Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

39%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 283 reviews
Sacred Heart Diet

Sacred Heart Diet Review: Does it Work?

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Sacred Heart Diet is a weight loss fad diet that is used to help treat overweight people with heart conditions. It’s also been called the Spokane Heart Diet, Miami Heart Institute Diet, and the Cleveland Clinic Diet.

It claims results for up to 10 to 17 pounds in the first week. It lasts a total of 7 days and is made up mostly of soup and vegetables. It also claims to be helpful for those suffering from diabetes or bowel problems. There are different free resources online which help explain what the diet requires. By reviewing several popular and new diets, our experts have rated the 18Shake Diet as the most effective. It offers a combination of both an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning stimulant free diet pill. Discover more about what the 18Shake Diet has to offer by clicking the link provided.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Sacred Heart DietIngredients and Side Effects

You can eat as much as you like of the following:

• Soup: Should consist of 1 to 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 3 large green onions, and 1 large can of beef broth with no added fat, a package of Lipton Soup Mix, 1 bunch of celery, 2 cans of green beans, 2 green peppers and 2 pounds of carrots.

• Drinks: Unsweetened juices, herbal tea, skim milk, water, cranberry juice, and coffee. This can be drunk as much as one likes.

The kinds of foods allowed are:

Day One: Unlimited soup and certain fruits excluding bananas.

• Day Two: Eating as much fresh, canned, or cooked vegetables. No dry beans, peas, or corn can be eaten. Leafy greens are suggested.  Dinner allows for a baked potato with butter, though no fruits are allowed.

• Day Three: Unlimited soup, fruit and veggies. One should have lost around 5 to 7 pounds.

The link cited here has a list of the top 10 ranked diet plans for weight loss.

• Day Four: Skim milk and at least 3 milks. This is meant to replace the amount of carbohydrates and potassium needed. The protein and added calcium is intended to reduce the cravings for sweets.

• Day Five: Beef and tomatoes. 10 to 20 ounces of beef and canned tomatoes. Soup must be eaten once a day and 6 tomatoes can be eaten.

• Day Six: Beef and vegetables for as much as you’d like 2 to 3 steaks with green leafy vegetables and at least one soup a day.

• Day Seven: Brown rice, unsweetened fruit juice, eat as much soup as you can, and you can add cooked vegetables to the rice.

If more than 17 pounds have been lost it’s advised to stop using the diet for two daysbefore one can resume using it again. It’s said that one should lose between 10 to 17 pounds safely. The basic idea is that this diet will significantly reduce the amount of calories you lose via introducing low calorie foods.

The reason one can eat unlimited amounts of soup is due to the extremely low calories provided, as well as the natural liquid in soup which helps to fill up the stomach.

There are also restrictions on food such as not eating:

         • Bread.

         • Carbonated drinks including diet soda.

         • Fried foods.

         • Alcohol.

It’s advised to make sure to at least drink a total of 6 to 8 glasses of water. One can add the list of allowed beverages to also make up for the amount of liquids one needs to drink.For a top 10 list of the highest rated diet plans click the link provided.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Sacred Heart Diet Quality of Ingredients

There are healthy food options which are recommended, but eating only large amounts of soups can be difficult. It’s likely one will lose weight as there is very few calories provided. The issue is that this can also lead to nutritionaldeficiencies. A lot of the foods one will be eating are low in fats, which can lead to fatigue.

The claimed 10 to 17 pounds of weight loss are likely to be water weight. The reason why the diet is only available for use up to 7 days is because of the risk of issues with can result with repeat use. Diets that require only a short term use are often because they can promote side effects. This is not considered a sustainable diet; they are what are known as crash diets.

Sharron Coplin, a registered dietician for Ohio State University said:

“would not recommend any diet that exceeded a safe rate of weight loss, which is 2 to 3 pounds per week”

This rapid weight loss is not a quality of a safe and effective diet plan. The link provided here has a rate of the highest rate weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Sacred Heart Diet

The price depends on where one gets their vegetables and other food items. It’s likely to be an easy to afford diet, but there are health websites which mention it’s potentially unsafe.

Healthy Weight Formulas adds:

“one of the main points against it is that most weight loss is temporary, caused by fluid depletion”

“particularly low in calories, and may cause light headedness and weakness”

The risk for side effects and the extreme reduction in calories make this a potentially risky diet. It is easy to begin this diet, but overall the lack of evidence for safety makes it a poor diet. Our experts have rated the top ranking diet plans in a top 10 list found here.

Business of Sacred Heart Diet

Websites which promote this brand often will claim that it was formulated by a particular hospital. The truth is that none of the claimed hospitals said to have created this diet have taken responsibility, since it’s a potentially dangerous diet.

Most of the information on this diet is available on free websites. There is no officialguide, and certain sites offer different accounts on what should be followed. The same basic ideas are offered however, such as making sure to get the help of a physician in case of any excess weight loss.

