Advertisement

| |

Home > Recipes > Recipe Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this recipe like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 102 reviews
Print this Recipe

Sacred Heart Diet Soup

The soup recipe for the popular weight loss diet.

Yield:

Ingredients

  • 1 or 2 cans of stewed tomatoes
  • 3 large green onions
  • 1 large can of beef broth (no fat)
  • 1 pkg. Lipton Soup mix (chicken noodle)
  • 1 bunch of celery
  • 2 cans green beans
  • 2 lbs. Carrots
  • 2 Green Peppers
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Curry
  • Worcestershire and/or hot sauce
Learn more about the Sacred Heart Diet with this review.

Instructions

  1. Season with salt, pepper, curry, Worcestershire and/or hot sauce- all ingredients to desired taste
  2. Cut veggies in small to medium pieces
  3. Cover with water
  4. Boil fast for 10 minutes
  5. Reduce to simmer and continue to cook until vegetables are tender.


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 12, 222 total comments)

stanleybabyboy

Yep, you can use chicken broth instead of beef. I have even used vegetable broth. You gotta mix it up to keep it new or you get bored with the soup. I season it different every time too, sometimes I'll use curry, sometimes cumin & chili powder & sometimes just salt, pepper & fresh garlic! :o)

posted Mar 21st, 2010 8:14 am


Syl

To everyone who used it and was successful on it, please advise. How do you keep the weight off. The truth is that it is a drastic decrease in calories. Once you're off the diet, do you gradually add food? It is common sense that if you put loads of calories back at once it will be turned to fat.
Thanks so much and good luck everyone!

posted Mar 21st, 2010 2:38 am


Coretta

It really does work if you follow it correctly, I did it twice and loved the results and the weight actually stayed off with the proper diet and exercise.

posted Mar 19th, 2010 4:33 pm


elizabeth

I hate milk can i substitute something else in place of the milk ?

posted Mar 16th, 2010 10:07 pm


Kathy

I am always looking for soup recipes and I absolutely LOVE this soup. It is so easy to make and so yummy. I used a "Cajun" seasoning in it to give it a kick and even my "significant other" couldn't get over how yummy this soup is. None of us need to lose weight, but it's a healthy soup recipe and tastes great!

posted Mar 15th, 2010 11:57 am


RITA OREFICE

WOULD LIKE THE SOUP DIET .CAN I USE
CHICKEN SOUP INSTEAD BEEF

posted Mar 6th, 2010 10:31 am


Sandra

my husband & I went on the diet he lost more than me! I lost 10 pounds but I didn't give up my coffee with sugar. We also took the soup and made it a puree so you can eat it or drink it! So much better because i don't like onions, bell peppers or cook carrots! Try it!!!!!!

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 12:56 pm


darkchar

So far so good, although I inadvertently had fruit today. For some reason I thought you could have all the fruit you want? I started out buy a ton of fruits and veggies and now I wonder if I should not be having them after day 1. Anyone know if fruits are a no no with this diet except for day 1 and the bananas on day 4? I find the recipe could be explained a little better.

posted Feb 23rd, 2010 7:54 pm


faun

me and my mother inlaw have been on this diet for about four days and she has already lost 7 pounds and i have lost 6. this diet does work and i would recomend it to anyone!!!!

posted Feb 19th, 2010 12:03 pm


Andrea

what if i dont like the ingredients in the soup is there a way to substitute them because i can't eat onions, peppers, or tomatoes without getting sick

posted Feb 18th, 2010 11:40 pm


Cherrie

I already love this diet. I have always been skinny until I hit 30. I went from 110lbs to 140 in 1yr. I have tried lots of diets and none of them worked. My best friend told me about this plan and thought it couldn't hurt to try. I have lost 4 lbs. the first day!! and I feel wonderful. I think this diet is the perfect remedy to a clean and healthy start. The detox gives your body the jump start it needs to start your long term dieting program. Good luck, and I will keep you posted on day 7

posted Feb 16th, 2010 12:33 pm


jhem

Does this diet really work because im going to started. do you have to use all the ingredients for the soup can u leave out the lipton soup mix

posted Feb 12th, 2010 2:03 pm


jhem

does this diet really work cuz im going to started. do you have to use all the ingredients like can i leave out the lipton soup mix

posted Feb 12th, 2010 1:58 pm


Saved4One

So I just finished making the soup and it is very tasty! I plan on starting the plan tomorrow. Well post results in 7 days. Best Wishes Everyone.

posted Feb 11th, 2010 10:35 pm


rose

This might sound like a stupid question, but I was planning to start this diet and was wondering how many servings the recipe make? Like will I have to make the soup everyday with the given proportions?

posted Feb 11th, 2010 4:16 pm


kitty

I did this last year and I lost 13 lbs in a week! I did gain alot back though (8lbs) but that was because back then i ate take away and chocolate LOADS. I did manage to keep 5 lbs of it off though (which is still amazing for a week).

Since this i've lost more weight through healthy eating but I've hit a plateau so starting monday I'm starting it again, only difference is that this time round i have really changed my eating habits so i should not gain so much of it back.

posted Feb 11th, 2010 12:00 pm


Regina

Janice - use:
(2) 14.5 cans of stewed tomatoes
(1) 32 oz. container of swanson's beef broth
(2) 14 oz. cans of green beans
2lb. baby carrots (tastes much better!

Throw all of the ingredients into the pot and cover with water. I usually throw in the soup mix towards the end so the noodles do not overcook.

posted Feb 9th, 2010 12:02 am


janice w.

could you please post the diet in it's entirety,

1-2 cans of stewed tomatoes (what size cans)

1 large can beef broth (how much is large in oz.)

how do you prepare the broth?

posted Feb 7th, 2010 5:31 pm


Melanie

Where do you get the complete diet plan?

posted Feb 1st, 2010 4:26 pm


sherry

Can u send me the diet please

posted Jan 19th, 2010 5:57 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 





Related Blog Posts

Related Recipes