Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

31%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 156 reviews
Alli

Alli Review: Does it Work?

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
What is it?

Alli is a weight loss pill intended to help people burn one pound of fat, for every 2 pounds lost through exercise. It’s an over the counter medication made to help reduce about 25% of the fat one eats.

It’s only available for people 18 and older, and for those who would be considered obese with a BMI of 25 or more. You also have to introduce a low-calorie, low-fat diet, and you have to make sure to take Alli alongside fats in your meals. The intended purpose of Alli is to remove some fat calories from your diet, by not having it digested, and instead being passed through one’s stool. So is this really an effective weight loss pill? What kinds of weight loss effects are possible? Featured in this Alli review is all the information needed to make an informed decision.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

Alli Ingredients and Side Effects

Orlistat

FD&C Blue No. 2

Edible Ink

Gelatin

Iron Oxide

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Povidone

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate

Sodium Starch Glycolate

Talc

Titanium Dioxide

 

Orlistat: The sole key active ingredient in Alli. It’s used to help reduce the absorption of some fats, by having them removed by bowel movements.

You are advised to skip dosing these pills if you have a meal with no fats. It’s also advised to get no more than 30% of your calories from fat to make good use of this ingredient. Both Drugs.com and the official website for Alli confirm:

“Orlistat can make it harder for your body to absorb fat-soluble vitamins”

“may recommend that you take vitamin and mineral supplements while you are taking this medication”

This can reduce the intake of vitamins A, D, E, and K. When using this pill, it’s important to watch out for signs of vitamin and mineral deficiency. This can potentially lead to issues such as:

  • Brittle nails and dull looking hear.
  • Extreme fatigue.
  • Vision problems.
  • Mood swings and symptoms of depression.
  • Reduced muscle mass and weakness in the limbs.
  • Blindness.
  • Increased risk for disease.

Orlistat itself has also been shown to potentially cause side effects that include:

  • Blood in the urine.
  • Severe lower back pain.
  • Kidney problems including little to no urination.
  • Liver issues that may cause nausea, itching, loss of appetite, dark urine, fatigue, and yellowing of the skin and eyes.
  • Oily and or fatty stools.
  • Gas and oily discharge.
  • Stomach pain, increased bathroom usage, and rectal pain.
  • Inability to control your bowel movements.
  • Several other side effects

There are also other side effects that if experienced, it’s advised to seek immediate medical help. This can be a sign of serious health problems that can be potentially life threatening if not treated.

The official website does list some possible side effects, but a list on Drugs.com features all the possible issues people have experienced.

A clinical study of this ingredient showed very poor weight loss benefits.  The Cochrane Metabolic and Endocrine Disorders Group ran a study showing the effects of the active ingredient when used for over a year:

“compared to placebo, Orlistat reduced weight by 2.9 kg”

2.9 kg is 6.39 pounds. So people lost around 1.87 pounds each month. This is significantly less weight loss than what other supplements can provide. You also have to make sure to consider all the possible side effects, as well as reduce your calories and increase exercise.

The company claims that you can lose around 5% of your total body fat if taken according to their demands, but this still isn’t very much. The added diet and exercise is likely a major part of why there’s weight loss.

FD&C Blue No. 2: Synthetic food coloring added to help provide a blue color. It has no nutritional value, and is only added to make these pills appear blue. Rats given this ingredient were subject to:

“statistically significant increases in brain cancer”

This is according to a study by the Center for Science in the Public Interest.  They also advise that this ingredient should be banned, since it has no nutritional value. It’s also believed that this ingredient may cause hyperactivity as well.

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate: A detergent and foaming agent that may cause skin and eye irritation.

Sodium Starch Glycolate: White powder added to help a pill dissolve and absorb better. It can be extracted from common allergens like wheat and corn. Those allergic or sensitive to these ingredients won’t know which is added, since manufacturers aren’t required to list what extracts are used.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Alli Quality of Ingredients

10 of the 11 ingredients are inactive, meaning they have no weight loss purpose.

The only truly beneficial ingredient is Orlistat, and its results on long term weight loss have been poor. You also have to make sure to take it alongside fats, so people who don’t eat much dietary fats wouldn’t see much improvement.

Clinical studies have shown that it may lead to serious side effects, of which there are many. Other studies have revealed that its weight loss effects are poor. Just over a pound of weight loss is possible each month, which isn’t much. This also comes at the addition of added diet and exercise, as well as special intake considerations, as not all people are advised to take this weight loss pill.

You also have to watch out for fat soluble vitamin loss, which may require extra supplementation with multivitamins.


The Price and Quality of Alli

Alli is available for purchase in store and in online retail stores. One 40 day supply sells for $69.99 on Amazon.com. So you’re essentially paying $1.74 per pill.

