Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

31%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 156 reviews
Alli

Alli Review: Does it Work?

The FDA's only over-the-counter diet pill.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
What is it?

Alli is a weight loss pill intended to help people burn one pound of fat, for every 2 pounds lost through exercise. It’s an over the counter medication made to help reduce about 25% of the fat one eats.

It’s only available for people 18 and older, and for those who would be considered obese with a BMI of 25 or more. You also have to introduce a low-calorie, low-fat diet, and you have to make sure to take Alli alongside fats in your meals. The intended purpose of Alli is to remove some fat calories from your diet, by not having it digested, and instead being passed through one’s stool. So is this really an effective weight loss pill? What kinds of weight loss effects are possible? Featured in this Alli review is all the information needed to make an informed decision.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

Alli Ingredients and Side Effects

Orlistat

FD&C Blue No. 2

Edible Ink

Gelatin

Iron Oxide

Microcrystalline Cellulose

Povidone

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate

Sodium Starch Glycolate

Talc

Titanium Dioxide

 

 

Orlistat: The sole key active ingredient in Alli. It’s used to help reduce the absorption of some fats, by having them removed by bowel movements.

You are advised to skip dosing these pills if you have a meal with no fats. It’s also advised to get no more than 30% of your calories from fat to make good use of this ingredient. Both Drugs.com and the official website for Alli confirm:

“Orlistat can make it harder for your body to absorb fat-soluble vitamins”

“may recommend that you take vitamin and mineral supplements while you are taking this medication”

This can reduce the intake of vitamins A, D, E, and K. When using this pill, it’s important to watch out for signs of vitamin and mineral deficiency. This can potentially lead to issues such as:

  • Brittle nails and dull looking hear.
  • Extreme fatigue.
  • Vision problems.
  • Mood swings and symptoms of depression.
  • Reduced muscle mass and weakness in the limbs.
  • Blindness.
  • Increased risk for disease.

Orlistat itself has also been shown to potentially cause side effects that include:

  • Blood in the urine.
  • Severe lower back pain.
  • Kidney problems including little to no urination.
  • Liver issues that may cause nausea, itching, loss of appetite, dark urine, fatigue, and yellowing of the skin and eyes.
  • Oily and or fatty stools.
  • Gas and oily discharge.
  • Stomach pain, increased bathroom usage, and rectal pain.
  • Inability to control your bowel movements.
  • Several other side effects

There are also other side effects that if experienced, it’s advised to seek immediate medical help. This can be a sign of serious health problems that can be potentially life threatening if not treated.

The official website does list some possible side effects, but a list on Drugs.com features all the possible issues people have experienced.

A clinical study of this ingredient showed very poor weight loss benefits.  The Cochrane Metabolic and Endocrine Disorders Group ran a study showing the effects of the active ingredient when used for over a year:

“compared to placebo, Orlistat reduced weight by 2.9 kg”

2.9 kg is 6.39 pounds. So people lost around 1.87 pounds each month. This is significantly less weight loss than what other supplements can provide. You also have to make sure to consider all the possible side effects, as well as reduce your calories and increase exercise.

The company claims that you can lose around 5% of your total body fat if taken according to their demands, but this still isn’t very much. The added diet and exercise is likely a major part of why there’s weight loss.

FD&C Blue No. 2: Synthetic food coloring added to help provide a blue color. It has no nutritional value, and is only added to make these pills appear blue. Rats given this ingredient were subject to:

“statistically significant increases in brain cancer”

This is according to a study by the Center for Science in the Public Interest.  They also advise that this ingredient should be banned, since it has no nutritional value. It’s also believed that this ingredient may cause hyperactivity as well.

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate: A detergent and foaming agent that may cause skin and eye irritation.

Sodium Starch Glycolate: White powder added to help a pill dissolve and absorb better. It can be extracted from common allergens like wheat and corn. Those allergic or sensitive to these ingredients won’t know which is added, since manufacturers aren’t required to list what extracts are used.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Alli Quality of Ingredients

10 of the 11 ingredients are inactive, meaning they have no weight loss purpose.

The only truly beneficial ingredient is Orlistat, and its results on long term weight loss have been poor. You also have to make sure to take it alongside fats, so people who don’t eat much dietary fats wouldn’t see much improvement.

