Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

84%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 150 reviews

Alli

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com


Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 9 of 19, 378 total comments)

betty

my daughter has to have her gallbladder out after losing weight with alli. she lost the weight but she is losing her gallbladder too.

posted Feb 2nd, 2009 8:01 am


Beth

I was concerned about all of the bad reviews. I almost did not buy. I have been on it for a few weeks now. Combined with Diet and exercise I have lost 12 lbs. I have had ZERO accidents. Basically I feel that those who crapped on themselves had to have eaten something they shouldn't have. I keep my calorie and fat counter guide with me at all times to be sure I do not eat over the allowed fat grams per meal. Basically if you THINK you can take this pill and eat Pizza, Burgers, and Fries... this is not the diet pill for you. If you are serious about diet exercise and weight loss and do not plan on cheating then I would consider alli. Buy the way.... if you cheat Alli will become your enemy.... as we have read by others experiences.

posted Jan 31st, 2009 1:51 pm


TONI SHEALEY

it is the next best thing to xenical.. the original diet pill.

posted Jan 28th, 2009 2:40 am


AJ

Ive lost 5 lbs in the last week from alli and working out daily. it teaches you to eat healthy or face the consequences

posted Jan 27th, 2009 6:03 pm


Lawra

I started taking Alli a little over a week ago. SO far I have not lost any weight but that could be because at this time of the month, I retain water a lot. I noticed a bit of constipation. I kept waiting for side effects and had none until yesterday but I know that was because I gave into a cookie craving. The effects were not bad at all. It was actually interesting to see that orange oil in the toilet. It makes you think a little harder about what you ate...thats for sure. I will keep taking it. Seeing it work makes me feel a little better.

posted Jan 26th, 2009 2:49 pm


Tas

I have been taking Alli for 1 week and I think it is working for me. Buying it made me serious about dieting since it was expensive. I figured since I payed the money, I should take the pill and follow the 15 fat gram rule. My mother has been on Alli for a few months and she lost 8 pounds that just would not budge with strict diet and exercise. She warned me of the dangers of eating too much fat on Alli, so fear of an "accident" has kept me from cheating. The fear works better than willpower. :) So far, no "accidents" just some gas and constipation at first. But that didnt bother me. I dont own a scale, but my jeans arent as tight after just 1 week, yay!

posted Jan 18th, 2009 8:39 pm


Kimberly

I have been taking Ali for a little over a week and I can tell that my jeans are not as tight as they were before. I am not going to weight myself until I have been on it for 3 weeks,I do see the orange spot but it isnt nothing that is going to make me stop taking it,At least I can see it is doing something, I eat heathier now because I do want to loose the weight, I dont feel hungry all the time as before when I was on a diet I would feel like I was being starved.I do think everyone should give it a chance.I will repost when I have more to say... good luck to all.

posted Jan 16th, 2009 6:59 pm


Yay

This week in Costco you can buy a double Starter Pack (150 pills each) for $67....That's $34 for a Starter Pack of 150 pills..

posted Jan 16th, 2009 3:19 pm


stephanie

I just bought alli!!!yay

posted Jan 14th, 2009 5:19 pm


wendy

This is the only diet pill that has ever worked for me. I have lost 12 pounds in 6 weeks.

posted Jan 13th, 2009 1:40 pm


dieter

I cant really say wheather i like it or not iv been on for about 2 weeks and at first no effects now though it seems like every day they are getting worse! i follow my diet and even try and keep it under 10 grams of fat per meal i switched to tea with splenda instead of coffee with cream i dont eat any snacks that arent non fat any drinks that arent fat free and I have been eating primarily lean cusines and grilled chicken with fat ffree marinade but i have the orange spotting all the time some times even through my clothes i dont understand what i am doing wrong

posted Jan 13th, 2009 11:00 am


happy

In my 2nd week and none of the side effects we are warned about.. not being a diet bore. just eating heathly.

posted Jan 5th, 2009 5:54 pm


Kiyomi

I just ordered Alli this morning. I should get it some time next week. Reading all the reviews there seems to be more pros than cons so hopefully I will have great results. I will keep you all updated on my progress. For those of you who are losing weight, congratulations and keep up the good work.

posted Jan 2nd, 2009 3:02 pm


Barbara

I have been on Alli since November 1,2008, and not consuming more than 15 grams of fat per meal. After dieting most of my life, and gaining back every ounce of previously lost weight, I needed a boost to my next diet. Alli was the perfect choice, and it remains so.

I have been on low-carb diets, and Weight Watchers, and lost weight, but, of course, gained it back because they were hard to maintain.

With Alli, I have lost 20 pounds, and am working toward my goal of 40 pounds. I keep a daily "food journal," writing down every item I eat, and occasionally "cheating"; however, when I did cheat, as I did for the holidays, I still managed to lose a pound.

I have experienced no side effects, because I carefully count every fat gram I eat, and, through behavior modification, it is working.

Alli keeps my diet focused, and I am heartened by the weight loss, and my change in eating habits.

posted Jan 2nd, 2009 8:32 am


Kelly

At first I was not too sure about the pill when my doctor told me about it as an aid in weight loss. She told me about the bad sides of the pill and I didn't believe her. In the end I found that seeing the bad stuff I was eating actually helped me eat better and with taking Alli and going on weight watchers at the same time the results were great! I went from 219 to 155 in six months where before I was unable to lose more than a few pounds before I quit.

