Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

31%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 156 reviews
Alli

Alli Review: Does it Work?

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
What is it?

Alli is a weight loss pill intended to help people burn one pound of fat, for every 2 pounds lost through exercise. It’s an over the counter medication made to help reduce about 25% of the fat one eats.

It’s only available for people 18 and older, and for those who would be considered obese with a BMI of 25 or more. You also have to introduce a low-calorie, low-fat diet, and you have to make sure to take Alli alongside fats in your meals. The intended purpose of Alli is to remove some fat calories from your diet, by not having it digested, and instead being passed through one’s stool. So is this really an effective weight loss pill? What kinds of weight loss effects are possible? Featured in this Alli review is all the information needed to make an informed decision.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

Alli Ingredients and Side Effects

Orlistat

FD&C Blue No. 2

Edible Ink

Gelatin

Iron Oxide

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Povidone

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate

Sodium Starch Glycolate

Talc

Titanium Dioxide

 

Orlistat: The sole key active ingredient in Alli. It’s used to help reduce the absorption of some fats, by having them removed by bowel movements.

You are advised to skip dosing these pills if you have a meal with no fats. It’s also advised to get no more than 30% of your calories from fat to make good use of this ingredient. Both Drugs.com and the official website for Alli confirm:

“Orlistat can make it harder for your body to absorb fat-soluble vitamins”

“may recommend that you take vitamin and mineral supplements while you are taking this medication”

This can reduce the intake of vitamins A, D, E, and K. When using this pill, it’s important to watch out for signs of vitamin and mineral deficiency. This can potentially lead to issues such as:

  • Brittle nails and dull looking hear.
  • Extreme fatigue.
  • Vision problems.
  • Mood swings and symptoms of depression.
  • Reduced muscle mass and weakness in the limbs.
  • Blindness.
  • Increased risk for disease.

Orlistat itself has also been shown to potentially cause side effects that include:

  • Blood in the urine.
  • Severe lower back pain.
  • Kidney problems including little to no urination.
  • Liver issues that may cause nausea, itching, loss of appetite, dark urine, fatigue, and yellowing of the skin and eyes.
  • Oily and or fatty stools.
  • Gas and oily discharge.
  • Stomach pain, increased bathroom usage, and rectal pain.
  • Inability to control your bowel movements.
  • Several other side effects

There are also other side effects that if experienced, it’s advised to seek immediate medical help. This can be a sign of serious health problems that can be potentially life threatening if not treated.

The official website does list some possible side effects, but a list on Drugs.com features all the possible issues people have experienced.

A clinical study of this ingredient showed very poor weight loss benefits.  The Cochrane Metabolic and Endocrine Disorders Group ran a study showing the effects of the active ingredient when used for over a year:

“compared to placebo, Orlistat reduced weight by 2.9 kg”

2.9 kg is 6.39 pounds. So people lost around 1.87 pounds each month. This is significantly less weight loss than what other supplements can provide. You also have to make sure to consider all the possible side effects, as well as reduce your calories and increase exercise.

The company claims that you can lose around 5% of your total body fat if taken according to their demands, but this still isn’t very much. The added diet and exercise is likely a major part of why there’s weight loss.

FD&C Blue No. 2: Synthetic food coloring added to help provide a blue color. It has no nutritional value, and is only added to make these pills appear blue. Rats given this ingredient were subject to:

“statistically significant increases in brain cancer”

This is according to a study by the Center for Science in the Public Interest.  They also advise that this ingredient should be banned, since it has no nutritional value. It’s also believed that this ingredient may cause hyperactivity as well.

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate: A detergent and foaming agent that may cause skin and eye irritation.

Sodium Starch Glycolate: White powder added to help a pill dissolve and absorb better. It can be extracted from common allergens like wheat and corn. Those allergic or sensitive to these ingredients won’t know which is added, since manufacturers aren’t required to list what extracts are used.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Alli Quality of Ingredients

10 of the 11 ingredients are inactive, meaning they have no weight loss purpose.

