Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

31%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 156 reviews
Alli

Alli Review: Does it Work?

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
What is it?

Alli is a weight loss pill intended to help people burn one pound of fat, for every 2 pounds lost through exercise. It’s an over the counter medication made to help reduce about 25% of the fat one eats.

It’s only available for people 18 and older, and for those who would be considered obese with a BMI of 25 or more. You also have to introduce a low-calorie, low-fat diet, and you have to make sure to take Alli alongside fats in your meals. The intended purpose of Alli is to remove some fat calories from your diet, by not having it digested, and instead being passed through one’s stool. So is this really an effective weight loss pill? What kinds of weight loss effects are possible? Featured in this Alli review is all the information needed to make an informed decision.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

Alli Ingredients and Side Effects

Orlistat

FD&C Blue No. 2

Edible Ink

Gelatin

Iron Oxide

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Povidone

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate

Sodium Starch Glycolate

Talc

Titanium Dioxide

 

 

Orlistat: The sole key active ingredient in Alli. It’s used to help reduce the absorption of some fats, by having them removed by bowel movements.

You are advised to skip dosing these pills if you have a meal with no fats. It’s also advised to get no more than 30% of your calories from fat to make good use of this ingredient. Both Drugs.com and the official website for Alli confirm:

“Orlistat can make it harder for your body to absorb fat-soluble vitamins”

“may recommend that you take vitamin and mineral supplements while you are taking this medication”

This can reduce the intake of vitamins A, D, E, and K. When using this pill, it’s important to watch out for signs of vitamin and mineral deficiency. This can potentially lead to issues such as:

  • Brittle nails and dull looking hear.
  • Extreme fatigue.
  • Vision problems.
  • Mood swings and symptoms of depression.
  • Reduced muscle mass and weakness in the limbs.
  • Blindness.
  • Increased risk for disease.

Orlistat itself has also been shown to potentially cause side effects that include:

  • Blood in the urine.
  • Severe lower back pain.
  • Kidney problems including little to no urination.
  • Liver issues that may cause nausea, itching, loss of appetite, dark urine, fatigue, and yellowing of the skin and eyes.
  • Oily and or fatty stools.
  • Gas and oily discharge.
  • Stomach pain, increased bathroom usage, and rectal pain.
  • Inability to control your bowel movements.
  • Several other side effects

There are also other side effects that if experienced, it’s advised to seek immediate medical help. This can be a sign of serious health problems that can be potentially life threatening if not treated.

The official website does list some possible side effects, but a list on Drugs.com features all the possible issues people have experienced.

A clinical study of this ingredient showed very poor weight loss benefits.  The Cochrane Metabolic and Endocrine Disorders Group ran a study showing the effects of the active ingredient when used for over a year:

“compared to placebo, Orlistat reduced weight by 2.9 kg”

2.9 kg is 6.39 pounds. So people lost around 1.87 pounds each month. This is significantly less weight loss than what other supplements can provide. You also have to make sure to consider all the possible side effects, as well as reduce your calories and increase exercise.

The company claims that you can lose around 5% of your total body fat if taken according to their demands, but this still isn’t very much. The added diet and exercise is likely a major part of why there’s weight loss.

FD&C Blue No. 2: Synthetic food coloring added to help provide a blue color. It has no nutritional value, and is only added to make these pills appear blue. Rats given this ingredient were subject to:

“statistically significant increases in brain cancer”

This is according to a study by the Center for Science in the Public Interest.  They also advise that this ingredient should be banned, since it has no nutritional value. It’s also believed that this ingredient may cause hyperactivity as well.

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate: A detergent and foaming agent that may cause skin and eye irritation.

Sodium Starch Glycolate: White powder added to help a pill dissolve and absorb better. It can be extracted from common allergens like wheat and corn. Those allergic or sensitive to these ingredients won’t know which is added, since manufacturers aren’t required to list what extracts are used.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Alli Quality of Ingredients

10 of the 11 ingredients are inactive, meaning they have no weight loss purpose.

The only truly beneficial ingredient is Orlistat, and its results on long term weight loss have been poor. You also have to make sure to take it alongside fats, so people who don’t eat much dietary fats wouldn’t see much improvement.

Clinical studies have shown that it may lead to serious side effects, of which there are many. Other studies have revealed that its weight loss effects are poor. Just over a pound of weight loss is possible each month, which isn’t much. This also comes at the addition of added diet and exercise, as well as special intake considerations, as not all people are advised to take this weight loss pill.

You also have to watch out for fat soluble vitamin loss, which may require extra supplementation with multivitamins.


The Price and Quality of Alli

Alli is available for purchase in store and in online retail stores. One 40 day supply sells for $69.99 on Amazon.com. So you’re essentially paying $1.74 per pill.

Most of what’s inside this pill has no weight loss effect. It’s mostly made up of food coloring, pill stabilizers, and additives to ease digestion.

The sole active ingredient has been shown to help reduce dietary fats, but its possibility for side effects and vitamin and mineral loss. Also, the weight loss benefits have been incredibly poor, and as you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Alli” section, it’s not well reviewed by users.

