Advertisement

| |

Home > Videos > Diets In Review Video Navigation    
User Rating

100%

of people who tried this Video like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 95 reviews

Courtney's Summer Challenge: Week 1

Kick-off your summer with Courtney and some necessary "me" time.

Welcome to the kick-off week of Courtney's Summer Challenge! Your challenge this week: "Take some time for yourself and just move."

Courtney wants to see you take a walk each day this week, and she reminds that a week has seven days in it! She doesn't care how long or how far, just that you do it. She also reminds that this "me" time is so important, and that you can't take care of others unless you're taking care of yourself first.

Week 1 Prize: DIR T-Shirt and Free Wholly Guacamole (Winner: ALYSSA)

Participate in the challenge by posting below. It could be your progress, success, hurdles, or even encouragement for other participants. We'll draw one winner to receive a shirt and some tasty guac, announced week 2.

Sign-up for weekly updates for Courtney's Summer Challenge

Visit this link to get all of the details and archive of each week's challenge: Courtney's Summer Challenge

Courtney's Summer Challenge is sponsored by Wholly Guacamole

Flag this Video Flag this Video



> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 12, 224 total comments)


Melissa Miller

I have started walking/running this past week and I am loving my ME time!!! I look forward to it regardless of the weather!!! I look forward to dropping at least 20 pounds by the end of the summer!!!!

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 10:15 pm



Jessica Windquist

hurt my ankle and trying to pull through it! didn't get a walk in today but did a ton of housework to make up for it! had my ankle iced and hoping to be up and at a walk twice tomorrow to make up for today!

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 10:15 pm


saratzki

I have been LOVING walking of my lunch break. I've done it every day this week. I sometimes get so wrapped up in work and the chaos of it all that I forget to escape and often eat lunch at my desk. It's so nice to get out and stretch and get some fresh air and do a couple laps around town. It just completely boosts your energy level and happiness level for the day! Awesome week 1 challenge!

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 10:12 pm


morgan

went walking tonight & convinced my roommates to come along too! :)

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 10:02 pm


Becky

This is very motivating, and there is nothing better than being accountable to others, as well as yourself, that alone is motivation! I am walking at least once a day, weather permitting twice a day! I have been counting calories for about a month now, and this challenge is that extra push I need! Thank you Courtney!

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 5:21 pm



fabuless mama

Hi, i just want to thank review on diets and wholly guac. that we have courtney to push us to our goals this summer. Cannot wait for challange two. !

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 12:04 pm


userfile
lindasuzie

Lesson learned this week, I feel better about a lot of things when I eat right and exercise. My mood isn't so clouded with anger, depression and self pity. Now I just need to make it a habit instead of a chore to work out.

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 11:39 am


Nikki Y.

I walked last night and am going to walk tonight. Thanks for the motivation Courtney!

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 11:07 am


Angela

My walking yesterday was all in airports, BUT I walked!! Will hopefully get out for a run later, but if not, definitely a walk! Love Courtney!!

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 11:04 am


Denice

I just finished my first year of working with a trainer. I never dreamed I could exercise 3-5 times a week for a year! Unfortunately my thyroid crashed about 5 months ago and they haven't gotten my med reflgulated. I'm still exercising, just really hard to keep my spirits up. I've gained most of my weight back even though I continue to work with a trainer and eat healthy. All I can say is middle age can be really hard!
I walked 30 min on Monday
I walked laps on stairs for 25 min Tuesday
Worked out with my trainer 45 min yesterday
Getting ready for an hour walk today, my thighs are jello
Looking forward to participating and having a place to share my experience!

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 11:00 am


Julie

Yea love a challenge. It keeps me motivated and keeps my goal in front of me! Thanks

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 10:26 am


Alyssa

I just heard of this challenge today and I am definitely up for it! My job is only about half a mile from my apartment, so I think I am going to start walking to work instead of driving (its more economically and environmentally friendly too!!) I started my weight loss journey about a month ago and have already lost about 10lbs, however I am hoping to lose about 80. Although I know I have a long road ahead of me...I know that people like Courtney will continue to inspire and push me each and every day. I can't thank her enough for being the positive role model she is. She, and everyone like her, constantly reminds me that there are good and successful people in this world. It helps me to strive to be the best I can, each and every day.

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 9:22 am


justifiablyjulie

At more than 300 lbs, Courtney is definitely a huge inspiration to me. I am SO glad that Olivia tweeted about this challenge. I need it, and I am so thankful to be able to be encouraged by Courtney. :)

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 9:19 am


Debbie Brown

Good going lilcyn42! I used to live in Provo - that's a good hike! I live in Alaska now and I've really struggled with motivation. I know what to eat, what to do for exercise, but I'm really struggling with the motivation to just make the time and DO IT! I'm excited to take this challenge and get going!

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 3:27 am


Darci

Courtney, Thank you so much for sharing this with us and letting us be a part of the process. In return, I am so excited because I have been meaning to go out and walk, but just didn't get that "round 2 it" to get me up and going. I think I just received it! Thanks! My daughter will be doing this with me because she wants to get off some of her baby fat.

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 3:18 am


userfile
lilcyn42

I am so excited! I have never been part of anything so focused on helping others with weightloss. We started out this week by hiking the big Y on the side of the montain for BYU in utah. Me and my daughters all have weight to loose. Walking up there we have meet a man I gladly call my friend. He walked slowly with us incouraging us every step. He has lost 230 just by walking! So how do you climb a mountain? One step at a time!

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 1:40 am


Vicky

A great challenge to get me moving again. I'm there with you Courtney!

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 12:53 am


userfile
Gaylen Kirby

I got 40 minutes of walking in today. It felt good to get my walk in.

posted Jun 23rd, 2011 12:07 am


Twinbasket

Me time is so so important. Thank you Courtney for the encouragement I will Bike/walk or Yoga/Jazzercise everyday this week.

posted Jun 22nd, 2011 11:48 pm



Dollie Emily Jones Twigg

I am encouraged to hear those words,"take time for yourself". I need to focus more on myself. I have decided to take "me time" for at least an hour each day to walk or swim, and try to lose some weight. :):):) Count me in Courtney!

posted Jun 22nd, 2011 11:40 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 





Featured Blog Posts

Featured Recipes