Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

31%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 156 reviews
Alli

Alli Review: Does it Work?

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
What is it?

Alli is a weight loss pill intended to help people burn one pound of fat, for every 2 pounds lost through exercise. It’s an over the counter medication made to help reduce about 25% of the fat one eats.

It’s only available for people 18 and older, and for those who would be considered obese with a BMI of 25 or more. You also have to introduce a low-calorie, low-fat diet, and you have to make sure to take Alli alongside fats in your meals. The intended purpose of Alli is to remove some fat calories from your diet, by not having it digested, and instead being passed through one’s stool. So is this really an effective weight loss pill? What kinds of weight loss effects are possible? Featured in this Alli review is all the information needed to make an informed decision.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

Alli Ingredients and Side Effects

Orlistat

FD&C Blue No. 2

Edible Ink

Gelatin

Iron Oxide

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Povidone

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate

Sodium Starch Glycolate

Talc

Titanium Dioxide

 

 

Orlistat: The sole key active ingredient in Alli. It’s used to help reduce the absorption of some fats, by having them removed by bowel movements.

You are advised to skip dosing these pills if you have a meal with no fats. It’s also advised to get no more than 30% of your calories from fat to make good use of this ingredient. Both Drugs.com and the official website for Alli confirm:

“Orlistat can make it harder for your body to absorb fat-soluble vitamins”

“may recommend that you take vitamin and mineral supplements while you are taking this medication”

This can reduce the intake of vitamins A, D, E, and K. When using this pill, it’s important to watch out for signs of vitamin and mineral deficiency. This can potentially lead to issues such as:

  • Brittle nails and dull looking hear.
  • Extreme fatigue.
  • Vision problems.
  • Mood swings and symptoms of depression.
  • Reduced muscle mass and weakness in the limbs.
  • Blindness.
  • Increased risk for disease.

Orlistat itself has also been shown to potentially cause side effects that include:

  • Blood in the urine.
  • Severe lower back pain.
  • Kidney problems including little to no urination.
  • Liver issues that may cause nausea, itching, loss of appetite, dark urine, fatigue, and yellowing of the skin and eyes.
  • Oily and or fatty stools.
  • Gas and oily discharge.
  • Stomach pain, increased bathroom usage, and rectal pain.
  • Inability to control your bowel movements.
  • Several other side effects

There are also other side effects that if experienced, it’s advised to seek immediate medical help. This can be a sign of serious health problems that can be potentially life threatening if not treated.

The official website does list some possible side effects, but a list on Drugs.com features all the possible issues people have experienced.

A clinical study of this ingredient showed very poor weight loss benefits.  The Cochrane Metabolic and Endocrine Disorders Group ran a study showing the effects of the active ingredient when used for over a year:

“compared to placebo, Orlistat reduced weight by 2.9 kg”

2.9 kg is 6.39 pounds. So people lost around 1.87 pounds each month. This is significantly less weight loss than what other supplements can provide. You also have to make sure to consider all the possible side effects, as well as reduce your calories and increase exercise.

The company claims that you can lose around 5% of your total body fat if taken according to their demands, but this still isn’t very much. The added diet and exercise is likely a major part of why there’s weight loss.

FD&C Blue No. 2: Synthetic food coloring added to help provide a blue color. It has no nutritional value, and is only added to make these pills appear blue. Rats given this ingredient were subject to:

“statistically significant increases in brain cancer”

This is according to a study by the Center for Science in the Public Interest.  They also advise that this ingredient should be banned, since it has no nutritional value. It’s also believed that this ingredient may cause hyperactivity as well.

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate: A detergent and foaming agent that may cause skin and eye irritation.

Sodium Starch Glycolate: White powder added to help a pill dissolve and absorb better. It can be extracted from common allergens like wheat and corn. Those allergic or sensitive to these ingredients won’t know which is added, since manufacturers aren’t required to list what extracts are used.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Alli Quality of Ingredients

10 of the 11 ingredients are inactive, meaning they have no weight loss purpose.

The only truly beneficial ingredient is Orlistat, and its results on long term weight loss have been poor. You also have to make sure to take it alongside fats, so people who don’t eat much dietary fats wouldn’t see much improvement.