Business of Alli

Alli is owned by the pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline; their US division can be reached below:

Phone Number: (800) 671-2554

Email: Consumer.Communications@GSK.com

No returns are offered on Alli.

The makers have also been the subject of controversy over marketing and illegal actions.  They also were subject to the biggest fine ever imposed on a drug company. The Department of Justice adds:

“Unlawful promotion of certain prescription drugs, its failure to report safety data, and its civil liability for alleged false price reporting”

“largest health care fraud settlement in US history”

They hid information about possible side effects, and they manipulated prices for several of their drugs.

In 2014, they also recalled Alli after fears of contamination.  The FDA adds:

“the company believes some packages of the product were tampered with”

It’s unknown how this could have happened, but they voluntarily recalled all batches of Alli in the US.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Alli

Several customer reviews are available online. Here’s what a few have experienced:

“hate so much that I paid for a product that did absolutely nothing”

“exercised as I did before, failed to lose any weight”

“It was disgusting and uncontrollable”

“Does not work at all”

Side effects were often listed, and they ranged from loose and oily stools, flatulence, increased bathroom usage, and sudden unexpected stools. A few people mentioned they couldn’t be far away from a bathroom, as they would suddenly get the urge to have to go immedietly.

A lack of weight loss was also listed as a problem. Currently 571 reviews on Amazon.com confirm the lack of beneficial effects. Many struggled to see any weight loss even with proper diet and exercise.

There was often concern that the new batches of Alli just aren’t as good, and that there’s a lack of any noticeable change.


Conclusion - Does Alli Work?

When considering weight loss pills like Alli, it’s important to look at clinical studies and customer opinions. Many users who tried Alli failed to see any change, and many severe side effects have also been listed. Though Alli can help reduce some fat intake, it only works to reduce fat, and it has no metabolism boosting or other calorie burning effects. So sugar and carbohydrates won’t be reduced.

Also, the possibility for loss of fat soluble vitamins might require extra supplementation. A better solution is available that has only natural ingredients, no laxative like side effects, and great customer reviews. The very best option of 2016 is the all-natural  Sletrokor.

It doesn’t require a special diet, and you can rest assured this supplement won’t have laxative like side effects. Customers have also raved about the beneficial and long lasting weight loss effects. You can find these testimonials on their official website, with people leaving nothing but positive weight loss results.

Sletrokor is even supported by an industry great 30 day money back guarantee. So you can take this supplement with the knowledge you’re backed by a great risk free guarantee.

How Does Alli Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Alli
  • 31 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 13 of 19, 380 total comments)

anonymouse

I started on Alli in April of 2008. I was 201lbs, a size 14-15 and 5'8". It's now the middle of July, and I'm at 181 and a size 12. I hardly exercise and have a desk job. I hang out pretty close to the fat limit per meal. I have very few side effects; when I do, they're limited to oily discharge while going to the bathroom. Better there, than on my thighs.

posted Jul 12th, 2008 6:15 pm


kristi

Omgosh the side effects are very REAL. I had gas with oil spots. Think about having a bowel movement with all fat coming out and then your rear feels like you put butter on it. Yuck I know but when I ate a little fat it did not happen that often but one day the office had a party and I had some higher fat food I had to go home a change my pants. So when they say you have to stay on a low fat diet they are not kidding. If you cheat you will not like what happens. I only been taking it for a week so no weight change. But i not going to take it anymore because it not worth the side effects i had.

posted Jul 12th, 2008 2:36 pm


titi

I had thought about bying Alli, but as I read all the stories, I got scared. One day I finally did it. I've been on it for 3 weeks. I have not yet had a side affect and have lost 2 lbs a week. I am also on a very low fat diet and jog 3 miles 3x a week.

posted Jul 11th, 2008 3:26 pm


William

Kim, I've been doing the weight watcher meals, and the recipes in the alli cook books, and the weight is coming off for me

posted Jul 5th, 2008 10:06 am


kim

hi guys, ive been taking xenical for 2 days now and have used the toilet once and it seemed normal. im worried about how much fat im eating as i really dont have a clue . ive bought this drug in a foriegn country as i cant see a doctor here .. i was wondering if anyone could help me find a low fat diet plan that will work with xenical as i cant find anything on the net. Im so desperate to loose weight im 93 kg at 5.4 and its really getting me down . Thank you :)

posted Jul 4th, 2008 9:13 am


Kimberly

I havent seen any one mention that Alli does help people who have problems with being regular. My weight came from not being able to go. Laxatives are out of the question and high fiber diet just made it worse for me. I started Alli YES to help lose weight but it has done more than that for me. I havn't been regular since I was a baby. Alli helps me to go EVERY day with out straning. I guess the fat helps lube up my digestive track making it WAY easier to go. I lost 15 lbs with Alli. I do watch what I eat and do alot of house work to act as my excersice. When I don't take Alli I am back to NOT being able to go at all or very little. It's nice to have something that doesn't HARM your digestive track. I hope they never stop making it. As far as side effects just make sure you DON'T eat those foods that cause nasty leakage. Simple as that.

