Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

31%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 156 reviews
Alli

Alli Review: Does it Work?

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
What is it?

Alli is a weight loss pill intended to help people burn one pound of fat, for every 2 pounds lost through exercise. It’s an over the counter medication made to help reduce about 25% of the fat one eats.

It’s only available for people 18 and older, and for those who would be considered obese with a BMI of 25 or more. You also have to introduce a low-calorie, low-fat diet, and you have to make sure to take Alli alongside fats in your meals. The intended purpose of Alli is to remove some fat calories from your diet, by not having it digested, and instead being passed through one’s stool. So is this really an effective weight loss pill? What kinds of weight loss effects are possible? Featured in this Alli review is all the information needed to make an informed decision.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

Alli Ingredients and Side Effects

Orlistat

FD&C Blue No. 2

Edible Ink

Gelatin

Iron Oxide

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Povidone

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate

Sodium Starch Glycolate

Talc

Titanium Dioxide

 

 

Orlistat: The sole key active ingredient in Alli. It’s used to help reduce the absorption of some fats, by having them removed by bowel movements.

You are advised to skip dosing these pills if you have a meal with no fats. It’s also advised to get no more than 30% of your calories from fat to make good use of this ingredient. Both Drugs.com and the official website for Alli confirm:

“Orlistat can make it harder for your body to absorb fat-soluble vitamins”

“may recommend that you take vitamin and mineral supplements while you are taking this medication”

This can reduce the intake of vitamins A, D, E, and K. When using this pill, it’s important to watch out for signs of vitamin and mineral deficiency. This can potentially lead to issues such as:

  • Brittle nails and dull looking hear.
  • Extreme fatigue.
  • Vision problems.
  • Mood swings and symptoms of depression.
  • Reduced muscle mass and weakness in the limbs.
  • Blindness.
  • Increased risk for disease.

Orlistat itself has also been shown to potentially cause side effects that include:

  • Blood in the urine.
  • Severe lower back pain.
  • Kidney problems including little to no urination.
  • Liver issues that may cause nausea, itching, loss of appetite, dark urine, fatigue, and yellowing of the skin and eyes.
  • Oily and or fatty stools.
  • Gas and oily discharge.
  • Stomach pain, increased bathroom usage, and rectal pain.
  • Inability to control your bowel movements.
  • Several other side effects

There are also other side effects that if experienced, it’s advised to seek immediate medical help. This can be a sign of serious health problems that can be potentially life threatening if not treated.

The official website does list some possible side effects, but a list on Drugs.com features all the possible issues people have experienced.

A clinical study of this ingredient showed very poor weight loss benefits.  The Cochrane Metabolic and Endocrine Disorders Group ran a study showing the effects of the active ingredient when used for over a year:

“compared to placebo, Orlistat reduced weight by 2.9 kg”

2.9 kg is 6.39 pounds. So people lost around 1.87 pounds each month. This is significantly less weight loss than what other supplements can provide. You also have to make sure to consider all the possible side effects, as well as reduce your calories and increase exercise.

The company claims that you can lose around 5% of your total body fat if taken according to their demands, but this still isn’t very much. The added diet and exercise is likely a major part of why there’s weight loss.

FD&C Blue No. 2: Synthetic food coloring added to help provide a blue color. It has no nutritional value, and is only added to make these pills appear blue. Rats given this ingredient were subject to:

“statistically significant increases in brain cancer”

This is according to a study by the Center for Science in the Public Interest.  They also advise that this ingredient should be banned, since it has no nutritional value. It’s also believed that this ingredient may cause hyperactivity as well.

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate: A detergent and foaming agent that may cause skin and eye irritation.

Sodium Starch Glycolate: White powder added to help a pill dissolve and absorb better. It can be extracted from common allergens like wheat and corn. Those allergic or sensitive to these ingredients won’t know which is added, since manufacturers aren’t required to list what extracts are used.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Alli Quality of Ingredients

10 of the 11 ingredients are inactive, meaning they have no weight loss purpose.