The only truly beneficial ingredient is Orlistat, and its results on long term weight loss have been poor. You also have to make sure to take it alongside fats, so people who don’t eat much dietary fats wouldn’t see much improvement.

Clinical studies have shown that it may lead to serious side effects, of which there are many. Other studies have revealed that its weight loss effects are poor. Just over a pound of weight loss is possible each month, which isn’t much. This also comes at the addition of added diet and exercise, as well as special intake considerations, as not all people are advised to take this weight loss pill.

You also have to watch out for fat soluble vitamin loss, which may require extra supplementation with multivitamins.


The Price and Quality of Alli

Alli is available for purchase in store and in online retail stores. One 40 day supply sells for $69.99 on Amazon.com. So you’re essentially paying $1.74 per pill.

Most of what’s inside this pill has no weight loss effect. It’s mostly made up of food coloring, pill stabilizers, and additives to ease digestion.

The sole active ingredient has been shown to help reduce dietary fats, but its possibility for side effects and vitamin and mineral loss. Also, the weight loss benefits have been incredibly poor, and as you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Alli” section, it’s not well reviewed by users.

Business of Alli

Alli is owned by the pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline; their US division can be reached below:

Phone Number: (800) 671-2554

Email: Consumer.Communications@GSK.com

No returns are offered on Alli.

The makers have also been the subject of controversy over marketing and illegal actions.  They also were subject to the biggest fine ever imposed on a drug company. The Department of Justice adds:

“Unlawful promotion of certain prescription drugs, its failure to report safety data, and its civil liability for alleged false price reporting”

“largest health care fraud settlement in US history”

They hid information about possible side effects, and they manipulated prices for several of their drugs.

In 2014, they also recalled Alli after fears of contamination.  The FDA adds:

“the company believes some packages of the product were tampered with”

It’s unknown how this could have happened, but they voluntarily recalled all batches of Alli in the US.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Alli

Several customer reviews are available online. Here’s what a few have experienced:

“hate so much that I paid for a product that did absolutely nothing”

“exercised as I did before, failed to lose any weight”

“It was disgusting and uncontrollable”

“Does not work at all”

Side effects were often listed, and they ranged from loose and oily stools, flatulence, increased bathroom usage, and sudden unexpected stools. A few people mentioned they couldn’t be far away from a bathroom, as they would suddenly get the urge to have to go immedietly.

A lack of weight loss was also listed as a problem. Currently 571 reviews on Amazon.com confirm the lack of beneficial effects. Many struggled to see any weight loss even with proper diet and exercise.

There was often concern that the new batches of Alli just aren’t as good, and that there’s a lack of any noticeable change.


Conclusion - Does Alli Work?

When considering weight loss pills like Alli, it’s important to look at clinical studies and customer opinions. Many users who tried Alli failed to see any change, and many severe side effects have also been listed. Though Alli can help reduce some fat intake, it only works to reduce fat, and it has no metabolism boosting or other calorie burning effects. So sugar and carbohydrates won’t be reduced.

Also, the possibility for loss of fat soluble vitamins might require extra supplementation. A better solution is available that has only natural ingredients, no laxative like side effects, and great customer reviews. The very best option of 2016 is the all-natural  Sletrokor.

It doesn’t require a special diet, and you can rest assured this supplement won’t have laxative like side effects. Customers have also raved about the beneficial and long lasting weight loss effects. You can find these testimonials on their official website, with people leaving nothing but positive weight loss results.

Sletrokor is even supported by an industry great 30 day money back guarantee. So you can take this supplement with the knowledge you’re backed by a great risk free guarantee.

