Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

31%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 156 reviews
Alli

Alli Review: Does it Work?

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
What is it?

Alli is a weight loss pill intended to help people burn one pound of fat, for every 2 pounds lost through exercise. It’s an over the counter medication made to help reduce about 25% of the fat one eats.

It’s only available for people 18 and older, and for those who would be considered obese with a BMI of 25 or more. You also have to introduce a low-calorie, low-fat diet, and you have to make sure to take Alli alongside fats in your meals. The intended purpose of Alli is to remove some fat calories from your diet, by not having it digested, and instead being passed through one’s stool. So is this really an effective weight loss pill? What kinds of weight loss effects are possible? Featured in this Alli review is all the information needed to make an informed decision.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

Alli Ingredients and Side Effects

Orlistat

FD&C Blue No. 2

Edible Ink

Gelatin

Iron Oxide

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Povidone

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate

Sodium Starch Glycolate

Talc

Titanium Dioxide

 

Orlistat: The sole key active ingredient in Alli. It’s used to help reduce the absorption of some fats, by having them removed by bowel movements.

You are advised to skip dosing these pills if you have a meal with no fats. It’s also advised to get no more than 30% of your calories from fat to make good use of this ingredient. Both Drugs.com and the official website for Alli confirm:

“Orlistat can make it harder for your body to absorb fat-soluble vitamins”

“may recommend that you take vitamin and mineral supplements while you are taking this medication”

This can reduce the intake of vitamins A, D, E, and K. When using this pill, it’s important to watch out for signs of vitamin and mineral deficiency. This can potentially lead to issues such as:

  • Brittle nails and dull looking hear.
  • Extreme fatigue.
  • Vision problems.
  • Mood swings and symptoms of depression.
  • Reduced muscle mass and weakness in the limbs.
  • Blindness.
  • Increased risk for disease.

Orlistat itself has also been shown to potentially cause side effects that include:

  • Blood in the urine.
  • Severe lower back pain.
  • Kidney problems including little to no urination.
  • Liver issues that may cause nausea, itching, loss of appetite, dark urine, fatigue, and yellowing of the skin and eyes.
  • Oily and or fatty stools.
  • Gas and oily discharge.
  • Stomach pain, increased bathroom usage, and rectal pain.
  • Inability to control your bowel movements.
  • Several other side effects

There are also other side effects that if experienced, it’s advised to seek immediate medical help. This can be a sign of serious health problems that can be potentially life threatening if not treated.

The official website does list some possible side effects, but a list on Drugs.com features all the possible issues people have experienced.

A clinical study of this ingredient showed very poor weight loss benefits.  The Cochrane Metabolic and Endocrine Disorders Group ran a study showing the effects of the active ingredient when used for over a year:

“compared to placebo, Orlistat reduced weight by 2.9 kg”

2.9 kg is 6.39 pounds. So people lost around 1.87 pounds each month. This is significantly less weight loss than what other supplements can provide. You also have to make sure to consider all the possible side effects, as well as reduce your calories and increase exercise.

The company claims that you can lose around 5% of your total body fat if taken according to their demands, but this still isn’t very much. The added diet and exercise is likely a major part of why there’s weight loss.

FD&C Blue No. 2: Synthetic food coloring added to help provide a blue color. It has no nutritional value, and is only added to make these pills appear blue. Rats given this ingredient were subject to:

“statistically significant increases in brain cancer”

This is according to a study by the Center for Science in the Public Interest.  They also advise that this ingredient should be banned, since it has no nutritional value. It’s also believed that this ingredient may cause hyperactivity as well.

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate: A detergent and foaming agent that may cause skin and eye irritation.

Sodium Starch Glycolate: White powder added to help a pill dissolve and absorb better. It can be extracted from common allergens like wheat and corn. Those allergic or sensitive to these ingredients won’t know which is added, since manufacturers aren’t required to list what extracts are used.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Alli Quality of Ingredients

10 of the 11 ingredients are inactive, meaning they have no weight loss purpose.

The only truly beneficial ingredient is Orlistat, and its results on long term weight loss have been poor. You also have to make sure to take it alongside fats, so people who don’t eat much dietary fats wouldn’t see much improvement.

Clinical studies have shown that it may lead to serious side effects, of which there are many. Other studies have revealed that its weight loss effects are poor. Just over a pound of weight loss is possible each month, which isn’t much. This also comes at the addition of added diet and exercise, as well as special intake considerations, as not all people are advised to take this weight loss pill.

You also have to watch out for fat soluble vitamin loss, which may require extra supplementation with multivitamins.


The Price and Quality of Alli

Alli is available for purchase in store and in online retail stores. One 40 day supply sells for $69.99 on Amazon.com. So you’re essentially paying $1.74 per pill.