This lack of information is likely because like other fad diets it’s not based off of real science. The top 10 list of the best weight loss diets can be seen in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Sacred Heart Diet

Here are some direct quotes from users of this diet:

“On day 3 and lost nothing! Actually gained 2 lbs. on day 2”

“gained A LOT of weight back”

“I am on day 7 of this diet and have not lost any weight”

“I am always hungry though, and don’t want to constantly eat this soup”

As suspected the main issue people had was that any weight loss was quickly regained. This is what is known as a crash diet, which gives fast results that do not last and is only intended for a short period of use.

The issue with diets like this is that most of the weight loss is actually water weight and not fat. This makes it impossible to rely on for real weight loss.

Another listed issue from people was that it was hard to eat the same kinds of foods. People quickly because bored of the food selection, for many it was impossible to keep eating soup even it was just for 7 days. For a list of thehighest rated diet pals for weight loss follow the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Sacred Heart DietWork?

The Sacred Heart Diet allows for unlimited amounts of soup that’s based off of just one recipe. For the entire 7 days there are different allowed foods. The diet is considered a fad crash dietthat can result to upwards of 7 pounds in the total 7 days. One can continue using the day off and on again for results. Many who have tried it mention it’s not satisfying to keep eating the same foods allowed. There were also problems with the lack of long lasting weight loss. There are problems with sustaining weight loss efforts since most of what’s lost is water weight. Medical sites also mention that it’s lacking in nutrition and that it can be unsafe to keep using it. It can lead to nutritional deficiencies which may result in long term side effects.

Our experts have concluded the best solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a nutritionally balanced meal replacement that helps with appetite suppression, as well as a diet pill made to help burn fat. Testimonials and positive reviews are available on the official website from people who have had significant results. There are only natural ingredients, no artificial colors, stimulants, or fillers added.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return policy is offered with no questions asked. You can learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet in the link cited here.

How Does Sacred Heart Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Sacred Heart Diet
  • 39 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 24, 472 total comments)

Jenna

I started this last Saturday and this morning I was down 6lbs. I love it! I haven't followed it exactly and yesterday I didn't have any soup. I've recommended it to other friends. I'm very happy with my results!

posted Jul 21st, 2011 4:39 pm


Megan

This diet does work really fast and I lost 6 pounds in 3 days which is awesome. It was hard after that to stay motivated not to cheat. I now only do it 3 days a week because 7 was too much and I get shaky very easily if I dont eat very much. Lost 11 pounds so far!

posted Jul 19th, 2011 12:45 pm


Slj

I'm starting the diet tomorrow, but
I already made the soup and had a 
small bowl for dinner tonight. I'm 16 
years old and weigh 120.5. I'm not
asking to lose tons of weight, I just want
to shed a couple pounds for my vacation 
I'm going on in less than 2 weeks. I'm
excited! reading the reviews are
really interesting and give me hope. 
Good luck to everyone else trying
this diet as well! :)

posted Jul 13th, 2011 7:57 pm


qoakman

?

wat are suppose to drink while on this diet I'm on my second day and all I been drinking is water and greentea 7 day vegetable soup diet

posted Jul 13th, 2011 9:43 am


loozwehtnow

Here I go, going to get all the ingrediants tomorrow to start the diet! Today is Saturday, so I plan to start Monday morning. I am leaving to go on vacation on the 31st and need to lose atleast 15 pds by then! I plan on doing the diet everyday until then. I am 31 years old, 5'8.5" and weigh 168. I will update daily! Wish me great luck! :-) What do I have to lose except pounds

posted Jul 8th, 2011 10:57 pm


Aluna

+

I have been on/off this diet since May 1st - I completed 5 weeks of diet in these 2 months and have lost 22 LBS.

posted Jul 1st, 2011 11:44 pm


Kai

+

I just started the diet monday! I am 20 yrs old, 5'7, and started at 183. This is crazy but I some how managed to lose 9 pounds !! and I am only on day three... However my dad only lost 1lbs and he hasn't cheated either. I don't know why I lost so much and he hasnt... but the diet seems to work for me. I am now 176.

