Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

84%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 150 reviews

Alli

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com


Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 19, 378 total comments)

Amiee craig

When I started alli in the end Jan 2011, I was skepica about it. I had 5 kids and I had baby fat that would n go away with exercise pus I did not have time. I needed something that work in my daily routine. My weight was 185.By aprili was 165. My kangroo pouch is shrinking and my child father is going very happy with the new body. U start to live again! Thanks alli!

posted Apr 5th, 2011 6:41 am


Amber

Anal leakage. I have been eating the fruits and food that is required I only drink what and the amount of oil that came out is gross. Plus, I cant control it. Like how am I supposed to sleep with my husband if I can t control my bowels.EWWW!!!

posted Mar 22nd, 2011 11:01 am


Tamara L Gately

I already eat a low-fat diet and exercise and could seem to lose weight. With the help of Alli, I am seeing results finally! It is true that if you follow the fat intake guidelines, the side affects are minimal. If you don't, you will be in the bathroom. It keeps you honest! Thank you, Alli!

posted Mar 18th, 2011 12:24 pm


Golda

The leg cramps are from lack of water when taking diet pills of any kind you body needs extra water!! drink up!!

posted Mar 15th, 2011 9:37 pm


sue

I have developed severe leg cramps after taking Alli for about 7 days.
What is causing this

posted Mar 15th, 2011 1:32 pm


a.edwards

I have been using alli for about 2 weeks now and have lost 6lbs. I do experierience the gassy oil spills when I eat wrong but to me, that is its way of saying think about it! I love it and will continue to use it as long as there are results.Also, it feels like a work out!

posted Feb 11th, 2011 4:01 am


Julie

I have been using it since January 2010, have lost 30lbs and absolutely love it. Makes you watch everything you put in your mouth. I have started weight watchers as of Jan 2011 to get addt 15lbs off that I have not been able to and use Alli also and have lost 6 lbs in the last week and half. Great product!!

posted Jan 21st, 2011 3:56 pm


ALLI DIET PILLS WORK!

i dieted my first week with no pills and no excercise i only lost 1 lb. my second week i limited myself to 1200 calories per day and had my alli pills 3 times a day one with each meal containing fat no excersise this week and i lost 4 lb. i see alot of reviews about how the pills give you the runs and the oil spotting. all you need to do is read the information that comes wth the pills and it explains everything to you.. dont just skip through the pages READ THE WHOLE THING!! until now i have not had any diarreah but i have suffered the oil spotting thing and yes its gross but it only happens when you eat something with alot of fat WHICH ITS OK I RATHER IT BE OUT THAN IN. the pills do exactly what they say they will. they eliminate the fat you consume so obviously it needs to come out by somewhere. there is no majic pill that you can take to eat whatever you want and loose weight. these pills work great as long as you use them correctly. its not only about the calories you intake you also need to minimize the amount of sodium and fat and work out GOOD LUCK TO THOSE USING THESE PILLS!! I LOVE THEM THEY ARE HELPING LOOSE MY BABY FAT!

posted Jan 17th, 2011 6:28 pm


NightAngel26

I'm fond of it. I've been taking it off and on since last January. I find it works really well, slows down to pretty much nothing over time. I am still trying to figure out the best starting and stopping routine to keep things going. The oil seems to be forever, esp with too much fat in diet. I like to see results but go way over and you might find passing gas to be something worse. Overall it does well and I'll keep going. Good idea to change eating habits for the better though, also a few lbs gain after stopping, like the body is getting used to doing things on own.

posted Jan 16th, 2011 4:32 am


chillicheeks

have been taking Alli for 4 days now and i have been having some of the side affects but they are not to much of a problem for me in fact some of the side affects i have welcomed as i suffer from IBS i only go for a poo usely about twice a week and some times have to take laxitive to go to the loo been going to the loo now 2 3 times a day it great cause i feel less bloated . haven't weighed my self yet i will after one week and post results again only thing i would say you have to be carefull with fat in take because oliy poo is not so nice but its better out than in lol

posted Jan 15th, 2011 7:06 pm


Melissa Ross

I LOVE IT!!!! years and years of trying everything and this is the only thing that has worked. My firts month i lost 6, second month i lost 9 and my third month I lost 11. Still going strong.

posted Oct 5th, 2010 10:27 am



Shaddyanne

anal leakage!!!!

posted Oct 4th, 2010 6:45 pm


Debra

Hi, I was wondering if you can take Alli and another diet pill together? Since Alli helps you lose weight but its not an
appetite suppresant and thought that if I took another diet pill that helped curb my appetite, and take Alli too that help even more. I'm always wanting to eat. help!

posted Oct 4th, 2010 6:11 am


Wasteria

Alli did exactly what it say it would. It is not a magic pill, however it enhances your results. If you lose 1-3 pounds a week, taking Alli will increase your weight loss to 3-5, but you must be carefully with your fat intake, you will be embarrassed.

posted Sep 28th, 2010 7:59 pm


Mary

If you follow the instructions it will work.It did for me,and I am 72yrs.It has also worked for one of my granchildren age 22yrs

posted Sep 11th, 2010 9:19 am


Me

I just wanted to know if the orange oil leakage leaves after a period of time or do you have the leakage the entire time you use the pills?

posted Sep 4th, 2010 10:43 pm


Kismet

I used Alli when it first came out with great success, then it completely stopped working. I've also gained back the 30 pounds I lost, while to continuing to eat just what I ate on the Alli diet plan. I've waited a year and then retried it, again, nothing. I have no idea what causes this.

posted Sep 3rd, 2010 10:39 am


michelle

ive been on alli for a week now and have lost 7lbs!! no nasty side effects , had few trips to the toilet but no leakage , i love it it makes you really think what you eat and for me has not made me have my normal binges, im really happy so far .

posted Sep 2nd, 2010 3:36 pm


Ryan

I am about to finish up my second week of Alli. I love it. I have been really observing what I eat, working out, and lost 3 pounds the first week. I will know how week 2 went on Monday when I weigh myself again. When I go to the restroom, I feel like it cleans me out! Love it! Don't take this pill unless you are drastically over weight, it is not for the moms who want to lose 10-15 pounds.

posted Aug 12th, 2010 11:05 am


Annie Davidson

I started taking alli Aug. 10, 2009 I weighed 284lbs. I am about to hit my one year marker in a couple of days. Today i weigh 188lbs. I have lost 96lbs so far. I have about 20lbs more to go. This is a wonderful product and i could not have accomplished this weigh loss without alli. If you eat to much fat you will have oily discharge so you learn very quickly how to eat. This product has taught me out to eat properly. Thank you so much alli i owe my life to you

posted Aug 4th, 2010 1:22 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account