Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

39%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 283 reviews
Sacred Heart Diet

Sacred Heart Diet Review: Does it Work?

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Sacred Heart Diet is a weight loss fad diet that is used to help treat overweight people with heart conditions. It’s also been called the Spokane Heart Diet, Miami Heart Institute Diet, and the Cleveland Clinic Diet.

It claims results for up to 10 to 17 pounds in the first week. It lasts a total of 7 days and is made up mostly of soup and vegetables. It also claims to be helpful for those suffering from diabetes or bowel problems. There are different free resources online which help explain what the diet requires. By reviewing several popular and new diets, our experts have rated the 18Shake Diet as the most effective. It offers a combination of both an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning stimulant free diet pill. Discover more about what the 18Shake Diet has to offer by clicking the link provided.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Sacred Heart DietIngredients and Side Effects

You can eat as much as you like of the following:

• Soup: Should consist of 1 to 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 3 large green onions, and 1 large can of beef broth with no added fat, a package of Lipton Soup Mix, 1 bunch of celery, 2 cans of green beans, 2 green peppers and 2 pounds of carrots.

• Drinks: Unsweetened juices, herbal tea, skim milk, water, cranberry juice, and coffee. This can be drunk as much as one likes.

The kinds of foods allowed are:

Day One: Unlimited soup and certain fruits excluding bananas.

• Day Two: Eating as much fresh, canned, or cooked vegetables. No dry beans, peas, or corn can be eaten. Leafy greens are suggested.  Dinner allows for a baked potato with butter, though no fruits are allowed.

• Day Three: Unlimited soup, fruit and veggies. One should have lost around 5 to 7 pounds.

The link cited here has a list of the top 10 ranked diet plans for weight loss.

• Day Four: Skim milk and at least 3 milks. This is meant to replace the amount of carbohydrates and potassium needed. The protein and added calcium is intended to reduce the cravings for sweets.

• Day Five: Beef and tomatoes. 10 to 20 ounces of beef and canned tomatoes. Soup must be eaten once a day and 6 tomatoes can be eaten.

• Day Six: Beef and vegetables for as much as you’d like 2 to 3 steaks with green leafy vegetables and at least one soup a day.

• Day Seven: Brown rice, unsweetened fruit juice, eat as much soup as you can, and you can add cooked vegetables to the rice.

If more than 17 pounds have been lost it’s advised to stop using the diet for two daysbefore one can resume using it again. It’s said that one should lose between 10 to 17 pounds safely. The basic idea is that this diet will significantly reduce the amount of calories you lose via introducing low calorie foods.

The reason one can eat unlimited amounts of soup is due to the extremely low calories provided, as well as the natural liquid in soup which helps to fill up the stomach.

There are also restrictions on food such as not eating:

         • Bread.

         • Carbonated drinks including diet soda.

         • Fried foods.

         • Alcohol.

It’s advised to make sure to at least drink a total of 6 to 8 glasses of water. One can add the list of allowed beverages to also make up for the amount of liquids one needs to drink.For a top 10 list of the highest rated diet plans click the link provided.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Sacred Heart Diet Quality of Ingredients

There are healthy food options which are recommended, but eating only large amounts of soups can be difficult. It’s likely one will lose weight as there is very few calories provided. The issue is that this can also lead to nutritionaldeficiencies. A lot of the foods one will be eating are low in fats, which can lead to fatigue.

The claimed 10 to 17 pounds of weight loss are likely to be water weight. The reason why the diet is only available for use up to 7 days is because of the risk of issues with can result with repeat use. Diets that require only a short term use are often because they can promote side effects. This is not considered a sustainable diet; they are what are known as crash diets.

Sharron Coplin, a registered dietician for Ohio State University said:

“would not recommend any diet that exceeded a safe rate of weight loss, which is 2 to 3 pounds per week”

This rapid weight loss is not a quality of a safe and effective diet plan. The link provided here has a rate of the highest rate weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Sacred Heart Diet

The price depends on where one gets their vegetables and other food items. It’s likely to be an easy to afford diet, but there are health websites which mention it’s potentially unsafe.

Healthy Weight Formulas adds:

“one of the main points against it is that most weight loss is temporary, caused by fluid depletion”

“particularly low in calories, and may cause light headedness and weakness”

The risk for side effects and the extreme reduction in calories make this a potentially risky diet. It is easy to begin this diet, but overall the lack of evidence for safety makes it a poor diet. Our experts have rated the top ranking diet plans in a top 10 list found here.

Business of Sacred Heart Diet

Websites which promote this brand often will claim that it was formulated by a particular hospital. The truth is that none of the claimed hospitals said to have created this diet have taken responsibility, since it’s a potentially dangerous diet.