Clinical studies have shown that it may lead to serious side effects, of which there are many. Other studies have revealed that its weight loss effects are poor. Just over a pound of weight loss is possible each month, which isn’t much. This also comes at the addition of added diet and exercise, as well as special intake considerations, as not all people are advised to take this weight loss pill.

You also have to watch out for fat soluble vitamin loss, which may require extra supplementation with multivitamins.


The Price and Quality of Alli

Alli is available for purchase in store and in online retail stores. One 40 day supply sells for $69.99 on Amazon.com. So you’re essentially paying $1.74 per pill.

Most of what’s inside this pill has no weight loss effect. It’s mostly made up of food coloring, pill stabilizers, and additives to ease digestion.

The sole active ingredient has been shown to help reduce dietary fats, but its possibility for side effects and vitamin and mineral loss. Also, the weight loss benefits have been incredibly poor, and as you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Alli” section, it’s not well reviewed by users.

Business of Alli

Alli is owned by the pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline; their US division can be reached below:

Phone Number: (800) 671-2554

Email: Consumer.Communications@GSK.com

No returns are offered on Alli.

The makers have also been the subject of controversy over marketing and illegal actions.  They also were subject to the biggest fine ever imposed on a drug company. The Department of Justice adds:

“Unlawful promotion of certain prescription drugs, its failure to report safety data, and its civil liability for alleged false price reporting”

“largest health care fraud settlement in US history”

They hid information about possible side effects, and they manipulated prices for several of their drugs.

In 2014, they also recalled Alli after fears of contamination.  The FDA adds:

“the company believes some packages of the product were tampered with”

It’s unknown how this could have happened, but they voluntarily recalled all batches of Alli in the US.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Alli

Several customer reviews are available online. Here’s what a few have experienced:

“hate so much that I paid for a product that did absolutely nothing”

“exercised as I did before, failed to lose any weight”

“It was disgusting and uncontrollable”

“Does not work at all”

Side effects were often listed, and they ranged from loose and oily stools, flatulence, increased bathroom usage, and sudden unexpected stools. A few people mentioned they couldn’t be far away from a bathroom, as they would suddenly get the urge to have to go immedietly.

A lack of weight loss was also listed as a problem. Currently 571 reviews on Amazon.com confirm the lack of beneficial effects. Many struggled to see any weight loss even with proper diet and exercise.

There was often concern that the new batches of Alli just aren’t as good, and that there’s a lack of any noticeable change.


Conclusion - Does Alli Work?

When considering weight loss pills like Alli, it’s important to look at clinical studies and customer opinions. Many users who tried Alli failed to see any change, and many severe side effects have also been listed. Though Alli can help reduce some fat intake, it only works to reduce fat, and it has no metabolism boosting or other calorie burning effects. So sugar and carbohydrates won’t be reduced.

Also, the possibility for loss of fat soluble vitamins might require extra supplementation. A better solution is available that has only natural ingredients, no laxative like side effects, and great customer reviews. The very best option of 2016 is the all-natural  Sletrokor.

It doesn’t require a special diet, and you can rest assured this supplement won’t have laxative like side effects. Customers have also raved about the beneficial and long lasting weight loss effects. You can find these testimonials on their official website, with people leaving nothing but positive weight loss results.

Sletrokor is even supported by an industry great 30 day money back guarantee. So you can take this supplement with the knowledge you’re backed by a great risk free guarantee.

How Does Alli Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Alli
  • 31 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 9 of 19, 380 total comments)

newuser

+

I just started using Alli and have not had any treatment effects, actually I am very constipated. I didnt read anything about this in the books. Also, not be be gross but when I do go it is in long lines. Is this normal?

posted Feb 9th, 2009 8:11 am


sgonzalez3084

+

Ive been taking alli for 4 weeks now
and i dont have any side affects at all. I can eat what ever and i still dont get any side affects. I take three a day with each meal. I lost a little weight. I can eat a pizza and noting happens. everybody else gets bad side affects.

posted Feb 5th, 2009 10:19 pm


betty

my daughter has to have her gallbladder out after losing weight with alli. she lost the weight but she is losing her gallbladder too.

