Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

31%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 156 reviews
Alli

Alli Review: Does it Work?

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
What is it?

Alli is a weight loss pill intended to help people burn one pound of fat, for every 2 pounds lost through exercise. It’s an over the counter medication made to help reduce about 25% of the fat one eats.

It’s only available for people 18 and older, and for those who would be considered obese with a BMI of 25 or more. You also have to introduce a low-calorie, low-fat diet, and you have to make sure to take Alli alongside fats in your meals. The intended purpose of Alli is to remove some fat calories from your diet, by not having it digested, and instead being passed through one’s stool. So is this really an effective weight loss pill? What kinds of weight loss effects are possible? Featured in this Alli review is all the information needed to make an informed decision.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

Alli Ingredients and Side Effects

Orlistat

FD&C Blue No. 2

Edible Ink

Gelatin

Iron Oxide

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Povidone

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate

Sodium Starch Glycolate

Talc

Titanium Dioxide

 

 

Orlistat: The sole key active ingredient in Alli. It’s used to help reduce the absorption of some fats, by having them removed by bowel movements.

You are advised to skip dosing these pills if you have a meal with no fats. It’s also advised to get no more than 30% of your calories from fat to make good use of this ingredient. Both Drugs.com and the official website for Alli confirm:

“Orlistat can make it harder for your body to absorb fat-soluble vitamins”

“may recommend that you take vitamin and mineral supplements while you are taking this medication”

This can reduce the intake of vitamins A, D, E, and K. When using this pill, it’s important to watch out for signs of vitamin and mineral deficiency. This can potentially lead to issues such as:

  • Brittle nails and dull looking hear.
  • Extreme fatigue.
  • Vision problems.
  • Mood swings and symptoms of depression.
  • Reduced muscle mass and weakness in the limbs.
  • Blindness.
  • Increased risk for disease.

Orlistat itself has also been shown to potentially cause side effects that include:

  • Blood in the urine.
  • Severe lower back pain.
  • Kidney problems including little to no urination.
  • Liver issues that may cause nausea, itching, loss of appetite, dark urine, fatigue, and yellowing of the skin and eyes.
  • Oily and or fatty stools.
  • Gas and oily discharge.
  • Stomach pain, increased bathroom usage, and rectal pain.
  • Inability to control your bowel movements.
  • Several other side effects

There are also other side effects that if experienced, it’s advised to seek immediate medical help. This can be a sign of serious health problems that can be potentially life threatening if not treated.

The official website does list some possible side effects, but a list on Drugs.com features all the possible issues people have experienced.

A clinical study of this ingredient showed very poor weight loss benefits.  The Cochrane Metabolic and Endocrine Disorders Group ran a study showing the effects of the active ingredient when used for over a year:

“compared to placebo, Orlistat reduced weight by 2.9 kg”

2.9 kg is 6.39 pounds. So people lost around 1.87 pounds each month. This is significantly less weight loss than what other supplements can provide. You also have to make sure to consider all the possible side effects, as well as reduce your calories and increase exercise.

The company claims that you can lose around 5% of your total body fat if taken according to their demands, but this still isn’t very much. The added diet and exercise is likely a major part of why there’s weight loss.

FD&C Blue No. 2: Synthetic food coloring added to help provide a blue color. It has no nutritional value, and is only added to make these pills appear blue. Rats given this ingredient were subject to:

“statistically significant increases in brain cancer”

This is according to a study by the Center for Science in the Public Interest.  They also advise that this ingredient should be banned, since it has no nutritional value. It’s also believed that this ingredient may cause hyperactivity as well.

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate: A detergent and foaming agent that may cause skin and eye irritation.

Sodium Starch Glycolate: White powder added to help a pill dissolve and absorb better. It can be extracted from common allergens like wheat and corn. Those allergic or sensitive to these ingredients won’t know which is added, since manufacturers aren’t required to list what extracts are used.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Alli Quality of Ingredients

10 of the 11 ingredients are inactive, meaning they have no weight loss purpose.

