Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

39%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 283 reviews
Sacred Heart Diet

Sacred Heart Diet Review: Does it Work?

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2017
What is it?

The Sacred Heart Diet is a weight loss fad diet that is used to help treat overweight people with heart conditions. It’s also been called the Spokane Heart Diet, Miami Heart Institute Diet, and the Cleveland Clinic Diet.

It claims results for up to 10 to 17 pounds in the first week. It lasts a total of 7 days and is made up mostly of soup and vegetables. It also claims to be helpful for those suffering from diabetes or bowel problems. There are different free resources online which help explain what the diet requires. By reviewing several popular and new diets, our experts have rated the 18Shake Diet as the most effective. It offers a combination of both an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning stimulant free diet pill. Discover more about what the 18Shake Diet has to offer by clicking the link provided.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2017?

Sacred Heart DietIngredients and Side Effects

You can eat as much as you like of the following:

• Soup: Should consist of 1 to 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 3 large green onions, and 1 large can of beef broth with no added fat, a package of Lipton Soup Mix, 1 bunch of celery, 2 cans of green beans, 2 green peppers and 2 pounds of carrots.

• Drinks: Unsweetened juices, herbal tea, skim milk, water, cranberry juice, and coffee. This can be drunk as much as one likes.

The kinds of foods allowed are:

Day One: Unlimited soup and certain fruits excluding bananas.

• Day Two: Eating as much fresh, canned, or cooked vegetables. No dry beans, peas, or corn can be eaten. Leafy greens are suggested.  Dinner allows for a baked potato with butter, though no fruits are allowed.

• Day Three: Unlimited soup, fruit and veggies. One should have lost around 5 to 7 pounds.

The link cited here has a list of the top 10 ranked diet plans for weight loss.

• Day Four: Skim milk and at least 3 milks. This is meant to replace the amount of carbohydrates and potassium needed. The protein and added calcium is intended to reduce the cravings for sweets.

• Day Five: Beef and tomatoes. 10 to 20 ounces of beef and canned tomatoes. Soup must be eaten once a day and 6 tomatoes can be eaten.

• Day Six: Beef and vegetables for as much as you’d like 2 to 3 steaks with green leafy vegetables and at least one soup a day.

• Day Seven: Brown rice, unsweetened fruit juice, eat as much soup as you can, and you can add cooked vegetables to the rice.

If more than 17 pounds have been lost it’s advised to stop using the diet for two daysbefore one can resume using it again. It’s said that one should lose between 10 to 17 pounds safely. The basic idea is that this diet will significantly reduce the amount of calories you lose via introducing low calorie foods.

The reason one can eat unlimited amounts of soup is due to the extremely low calories provided, as well as the natural liquid in soup which helps to fill up the stomach.

There are also restrictions on food such as not eating:

         • Bread.

         • Carbonated drinks including diet soda.

         • Fried foods.

         • Alcohol.

It’s advised to make sure to at least drink a total of 6 to 8 glasses of water. One can add the list of allowed beverages to also make up for the amount of liquids one needs to drink.For a top 10 list of the highest rated diet plans click the link provided.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Sacred Heart Diet Quality of Ingredients

There are healthy food options which are recommended, but eating only large amounts of soups can be difficult. It’s likely one will lose weight as there is very few calories provided. The issue is that this can also lead to nutritionaldeficiencies. A lot of the foods one will be eating are low in fats, which can lead to fatigue.

The claimed 10 to 17 pounds of weight loss are likely to be water weight. The reason why the diet is only available for use up to 7 days is because of the risk of issues with can result with repeat use. Diets that require only a short term use are often because they can promote side effects. This is not considered a sustainable diet; they are what are known as crash diets.

Sharron Coplin, a registered dietician for Ohio State University said:

“would not recommend any diet that exceeded a safe rate of weight loss, which is 2 to 3 pounds per week”

This rapid weight loss is not a quality of a safe and effective diet plan. The link provided here has a rate of the highest rate weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Sacred Heart Diet

The price depends on where one gets their vegetables and other food items. It’s likely to be an easy to afford diet, but there are health websites which mention it’s potentially unsafe.

Healthy Weight Formulas adds:

“one of the main points against it is that most weight loss is temporary, caused by fluid depletion”

“particularly low in calories, and may cause light headedness and weakness”

The risk for side effects and the extreme reduction in calories make this a potentially risky diet. It is easy to begin this diet, but overall the lack of evidence for safety makes it a poor diet. Our experts have rated the top ranking diet plans in a top 10 list found here.

Business of Sacred Heart Diet

Websites which promote this brand often will claim that it was formulated by a particular hospital. The truth is that none of the claimed hospitals said to have created this diet have taken responsibility, since it’s a potentially dangerous diet.

