Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

84%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 150 reviews

Alli

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com


Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 19, 378 total comments)

mike

Alli helped me lose weight but the side effects were so disgusting that I had to quit. I obliged and ate less than 15 g of fat per meal (often only taking in that much per day), and I don'thave IBS or anything, but my stool would be disgustingly oily and I would wake up and find orange spots on my underwear and mattress... very very disgusting and inconvenient. Once I ate Pizza and the results were disastrous... plus Alli gives you this strange, depleted, fatigued feeling that nobody with a busy lifestyle can afford.. and I even took multivitamins like Alli reccomends as well as eating a healthy diet.

posted Dec 10th, 2008 6:34 am


CynDee

Oh my God, this pill is not worth it. Please save your $50.00. I have irritable bowel syndrome anyway, and this about set me over the edge. I went off the plan on Thanksgiving, but did not take any pills that day - even at breakfast which was very low-fat. Two days later I had the worst, explosive diarrhea ever. My stomach was bloated and I had "urgent episodes" throughout the next three days - even though I went off the pills. If you do go on the plan but decide to go off like I did, stay very low fat for at least one week after you stop. The pill must stay in your system and you will suffer terrible stomach/colon pain. I am still on a bland diet trying to recover from this stuff.

posted Dec 8th, 2008 5:17 pm


HeatherD

I have exercised regularly for more than half of my life and usually eat a fairly healthy diet. However, after having two children and turning 39 I found that I had gained 20 pounds and could not lose it with my normal exercise routine. I guess my metabolism has slowed down with age. I decided to cut my calories significantly (to the minimum of 1200 a day with occasional higher calorie days) and continue exercising, assuming that would do it. Unfortunately, after two months of that I still hadn't dropped a single pound. I was unwilling to take anything that worked in the blood or brain, so I've always avoided diet pills. I was incredibly frustrated so I went to my doctor to get my thyroid tested (hypothyroidism runs in my family). Results came back normal so my doctor recommended Alli. I have lost 8 pounds now in the 5 weeks I've been taking Alli, while continuing my low fat diet and exercise 3 - 5 times a week. I am absolutely thrilled. I haven't experienced a single incident of the "treatment effects" mentioned, probably because I eat mostly vegetables, fruit and starches. I also don't take the pill 3 times a day - only when I eat a "real" meal. For example, I don't take it before I eat oatmeal with Splenda, but I will take it before eating a baked potato with cheese. Since I had already been doing the low-fat, low-calorie and exercise combination without success, I know I can credit Alli with helping me lose this weight. It's expensive, but it's worth it to have something that works well.

posted Dec 3rd, 2008 4:58 pm


HeatherD

I have exercised regularly for more than half of my life and usually eat a fairly healthy diet. However, after having two children and turning 39 I found that I had gained 20 pounds and could not lose it with my normal exercise routine. I guess my metabolism has slowed down with age. I decided to cut my calories significantly (to the minimum of 1200 a day with occasional higher calorie days) and continue exercising, assuming that would do it. Unfortunately, after two months of that I still hadn't dropped a single pound. I was unwilling to take anything that worked in the blood or brain, so I've always avoided diet pills. I was incredibly frustrated so I went to my doctor to get my thyroid tested (hypothyroidism runs in my family). Results came back normal so my doctor recommended Alli. I have lost 8 pounds now in the 5 weeks I've been taking Alli, while continuing my low fat diet and exercise 3 - 5 times a week. I am absolutely thrilled. I haven't experienced a single incident of the "treatment effects" mentioned, probably because I eat mostly vegetables, fruit and starches. I also don't take the pill 3 times a day - only when I eat a "real" meal. For example, I don't take it before I eat oatmeal with Splenda, but I will take it before eating a baked potato with cheese. Since I had already been doing the low-fat, low-calorie and exercise combination without success, I know I can credit Alli with helping me lose this weight. It's expensive, but it's worth it to have something that works well.

posted Dec 3rd, 2008 9:40 am


Anon

I am 22 years old. I have been taking Alli for a week and a half now and have already lost 6lbs. Haven't had any problems yet!