posted Feb 2nd, 2009 8:01 am


Beth

+

I was concerned about all of the bad reviews. I almost did not buy. I have been on it for a few weeks now. Combined with Diet and exercise I have lost 12 lbs. I have had ZERO accidents. Basically I feel that those who crapped on themselves had to have eaten something they shouldn't have. I keep my calorie and fat counter guide with me at all times to be sure I do not eat over the allowed fat grams per meal. Basically if you THINK you can take this pill and eat Pizza, Burgers, and Fries... this is not the diet pill for you. If you are serious about diet exercise and weight loss and do not plan on cheating then I would consider alli. Buy the way.... if you cheat Alli will become your enemy.... as we have read by others experiences.

posted Jan 31st, 2009 1:51 pm


TONI SHEALEY

+

it is the next best thing to xenical.. the original diet pill.

posted Jan 28th, 2009 2:40 am


AJ

Ive lost 5 lbs in the last week from alli and working out daily. it teaches you to eat healthy or face the consequences

posted Jan 27th, 2009 6:03 pm


Lawra

+

I started taking Alli a little over a week ago. SO far I have not lost any weight but that could be because at this time of the month, I retain water a lot. I noticed a bit of constipation. I kept waiting for side effects and had none until yesterday but I know that was because I gave into a cookie craving. The effects were not bad at all. It was actually interesting to see that orange oil in the toilet. It makes you think a little harder about what you ate...thats for sure. I will keep taking it. Seeing it work makes me feel a little better.

posted Jan 26th, 2009 2:49 pm


Tas

+

I have been taking Alli for 1 week and I think it is working for me. Buying it made me serious about dieting since it was expensive. I figured since I payed the money, I should take the pill and follow the 15 fat gram rule. My mother has been on Alli for a few months and she lost 8 pounds that just would not budge with strict diet and exercise. She warned me of the dangers of eating too much fat on Alli, so fear of an "accident" has kept me from cheating. The fear works better than willpower. :) So far, no "accidents" just some gas and constipation at first. But that didnt bother me. I dont own a scale, but my jeans arent as tight after just 1 week, yay!

posted Jan 18th, 2009 8:39 pm


Kimberly

+

I have been taking Ali for a little over a week and I can tell that my jeans are not as tight as they were before. I am not going to weight myself until I have been on it for 3 weeks,I do see the orange spot but it isnt nothing that is going to make me stop taking it,At least I can see it is doing something, I eat heathier now because I do want to loose the weight, I dont feel hungry all the time as before when I was on a diet I would feel like I was being starved.I do think everyone should give it a chance.I will repost when I have more to say... good luck to all.

posted Jan 16th, 2009 6:59 pm


Yay

This week in Costco you can buy a double Starter Pack (150 pills each) for $67....That's $34 for a Starter Pack of 150 pills..

posted Jan 16th, 2009 3:19 pm


stephanie

I just bought alli!!!yay

posted Jan 14th, 2009 5:19 pm


wendy

+

This is the only diet pill that has ever worked for me. I have lost 12 pounds in 6 weeks.

posted Jan 13th, 2009 1:40 pm


dieter

I cant really say wheather i like it or not iv been on for about 2 weeks and at first no effects now though it seems like every day they are getting worse! i follow my diet and even try and keep it under 10 grams of fat per meal i switched to tea with splenda instead of coffee with cream i dont eat any snacks that arent non fat any drinks that arent fat free and I have been eating primarily lean cusines and grilled chicken with fat ffree marinade but i have the orange spotting all the time some times even through my clothes i dont understand what i am doing wrong

posted Jan 13th, 2009 11:00 am


happy

+

In my 2nd week and none of the side effects we are warned about.. not being a diet bore. just eating heathly.

posted Jan 5th, 2009 5:54 pm


Kiyomi

+

I just ordered Alli this morning. I should get it some time next week. Reading all the reviews there seems to be more pros than cons so hopefully I will have great results. I will keep you all updated on my progress. For those of you who are losing weight, congratulations and keep up the good work.

posted Jan 2nd, 2009 3:02 pm


Barbara

+

I have been on Alli since November 1,2008, and not consuming more than 15 grams of fat per meal. After dieting most of my life, and gaining back every ounce of previously lost weight, I needed a boost to my next diet. Alli was the perfect choice, and it remains so.

I have been on low-carb diets, and Weight Watchers, and lost weight, but, of course, gained it back because they were hard to maintain.

With Alli, I have lost 20 pounds, and am working toward my goal of 40 pounds. I keep a daily "food journal," writing down every item I eat, and occasionally "cheating"; however, when I did cheat, as I did for the holidays, I still managed to lose a pound.