The only truly beneficial ingredient is Orlistat, and its results on long term weight loss have been poor. You also have to make sure to take it alongside fats, so people who don’t eat much dietary fats wouldn’t see much improvement.

Clinical studies have shown that it may lead to serious side effects, of which there are many. Other studies have revealed that its weight loss effects are poor. Just over a pound of weight loss is possible each month, which isn’t much. This also comes at the addition of added diet and exercise, as well as special intake considerations, as not all people are advised to take this weight loss pill.

You also have to watch out for fat soluble vitamin loss, which may require extra supplementation with multivitamins.


The Price and Quality of Alli

Alli is available for purchase in store and in online retail stores. One 40 day supply sells for $69.99 on Amazon.com. So you’re essentially paying $1.74 per pill.

Most of what’s inside this pill has no weight loss effect. It’s mostly made up of food coloring, pill stabilizers, and additives to ease digestion.

The sole active ingredient has been shown to help reduce dietary fats, but its possibility for side effects and vitamin and mineral loss. Also, the weight loss benefits have been incredibly poor, and as you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Alli” section, it’s not well reviewed by users.

Business of Alli

Alli is owned by the pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline; their US division can be reached below:

Phone Number: (800) 671-2554

Email: Consumer.Communications@GSK.com

No returns are offered on Alli.

The makers have also been the subject of controversy over marketing and illegal actions.  They also were subject to the biggest fine ever imposed on a drug company. The Department of Justice adds:

“Unlawful promotion of certain prescription drugs, its failure to report safety data, and its civil liability for alleged false price reporting”

“largest health care fraud settlement in US history”

They hid information about possible side effects, and they manipulated prices for several of their drugs.

In 2014, they also recalled Alli after fears of contamination.  The FDA adds:

“the company believes some packages of the product were tampered with”

It’s unknown how this could have happened, but they voluntarily recalled all batches of Alli in the US.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Alli

Several customer reviews are available online. Here’s what a few have experienced:

“hate so much that I paid for a product that did absolutely nothing”

“exercised as I did before, failed to lose any weight”

“It was disgusting and uncontrollable”

“Does not work at all”

Side effects were often listed, and they ranged from loose and oily stools, flatulence, increased bathroom usage, and sudden unexpected stools. A few people mentioned they couldn’t be far away from a bathroom, as they would suddenly get the urge to have to go immedietly.

A lack of weight loss was also listed as a problem. Currently 571 reviews on Amazon.com confirm the lack of beneficial effects. Many struggled to see any weight loss even with proper diet and exercise.

There was often concern that the new batches of Alli just aren’t as good, and that there’s a lack of any noticeable change.


Conclusion - Does Alli Work?

When considering weight loss pills like Alli, it’s important to look at clinical studies and customer opinions. Many users who tried Alli failed to see any change, and many severe side effects have also been listed. Though Alli can help reduce some fat intake, it only works to reduce fat, and it has no metabolism boosting or other calorie burning effects. So sugar and carbohydrates won’t be reduced.

Also, the possibility for loss of fat soluble vitamins might require extra supplementation. A better solution is available that has only natural ingredients, no laxative like side effects, and great customer reviews. The very best option of 2016 is the all-natural  Sletrokor.

It doesn’t require a special diet, and you can rest assured this supplement won’t have laxative like side effects. Customers have also raved about the beneficial and long lasting weight loss effects. You can find these testimonials on their official website, with people leaving nothing but positive weight loss results.

Sletrokor is even supported by an industry great 30 day money back guarantee. So you can take this supplement with the knowledge you’re backed by a great risk free guarantee.