Most of the information on this diet is available on free websites. There is no officialguide, and certain sites offer different accounts on what should be followed. The same basic ideas are offered however, such as making sure to get the help of a physician in case of any excess weight loss.

This lack of information is likely because like other fad diets it’s not based off of real science. The top 10 list of the best weight loss diets can be seen in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Sacred Heart Diet

Here are some direct quotes from users of this diet:

“On day 3 and lost nothing! Actually gained 2 lbs. on day 2”

“gained A LOT of weight back”

“I am on day 7 of this diet and have not lost any weight”

“I am always hungry though, and don’t want to constantly eat this soup”

As suspected the main issue people had was that any weight loss was quickly regained. This is what is known as a crash diet, which gives fast results that do not last and is only intended for a short period of use.

The issue with diets like this is that most of the weight loss is actually water weight and not fat. This makes it impossible to rely on for real weight loss.

Another listed issue from people was that it was hard to eat the same kinds of foods. People quickly because bored of the food selection, for many it was impossible to keep eating soup even it was just for 7 days. For a list of thehighest rated diet pals for weight loss follow the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Sacred Heart DietWork?

The Sacred Heart Diet allows for unlimited amounts of soup that’s based off of just one recipe. For the entire 7 days there are different allowed foods. The diet is considered a fad crash dietthat can result to upwards of 7 pounds in the total 7 days. One can continue using the day off and on again for results. Many who have tried it mention it’s not satisfying to keep eating the same foods allowed. There were also problems with the lack of long lasting weight loss. There are problems with sustaining weight loss efforts since most of what’s lost is water weight. Medical sites also mention that it’s lacking in nutrition and that it can be unsafe to keep using it. It can lead to nutritional deficiencies which may result in long term side effects.

Our experts have concluded the best solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a nutritionally balanced meal replacement that helps with appetite suppression, as well as a diet pill made to help burn fat. Testimonials and positive reviews are available on the official website from people who have had significant results. There are only natural ingredients, no artificial colors, stimulants, or fillers added.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return policy is offered with no questions asked. You can learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet in the link cited here.

How Does Sacred Heart Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Sacred Heart Diet
  • 39 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 24, 472 total comments)

Bruce

+

My daughter (159), my wife (169) and myself (215) are on it for two weeks...I used over 5 kinds of veggies, in 16 litre pot for soup, I mixed banana into milk smoothies with yogurt too...I`ve gained 3 lbs

posted Apr 14th, 2016 10:50 pm


Joe

This is all complete bullshit. Follow a normal, healthy diet to lose weight. If you're willing to follow this garbage actually follow a healthy meal plan can't be too hard.

posted Apr 4th, 2016 8:05 pm


Gerald

+

I lost 14 pounds in first 6 day . Enough said.

posted Feb 27th, 2016 7:42 pm


Bella

I am on day 5 and have lost 7 lbs. Have done it in the past with great success. Yes it is a bit restrictive but certainly helps to cleanse your system. Main things are ensure you mentally prepare for this, eat the soup and get your water in!!!!

posted Nov 9th, 2015 5:27 pm


lizzy

This diet works! I've been on it for 6 weeks and have lost 21 pounds (5 pounds the first week) of the 35 I want to lose. Admittedly, the first 4 days were rough as my body went through the elimination process and withdrawal from sugar. I did perform modifications to the soup and used only fresh ingredients and totally left out the Lipton soup; I never salt anything and eliminate sodium whenever possible. I also added fresh tomatoes, squash, grilled red peppers, spinach and fresh herbs after the soup was cooked (enough that veggies still had a slight crunch). I don't do dairy so the milk day I substituted almond/coconut milk (35 calories a cup). I'm slowly moving back to a normal diet now (don't follow the diet on weekends) and do splurge once in a while (e.g. Costco samples, microwave popcorn, fruit on non fruit days, meat on non meat days sips of latte, bite of a cookie) and the weight is still coming off at about 1.5-2.25 pounds a week. I do wear a Fitbit to track my intake vs. outtake of calories so that I don't go over. My blood pressure and heart rate has improved considerably and my fasting cholesterol was 159!
Good Luck!

posted Sep 30th, 2015 3:36 pm


KTD

+

I've been doing this for 3 days now, am on my banana day today. Weighed myself this morning & much to my surprise I'm down 7lbs! I've an event coming up in a month so am thinking I might continue this till then. So far I'm loving it!

posted Jul 3rd, 2015 7:59 am


sfjz1953

?