Most of what’s inside this pill has no weight loss effect. It’s mostly made up of food coloring, pill stabilizers, and additives to ease digestion.

The sole active ingredient has been shown to help reduce dietary fats, but its possibility for side effects and vitamin and mineral loss. Also, the weight loss benefits have been incredibly poor, and as you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Alli” section, it’s not well reviewed by users.

Business of Alli

Alli is owned by the pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline; their US division can be reached below:

Phone Number: (800) 671-2554

Email: Consumer.Communications@GSK.com

No returns are offered on Alli.

The makers have also been the subject of controversy over marketing and illegal actions.  They also were subject to the biggest fine ever imposed on a drug company. The Department of Justice adds:

“Unlawful promotion of certain prescription drugs, its failure to report safety data, and its civil liability for alleged false price reporting”

“largest health care fraud settlement in US history”

They hid information about possible side effects, and they manipulated prices for several of their drugs.

In 2014, they also recalled Alli after fears of contamination.  The FDA adds:

“the company believes some packages of the product were tampered with”

It’s unknown how this could have happened, but they voluntarily recalled all batches of Alli in the US.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Alli

Several customer reviews are available online. Here’s what a few have experienced:

“hate so much that I paid for a product that did absolutely nothing”

“exercised as I did before, failed to lose any weight”

“It was disgusting and uncontrollable”

“Does not work at all”

Side effects were often listed, and they ranged from loose and oily stools, flatulence, increased bathroom usage, and sudden unexpected stools. A few people mentioned they couldn’t be far away from a bathroom, as they would suddenly get the urge to have to go immedietly.

A lack of weight loss was also listed as a problem. Currently 571 reviews on Amazon.com confirm the lack of beneficial effects. Many struggled to see any weight loss even with proper diet and exercise.

There was often concern that the new batches of Alli just aren’t as good, and that there’s a lack of any noticeable change.


Conclusion - Does Alli Work?

When considering weight loss pills like Alli, it’s important to look at clinical studies and customer opinions. Many users who tried Alli failed to see any change, and many severe side effects have also been listed. Though Alli can help reduce some fat intake, it only works to reduce fat, and it has no metabolism boosting or other calorie burning effects. So sugar and carbohydrates won’t be reduced.

Also, the possibility for loss of fat soluble vitamins might require extra supplementation. A better solution is available that has only natural ingredients, no laxative like side effects, and great customer reviews. The very best option of 2016 is the all-natural  Sletrokor.

It doesn’t require a special diet, and you can rest assured this supplement won’t have laxative like side effects. Customers have also raved about the beneficial and long lasting weight loss effects. You can find these testimonials on their official website, with people leaving nothing but positive weight loss results.

Sletrokor is even supported by an industry great 30 day money back guarantee. So you can take this supplement with the knowledge you’re backed by a great risk free guarantee.

How Does Alli Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Alli
  • 31 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 19, 380 total comments)

Gia

?

I usually skip breakfast... but according to the instruction. it says 3 times per day with meal, so how shall

posted Apr 7th, 2011 2:38 am


Moly

I have been using it for 6 weeks now. I lost about 6 lbs. nothing for first few days, I don't eat a lot of fatty food anyway, don't have the leaks like others. I take 2 pills only, one for lunch one for dinner. for breakfast, I always eat oatmeal, cook with soy milk.





posted Apr 7th, 2011 12:35 am


Amiee craig

+

When I started alli in the end Jan 2011, I was skepica about it. I had 5 kids and I had baby fat that would n go away with exercise pus I did not have time. I needed something that work in my daily routine. My weight was 185.By aprili was 165. My kangroo pouch is shrinking and my child father is going very happy with the new body. U start to live again! Thanks alli!

posted Apr 5th, 2011 6:41 am


Amber

Anal leakage. I have been eating the fruits and food that is required I only drink what and the amount of oil that came out is gross. Plus, I cant control it. Like how am I supposed to sleep with my husband if I can t control my bowels.EWWW!!!

posted Mar 22nd, 2011 11:01 am


Tamara L Gately

I already eat a low-fat diet and exercise and could seem to lose weight. With the help of Alli, I am seeing results finally! It is true that if you follow the fat intake guidelines, the side affects are minimal. If you don't, you will be in the bathroom. It keeps you honest! Thank you, Alli!

posted Mar 18th, 2011 12:24 pm


Golda

The leg cramps are from lack of water when taking diet pills of any kind you body needs extra water!! drink up!!