How Does Alli Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Alli
  • 31 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 19, 380 total comments)

Julie

I tried Alli for a while and quickly realised the pills were not the quick fix that everyone wants! You are much better starting your diet with a Free profile at www.Diet-365.com and planning which one of the 22 diets that are on offer suit your lifestyle, I personally chose the wheat free diet plan and so far am I am seeing very positive results, get your Free profile like I did, I think its much better than relying on tablets to rule your life, after all its a lifestyle change needed if we are to lose weight, good luck!

posted May 4th, 2009 6:49 am


amee

+

i started taking alli yesterday, so far no bad side effects yet touch wood! i am sticking to no more than 1200 calories and no more than 12g of fat per meal. although i've only taken these for 2 days my mood has been pretty low is that normal? i have lost a 1lbs in these 2 days though which i think is pretty good :)

posted May 2nd, 2009 4:25 pm


Laura

+

Ive just started the Alli plan and have just past week 1.
I have lost 2 lbs within this week with no ill side effects what so ever!
I have reduced my cal intake to 15g fat per meal or there round about, and excise on the wkends... I am pleased with the results.
Could somebody confirm to me if i am doing the right thing... i am am taking the Alli pill three times a day after my meals with a multi vitamin in the evening as recommended, but i would say my breakfast is more or less completely fat free ?(either fruit with w.w yogart, or eggs with 1 slice of w.w brown bread) Should i still be taking the pill ??
Laura :)

posted Apr 30th, 2009 8:12 am


rob

just wondering is this ok to take if u av a bmi of 25? i want to lose fat from my belly so thought id try it

posted Apr 22nd, 2009 1:51 pm


Michele

I have taken Alli 4 separate times. The first time I lost about 5 lbs. The last 3 times I had to stop because I developed flu symptoms with a fever...and I NEVER get sick! The first two times I thought it was a coincidence. The third time, I'm convinced it was because of the Alli. I think it depletes my body of nutrients needed to maintain a health immune system.

posted Apr 20th, 2009 1:18 pm


khelsey

+

i love it! ive only been on alli for a week and ive lost 6 pounds! it does work if you work at it! you still cant eat fatty foods! i love it!

posted Apr 18th, 2009 3:21 pm


Wend

I'd like to know if you can take it at the same time as coming off the pill? Obviously once pregnant you stop taking it but am wondering if it's quite safe while trying as it doesnt go into the bloodstream?

posted Apr 15th, 2009 7:00 am


Sommer

+

I have been on Alli for about a week now and have not experienced any of the so called treatment effects. I think the people that are experiencing these must be eating high fatty foods. Do not go over 15 grams of fat and your fine! Alli is deffinately helping me make smarter decisions about what I eat and is helping to curb my appitite. Just remember you still have to work out with this pill!

posted Apr 10th, 2009 4:33 pm


Hollie

+

I've been taking alli for about 7 weeks now. I try to eat right, snack every once in a while, drink over 64 oz water a day and exercise at least 3 times a week. And still nothing!! I will keep trying maybe it'll drop off sometime. At 5'4" and 185 lbs I have tried every diet trying not to suffer from too much caffeine which makes me sick to my stomach. I am tired of spending $. I bought Alli double starter pack at sams for $65 and got 300 pills. Not too bad. Starting on my second bottle today. I can admit if you do eat fatty foods you will suffer and have accidents. just try to eat right and you'll be ok.

posted Apr 7th, 2009 9:40 pm


CM358204

+

I started taking Alli last Thursday. I found it discounted on amazon.com. It has only been 6 days and I have already lost 4 lbs (5'7" went from 165 to 161). I know that whenever anyone goes on a diet they tend to see the most results within the first few weeks so I know I probably won't loose this much weight each week. The main thing which Alli does for me is help keep me motivated. This past week I have eaten healthier than I ever have before because I'm afraid of those nasty side effects we have all heard so much about. So far I have not had any side effects. I went out to lunch with some friends over the weekend and ordered a turkey wrap and ate only half because I thought that would be less than the fat gram target but later when I looked it up it was about 3 grams higher than what the target is but I still didn't have any side effects. Still, before going on Alli I definitely would have eaten the whole wrap just cause it tastes so good! Alli is helping me to make smarter decisions regarding my eating and helping me to stay motivated to work out so I can see the maximum results. The only thing I haven't changed was how much I drink on the weekends so I'm happy that I am still seeing results. I'll keep everyone posted to let you know how the results go in these next few weeks.