I am on day 3 and have not even lost an ounce. I am following the diet and not cheating. What am I doing wro I am on day 3 and have not even lost an ounce. I am following the diet and not cheating. What am I doing wrong?

posted May 14th, 2015 1:52 pm


Marie Claude

+

Just love this diet! I did it 15 years ago, before getting married with my future husband and did it over the years sporadically. We are now doing it again, before going on vacation. We always lose weight but more importantly, it cleans your system to lead to a fresh on healthy eating habits. Of course, exercise also play a part in it. Healthy body healthy mind!!
Cheers!

posted Apr 16th, 2015 2:41 pm


Kelly

-

No! No! No! According to My Fitness Pal, i only consumed 700 calories in 3 days. I literally had a breakdown and ended up crying in a public bathroom. I thought about food ALL the time and felt like an addict. (btw, i only have 20-ish pounds to lose). This diet is the devil!!! 👹

posted Apr 12th, 2015 1:20 am


Janet

+

I have lost 5.2 pounds in 6 days. No other diets work for me. I am shocked that it's so easy. One more day to go. I think I might do this diet once a month. So many vegetables, it's great!!

posted Apr 3rd, 2015 9:44 pm


Ellen

+

I am on DAY 3.... I have not cheated and I have lost 6 lbs as of this morning... So it may be more...... It's difficult to eat the soup a lot... But I keep telling myself 10 to 17 lbs... I can do it... Also try sprinkling the cold soup on salad...

posted Mar 31st, 2015 9:40 pm


Marvy

+

This diet works beautifully, I've been doing it for years. It's a quick way to shed a few pounds and jump start my workout and weight lost program. Like any diet or workout program, if you stop and return to bad behaviors, you will gain the weight back. Sacred Heart is not a permanent solution but I can say this, it works amazingly. Only 7 days, and the jump start is a great motivator!!! I usually loose between 7 to 9lbs & I'm in the 130lb range. Good luck guys!

posted Mar 20th, 2015 3:26 pm


CJONES

+

Just completed 1 week, lost 6.8 pounds ... I will be taking a 1 day break then start another round (week), I will continue until I reach my goal weight. FEELING HEALTHY!

posted Mar 12th, 2015 6:58 pm


Bee

?

Did I spoil my Day 1 by consuming skimmed milk? I drank skimmed milk on day one. I wonder if that's going to spoil the diet, and do I have to start anew? :S

posted Feb 17th, 2015 11:39 am


Sue

+

Yes, have been on it for 5 days and lost 7 Kilos. A lot would be fluid, I am guessing, but very happy with the result so far.

posted Feb 2nd, 2015 3:16 pm


Maureen

+

DAY 2 just had the baked potato awesome felt great today but tired this evening

posted Jan 28th, 2015 12:08 am


Bernzie

+

I don't think this diet is for the long term but as a start to healthy eating it's awesome! I and other members of my family have been on the 7day plan many times. Even my husband , who has difficulty dieting can easily follow it. I think because it's for just 7 days and you know you aren't going to be restricted in the long term. I myself find it so hard to know where to start and what to do that the simplicity of this diet and the fact that you know right away what you can have and what you can't. The soup is yummy and on days that you have meat you can add it right to the soup! The baked potato tastes soooo good when you get to eat it too. On veggie day I usually use a nonstick pan and some Worcestershire sauce and fry up mushrooms, onions and green pepper and it tastes awesome. After the week is over , it's important to have a menu plan ready so that you don't go overboard and eat too much. Honestly though, after a week of healthy eating, it's easier to stay away from the bad stuff!

posted Jan 15th, 2015 10:46 pm


mallorkm

+

I use this diet as a cleanse prior to starting a long term diet. It has worked great all 4 times that I have done it. I typically will lose 7-10lbs. Its a great way to get back in the grove of things.

posted Jan 13th, 2015 3:16 pm


Sherry

+

I love this diet! It works as long as you don't cheat & sure I eat more fruit & fresh veggies than it ask for but that will keep your stomach full & less craving for junk. My husband & I lost 4 lbs just after 4 days of this diet. Imagine doing this for a whole month? Or 3 months straight? I'm telling you it's healthy & of course we would take 2-4 days break after the 7 days like eating ice cream or cakes & pies just to splurge but we go back on it again. It's whatever works for you. But remember to stick to it for at least 2 weeks the first time you do it without cheating & you're guarantee to see results!

posted Dec 4th, 2014 8:09 pm


Jarrett

+

I went on this diet for the 7 days and lost 10 lbs. As a result of this diet I have continued to eat healthy(ier) and have lost an additional 6 lbs in the week following this diet. This diet was a great way to start eating healthy while losing pounds quick. The weight loss was a motivator for the continued healthy eating. I would (and have) recommend this diet to those who want to begin to eat healthier.

posted Nov 18th, 2014 8:02 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Juice Diet, Purple Diet

Whats better than
Sacred Heart Diet?