Clinical studies have shown that it may lead to serious side effects, of which there are many. Other studies have revealed that its weight loss effects are poor. Just over a pound of weight loss is possible each month, which isn’t much. This also comes at the addition of added diet and exercise, as well as special intake considerations, as not all people are advised to take this weight loss pill.

You also have to watch out for fat soluble vitamin loss, which may require extra supplementation with multivitamins.


The Price and Quality of Alli

Alli is available for purchase in store and in online retail stores. One 40 day supply sells for $69.99 on Amazon.com. So you’re essentially paying $1.74 per pill.

Most of what’s inside this pill has no weight loss effect. It’s mostly made up of food coloring, pill stabilizers, and additives to ease digestion.

The sole active ingredient has been shown to help reduce dietary fats, but its possibility for side effects and vitamin and mineral loss. Also, the weight loss benefits have been incredibly poor, and as you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Alli” section, it’s not well reviewed by users.

Business of Alli

Alli is owned by the pharmaceutical company GlaxoSmithKline; their US division can be reached below:

Phone Number: (800) 671-2554

Email: Consumer.Communications@GSK.com

No returns are offered on Alli.

The makers have also been the subject of controversy over marketing and illegal actions.  They also were subject to the biggest fine ever imposed on a drug company. The Department of Justice adds:

“Unlawful promotion of certain prescription drugs, its failure to report safety data, and its civil liability for alleged false price reporting”

“largest health care fraud settlement in US history”

They hid information about possible side effects, and they manipulated prices for several of their drugs.

In 2014, they also recalled Alli after fears of contamination.  The FDA adds:

“the company believes some packages of the product were tampered with”

It’s unknown how this could have happened, but they voluntarily recalled all batches of Alli in the US.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Alli

Several customer reviews are available online. Here’s what a few have experienced:

“hate so much that I paid for a product that did absolutely nothing”

“exercised as I did before, failed to lose any weight”

“It was disgusting and uncontrollable”

“Does not work at all”

Side effects were often listed, and they ranged from loose and oily stools, flatulence, increased bathroom usage, and sudden unexpected stools. A few people mentioned they couldn’t be far away from a bathroom, as they would suddenly get the urge to have to go immedietly.

A lack of weight loss was also listed as a problem. Currently 571 reviews on Amazon.com confirm the lack of beneficial effects. Many struggled to see any weight loss even with proper diet and exercise.

There was often concern that the new batches of Alli just aren’t as good, and that there’s a lack of any noticeable change.


Conclusion - Does Alli Work?

When considering weight loss pills like Alli, it’s important to look at clinical studies and customer opinions. Many users who tried Alli failed to see any change, and many severe side effects have also been listed. Though Alli can help reduce some fat intake, it only works to reduce fat, and it has no metabolism boosting or other calorie burning effects. So sugar and carbohydrates won’t be reduced.

Also, the possibility for loss of fat soluble vitamins might require extra supplementation. A better solution is available that has only natural ingredients, no laxative like side effects, and great customer reviews. The very best option of 2016 is the all-natural  Sletrokor.

It doesn’t require a special diet, and you can rest assured this supplement won’t have laxative like side effects. Customers have also raved about the beneficial and long lasting weight loss effects. You can find these testimonials on their official website, with people leaving nothing but positive weight loss results.

Sletrokor is even supported by an industry great 30 day money back guarantee. So you can take this supplement with the knowledge you’re backed by a great risk free guarantee.

How Does Alli Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Alli
  • 31 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 19, 380 total comments)

Ryan

+

I am about to finish up my second week of Alli. I love it. I have been really observing what I eat, working out, and lost 3 pounds the first week. I will know how week 2 went on Monday when I weigh myself again. When I go to the restroom, I feel like it cleans me out! Love it! Don't take this pill unless you are drastically over weight, it is not for the moms who want to lose 10-15 pounds.