posted Apr 7th, 2009 5:48 pm


Nani

i have been taken alli for week now but i don`t lost nothing yet , i eat healthier, i am suffering from some gas and constipation ,,,, any one suffer from the same problem



posted Apr 7th, 2009 4:15 pm


Stacey

+

At age 25 and 5ft5 , weighing 198 pounds, I really needed to lose weight, But failed diets in the past......I thought I would give Alli a try......8 weeks later I now weigh 183 pounds thats a loss of 15 pounds :-)....I still have a long way to go but they are really working.

posted Apr 5th, 2009 8:03 pm


teresa

+

I'm not really overweight, but with Alli I can eat whatever I want and not gain any weight. I guess I'm lucky b/c I never experience any of the so-called treatment effects, so I can eat a lot of pizza, fries, junk food, etc., and not gain a pound!

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 7:43 pm


KARINAA

I ACTUALLY STARTED TAKIN ALLI....BUT STOPPED BECAUSE ALL DAY IT FELT LIKE I HAD AN UPSET STOMACH, JUST A SICK FEELING...NOW MY DR TOLD ME I WAS ACTUALLY TAKING IT WRONG, UR ONLY SUPPOSED TO TAKE THE PILLS WHEN U EAT A HIGH CALOIE MEAL, OR A MEAL THAT CONTAINS FAT....I WAS ACTUALLY TAKING IT, EATIN AN ENGLISH MUFFIN AND SOME JUICE, THEREFORE THATS WHY I WAS FEELIN SICK, THERES OBVIOUSLY NO FAT IN THAT LOL....SHE ADVISED ME ONLY TO TAKE IT IF I EAT, PASTA, CHEESE, POTATOES, ETC...THATS WHEN THEY WORK,,,,AND TO SAVE THE PILLS FOR WHEN U NEED THEM AT ANY GIVEN MEAL...WELL IM STARTING TOM,,,ILL POST BACK SOON!

posted Mar 26th, 2009 2:42 am


nancy o'donnell

-

Did not lose one pound

posted Mar 21st, 2009 2:08 pm


kaygirl

+

My on my second day of taking alli I went to Buffalo Wild wings and ate wings and french fries, the next night I was in the library when i started o feel real gassy and then the urge to poop, I went to the bathroom to find my underwear saturated in oil!! I did not take it for the rest of the week and had intentions to take it back.

Week 2 I decided to try it again but this time the right way with no fatty foods, and I am down 3 lbs!!! So it does work just dont give in to temptations like chicken wing and you will be fine!

posted Mar 21st, 2009 11:32 am


Jennifer

+

I have been on Alli for almost 6 weeks and losing weight on average1-2 per week (11 lb total so far). I watch and journal and plan all that I eat. Accidents can happen, (once in the beginning) but never EXPLOSIVE Diarrhea. I still eat what I like but only in moderation and smaller portions to satisfy my cravings. I exercise every so often but if I was more committed I think I would lose the weight even faster.

I see myself as a ticking time bomb when I am on ALLI and I really don't want to explode.

posted Mar 9th, 2009 12:04 am


Tammi

+

Just started Alli one week ago and I really love it! Like so many others say it makes you more aware of what you eat and motivates you to keep going. I have noticed my jeans are looser after one week and I cant wait to keep going!

posted Mar 6th, 2009 11:57 am


Kat

My dr just gave me a sample, and plan on starting it very soon. I am diabetic, and if you know anything about diabetics, the weight is the HARDEST thing to keep off, actually it just keeps going up, no matter what, expecially around the middle. Since August, I've really tried with exercising more, seeing a trainer also, and really really watching my diet. But even with all of this I only lost about 11-12 lbs, plus inches. So I talked with my dr about what I was going thru, and she suggested trying the Alli, gave me a sample, and I'm going to get started on it. Anyone out there that is diabetic and has tried this, let me know how it worked for you. I'll be back soon! Cross your fingers!!

posted Feb 14th, 2009 1:54 pm


Shelly

+

I have been on Alli for 2 weeks, I eat what I want and do 30 mins of walking every day. I already lost 9.5 lbs! I font have any side effects! I love alli! Yes it's a tad expensive but.. It's so worth it!

posted Feb 9th, 2009 5:14 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com

Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical

Whats better than
Alli?