Most of the information on this diet is available on free websites. There is no officialguide, and certain sites offer different accounts on what should be followed. The same basic ideas are offered however, such as making sure to get the help of a physician in case of any excess weight loss.

This lack of information is likely because like other fad diets it’s not based off of real science. The top 10 list of the best weight loss diets can be seen in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Sacred Heart Diet

Here are some direct quotes from users of this diet:

“On day 3 and lost nothing! Actually gained 2 lbs. on day 2”

“gained A LOT of weight back”

“I am on day 7 of this diet and have not lost any weight”

“I am always hungry though, and don’t want to constantly eat this soup”

As suspected the main issue people had was that any weight loss was quickly regained. This is what is known as a crash diet, which gives fast results that do not last and is only intended for a short period of use.

The issue with diets like this is that most of the weight loss is actually water weight and not fat. This makes it impossible to rely on for real weight loss.

Another listed issue from people was that it was hard to eat the same kinds of foods. People quickly because bored of the food selection, for many it was impossible to keep eating soup even it was just for 7 days. For a list of thehighest rated diet pals for weight loss follow the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Sacred Heart DietWork?

The Sacred Heart Diet allows for unlimited amounts of soup that’s based off of just one recipe. For the entire 7 days there are different allowed foods. The diet is considered a fad crash dietthat can result to upwards of 7 pounds in the total 7 days. One can continue using the day off and on again for results. Many who have tried it mention it’s not satisfying to keep eating the same foods allowed. There were also problems with the lack of long lasting weight loss. There are problems with sustaining weight loss efforts since most of what’s lost is water weight. Medical sites also mention that it’s lacking in nutrition and that it can be unsafe to keep using it. It can lead to nutritional deficiencies which may result in long term side effects.

Our experts have concluded the best solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a nutritionally balanced meal replacement that helps with appetite suppression, as well as a diet pill made to help burn fat. Testimonials and positive reviews are available on the official website from people who have had significant results. There are only natural ingredients, no artificial colors, stimulants, or fillers added.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return policy is offered with no questions asked. You can learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet in the link cited here.

How Does Sacred Heart Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Sacred Heart Diet
  • 39 /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 24, 479 total comments)

Robin

i'm starting the diet today and hopefully will like to see results fast. i'm not considered overweight but i would like to lose at least 20 pounds while on this diet.. hope it works will keep ya'll updated

posted Jan 31st, 2011 3:45 pm


bunny

I'm making my soup today and starting my diet tomorrow. I've done this diet in the past and lost 7lbs in a week. This time I have a little more to lose so I'm hoping for 10lbs. I tweaked the ingredients a little bit this time too. I used low sodium low fat chicken broth and added broccoli and some baby spinach to the soup. Smells good but I'm sure I'll be sick of it in a few days. Oh well, wish me luck...

posted Jan 29th, 2011 7:30 pm


sonja

+

I did this diet a few months ago...in ten days I lost 17lbs...the only thing is I added some chicken in the soup because I worked out on the ellyptical 7 out of those 10days! I ate a small baked potato on day 2 with a bit olive oil and 2 bannana's only the next day
I also did eat a fresh tomato each day because I didn't add it to the soup!
When I was sick of the soup I just munched on veggie's like snow peas
U can change the soup or the diet a bit by adding the veggie's u like..
The purpose is to cleanse ur body with all that fibre and nutrients
Do work out..at least walk or do stairs
Of course u'll see results when u cut out sugar and bread
U'll feel soo much better
Highly recommend it
Everything in moderation..especially when ur done
Nowadays I freeze the soup and substitute it as lunch or dinner at times
So far I've lost 35lbs
Tomorrow I'm starting it all over because I have a wedding in 2 weeks
Good luck!
Sonja

posted Jan 27th, 2011 11:15 am


sonja

+

I should add that I used "carribean spices" from Irie to make the soup taste great(it has a lot of dehydrated veggie's in it) and I added a couple dashes of cayean pepper to make it spicy
My soup was delicious(however I did not add tomatoes to the soup instead I ate a fresh one daily)
Lost 17lbs in 10days but also worked out

posted Jan 27th, 2011 11:14 am


sonja

+

I did this diet a few months ago...in ten days I lost 17lbs...the only thing is I added some chicken in the soup because I worked out on the ellyptical 7 out of those 10days! I ate a small baked potato on day 2 with a bit olive oil and 2 bannana's only the next day
I also did eat a fresh tomato each day because I didn't add it to the soup!
When I was sick of the soup I just munched on veggie's like snow peas
U can change the soup or the diet a bit by adding the veggie's u like..
The purpose is to clkeanse ur body with all that fibre and nutrients
Do work out..at least walk or do stairs
Of course u'll see results when u cut out sugar and bread
U'll feel soo much better
Highly recommend it
Everything in moderation..especially when ur done
Niowaday I freeze the soup and substitute it as lunch and dinner at times
So far I've lost 35lbs
Tomorrow I'm starting it all over because I have a wedding in 2 weeks
Good luck!

posted Jan 27th, 2011 11:05 am


Lucky13sGirl

+

Today is Day #2 for me on this program. I lost 4 lbs yesterday! I realize a lot of this is water weight, but I hope to keep up at this pace!