The only truly beneficial ingredient is Orlistat, and its results on long term weight loss have been poor. You also have to make sure to take it alongside fats, so people who don’t eat much dietary fats wouldn’t see much improvement.

Clinical studies have shown that it may lead to serious side effects, of which there are many. Other studies have revealed that its weight loss effects are poor. Just over a pound of weight loss is possible each month, which isn’t much. This also comes at the addition of added diet and exercise, as well as special intake considerations, as not all people are advised to take this weight loss pill.

You also have to watch out for fat soluble vitamin loss, which may require extra supplementation with multivitamins.


The Price and Quality of Alli

Alli is available for purchase in store and in online retail stores. One 40 day supply sells for $69.99 on Amazon.com. So you’re essentially paying $1.74 per pill.

Most of what’s inside this pill has no weight loss effect. It’s mostly made up of food coloring, pill stabilizers, and additives to ease digestion.

The sole active ingredient has been shown to help reduce dietary fats, but its possibility for side effects and vitamin and mineral loss. Also, the weight loss benefits have been incredibly poor, and as you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Alli” section, it’s not well reviewed by users.

Business of Alli

Alli is owned by the pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline; their US division can be reached below:

Phone Number: (800) 671-2554

Email: Consumer.Communications@GSK.com

No returns are offered on Alli.

The makers have also been the subject of controversy over marketing and illegal actions.  They also were subject to the biggest fine ever imposed on a drug company. The Department of Justice adds:

“Unlawful promotion of certain prescription drugs, its failure to report safety data, and its civil liability for alleged false price reporting”

“largest health care fraud settlement in US history”

They hid information about possible side effects, and they manipulated prices for several of their drugs.

In 2014, they also recalled Alli after fears of contamination.  The FDA adds:

“the company believes some packages of the product were tampered with”

It’s unknown how this could have happened, but they voluntarily recalled all batches of Alli in the US.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Alli

Several customer reviews are available online. Here’s what a few have experienced:

“hate so much that I paid for a product that did absolutely nothing”

“exercised as I did before, failed to lose any weight”

“It was disgusting and uncontrollable”

“Does not work at all”

Side effects were often listed, and they ranged from loose and oily stools, flatulence, increased bathroom usage, and sudden unexpected stools. A few people mentioned they couldn’t be far away from a bathroom, as they would suddenly get the urge to have to go immedietly.

A lack of weight loss was also listed as a problem. Currently 571 reviews on Amazon.com confirm the lack of beneficial effects. Many struggled to see any weight loss even with proper diet and exercise.

There was often concern that the new batches of Alli just aren’t as good, and that there’s a lack of any noticeable change.


Conclusion - Does Alli Work?

When considering weight loss pills like Alli, it’s important to look at clinical studies and customer opinions. Many users who tried Alli failed to see any change, and many severe side effects have also been listed. Though Alli can help reduce some fat intake, it only works to reduce fat, and it has no metabolism boosting or other calorie burning effects. So sugar and carbohydrates won’t be reduced.

Also, the possibility for loss of fat soluble vitamins might require extra supplementation. A better solution is available that has only natural ingredients, no laxative like side effects, and great customer reviews. The very best option of 2016 is the all-natural  Sletrokor.

It doesn’t require a special diet, and you can rest assured this supplement won’t have laxative like side effects. Customers have also raved about the beneficial and long lasting weight loss effects. You can find these testimonials on their official website, with people leaving nothing but positive weight loss results.

Sletrokor is even supported by an industry great 30 day money back guarantee. So you can take this supplement with the knowledge you’re backed by a great risk free guarantee.

How Does Alli Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Alli
  • 31 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 19, 380 total comments)

sophie

since i started alli 1 week and 2 days i have lost 4lbs. i stay under 14g and work out at least 3 times a week. yes the first day i felt a bit of the side affects but nothing horrible just go to the bathroom when you feel you need! stick to the guidelines or pay the consquenses Good luck every one!

posted Mar 12th, 2010 2:11 pm


Mrs. Manczuk

-

A very good girl friend of mine just underwent a liver transplant because of Alli. She took the pills in order to lose a few stubborn pounds, her two sisters had had success with it so she figured she might as well; but unfortunately, she became very sick and needed to have her liver replaced.