I do have a few tips for people who want to take the drug that really helped me with the down sides of the drug.

1. Take a good vitamin every day. At first I didn't do this and I felt so bad, my doctor told me I was passing all of my vitamins with Alli and I needed to take a vitamin that would stay with me after the pill did its job.

2. This goes for men and women. Wear a panty liner it will take care of any orange spots. My step dad even wore a panty liner with the pill and it saved us from a mess.

3. Really stick to under 15g of fat each meal. A lot of fat is actually hidden in food so really look at labels. Before I took Alli I had no idea that there was so much fat in things like milk, cheese, meat, and other foods that I would eat everday.

4. Wear dark pants. At least until you get used to what you can and can't eat it will allow you a net.

The drug is a great kick in the butt to help you learn what you can and can't eat to lose weight. Now that I am off the pill I have found that keeping up the routine of not eating fatty foods is actually keeping the weight off without the pill! It really is like what my doctor said, "It is antabuse for people who like to eat."

posted Jan 1st, 2009 4:58 pm


Jeana

I started taking Alli in July this year, I am very active, hiking, dancing and always moving but was unable to lose weight, I ate erratically in between my busy work schedule - when I started alli, I went on a strict 1200 calorie approx diet with 15g fat per meal or less, By Oct I had dropped from 167 to 150 thats 17lbs in 3 months also I went walking 30 min ever other day fast pase and then dropped to 147 and stopped taking alli for a while because I could not afford it and stopped excersing because the weather and I climbed back to 149/150 in Dec but thats after all the Holidays, I was able to pick up a 2 for 1 deal at Target right after Christmas and I am back on it. I think the treatment effects are great ways to show you what kind of food you are eating seeing the greasy fat pass through helped me watched what I was eating because I knew that if all that greasy fat would be stuck to me if I did not change my diet a bit and I would rather it pass through me than stick on me. It actually helped me become more regular as well, that was a problem I had before. I usually had no side effect unless I cheated which was rarley since I seen what food actually becomes when you eat the wrong kind. Like lets say any fried food... So so bad for you, Pick grilled or baked, it tatse way better anyways. I have never been able to stick to a real diet but I have to say Alli helps you do that because it reminds you what you should not be eating when you eat wrong. I have been on it 4 days and I am back to 147 and I am not even excersising right not but trust me, 30 min of your day is not a long time to dedicate to getting a new body and walking. Think about how much time you waste doing useless things like watching Tv. Ps: also you lose more calories by walking and swinging your arms dont just walk normal walk fast and swing your arms in punches, take a fast paced music on your ipod (you have to have music) this helps you achieve a faster rythm without being so much effort, beleive me it beats running and I have almost lost those back love handles now and when from a size 12 to a 8. Good Luck to you - I just have 12 more lbs to go...

posted Dec 30th, 2008 8:09 pm


nan

I am doing weight watchers and alli, I was constantly going off and on weight watchers. I think alli will give me the extra boost I need to succeed. I have a touch of hope now to stick with the plans. Each week I learn something new about my eating behavior and what I should and shouldn't do(hopefully I remember these things) and have lost 5 and 1/2 pounds in 3 weeks

posted Dec 27th, 2008 12:21 am


Tiffany

I purchased Alli yesterday and have not tried it yet, but am almost positive I will have great results. I just have to laugh at these reviews... Eating pizza and cheeseburgers? How can anyone expect to lose weight on a diet like that? It very clearly states in the welcome guide and all the little manuals that come with the Starter Pack that you MUST follow the guidelines, or you will have "treatment side effects." I just think that if you are having these oil problems, maybe YOU are the problem and not the product. :)

posted Dec 23rd, 2008 1:40 pm


Bell

Hi Jane,

I am not considered overweight as well. I'm right on the border or was this past Monday anyways. I can't stress enough to eat very healthy while on this diet. It's clear from everyone else's reviews that this is a must. I started taking Alli this past Monday and haven't had a single side effect. I also made sure to start to the low fat diet they prescribe a week before taking Alli. I feel everyone's body handles things in a certain way. I myself haven't had any of the side effects everyone else has talked about but there are others that claim to stick closely to the low fat diet and STILL get side effects. I know if I had the side effects that everyone else has had, I would have stopped taking Alli. Luckily I'm not one of those people and have already lost 5.8lbs this past week. I'm sure a good portion of it is water weight but I do workout a lot and notice a huge difference in my body. If you're really determined to lose weight, please don't eat pizza like others have. Obviously that's NOT going to help you lose weight and your going to experience the side effects. Eat salads, beans, skinless chicken, tuna ect. Take it from someone who's already lost 55lbs. Alli has pushed me over my plateau and has given me fantastic results. I hope if you do decide to take it, that it does the same for you. Remember a pill is not going to solve everything, it's also going to take a lot of hard work from you. Good luck Jane!!

posted Dec 12th, 2008 7:22 am


Jane

So I am here trying to find out if I can take Alli. I just bought the product so I can lose the 30 pounds I gained and read the back label which says that you cannot take this product unless you are overweight. I am not overweight. . . . yet but I am right under the cusp and close to it. Does anyone know the side affect of taking this pill if you are not overweight?

posted Dec 10th, 2008 9:57 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account