I have experienced no side effects, because I carefully count every fat gram I eat, and, through behavior modification, it is working.

Alli keeps my diet focused, and I am heartened by the weight loss, and my change in eating habits.

posted Jan 2nd, 2009 8:32 am


Kelly

+

At first I was not too sure about the pill when my doctor told me about it as an aid in weight loss. She told me about the bad sides of the pill and I didn't believe her. In the end I found that seeing the bad stuff I was eating actually helped me eat better and with taking Alli and going on weight watchers at the same time the results were great! I went from 219 to 155 in six months where before I was unable to lose more than a few pounds before I quit.

I do have a few tips for people who want to take the drug that really helped me with the down sides of the drug.

1. Take a good vitamin every day. At first I didn't do this and I felt so bad, my doctor told me I was passing all of my vitamins with Alli and I needed to take a vitamin that would stay with me after the pill did its job.

2. This goes for men and women. Wear a panty liner it will take care of any orange spots. My step dad even wore a panty liner with the pill and it saved us from a mess.

3. Really stick to under 15g of fat each meal. A lot of fat is actually hidden in food so really look at labels. Before I took Alli I had no idea that there was so much fat in things like milk, cheese, meat, and other foods that I would eat everday.

4. Wear dark pants. At least until you get used to what you can and can't eat it will allow you a net.

The drug is a great kick in the butt to help you learn what you can and can't eat to lose weight. Now that I am off the pill I have found that keeping up the routine of not eating fatty foods is actually keeping the weight off without the pill! It really is like what my doctor said, "It is antabuse for people who like to eat."

posted Jan 1st, 2009 4:58 pm


Jeana

+

I started taking Alli in July this year, I am very active, hiking, dancing and always moving but was unable to lose weight, I ate erratically in between my busy work schedule - when I started alli, I went on a strict 1200 calorie approx diet with 15g fat per meal or less, By Oct I had dropped from 167 to 150 thats 17lbs in 3 months also I went walking 30 min ever other day fast pase and then dropped to 147 and stopped taking alli for a while because I could not afford it and stopped excersing because the weather and I climbed back to 149/150 in Dec but thats after all the Holidays, I was able to pick up a 2 for 1 deal at Target right after Christmas and I am back on it. I think the treatment effects are great ways to show you what kind of food you are eating seeing the greasy fat pass through helped me watched what I was eating because I knew that if all that greasy fat would be stuck to me if I did not change my diet a bit and I would rather it pass through me than stick on me. It actually helped me become more regular as well, that was a problem I had before. I usually had no side effect unless I cheated which was rarley since I seen what food actually becomes when you eat the wrong kind. Like lets say any fried food... So so bad for you, Pick grilled or baked, it tatse way better anyways. I have never been able to stick to a real diet but I have to say Alli helps you do that because it reminds you what you should not be eating when you eat wrong. I have been on it 4 days and I am back to 147 and I am not even excersising right not but trust me, 30 min of your day is not a long time to dedicate to getting a new body and walking. Think about how much time you waste doing useless things like watching Tv. Ps: also you lose more calories by walking and swinging your arms dont just walk normal walk fast and swing your arms in punches, take a fast paced music on your ipod (you have to have music) this helps you achieve a faster rythm without being so much effort, beleive me it beats running and I have almost lost those back love handles now and when from a size 12 to a 8. Good Luck to you - I just have 12 more lbs to go...

posted Dec 30th, 2008 8:09 pm


nan

+

I am doing weight watchers and alli, I was constantly going off and on weight watchers. I think alli will give me the extra boost I need to succeed. I have a touch of hope now to stick with the plans. Each week I learn something new about my eating behavior and what I should and shouldn't do(hopefully I remember these things) and have lost 5 and 1/2 pounds in 3 weeks

posted Dec 27th, 2008 12:21 am


Tiffany

+

I purchased Alli yesterday and have not tried it yet, but am almost positive I will have great results. I just have to laugh at these reviews... Eating pizza and cheeseburgers? How can anyone expect to lose weight on a diet like that? It very clearly states in the welcome guide and all the little manuals that come with the Starter Pack that you MUST follow the guidelines, or you will have "treatment side effects." I just think that if you are having these oil problems, maybe YOU are the problem and not the product. :)

posted Dec 23rd, 2008 1:40 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com

Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical

Whats better than
Alli?