How Does Alli Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Alli
  • 31 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 19, 380 total comments)

Anne

-

I lost 20 pounds when following the plan very carefully. However, in order to eat out and celebrate I would highly recommend taking yourself off it for 3-4 beforehand otherwise it will ruin a vacation. Also the diet you have to follow is limited and I simply could not eat cheese which led to me eventually going off it. The weight shot back near instantly.

posted Feb 13th, 2016 3:12 pm


Kayla

-

Crapped my pants every 5 minutes on a vegan diet. Do not recommend unless you like smelling like shit all day and leaking orange oil all over your clothes. Just give up on sex, too.

posted Apr 21st, 2015 5:10 am


WeightGoingDown

+

Alli is not a diet, like South Beach or Atkins. It is a diet pill that will prevent your body from absorbing some fat. This pill, along with a sensible diet, will greaten your weight loss. But, if you continue to eat unhealthy, this pill will provide negative side effects. You may need to wear Ooops I Crapped My Pants if you eat too much fat. I take Alli, and it works well as long as I do not take in too much or too little fat. On days I am not going to consume much fat, I don't take the Alli pills. They are too expensive to waste. If I take the Alli pills and consume too much fat, I am running full speed for the bathroom, hoping I make it. If I continue to eat too much fat, I become bloated and constipated. Alli will work, as long as you control your fat. And, if you aren't going to consume fat, skip taking the pill, as they are too expensive to waste.

posted Mar 10th, 2014 8:48 pm


stacy

+

I took alli 2 years agon for about 3 months and lost 30 lbs. I am now starting to gain some weight back, might try the product again

posted Feb 20th, 2013 10:43 pm


chris michels

+

im 43 and was doing p90x (6 days a week)for 6 weeks working out an hour a day and only lost six pounds(no diet plan in place)..i cut out sodas(very tough, its like a drug itself) and started taking alli..its been 1 week and i lost three pounds already.i have kept my fat intake beow the 15mg and i have hadzero side effects. i was actually wondering if it even worked but on the third day i started noticing a slight change..after the third day i started noticing the oil and fat my poop (different but not scarry, imagine pouring about 2 tbsp vegatable oil in your tolite, thats pretty much what it looks like and is not that bad if your prepared).I am now exited about the proces bcause as soon as i started limiting fat below 15g I have lost almost a pound a day since..im keeping below1800 calories and trying to imit my salt intake as well since this holds fluids in the body.. i even went to nice restaurant an ordered a big fat juicy steak but elected skip the pill for dinner to be safe..happy to report no side effects from my lunch pill. I had a little gas , but this is needed for a good duch oven in the sheets:-)

in summarry u just have try and see how you respond


i personaly think the side effects mainytarget people that have digestive issues to start...might try actavia or some other supplement thats helps your digestive sytem.getvin order first..ive never had any issues in the past so maybe this why im not geeting side effects. my is about to start and she a little irregular normally so suspect she may suffersome the side effects. i will update weekly on our progress and let know if any problems have occurred

posted Feb 16th, 2013 9:49 am


Linda

?

What have you changed in the alli? It most defenitely does not work anymore. Wasted money I have called you before on this and was told you havent changed the dosage or formular. Yes you have! I lost twenty pounds on this two years ago, had the treatment effects if i had too much fat. Oily stools and all. Maybe not a nice thing, but. iT WORKED. Now i can eat two pieces of cake loaded with frosting, icecream, and nothing, no side effects, no oily stool,hense, no weightloss. It still says 60 mils of orlistat. I opened the capsule, hardly anything there. I told my doctor who told me to take this two years ago, as she was also. She said formular should be tested, but it has changed, and your still charging alot of money. The batch i have now is #. 61906xd. 13789. Exp. 04/15

posted Feb 15th, 2013 6:29 pm


Debbie Chavis

-

i was woundering if I can send these pills back. I have been taking them for two weeks and nothing is happening except making me sick to stomach. I don't have the box or receipt anymore is that a problem?

posted Feb 5th, 2013 9:25 pm


mary b.

?

ANYONE TAKEN ALLI SINCE RECENT SHORTAGE? Has anyone taken ALLI since the shortage? I have for 3 days now and so far nothing has happened. I was on it since 2007 and lost alot of weight then. Now since shortage I've gained it all back, so depressed, and now the new batch doesn't seem to be working. No oily residue or anything. Anyone else experiencing this?

posted Jun 27th, 2012 4:15 pm


Michele

+

Alli helped me lose 60 pounds. I now have none and I really need to watch carefully what I eat. Can't wait for it to be back on the shelves....

posted Jun 12th, 2012 11:58 pm


Caz

Wot ones do yous use da capsules r the chewy ones ???