posted Jul 1st, 2008 7:54 am


DEB

June 30, 200b, I am planning to statrt this Diet, are there any new updates?

posted Jun 30th, 2008 9:56 am


Alexis

i dont know i just started this Alli crap and i didnt think the first few days anything was gonna happen 2 me and WHOA it just hit me, AND my undergarmets.....i was so upset and still am... i just stopped taking it now.....if you can handle wearing diapers and locking yourself indoors all day then go for Alli but otherwise this is just not for me......i am absolutely disgusted!!

posted Jun 29th, 2008 5:50 pm


joyce

alli seems to work, but i do watch fat intake . lost 5 pounds in 2 weeks. i have forgotten to take pill and then took after i ate. does alli still work the same way then ???

posted Jun 29th, 2008 5:47 pm


Dominique

I've been taking Alli for 3 days now and I haven't seen any weight loss yet( I do feel less bloated). I exercise 3-4 times a week- every week. My problem was I just eat food that's really, really bad for me. Although, I haven't seen any weight loss yet, I do like the pill. In 3 days, I've learned that even food that I thought was reasonably good for me.... is actually not- And the dreaded TE's are proof. That oily discharge is no joke. But I'm learning how to eat better. Even if you take Alli just to help you learn what to eat and what not to eat, I believe it's worth it.

posted Jun 27th, 2008 8:10 am


lalalala

I've been on alli for 2 weeks and i have lost 6lbs! before using alli i lost 11 lbs so ive lost a total of 17lbs. I like alli because the treatment affects scare me away from eating fatty foods. I have had some treatment affects, but they were not bad at all. I go to the gym for an hour-an hour and a half 6 days a week and i eat around 1300 calories a day. Im loving it, i just hope it keeps working!

posted Jun 27th, 2008 8:10 am


New Yorker

I've been pretty amazed by the varying degrees of comments that have been posted within the past few weeks. Convinced that this product might actually work, despite "Be Smart's" commentary (that half the comments are false and produced by the company itself), I found that the product does supress my hunger. Not drastically loosing much weight (and not exercising either) I don't get the "nasty" side affects that others have. I've been taking it for almost a week and have felt a little light (headed) but taking a multivitamin in highly suggested. I rarely do eat greasy foods, and have not had the side affects people claim to have. So far, the product is really knew, but I will come back and share my success or probable failure. I am 5'5 and between 148-150lbs and am trying to get down to 125-130. I've tried the exercise, yet I've never kept any of the weight I lost off because that would mean my whole life diet would change, which it hasnt. Thus, I'm going to continue to give alli a try in hopes that I will loose the weight and keep it off, but there is always the question or statement that there isn't a pill that can fix this challenging issue...

posted Jun 26th, 2008 8:29 am


Be Smart

You guys do Know that half these comments are FAKE and are posted by the actual company itself to make there prouduct look good. Duh.

posted Jun 24th, 2008 10:10 am


Erika

I have been taking alli for about 5 days now, and i believe ive lost about 3 pounds.I find myself to eat less fattening foods in order to avoid the unpleasent side effects which only happen when i cheat and eat something greasy or high in fat other than that i have not had much side effects. As for the weight loss feel my eating habits have helped that and im hoping its the pill as well. Ive tried alot of other weight loss pills and nothing has worked so im hoping on this one.Id say im going to give it a month and see if i see some good results to judge .

posted Jun 23rd, 2008 10:03 am


William

Is anyone buying the Alli cookbooks? because there are alot of places where you can go out to eat, and they give you meals that you can order, and still stay within your guidelines

posted Jun 23rd, 2008 10:03 am


William

I've been on Alli since Feb, and I have lost over 45 lbs. To date I never had any of the side effects.

posted Jun 21st, 2008 7:55 am


Tinda

I've tried ALLI for about mnth 1/2 it seemed to work alittle i lost about 8-10lbs. but the side effects are gross.Dont mess around and eat small fries when your on the go with the kids,wooh, the oily discharge that you have, that's just gas! Let's say when taking ALLI on the road or out to eat, bring your baby wipes!!! To clean that oil spill!!! but it works....

posted Jun 19th, 2008 4:34 pm


Kelly

I took Alli for about 6 weeks and lost a total of 10 pounds. The weight comes off slow but remember the slower you lose weight the more likely you are to keep it off. I also recommend keeping a journal of what you eat. That way when you stop taking the Alli after you have reached your goal you can keep your diet in check and prevent weight gain afterwards. Don't get discouraged. Alli is a great aide in weight loss but don't forget to exercise and reward yourself for the weight loss don't give all the credit to the Alli.

posted Jun 19th, 2008 9:38 am


Trying Alli

Tonia..Hi. Was wondering.. have u been excersing too..along with taking the pill?...Just curious.

posted Jun 16th, 2008 9:08 am


Tonia

Been on alli 10 days and so far lost 14 pounds. So far no treatment effects. I am happy as can be with the pill. I do stay within the calorie and fat guidelines alli tells ya.

posted Jun 13th, 2008 9:34 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com

Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical

Whats better than
Alli?