Most of what’s inside this pill has no weight loss effect. It’s mostly made up of food coloring, pill stabilizers, and additives to ease digestion.

The sole active ingredient has been shown to help reduce dietary fats, but its possibility for side effects and vitamin and mineral loss. Also, the weight loss benefits have been incredibly poor, and as you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Alli” section, it’s not well reviewed by users.

Business of Alli

Alli is owned by the pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline; their US division can be reached below:

Phone Number: (800) 671-2554

Email: Consumer.Communications@GSK.com

No returns are offered on Alli.

The makers have also been the subject of controversy over marketing and illegal actions.  They also were subject to the biggest fine ever imposed on a drug company. The Department of Justice adds:

“Unlawful promotion of certain prescription drugs, its failure to report safety data, and its civil liability for alleged false price reporting”

“largest health care fraud settlement in US history”

They hid information about possible side effects, and they manipulated prices for several of their drugs.

In 2014, they also recalled Alli after fears of contamination.  The FDA adds:

“the company believes some packages of the product were tampered with”

It’s unknown how this could have happened, but they voluntarily recalled all batches of Alli in the US.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Alli

Several customer reviews are available online. Here’s what a few have experienced:

“hate so much that I paid for a product that did absolutely nothing”

“exercised as I did before, failed to lose any weight”

“It was disgusting and uncontrollable”

“Does not work at all”

Side effects were often listed, and they ranged from loose and oily stools, flatulence, increased bathroom usage, and sudden unexpected stools. A few people mentioned they couldn’t be far away from a bathroom, as they would suddenly get the urge to have to go immedietly.

A lack of weight loss was also listed as a problem. Currently 571 reviews on Amazon.com confirm the lack of beneficial effects. Many struggled to see any weight loss even with proper diet and exercise.

There was often concern that the new batches of Alli just aren’t as good, and that there’s a lack of any noticeable change.


Conclusion - Does Alli Work?

When considering weight loss pills like Alli, it’s important to look at clinical studies and customer opinions. Many users who tried Alli failed to see any change, and many severe side effects have also been listed. Though Alli can help reduce some fat intake, it only works to reduce fat, and it has no metabolism boosting or other calorie burning effects. So sugar and carbohydrates won’t be reduced.

Also, the possibility for loss of fat soluble vitamins might require extra supplementation. A better solution is available that has only natural ingredients, no laxative like side effects, and great customer reviews. The very best option of 2016 is the all-natural  Sletrokor.

It doesn’t require a special diet, and you can rest assured this supplement won’t have laxative like side effects. Customers have also raved about the beneficial and long lasting weight loss effects. You can find these testimonials on their official website, with people leaving nothing but positive weight loss results.

Sletrokor is even supported by an industry great 30 day money back guarantee. So you can take this supplement with the knowledge you’re backed by a great risk free guarantee.

How Does Alli Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Alli
  • 31 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 19, 380 total comments)

mags

+

Im on my second wk of alli, after my 1st week i lost 3lb!! Its learning me alot, and makin me stick to healthy food low fat.. as other wise only have oily fat down your leg and have wear a pad constant! I havent been v strict on de diet and my exercise is work, so not really on diet, but still lost the 3lb!! i will admit i took 4 some days!! but i aim to eat healthier and exercise!! Im really happy that a product that actually works thank so much for alli!!! Thanks to givin me de kick i need!!! and better diet !

posted Jun 26th, 2009 4:21 pm


Barb

-

I took it for the entire 6 months and barely lost any weight and had a hard time enduring the gross side effects.

posted Jun 23rd, 2009 11:12 pm


Brenda

For those of you that said you didn't want to change your diet, of course you will have the oily, nasty discharge when you feel like you just have gas. You have to really watch your fat intake, or you will end up with brown pants. Alli really works. You have to stick to it and not give up. Just remember to watch your fat intake!

posted Jun 22nd, 2009 9:06 pm


Jill

Hi been taking it for nearlly a week and have lost 8 pounds. No side affects sticking to calories and grams of fat

x

posted Jun 21st, 2009 10:52 am


fiona

+

I have just started taking it 2day I know that it is not a quick fix . I would like to loose at least 10lbs by 4th july as I have a party 2 go 2 and want to look my best. I know I can do it, I will do. The lady at the chemist was really helpful and said for me to come in every monday to check my diary and to get weighed. How great is that. I will let u guys know in a few days how its going.

posted Jun 15th, 2009 2:37 pm


userfile
MissCassie

For those of you who've had success it'd be nice if you gave a little more information, like your previous weight and height or BMI, just so readers can get an idea of the circumstances where there are positive results.