posted Aug 12th, 2010 11:05 am


Annie Davidson

I started taking alli Aug. 10, 2009 I weighed 284lbs. I am about to hit my one year marker in a couple of days. Today i weigh 188lbs. I have lost 96lbs so far. I have about 20lbs more to go. This is a wonderful product and i could not have accomplished this weigh loss without alli. If you eat to much fat you will have oily discharge so you learn very quickly how to eat. This product has taught me out to eat properly. Thank you so much alli i owe my life to you

posted Aug 4th, 2010 1:22 pm


florina

+

the best loss weight pills when you stick to a diet and exersise

posted Jun 16th, 2010 7:02 pm


shazell

i have been using alli for a week and have already lost 5 and a half pounds, alli works great for me and i would recomend it to anyone, i have had no side effects so far atall.

posted Jun 16th, 2010 11:26 am


Texas512girl

+

I noticed the oily discharge after day 2. I guess it had to work itself in my system. This aint no joke. Wear pads if U exceed the 15grms of fat per meal, but an experience like this should make U concious of what U eat and make U want to eat less. ALSO, $$$ check HEB coupons, or HEB coupon booklets. They usually have $10 dollar off coupons for any ALLI product, Or go to the ALLI website for complimentary coupon

posted Jun 7th, 2010 11:48 pm


gemma

+

i have been using alli for 1 week its the best thing ever but i have also worked hard wiv it i have lost 8 pounds in 1 week wiv the help of a healthy eating plan but no exersize i havent had any accidents either if u stick to a good controlled diet you shouldent have any off the side effects i recomend this but work hard with it good luck

posted Jun 1st, 2010 1:35 pm


Ann

I set up a meal plan on myAlli and hope I don't feel hungry eating less fat. The food options seem yummy. I plan on buying the product this week. I am 5' 6" and 190 lbs, 33 yrs old. My biggest downfall are chips and large portions, no exersize, not enough water consumed. BMI is around 30. I can see that a change in diet with low fat food will be a huge help, but the pill blocking 25% of my fat intake is such an astonishing thing, I just have to try. Someone mentioned wearing a pad. Might just do that if it means loosing this weight! I have read aA LOT of reviews and I don't think this is for vegetarians or people who are already skinny and need to loose the extra "5 lbs".

posted May 31st, 2010 8:57 pm


help!

ok i have a problem. i was taking alli and i was not having any bowel movements like other people, however i was urinating the fat.. i took it for three weeks and lost only 2lbs. i imediatley stopped takin it cuz my aunt told me its not normal to urinate it out. after i stopped taking it i gained the two pounds back. has anyone else had this problem?

posted May 12th, 2010 11:28 pm


Katrina

+

This diet worked for me for a while. I have lost a total of 70 pounds, and didn't start taking Alli until I was already down about 30 or 40 pounds. I think it probably helped me lose another 20, but after that I took it sporadically. At that point I really only lost more weight when I was conscientious about exercising. Alli definitely works, but only for 3-6 months. The side affects are not terrible most of the time, but be aware that the Alli stays in your system for a while, so even if you don't take when you indulge in something fatty, you will probably still have side affects (wearing a pad or panty liner really helps).

posted May 9th, 2010 10:15 pm


Shelly

+

I stared using this product on 4/08/10 and weighed 205, I'm 5'8". I read the reviews about the TE so I watch everything I eat, staying WAY under the allowed 15g of fat. Outside of a few bouts with gas I have not had any TE.
I love almonds but found a 1/4 cup has 18g of fat so I gave 'em up. Today I'm down to 193 (loss 12 lbs) with a goal of 170 23lbs more to go. I exercise about 2-4 x's a week (cardio). Look, true weight loss is about diet and exercise this product is an added benefit that works if you follow the 15g allowance. Make sure you take a multi vitamin to avoid future health issues. I would recommend product for anyone who is ready to commit.

posted Apr 26th, 2010 4:48 pm


pss

+

Quite honestly, I was super scared to use it because 2 yrs ago had my gallbladder removed and if anyone knows that issue, you run to the bathrooom "spur" the moment anyway. But after 4 months on this, it has worked very well for me, had/have about 20 lbs to lose, and have lost 15 so far, some small side affects, but that is mostly my fault eating a little more fat than I should have, otherwise...I would recommend!