posted Dec 3rd, 2008 12:24 am


Tami Bowman

The pill is helpful in that it keeps you honest on your diet, but the website and interaction with others struggling with the same thing are wonderful! I feel much more supported on the site than I ever did in WW and I have lost more weight - so far over 16% of my total BMI! I have 68 lbs to go and looking forward to it!

posted Nov 26th, 2008 1:53 pm


Marie

I tried Alli a couple months ago. I was scared to use it at first because of the leaking and oily bowelmovements. I tried it for about a month and changed my eating habits, I lost about 10 pounds. It's a good product the only thing is that you have to have tremendous self control something that I lacked the last week of that month I took it and I gained the weigth right back really quick. Over all I like Alli but commitment is the keyword here! I started it again today, wish me luck! :]

posted Nov 24th, 2008 4:48 pm


Tara

I have been taking Alli for a week and have lost 2lbs. I have been counting calories and my fat intake as to avoid any treatment effects. I do get gassy and feel bloated after taking a pill but i do see results so i'll stick with it for another week. Dont want to waste my money. I don't think i'll buy another bottle after i finish this one.

posted Nov 22nd, 2008 9:45 am


elisa

I have to say that I recommend this to anyone trying to lose weight. You WILL LOSE it!!!! But the downfall of this is you definately can't eat alot of fat because you will have alot of this orange oil. So take into consideration if you can diet because if you don't BAD mistake!!!

posted Nov 20th, 2008 6:06 pm


LMR

I have been taking Alli for two weeks. For the first week I went to the gym once and the second week twice. From last Thursday to this Thursday I have lost 3 lbs. The side effects are true. You will have orange oilly stuff in the toliet when you go to the bathroom. You will feel the urge to go to the bathroom alot. I only had one accident when I farted and a little oil came out. The best thing is this will encourage you to eat less fat. The less fat you eat the less oil occurs. Now I stay clear of those things because I know what will happen to me. I think it's totally worth the money. You don't get headaches and your heart doesn't race from it.

posted Nov 20th, 2008 9:26 am


jahaira

HUM I USE ALLI THEY DONT WORK NOTHING JUST THE ORANGE STUFF WHEN I GO TO THE BATH , BUT I NEVER LOSE NOTHING I WAS USING 4 A MONTH HUM I DONT APPROVE ALLI hum i was doing exercise everyday and i was doing diet to so i dont know why i was bledding that orange stuff

posted Nov 17th, 2008 4:06 pm


mcpatty

p.s.- i am nearly 53, so weight loss is a little more difficult; i just saw Jenn's review and agree- WW and Alli are perfect together. i do Core on WW, so low/nonfat isn't a problem, and no leaks so far! that really sounds ghastly, so i am being extremely selective about what i put in my mouth !!!

posted Nov 14th, 2008 12:12 pm


mcpatty

i bought Alli just this past tuesday, took one before dinner- was 154 the next mornng, which i am considering my starting wt. ( i'd like to get to 140 , and can't seem to get and stay there on WW alone) i took it wed. as directed, was 152.8 thursday morning. took it yesterday, this morning i was 149.8 ! i will say i am being VERY careful about my food choices, since i don't want the " unwanted side effects ", but havne't had to deal with any temptations YET ! also, i am on my feet most of the day atwork for 12 hrs, and i work out on nautilus-type machines for 30 min. during my lunch break 2-3x/week, so i know that helps. plan to continue........

posted Nov 14th, 2008 12:09 pm


Jenn

Me again..Weight Watchers and Alli are a perfect pair!! The pounds are coming off slow. They are supposed too!! Four weeks and 10 pounds gone. Again to the boneheads still trying to eat pizza and cheeseburgers.....obviously not trying to hard to lose weight! They make some wonderful low-fat versions of pizza (like Schwans LiveSmart). And turkey meat or wild meat (like vension) make wonderful LOWFAT burgers as well! Lower your fat and you won't leak! I Promise!!!!!