posted Jun 13th, 2009 5:45 pm


John72610

-

I am a 44 year old guy trying to loose a little weight to improve social life. First off I had gotten very bad gas from alli, and when I past the gas I would mess my undergarments with about a 1/2 cup of brownish oily discharge, and the smell was just awful, worse than normal gas. I had to learn that every time i needed to pass gas I had to sit on the toilet, or wear a womans sanitary napkin for protection. Also I notice that my rectum became very raw and irritated felt as if it was on fire most of the time. During the course of the the medications I was treated for several rashes, and infections in the private region, which is something I never had before. I also notice my food does not breakdown completely I can stare and my stool and identify everything I ate the night before in it. One perk was after I was on it for 6 month with a1200 calorie a day diet and exercising 5 days a week, I notice I lost a total of 6 pounds so about a pound a month, but I not sure it was worth all the other problem though.

posted Jun 6th, 2009 2:11 am


Braz

I have just started taking alli, two days ago. I am confiddent I will lose a little weight. I hate dieting, but I am willing to give it a try. Haven't startted it yet.I am not overweight. 5'3" and weight about 120 lbs. The side effects haven't been bad at all so far. Just one "visit" to the bathroom today and thats it. Good luck to all of you trying. Hope we can make it happen!!

posted Jun 6th, 2009 12:51 am


Jana

+

i lost some wight with alli but i had to have my gallbadder out too now that it is out can i take alli again

posted Jun 3rd, 2009 8:48 pm



Jasmine Lanez McLaurin

+

It works well, been taking it about 2.5 weeks and down 7 lbs.

posted May 27th, 2009 11:12 am


Jasmine

+

I have been taking alli for approx 2.5 weeks. I work out at least 4 or 5 times a week and have a reasonable diet; meaning I don't live on super low calories like 1200 and I don't eat carrots and water all day. With the help of alli my body has started responding much better to my workouts and keeps me honest as I am addicted to some things like french fries or chocolate...on alli I still eat french fries I just bake them instead of fry them.
My point is that alli IS NOT A MAGIC PILL, you have to mentally want to loose weight; buying this then continuing to do what you always did that got you fat in the first place...WILL KEEP YOU FAT AND FULL OF OILY FAT on alli! Bottom line you can eat sensibly with a small splurge here and there if you are committed to working out, sensible portions and a committed heart. Alli is great for helping the pounds come off in my case that just will not respond to working out.

posted May 27th, 2009 10:27 am


Mrsjmm

I took alli for about two months, I constantly had to run to the bathroom because I did not want to change my diet. My bowel movements were liquid and had a very horrible smell (worst than usual). Because it was liquid it got on my hands and i would have to wash my hands for at least ten minutes to removed that horrible smell. It is not safe to pass gas if you are not dieting properly because you will use it on yourself. I wore a pad at all times just in case. I did not notice that I had extra room in my pants until I got off of Alli and gained all the weight back and now those pants are hanging in my closest because I can no longer wear them.

posted May 24th, 2009 11:45 am


carol

+

alli has helped me a lot. I lost 30 pounds by taking 1 a day since mid January. The only thing is my hair has started to thin more than usual. I stopped taking alli to see if that helps. taking alli is the only change in my meds.

posted May 22nd, 2009 12:39 pm


Wally

+

I stopped gaining weight when I started taking it, which motivated me to improve my diet. I take Alli when I cant avoid eating fast food because there was no alternative. I cannot exercise that much because of an injury. So, this Alli together with a proper diet and light exercise as made me lose 2 pounds. That may not sound like much to most people but I have been gaining about 2 pounds per month since my injury, so Alli was able to compensate for it.

posted May 17th, 2009 4:47 am


sonja seldon

+

I've lost 30-35 lbs since mid January. To say the least I'm very pleased.

posted May 13th, 2009 2:28 am


Amanda

I'm not quite sure what to think yet, I took it for a week...thought I had to "fart" and pooed all over myself...lol Lesson learned!!!

posted May 12th, 2009 1:03 pm


michael

+

i would recommend without doubt ive lost 13 pound in 2 weeks stick to a low fat diet and you will get results but try to keep active you dont havre to join a gym, walk the dog walk to the shops.

posted May 10th, 2009 5:12 pm


buttbutts

+

I have taken for two weeks - and have NO side effects what so ever? I am concerned whether i am really taking it correctly?? as i even had a chinese and nothing happened - i managed to loose two pounds but thought it would much more.
Im not obese - and my BMI is only 25 does this matter??

posted May 10th, 2009 6:17 am


berlien

+

i like alli because it helps me can we oder it

posted May 9th, 2009 10:36 am


lisa

+

I LOVE IT!! I lost 65 lbs. with the help of Alli, it keeps you honest on what you eat, which i think is the best part.. I now think before I eat so not to have to run to the bathroom with guests around.

posted May 6th, 2009 6:52 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com

Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical

Whats better than
Alli?