There maybe great results for some but there are people like my friend for whom this had become life threatening. PLEASE, PLEASE CHECK WITH YOUR DOCTOR FIRST before taking this medication.

She never had problems with her liver before this unfortunate incident.

posted Mar 10th, 2010 4:15 pm


userfile
melissag87

i bought alli 2 days ago im going to start tomorrow..when it comes to diets i get obbssed with counting calories an i walk an run for 45 minutes a day..so i hope this works for me because i tried alomst everyything my goal is to lose 60 pounds by july so wish me luck =-)

posted Mar 9th, 2010 9:13 pm


leezette

Ive been wanting to get on a diet pill... and i have not yet chosen one.. i want my moneys worth?! is this really a great one.... and just reading all these comments about bowel movement, scary.. does it happen after you something to eat or just whenever?! also, lets say i get on this pill and 4 months from now, i want to stop taking it.. will my weight come back, obviously if i keep eating junk food, but what if i stop eating all that.. just little concerned?! also i see that some have lost 2lbs in a week some 5lbs in 2wks.. but how much inches have you lost?! im in a size 11 jeans and want to go down to a 7.. is this alli thing good enough... i know i also have to exercise and watch what i eat! ANY ADVICE wouold be GREATLY APPRECIATED!

posted Mar 9th, 2010 4:22 pm


Mommie of Three kiddos

+

I used Alli for 6 months while doing Weight Watchers. I walked 4 miles a day for 5-7 days a week. I was losing on average 3-6 pounds a week. Never had any TE mentioned in previous posts but then again I never went over 12g of Fat a meal. Works great if you are ready to lose weight and ready and committed to stick to a diet program.

Each person is different. One can only know if this is right for them if they try it themselves and follow the program as recommended. it may work for you but not for your friends. Best of luck for everyone :)

posted Mar 7th, 2010 4:07 pm


jAee

it was good

posted Mar 4th, 2010 2:39 pm


Grizzbailey

+

I have been on Alli for about three weeks and I have lost 10 pounds. I have not had any "treatment effects" that were described in the booklet or on the website.

If you restrict the oily food you consume and use non fat foods and non fat sprays, you will not have the side effects, at least that is what I have been doing. Also I have been staying well under the recommended fat intake percentage and keeping a diary of the foods that I eat each day, calories and fat percentage in each food are calculated and that also very helpful, in planning other meals.

posted Mar 3rd, 2010 12:49 pm


Renee Allen

I started taking alli today...I watched my intake today...I hope that I have good results...though I'm worried about going to the bathroom when I am out in public.

posted Feb 24th, 2010 8:09 pm


heidi

-

After one week on alli i started having pain on my right side and my stools turned white. yes pure white. no joke. I was told its a sign of liver damage so I stopped taking alli and was 100% normal in about 2 days

posted Feb 18th, 2010 9:58 pm


THEONE

I STARTED ALLI ON TUESDAY SO FAR NO SIDE EFFECTS THAT I CANT BARE. I TRY TO STAY IN MY 1800 CALORIE INTAKE WITH LOW FAT WILL CHECK BACK IN WHEN I FINISH MY 60 DAY SUPPLY.

posted Feb 17th, 2010 5:36 pm


Becky

+

I have been taking Alli for three weeks. I love it! No side effects if you change your way of eating. I have lost 16 pounds.

posted Feb 17th, 2010 11:22 am


Sam1104

-

This was a horrible month for me.
It is overall to expensive and not effective (for me anyway)
I stuck to a fairly low-fat diet, not too bad side-effects, but i noticed a real dip in my mood. I was more obsessed with food than ever, be it 'oh my god what am I going to eat that is going to fill me up but not make me need the toilet?' or just absolutely crazy craving for chocolate, crisps, everything. Never again!