posted Apr 23rd, 2010 11:33 am


Cheryl

hey everyone, I am looking for something to help boost my weight loss. I am a yo-yo dieter and really need to stick to something and commit to changing my life. I am a mother of a 1 year old and 3 year old,and a full time student, so I keep myself very busy. I am 26 yrs old, 5'5", and weigh 144lbs. I really only have about 9 lbs to lose to reach goal #1, but in reality I would love to lose 19 lbs. I feel like if I have that "fear" of going over 15g fat It will help me stick to the plan. One tool I have found helpful in my LONG journey of weight loss is using the online food journal at
www.thedailyplate.com
It is a great tool to help you keep accurate calculations of how much you are eating.
does anyone have any suggestions, if it is or is not worth me trying this diet? The comments posted so far have made me confident. Is anyone in my weight range that can fill me in on their experiences?Best of luck to the rest of you, and wish me luck. Today is going to be day #1 of my healthy eating habits.

posted Apr 15th, 2010 9:27 am


gelnhausen

i am a female 31 and have tried other diets, so i decided to give alli a try. I started 7 days ago and weighed 219. In the seven days i took alli before every meal and worked out 3 days out of 7 days. All of my meals have been under 15g of fat and higher in protein, lower in carbs.breakfast i ate 2 eggs boiled whites only,half a bagel or english muffin with a tsp of butter,and 2/3 of a fat free yogurt. Lunch i ate a can of light soup progresso vegetable of roasted chicken and had a small bowl of carrots,cucumbers ,and tomatoes. for dinner i had meat of some kind and two veggies,plus a small salad. i weighed myself this morning on day 7 and weigh 210. i am so excited and i feel great. i have had little abdominal cramping. no TE. I also took a multivitamin at night like it says. I have drank at least 7 bottles of water a day.I have went down a size in pants.I would recommend this. Will comment back after week two.

posted Apr 13th, 2010 11:48 am


Jodi

+

I started this alli diet on january 10th, 2010 and as of today april 9th 2010 I have lost an AMAZING 56 pounds!! i am 23 pounds away from my goal!! i feel great and look wonderful!! i'm on a low calorie, low fat, low carb diet and i eat alot of lean pockets & veggies and drink alot of crystal light and water. this little blue pill is OUTSTANDING!!!

posted Apr 11th, 2010 10:32 am


days

+

Started seriously taking it in Dec. Have lost 40 lbs. as of April. I wasn't taking them religiously though and a have been through some tough times where I did not pay any attention to my food intake. So I think I could have lost more if I had stayed on track. When I am on track the weight comes of well. I know Alli has helped with me because I have never seen a loss like this before.

posted Apr 4th, 2010 4:57 pm


days

+

It isn't magic but it has helped me. If you stick to the program, it's great. I will continue to use this product and have recommended it.

posted Apr 4th, 2010 4:50 pm


Carlene Miller-Pease

I tried it and it did not do a thing for me

posted Apr 2nd, 2010 6:47 am


Mandy

I want to take alli but I am scared of the side effects. Can anyone tell me if they are so bad that I won't be able to have a normal day at work? Will I be running to the bathroom every five seconds? Will I have to wear a diaper with my pencil skirts? I'm sure that would be attractive...I just really need to supress my appetite. I work at a job where food is rampant. Free, good food. I have been trying to make myself withstand it but I can't without some sort of incentive. If i KNOW that I have to keep it under 15g, I think I'll be able to do it. But I hear that other people are having the runs even when they do keep it under 15g. All in all, I just want to do if anyone has taken it while they are working 8-5.

posted Mar 26th, 2010 9:12 am


Michelle Brum

+

I have been taking Alli for 3 weeks and sticking to the plan. I have lost 8 pounds. No kind of leakage. I also don't excercise. Great pill to take, but expensive. Will keep taking it until I lose 13 more pounds

posted Mar 25th, 2010 1:21 am


judi

i have been on it for over a month. dont eat a lot. eat healthy. got my sketchers shapeups. i havent lost shit. in fact i've gained weight. ive always eaten healthy. i thought this would help and it didnt. waste of my time

posted Mar 15th, 2010 10:24 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Warning: Alli Linked To Liver Damage

The anticipation for a new diet pill is over as the FDA recently approved Alli (pronounced Al-eye). It's the weight loss newcomer that is quickly finding its place on drug store shelves. Alli is the first FDA-approved diet pill available without a prescription. Alli is actually a low-dose version of Xenical, a prescription drug that successfully assists obese individuals losing weight. Xenical is taken under a doctor's care while following a low-calorie, low-fat diet. Alli has the same active ingredient (Orlistat), but in a much lower dosage, and is available without the prescription.