posted Nov 13th, 2008 5:13 pm


wendy

i love alli. the only bad thing is i lost my chest.

posted Nov 11th, 2008 1:09 pm


Non-Intimate Encounters

It does work but you do have to modify your diet so you don't have any "mishaps". I tried it and unfortunately one week I just went overboard with the consumption of fatty foods. My thoughts were, if it's gonna block the fat then why not indulge every once in a while? Well I didnt realize my boyfriend was going to surprise me by returning early from a trip. Needless to say we had an intimate encounter and I completely embarassed myself with the orange grease that oozed from my bum when I reached my point! He didn't even know I was taking Alli and was surprised not to mention grossed out when it happened.

posted Nov 6th, 2008 5:49 pm


Claire

It definitely makes your body pass the fat you consume instead of digesting it....
I was at work at had orange discharge leaking through my pants. I didn't think I ate that much fat, but apparently I did. Anyway, I am too scared to take more because that was SO embarrassing. You don't even notice that it's happening. And there was also orange oil in the toilet, but I did not have diarrhea.
So although no diarrhea or cramps, YES oily orange discharge that you can NOT control. I guess if you want to take it wear pads! GROSS!!

posted Nov 6th, 2008 4:46 pm


Kristi

Okay, Alli does not make you stay in the bathroom all day and squirt yellow stuff. What you eat is what makes thats happen! You can not take alli expecting to eat whatever you want. There is not a diet pill out there that will do that for you. You have to be on a low fat diet in order for things to work properly. If you don't have the willpower to stay on a diet and stop eating cheeseburgers pizza and fast food, then maybe you should consider dieting at a time in your life where you ACTUALLY want to lose weight.

Coming from someone who has done ever diet you could imagine, tried all sorts of diet pills, tried excercising (which I hate but do it anyway bc it makes me feel good).... I know how this stuff works. Its really not that hard.

Eat right, work out 30 minutes 4 times a week, put the junk food away, write down what your eating (it helps bc u actually see what your putting down you throat instead of just eating all day and not realizing it) and get motivated. Find a picture of someone (I chose the Dallas Cowboys Cheerlearders) bc my goal is to be able to wear their outfit for halloween next year and be happy in it! place it on your fridge...or cabinet...or BOTH... and get some self control ppl! Its not that difficult. I have dieted since I was 8... Im 19 now...and It might have taken me a while to really get it bc I love to eat.... but now that I have it and its been working great for me... Its really not that hard.

Alli is great, if you need help with self control, it is definitely something that will help you... in the bathroom... you won't want to eat those foods that are doing terrible things to your body. I'm also a nursing student and know what it does.... so that helps too.

Congrats to those who are doing well!
Thank you Alli

posted Nov 5th, 2008 10:48 am


Heather

My sister was 216 lbs and she started taking alli, going for walks, and working as a nurse and is now 143 lbs. she looks great and she has not had any leakage or anything like that. She gave me some and I took it for about a week and it was great I had no problems at all and lost 2 lbs. I guess it just depends on the person and if you really want to lose the weight.

posted Nov 4th, 2008 8:09 pm


nicole

i took the alli for about a month, i lost 13 pounds. there was no side effects as far as making your crazy or anthing....but if you eat greezy stuff it will come out greezy....i work out 5-6 days a week and eat right....befor i started taking alli i ate junk food everyday, alli was my excuse to stop eating junk food b/c i was afraid to poop out greeze. but one day i did eat grilled food from a resturant that was covered in butter..i didnt know and so yeah i pooped greese for about 3 days. but my diet is very strict now and i eat nothing with greese, so i saw no need to keep taking the alli and i stoped. now im going to try slimquick for the extra energy. since i stoped taking the alli i noticed that i am on my regular number 2 schedual. but overall alli made me stop eating junk food more of a mental thing im sure, but it was ok overall. i will never go back to eating junk food everyday...once you see the greese you poo out, you will realize how gross it is....and never want to put that in you body again.

posted Nov 3rd, 2008 2:24 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account