posted Feb 15th, 2010 8:41 am


nightangel26

+

I love Alli so far. I've been on over 2 weeks and lost approx 10lbs... before I had been on a diet and lost about 5 lbs in a month exhausting myself with exercise. I exercise a little every day, more if I'm up to it and eat low cal. I've seen the "treatment effects" because I've binged... and when I go off plan boy do I!! and so we learn something. I will be getting another bottle though...overall including my own dieting I am 15lbs down...85 to go. (I'm about 235 now headed for my 3rd week of Alli)

posted Feb 13th, 2010 9:50 pm


barb jones

-

rubbish does not work waste of money

posted Feb 11th, 2010 12:55 pm


enough

-

Had to go to the ER. My pulse and blood pressure went through the roof after I was on Alli for about 2 weeks. My heart felt like it was going to explode!
I am 140 and wanted to drop 10 pounds. I lost 5 in 7 days but I started to have upper stomach pain. Never had the oil/orange discharge because I ate lo fat/lo calorie.
Read other blogs about this product before you put it in your body. And do your research.
My pulse still accelerates intermittently out of the blue and I am in good health (or at least I was prior to this).
I bought this at costco and thankfully got a full refund.
Proceed with caution people.

posted Feb 5th, 2010 12:31 am


jyothipras

now its been almost 2 weeks that I have been on alli still no results .Can anyone tell what to eat? I am a pure vegetarian.

posted Feb 1st, 2010 11:02 am


JJeanes

Ok. I have been taking it and have the orange greasy stool but I admit, I eat more than 15 grams of fat per meal, but mainly just at lunch. Will you lose more weight if u eat less fat I mean it seems to me that most of the fat is coming out anyways right. That is what the orange crap is, isn't it? Someone help me out here.

posted Jan 27th, 2010 1:53 pm


hmilbrett

I am starting Alli today, I am 22 and want to lose around 20 pounds for my wedding in July. I really hope this works, I am going to try and stick to the low calorie better healthy foods as I know its important. I will comment in a few days.

posted Jan 24th, 2010 12:49 pm


jyothipras

I have been taking Alli for 4 days now ...have been on perfect diet and excercising almost every day.I still did 'nt see any results yet...BTW I am 28 years old...

posted Jan 21st, 2010 9:07 pm



Cindy Goodwater

+

I LOVE alli, it is exactly what I was needing because living a low fat way of life is good, but the loss was very slow and it's easy to lose interest. alli has changed my life and it has allowed me to really get the scale moving as long as I do my part. You DO NOT take this and then eat whatever you want, for those of you who still aren't getting really honest with yourself and "think" you can just take alli and not totally change how you view food, cook food, buy food and most importantly eat food then it isn't for you and nothing is until you really commit to changing EVERYTHING. It all starts in the brain and if your mind isn't ready to change then there is little hope no matter what you try. I am in my 3rd week of alli and it's amazing how good this little blue pill works for me, I am seeing the weight come off daily, yes daily. The good news is, I still eat the foods I love, I just have learned how to make them healthier for
me. Here is an example, could I really live without ever eating a brownie again as long as I live? yeah right!! now I can because I make them low fat and still lose weight. It's not about what you can't have, but more of taking the foods I love and making them better for me. This journey i am on is NOT a diet, but a total lifestyle change, in other words, I refuse to go back to how I used to view food and buy food and cook food. alli has been key to me "getting real" and staying on track. I didn't gain this weight over night so I will not lose it over night, it's a process and during this process, I must learn more about the "why's" so I won't repeat old patterns, if I do learn and really get honest with me, then I can be free from a life of complete misery due to being over weight, no body did "this" to me, I did it to myself. My advice to anyone wanting to try alli, is do not take it if you are like countless others who are wanting a quick fix. Rather do this with a commitment to change everything about you that has gotten where you are today.
This is a Journey to a better LIFE and when you really understand you are worth it and CAN do it, then your life will start to change. One more little piece of info is YOU DO NOT HAVE TO STARVE TO LOSE WEIGHT. It's all about eating and eating the right way. Good luck to everyone who is on this amazing journey of health and life. WE CAN DO IT AND WE WILL. GOD IS GOOD ALL OF THE TIME ;)

posted Jan 20th, 2010 1:44 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com

Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical

Whats better than
Alli?