I made small changes to the soup recipe. Instead of using beef broth, I opted for 100% fat-free low-sodium chicken broth. I also left the tomatoes out, since I don't like 'em! My soup is actually delicious and I don't mind eating it.

Yesterday was easy, eating soup and fruit. I actually didn't feel hungry at all. Today, is a different story. I am feeling hungrier since I am not the biggest veggie eater in the world. Looking forward to my potato though! I'll keep you posted!

posted Jan 18th, 2011 9:17 pm


kay14

Well i am 17 years old and i weigh about 215 so i really want to try this diet . ive tried the master cleanse before and i did it for about 5 days and i lost 10 pounds but i did not like it because all you had to drink was lemonade . ive been reading alot of reviews on this and it sounds like a great idea . im considered overweight because im am 5'1 and i am young so i am not the weight i should be for my height . i plan to start this diet tuesday when i go back to school so i will update yu guys in a couple of days or when i start it . i hope this works ! wish me luck !

posted Jan 16th, 2011 10:44 pm


mie

I have been doing this diet for 3 days now. But I didnt make my own soup. I jus drink the soup juice from other soups. Will I still lose 10-17pds. Does anyone no?

posted Jan 12th, 2011 1:54 pm


Hannah

i have an event coming up in about 9 days,i need to lose about 13 pounds on this diet. I am vegetarain and won't be eating any of the meat.If it is impossible to lose weight without the meat then could i replace it with other vegetarian foods that have protein in them.Also how much exercise will i need to do i normally walk home which is nearly two miles everyday and i don't want to be gaining muscle weight,so if somone that has done the diet could please respond :)

posted Jan 9th, 2011 7:29 am


chloe

I cooked the soup with homemade chicken stock. My weight was 124 in the beginning.Today is my 5th day and I've lost 5.5 lb.2nd day morning I ate 1 boiled egg. I still drink mostly water , tea, and only 1 cup coffee with milkand last 2 days I started to drink apple cider but not much. 2nd day instead using butter with my potato , I used little olive oil with my salad and the veggies I baked in the oven. 4th day I did not eat tomato with meat. I prefer to eat grilled chicken, tomato but with other green such as lettuce, cucumber. For dinner I used a little bit mustard on top of my grilled chicken. Today I started with 2 boiled eggs,1 tomato , 1cucumber, tea and 1/2 cup apple cider. And I will eat some griled shrimp with my salad but no fruit and soup. I have never missed the soup. Last 2 days I only drank once in a day but never missed. I felt hungary much on 2nd day and today in the morning but I've felt no dizziness , nothing. Everyday I ride bicycle only 10-15 minutes, I always get my multi vitamin. And I won't eat brown rice like they say as much as I want. I may not eat or if I eat I will really eat less.Good luck everybody.

posted Jan 8th, 2011 4:20 pm


Mandy

+

I'm on day 4 and I must say that I have a lot more energy on this diet than any other diet I've tried-- and I've tried many! Th day is almost over and I've enjoyed eating 5 bananas, two servings of soup, and lots of skim milk. I haven't weighed myself, waiting until next week because "Aunt Flo" visited me yesterday and the accuracy will be off-- I don't want to be discouraged with less weight loss. I can't wait to see how much I lost! Beef day tomorrow! I have steak ready for me!

posted Jan 8th, 2011 12:11 am


char

+

im back on day 1 of the diet. i did this diet about 3months ago and loved the results. its hard work but i really want to get the pounds off.
last time i lost 10lbs lets hope that happens again this time.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 3:31 pm


mina

Did anyone else gain weight on day 5? I was doing so good from day 1-4 (5.5 weight loss)... on day 5 I gained 1 lb.. I didnt over eat in meat and I only had 1 bowl of soup. debating if I should start back to day 1 to see better results.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 3:13 am


Jessica

This diet is so hard for me. I tried it with my boyfriend and his family. We all started out strong in the beginning but its the second day and we all cheated with takeout. I have not lost any weight yet on the diet but i guess ill see in the end. i'm going to follow the diet to the end and i hope i lose some pound. although i'm not over weight so i might not lose as much as others.

posted Jan 5th, 2011 4:28 am


Mandy

I am starting tomorrow and plan to do the diet for 3 weeks if it appears to be working. I have 30 pounds to lose and plan on using the diet to maintain by following it once week a month. I am excited to see if it works!

posted Jan 4th, 2011 12:56 am


mina

+

on day 3 and have lost 4lbs. I have followed the exactly and have not cheated. Day 1 was easy... soup was delicious and fruits easy to eat. Day 2 was HARD... very HARD... veges weren't enough so the hubby and I bought non sweetend fruit juice and felt a lot better! Day 3 has been okay. Eating fruits more then veges... can't wait for Day 5... lol.