posted Mar 15th, 2011 9:37 pm


sue

I have developed severe leg cramps after taking Alli for about 7 days.
What is causing this

posted Mar 15th, 2011 1:32 pm


a.edwards

+

I have been using alli for about 2 weeks now and have lost 6lbs. I do experierience the gassy oil spills when I eat wrong but to me, that is its way of saying think about it! I love it and will continue to use it as long as there are results.Also, it feels like a work out!

posted Feb 11th, 2011 4:01 am


Julie

+

I have been using it since January 2010, have lost 30lbs and absolutely love it. Makes you watch everything you put in your mouth. I have started weight watchers as of Jan 2011 to get addt 15lbs off that I have not been able to and use Alli also and have lost 6 lbs in the last week and half. Great product!!

posted Jan 21st, 2011 3:56 pm


ALLI DIET PILLS WORK!

+

i dieted my first week with no pills and no excercise i only lost 1 lb. my second week i limited myself to 1200 calories per day and had my alli pills 3 times a day one with each meal containing fat no excersise this week and i lost 4 lb. i see alot of reviews about how the pills give you the runs and the oil spotting. all you need to do is read the information that comes wth the pills and it explains everything to you.. dont just skip through the pages READ THE WHOLE THING!! until now i have not had any diarreah but i have suffered the oil spotting thing and yes its gross but it only happens when you eat something with alot of fat WHICH ITS OK I RATHER IT BE OUT THAN IN. the pills do exactly what they say they will. they eliminate the fat you consume so obviously it needs to come out by somewhere. there is no majic pill that you can take to eat whatever you want and loose weight. these pills work great as long as you use them correctly. its not only about the calories you intake you also need to minimize the amount of sodium and fat and work out GOOD LUCK TO THOSE USING THESE PILLS!! I LOVE THEM THEY ARE HELPING LOOSE MY BABY FAT!

posted Jan 17th, 2011 6:28 pm


NightAngel26

+

I'm fond of it. I've been taking it off and on since last January. I find it works really well, slows down to pretty much nothing over time. I am still trying to figure out the best starting and stopping routine to keep things going. The oil seems to be forever, esp with too much fat in diet. I like to see results but go way over and you might find passing gas to be something worse. Overall it does well and I'll keep going. Good idea to change eating habits for the better though, also a few lbs gain after stopping, like the body is getting used to doing things on own.

posted Jan 16th, 2011 4:32 am


chillicheeks

+

have been taking Alli for 4 days now and i have been having some of the side affects but they are not to much of a problem for me in fact some of the side affects i have welcomed as i suffer from IBS i only go for a poo usely about twice a week and some times have to take laxitive to go to the loo been going to the loo now 2 3 times a day it great cause i feel less bloated . haven't weighed my self yet i will after one week and post results again only thing i would say you have to be carefull with fat in take because oliy poo is not so nice but its better out than in lol

posted Jan 15th, 2011 7:06 pm


Melissa Ross

+

I LOVE IT!!!! years and years of trying everything and this is the only thing that has worked. My firts month i lost 6, second month i lost 9 and my third month I lost 11. Still going strong.

posted Oct 5th, 2010 10:27 am



Shaddyanne

anal leakage!!!!

posted Oct 4th, 2010 6:45 pm


Debra

Hi, I was wondering if you can take Alli and another diet pill together? Since Alli helps you lose weight but its not an
appetite suppresant and thought that if I took another diet pill that helped curb my appetite, and take Alli too that help even more. I'm always wanting to eat. help!

posted Oct 4th, 2010 6:11 am


Wasteria

+

Alli did exactly what it say it would. It is not a magic pill, however it enhances your results. If you lose 1-3 pounds a week, taking Alli will increase your weight loss to 3-5, but you must be carefully with your fat intake, you will be embarrassed.

posted Sep 28th, 2010 7:59 pm


Mary

+

If you follow the instructions it will work.It did for me,and I am 72yrs.It has also worked for one of my granchildren age 22yrs

posted Sep 11th, 2010 9:19 am


Me

I just wanted to know if the orange oil leakage leaves after a period of time or do you have the leakage the entire time you use the pills?

posted Sep 4th, 2010 10:43 pm


Kismet

I used Alli when it first came out with great success, then it completely stopped working. I've also gained back the 30 pounds I lost, while to continuing to eat just what I ate on the Alli diet plan. I've waited a year and then retried it, again, nothing. I have no idea what causes this.

posted Sep 3rd, 2010 10:39 am


michelle

+

ive been on alli for a week now and have lost 7lbs!! no nasty side effects , had few trips to the toilet but no leakage , i love it it makes you really think what you eat and for me has not made me have my normal binges, im really happy so far .

posted Sep 2nd, 2010 3:36 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com

Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical

Whats better than
Alli?