| |

Home > Recipes > Recipe Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this recipe like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 109 reviews
Print this Recipe

Sacred Heart Diet Soup

The soup recipe for the popular weight loss diet.



  • 1 or 2 cans of stewed tomatoes
  • 3 large green onions
  • 1 large can of beef broth (no fat)
  • 1 pkg. Lipton Soup mix (chicken noodle)
  • 1 bunch of celery
  • 2 cans green beans
  • 2 lbs. Carrots
  • 2 Green Peppers
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Curry
  • Worcestershire and/or hot sauce
Learn more about the Sacred Heart Diet with this review.


  1. Season with salt, pepper, curry, Worcestershire and/or hot sauce- all ingredients to desired taste
  2. Cut veggies in small to medium pieces
  3. Cover with water
  4. Boil fast for 10 minutes
  5. Reduce to simmer and continue to cook until vegetables are tender.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 12, 226 total comments)


My husband, daughter & I are all doing the diet together. We are on the diet for 1 week then we go off for a week. I personally find it so much easier to stick to the diet as I only have to make it through a week @ a time. Yes I usually do gain a pound or 2 back each week that I go off but I'm losing 8 to 10 pounds when i'm on so I'm still coming out ahead! :o) I have also found that each week that I go off of the diet is easier to stay away from the foods that I should not be eating. I really am craving the junk food less! Since going on this diet and doing it week on week off for 2 months I have lost 20 lbs and I feel healthier than I have in my entire life. I have more energy, I work out every morning, I feel stronger and more focused mentally! And best of all I have found that my labido is way up as well! :o) So if you're considering going on this diet DO IT! but you really have to commit! If you find it hard to commit long term just try a week @ a time & see how you do!
GOOD LUCK!!!!!! :o)

posted Apr 7th, 2010 8:25 am


I would like to team up with anyone wanting to do this diet. I have hard time sticking to it this time but really need to lose 15-20 pounds. Please email me so we can do this together and make it much easier. Thanks and good luck everyone!

posted Mar 29th, 2010 10:39 am


I don't know about the more you eat the more you lose but I seem to lose pretty much everyday no matter how much I eat. On the rare day that I actually gain it's usually less than 1/2 a kg but the next day I usually follow with a big drop.
I am also never hungry on this diet because I eat approximately every 2 hours or whenever I am hungry.

posted Mar 24th, 2010 9:16 am


I did this diet in the past and know it works.
I would appreciate anyone's feedback. It states the more soup you eat, the more you'll lose. I was wondering if any dieter can confirm this based on his/her experience.

posted Mar 23rd, 2010 11:47 pm


Yep, you can use chicken broth instead of beef. I have even used vegetable broth. You gotta mix it up to keep it new or you get bored with the soup. I season it different every time too, sometimes I'll use curry, sometimes cumin & chili powder & sometimes just salt, pepper & fresh garlic! :o)

posted Mar 21st, 2010 8:14 am


To everyone who used it and was successful on it, please advise. How do you keep the weight off. The truth is that it is a drastic decrease in calories. Once you're off the diet, do you gradually add food? It is common sense that if you put loads of calories back at once it will be turned to fat.
Thanks so much and good luck everyone!

posted Mar 21st, 2010 2:38 am


It really does work if you follow it correctly, I did it twice and loved the results and the weight actually stayed off with the proper diet and exercise.

posted Mar 19th, 2010 4:33 pm


I hate milk can i substitute something else in place of the milk ?

posted Mar 16th, 2010 10:07 pm


I am always looking for soup recipes and I absolutely LOVE this soup. It is so easy to make and so yummy. I used a "Cajun" seasoning in it to give it a kick and even my "significant other" couldn't get over how yummy this soup is. None of us need to lose weight, but it's a healthy soup recipe and tastes great!

posted Mar 15th, 2010 11:57 am



posted Mar 6th, 2010 10:31 am


my husband & I went on the diet he lost more than me! I lost 10 pounds but I didn't give up my coffee with sugar. We also took the soup and made it a puree so you can eat it or drink it! So much better because i don't like onions, bell peppers or cook carrots! Try it!!!!!!

posted Mar 2nd, 2010 12:56 pm


So far so good, although I inadvertently had fruit today. For some reason I thought you could have all the fruit you want? I started out buy a ton of fruits and veggies and now I wonder if I should not be having them after day 1. Anyone know if fruits are a no no with this diet except for day 1 and the bananas on day 4? I find the recipe could be explained a little better.

posted Feb 23rd, 2010 7:54 pm


me and my mother inlaw have been on this diet for about four days and she has already lost 7 pounds and i have lost 6. this diet does work and i would recomend it to anyone!!!!

posted Feb 19th, 2010 12:03 pm


what if i dont like the ingredients in the soup is there a way to substitute them because i can't eat onions, peppers, or tomatoes without getting sick

posted Feb 18th, 2010 11:40 pm


I already love this diet. I have always been skinny until I hit 30. I went from 110lbs to 140 in 1yr. I have tried lots of diets and none of them worked. My best friend told me about this plan and thought it couldn't hurt to try. I have lost 4 lbs. the first day!! and I feel wonderful. I think this diet is the perfect remedy to a clean and healthy start. The detox gives your body the jump start it needs to start your long term dieting program. Good luck, and I will keep you posted on day 7

posted Feb 16th, 2010 12:33 pm


Does this diet really work because im going to started. do you have to use all the ingredients for the soup can u leave out the lipton soup mix

posted Feb 12th, 2010 2:03 pm


does this diet really work cuz im going to started. do you have to use all the ingredients like can i leave out the lipton soup mix

posted Feb 12th, 2010 1:58 pm


So I just finished making the soup and it is very tasty! I plan on starting the plan tomorrow. Well post results in 7 days. Best Wishes Everyone.

posted Feb 11th, 2010 10:35 pm


This might sound like a stupid question, but I was planning to start this diet and was wondering how many servings the recipe make? Like will I have to make the soup everyday with the given proportions?

posted Feb 11th, 2010 4:16 pm


I did this last year and I lost 13 lbs in a week! I did gain alot back though (8lbs) but that was because back then i ate take away and chocolate LOADS. I did manage to keep 5 lbs of it off though (which is still amazing for a week).

Since this i've lost more weight through healthy eating but I've hit a plateau so starting monday I'm starting it again, only difference is that this time round i have really changed my eating habits so i should not gain so much of it back.

posted Feb 11th, 2010 12:00 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


Related Blog Posts

Related Recipes