of clothes were needed regularly (!) and EVERYONE knew when I had visited the bathroom.
But seeing as I have a months supply bought and paid for I figured I might as well commit to the diet as fully as I can (I'm useless at diets!)
Start weight - 200 pounds. Will update regularly :)

posted Sep 7th, 2009 8:32 am


Shannon

Alli is a great aid for someone who is going to be commited to the diet and exercise. I have been on alli almost 3 weeks now and am happy to report I have had little side effects. The key is to really stay below the 15 g of fat. The only time I had any side effects was when I had a meal of 14 g of fat and I noticed later that day I had diarrhea. Otherwise I've had far no accidents or anything along those lines like some other reviewers. I really think it's because I'm strict to stay within the 15 g. So far in the 3 weeks I have lost 6lbs.

posted Aug 23rd, 2009 7:27 am


mia

i just started taking alli yesterday so far so good i hope i dont poop on myself!!!! im trying to eat all healthy things and smaller portions. so we will see how it works for me. i am 5"7 and weight 185 i want to get to 160 even.

posted Aug 20th, 2009 2:46 am


heather

i justed starter alli 8-10-09 i talke too my doctorand other doctors they told it was self to us and when pass orange looking stuff the fat is coming out you lossing the weight by cleaning your self out so i am not eating that much i hope i keep on do well

posted Aug 15th, 2009 1:02 am


tc

Unless you eat a high fat diet it wonâ??t do much for you. What it did do was make my hair fall out. This is a common side effect. I found people all over the internet complaining about it. When I contacted the company they said they hadn't heard about the problem which was obviously a lie.

posted Aug 7th, 2009 5:46 pm


lynne clark

lost 5lb in a week and a half. i have had no side affects the only diet tablet that has worked for me.

posted Jul 31st, 2009 5:02 pm


rach

for the past 6 months or so i started eating right and working out religiously and im happy to say i lost 30 pounds. i started at about 195 and now im down to 165. i've been stuck at 165 for a few months. i've been doing p90x and on low carb diets and i've honestly tried everything lately. im debating whether or not to try this. Would you recomend this for someone like me?

posted Jul 21st, 2009 8:16 pm


Gail

been using for 1 month.. lost 27 lbs no treatment effects

posted Jul 9th, 2009 2:10 pm


tean

i have been on alli for 6 month i lost 39 pound and i have 35 more to go

posted Jul 8th, 2009 6:37 pm


Skinny24

I am struggling really bad on these tablets..... i have been taking them for a week and lost 2lb, but i am a fussy eater!! i find it differcult to find meals i like..... the only meat i eat is chicken and it has to be breast no bone!! Anyone have any suggestions what i can eat?? what sandwiches i cand take to work??

posted Jul 7th, 2009 11:57 am



MissCassie

I started Alli yesterday after losing 5lbs with Leptopril. Lets see how it goes. I'm 5'7, 180lbs and the back of Alli says I should weigh 172, lets see how long it takes me to get there, because I WILL get there, I just need a little boost, diet and exercise alone is a long long process. Update in a few weeks or sooner if there is progress

posted Jul 3rd, 2009 8:59 am


Heather

i forgot to mention that I did not exercise at all =]

posted Jun 29th, 2009 2:28 pm


heather

I have been taking alli for about 3 weeks. I ordered it and it sat in my cabinet for about a month then i decided it was worth a try. I have lost about 20 lbs in 3 weeks!! Of course I have been eating very healthy meaning small portions, but I do not limit myself to anything. Its okay to have any food you want as long as you dont have that much. a few bites of unhealthy food will satisfy you if you are eating a low fat, low calorie diet. I have not been eating anything with added sugar unless i just really wanted it, and then i only eat like a few bites. I did up the dose to 2 capsules with every meal, which is how much the prescription version is. As for the side effects. they were very minimal, i was really freaked out before taking alli due to everyone saying it had these crazy side effects. There was some oily discharge =/ But that is how the pills work to eliminate the fat in your diet. If you stick to a low fat diet then alli is amazing. I just have 15 lbs. to go and with alli I think It won't be that much longer.
I would reccomend this to anyone, because the results totally outweigh the "side effects" but they c an be avoided anyway just by following the guidelines =]]]

posted Jun 29th, 2009 2:26 pm


mags

Im on my second wk of alli, after my 1st week i lost 3lb!! Its learning me alot, and makin me stick to healthy food low fat.. as other wise only have oily fat down your leg and have wear a pad constant! I havent been v strict on de diet and my exercise is work, so not really on diet, but still lost the 3lb!! i will admit i took 4 some days!! but i aim to eat healthier and exercise!! Im really happy that a product that actually works thank so much for alli!!! Thanks to givin me de kick i need!!! and better diet !

posted Jun 26th, 2009 4:21 pm


Barb

I took it for the entire 6 months and barely lost any weight and had a hard time enduring the gross side effects.

posted Jun 23rd, 2009 11:12 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account