Alli can help you lose a few pounds more than just dieting and exercise alone. It works by suppressing the body's ability to absorb fat in the intestines. By reducing fat, you reduce calories. When the body is unable to absorb these fats they become undigested waste.

Alli works best when it is used in conjunction with a low-calorie, low-fat diet and a regular exercise program. But since sticking to a reduced-calorie diet is tough and since certain foods need to be avoided while using the diet pill, Alli has partnered with eDiets, a meal delivery service that delivers Alli-specific meals to your door every week.

While some may view Alli as a controversial solution to weight loss, the manufacturers of this product have gone to great lengths to offer a comprehensive program to its users in order to make weight loss as easy and approachable as possible.

Although studies on the amount of weight loss you can lose with Alli are limited, you can expect to lose three to five pounds more than just relying on diet and exercise alone.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • May help to jump start a weight loss program
  • Comprehensive website that offers support, food journals, calorie counters, meal plans and shopping lists
  • Partnership with eDiets makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient
  • The only over-the-counter diet pill with FDA approval
  • Low-dose version of effective prescription diet pill
CON
  • Some think it shouldn’t be sold without a prescription
  • Not a long-term solution to weight loss
  • Uncomfortable side effects
  • Must be very careful to not exceed the maximum fat gram requirement with each meal
  • Weight loss affects are modest
  • Meal delivery services don't teach you how to consume and prepare your own calorie and portion-controlled meals
INGREDIENTS

Alli contains 60 mg of Orlistat.

ADMINISTRATION

Alli is a 60 mg tablet taken three times a day with meals that should not exceed 15 mg of fat.

DIET and EXERCISE

A low-fat and low-calorie diet must be followed while taking Alli. Since the success of Alli depends so largely on what you eat, how much you eat and when you eat, you have two choices for designing the most effective meal plan for your weight loss needs:

  • You could consult with your physician or a registered dietitian to design a well-laid out diet and exercise plan.
  • You could sign up for Alli's partner eDiets, a meal delivery service that creates special Alli-approved meals and delivers them to your door each week.

With the eDiets plan, you eat three meals a day plus snack and desserts. Menus can be personalized to reflect your tastes and preferences and you also have access to a registered dietitian, an online community of other Alli dieters and fitness and exercise support.

Since the fat content of each meal must be closely monitored while using Alli (no more than 15 mg each day), eDiets special Alli-approved meals meet these requirements so that your risk of side effects is kept to a minimum.

The eDiets menu includes a wide variety of delicious meals, including:

  • Maple Apple Oatmeal
  • Denver Style Potato Skillet with Turkey Ham
  • Rosemary Pork with Brown Rice
  • Oven Roasted Turkey with Savory Sweet Potatoes and Mixed Garden Vegetables
  • Blackened Chicken served with Seasoned Spicy Brown Rice
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Sugar-free Pudding

Irrespective of which meal plan you follow, since Alli inhibits the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, it is important to take a daily supplement that includes Vitamins A, D and E.

In addition, for the best results, a regular exercise program should also be followed that includes 30 minutes of exercise on most days of the week. If you decide to sign-up with eDiets meal delivery service, you have access to a live fitness trainer to help you customize an exercise plan to compliment your weight loss needs.

CONCLUSION

Many people have seen positive results with Alli. However, those considering taking Alli should note that side effects can include gas, and uncontrolled urination and bowel movements, especially when not following the guidelines prescribed by Alli.

Alli is not a magic pill to lose weight, but its special partnership with eDiets, a meal delivery service, makes eating and meal planning simple and convenient.

Do keep in mind that the effects of taking Alli in comparison to just dieting and exercising alone are just the difference of a few pounds. It is necessary that you consult with your medical practitioner before taking Alli.

Common Misspellings

Alle, Ally, Alli Diet, Alli Pill, Alli Diet Pill, Allu, alli.com

Related Diets: eDiets, Advantra-Z, Contrave, Hydroxycut, Orlistat, Xenical

Whats better than
Alli?