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 8:10 pm


Melissa j

+

I'm back on this diet 2moz.....as I'm scoffing aero choc....but I never diet over Xmas as I don't see the point but I'm snapping back into it 1st thing in the morning.this is the besets diet that as worked for me,I'm not obese but a stone over so this diet kicks ass for me....and I no that in 3-4 weeks il be smiling like a cheshire cat!.....TO ALL WHO FEEL LIKE GIVING UP ON DAY 3 BECAUSE THE SCALES AINT MOVED.......DONT!!!!
Stick with it ....day 7 you will thank yourself I promise.....keep it up folks x x

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 10:57 pm


rreese10

+

Hi, Everyone.

I gained some weight over the holidays and I needed to have success right away. My arms were going numb from excess water weight and pounds I packed on. I started the diet and I am on day 4. I followed it to the letter except I had a little fat free cremer in my coffee in the morning. I have lost eight pounds today, I have 35 to lose, but I am so excited about the success. I am going to follow the directions, go off for two days and get back on it. My plan is to stay on it for two weeks and I joined weight watchers to keep the momentum. I just needed something to jump start me. I am sold on this diet. I took all my supplements with it. My blood work showed that I was a little low on vitamin d, so I made sure I took all my supplements, which is a real chore for me. I recommend this diet to give yourself a great jump start to any program. I told myself I wouldn't cheat, but I had a little bit 1/3 c. of sweet potato on day 3. This helped satisfy me. Here's to your success!!

posted Dec 30th, 2010 6:45 pm


Alicia

+

Hi everyone I am checking back in. I have great news. I did the diet faithfully without cheating from November 27, 2010 through December 3, 2010. I exercised six out of those seven days and on one of those days I exercised twice. At the end of the diet I weighed my self and I had lost eight (8) lbs.

On the 4th and 5th of December, I called those my rest days. That is where I went off the diet and ate some of the foods that I love. I did not pig out like I used to do I just ate in moderation. I exercised on one of my rest days.

I did the diet for a second time from December 6, 2010 through December 12, 2010. I was faithful and did not cheat. I exercised on six of those seven days. At the end, I weighed and I was down another seven (7) lbs.

I exercised doing in home walk system that calls for weights. I may be gaining muscle resulting in me loosing less weight than the 10 â?? 17 lbs. that the diet claims you will lose,
but all in all I am happy with my results so far.

The diet specifies that you should go off the diet for two days if you lost more that 17 lbs. Well even though I did not lose over 17, I still went off the diet to give myself a break because this diet does deprive you of most of the regular foods you eat.

By going off the diet for two days I got to satisfy any craving (IN MODERATION) I may have been having for regular foods preventing a binge eating fest after doing this diet for a long period of time.

Also I have heard of people who cut their diets down to only fruit and vegetables for extended periods of time to lose weight and when the want to go back to eating regular food, their body wonâ??t accept it and they get sick. I never want my body to reject things like macaroni and cheese, sandwiches, cake, and things like that. When I reach my weight loss goals I will eat in anything I want in moderation instead of pigging out, which is what caused me to be so severely obese. Yes I am really over weight and need to lose a total of 193 lbs. to reach my weight loss goal. Well since I lost 15 lbs over the last 16 days, that means I now need to lose 178 lbs.

To sum it up, I did the diet two times with two days in between cycles. I exercised six days each time I did the diet and I am down a total of fifteen (15) lbs. That means I lost fifteen (15) lbs. in 16 days. Not bad!! I also went off the diet for two days before I stared it again to give myself a rest and allow myself to enjoy some of the foods I love to satisfy my bodyâ??s cravings, and to ensure that my body does not start to reject foods that are not outlined in the sacred heart diet.

The Sacred Heart Diet gets two thumbs up from me!!!!

Alicia

posted Dec 13th, 2010 5:58 pm


Jamie

I started this diet today, I made the soup last night. I hope it works, and I will leave updates about my progress.Good luck to you all.

posted Dec 2nd, 2010 10:25 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2017?

PROPRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CONCON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISEEXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Juice Diet, Purple Diet

Whats better than
Sacred Heart Diet?