posted Mar 31st, 2012 6:37 pm


kimberly

thank you,and i'll try not to cry .not even a week yet ,but like an old friend you have shown me more then others in a life time.i can not tell in words, how greatful i'm,for you have restored me.38 married with 4 sons and SEXY again.

posted Mar 4th, 2012 10:34 am


Charrie Parks

-

I have never had success with diets, they just DONT work for me! I have tried working out for months and eating really healthy, and still, minimal results. About 3 of my co-workers did the Dr. Max Powers 15 Day Cleanse, and I was SURE they were going to gain the wait back. When they kept it off, I started doing research.

I read as much about the Dr Max Powers 15 Day Cleanse as possible. I am done with my first 15 Day Cleanse, and so far I have lost 15 lbs in 17 days! I am melting away and LOVING it. For the first time in my life, I feel good. I am only 6 lbs away from my goal and I think I may stay on the diet longer.

If you have the determination, and you plan correctly, this cleanse WORKS!

For those who dont know, you can do several rounds of this 15 Day Cleanse if you have a lot to lose, and I heard you lose more the second time.

Do it!

posted Nov 16th, 2011 3:12 am


yvette

I love it...i do not eat much fatty food at all but ali does keep me regular...and i have lost 6lbs.....i only take one a day...

posted Oct 18th, 2011 8:27 am


Saca

This msg is for Debra. Debra I am using phentermine the 37mg one. I started it a week ago. I am not sure if I lost any weight, I think my scale is not accurate. When I step on it it says one thing, and when I step off and on again its different. When my dr gave me the prescription for phentermine she said that I could use Alli. She said I don't need to use it every day, just the times I eat foods high in fat. With phentermine I do not feel hungry. I make my self eat. Hope this helps.

posted Aug 16th, 2011 8:46 pm


Shantelle

I like Alli, I only have issues when I eat greasy or fatty foods, I do urinate more for some reason, gassy at times,I don't take it three times day only when I eat really bad.

posted Jul 26th, 2011 1:49 pm


Christy

Love this! I jsut started last week and was on the high end of a healthy weight but close to being overweight so I wanted to get in control before it was to late. I was hoping to lose 2-3lbs the first week but I lost 5! I stuck to diet strictly and often only ate about 1/2 of the allowed fat and I did my regular gym routing 3x week for 90mins and not one single "treatment effect". This pill is a great motivator to keep me honest! Lets hope for more loss next week =)

posted Jun 29th, 2011 1:37 pm


tonimarie

+

i like alli its one pill that lets you know when you are not eatting right you see the fatty yellow oil comes out and reminds you you really need to change the way you eat and when you dont it let you know when you use the bathroom with this yellow oil that comes out like oil you uses in a fryer but if you eat right then you dont have that yellow oil reminder

posted Apr 24th, 2011 4:12 am


cassie

grat stuff! stay low fat or you will have spoting. i am so glad i started this program!!!

posted Apr 16th, 2011 6:08 pm


Alicia

All in all its a great product. I don't understand all of the people on here saying that they ate a cheeseburger or hot dog and then had spotting. OFCOURSE your going to have spotting if you eat things that are high in fat. and if someone is reading this and questioning if they should try alli but are too scared of the spotting, wear a pad the first few days just until you know how things will go. but i promise if you stay low fat you wont have these issues.

posted Apr 16th, 2011 6:05 pm


userfile
John Petway

I've been taking Alli for 2 weeks now. I'd tell ya, I'm impress with the results. Yes we have to watch the fats intake. Just follow the instruction and you'll be just fine. Yes to answer your question do I have oily stool, the answer is yes. At first I was like gross and ewww look at all that fats coming out of my butt. It has cause me to changed my eating completely. I never knew my body was taking in all that fats, but I love it every time I do-do. I love seeing my body getting rid of the fats. So far I've lost 8lbs in two weeks. Good result I would say so. What make it better is doing alot of cardio. Try it! You'll see great results. Thanks Alli.

posted Apr 8th, 2011 4:45 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com

Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical

Whats better than
Alli?