One thing I will say is the soup becomes u enemy really fast! I have to forcefully eat it everyday, I find it is really gross.

posted Jun 22nd, 2011 8:18 am


Aelina

+

I've been doing this diet for the past 4 days and I've lost 6.5 lbs! The diet is definitely about learning to get over your unhealthy food cravings. I know some nights I couldn't sleep because of my cravings, but every time you weigh yourself and lose weight, it pushes you to keep going. I'm not going to lie, the soup was disgusting. I actually blended it so I could chug it and get it over with! Good luck to everyone that's trying it! :)

posted Jun 18th, 2011 11:09 am


14andchubby

+

i am now so happyyy i weigh
147.6
3 poundss in 3 dayss! awomseee
me and my brother are betting 50 dollars if i can lose 10 pounds haha

posted Jun 9th, 2011 12:14 pm


14andchubby

+

i had done this diet in Feb.2011
and went down 6 pounds!!!! (148 to 142)i may have cheated becuz i couldnt take soupp to my school!!!
anywas i have gained it back bcuz of alot of parties with tons of DELICIOUS food haha
anyways im on day 2 and i weighed 150.8 now i way 149.0 im happy i wanna lose 10 pounds and i am going on a vacation tin July so dont want relatives (ALL SO SKINNY) and i want to be about 130 by then but hopefully i can make through one week:):) wish me luck!!!

posted Jun 8th, 2011 2:57 pm


Kelly

So I hit "Like It" because I did lose some weight. BUT it's a very tough diet. Day two was the hardest for me. What do you eat in the morning when all you can eat is veggies and soup? UGH.
The rest of the time wasn't that bad. The soup gets pretty gross after a few days, but tollerable. I don't have a lot of weight to lose, but I did lose 6 lbs, so that was good. It also "cleaned me out".

My boyfriend did this with me and he REALLY struggled. It wasn't about the food for him, but more of a withdrawl from meats and carbs. His body played tricks on him. It was affecting his attitude and it made him VERY grumpy and irritable. I almost forced him to cheat just for my sake. But he didn't and lost about 4lbs. He had less to lose than I did.

I see how this would be a good drastic weight loss for someone larger who doesn't exercise. For those who do exercise, this drains you and without the protein, it is hard to remain strong enough to really work out.

Will I do it again, maybe. BUT, will I let my BF do it again......NO!!!!!!!!

PS....the sweet potato saved him on the veggie days.

posted May 31st, 2011 5:35 pm


wendy

-

I only need to lose 10 pounds and I'm already a generally healthy eater. I have stuck to this diet faithfully for 3 days and only lost 1 pound. Not the 5-7 that they promise. Actually, I lost 2 pounds by Day 2 and gained one back on Day 3. I have felt like fainting and crying all 3 days. It left me too weak to exercise. I don't understand why it is not working for me like the posters below. I'm not sure I will stick to it. The thought of eating that soup again makes me want to vomit.

posted May 6th, 2011 11:11 am



sitjulia77

It's a reality check on food. I lost 6 lbs. I look at food differently .

posted May 3rd, 2011 3:02 pm


holly

i am 5'3 and 177lb and size 14 and i am going to start the diet next week what is a realistic weight loss for me

posted Apr 26th, 2011 10:11 am


del sad

I am a 42 year old woman going through menopause. I am 5 feet and weigh 163lbs. Just wondering if anyone out there is similar to me and is having success with this diet?

posted Apr 16th, 2011 9:40 am


clare

Just a quick response to the people asking if they can use sweetner in their coffee....it's says BLACK coffee. If you put sweetner in it then it's not really black coffee anymore. So there's your answer.

Not that I'm saying it will ruin this diet or anything if you do use it, or telling you not to use it.....I just thought I'd point this out :)

posted Apr 15th, 2011 9:02 am


Jess

Day 1- So far it's going good, overall I want to lose 38lbs and on day 1 I lost 1.2lbs, Good start. I made to soup a little too watery (I pureed it, It's much nicer!) so I think I need to change that but other than that i'm not hungry. I was so full on fruit yesterday! Totally stuffed. Cheated a tiny bit for dinner last night as I had people over so I had super small portions of one of my normal meals. Let's see what day 2 is like!

posted Apr 12th, 2011 3:46 am


Tonya Henson

?

Can you have the listed drinks any day while on the diet? I am on day one and so far I am doing okay. I did do the 48 hour hollywood diet before I started this so it helps with not being so hungry. I am 5'3" and 155.8. For those of you who have done the diet: Can you drink the unsweetened juice and other drinks mentioned everyday? I am really confused by that part of the diet. It says drink any combination of the the drinks but then specifically mentions the skim milk on Day 3. Any help to answer this would be great :)

posted Apr 11th, 2011 7:44 pm


mytime001

I have done this diet several times in the past. It made me cranky, desperate for it to end and what ever weight I managed to lose, I got back. I too fell for the idea that it was a "jump start" to eating healthy. Only one thing works: a commitment to a lifestyle change:eating balanced meals within your calorie range, exercise, water and perseverance. For those here who report it worked, what worked is the lifestyle change. I've now lost 17 lbs without any fad diets with the help of SparkPeople..and no slipping. I have seen this sort of weight loss in years!

posted Apr 9th, 2011 10:10 am


PRH

Just finished this diet about two weeks ago and lost 7 lbs. And I am a person who never, ever dieted because I found them too restrictive. However, I did not find this particular diet at all restrictive. You eat as much as you want all day long.

I had been working out for weeks and not seeing any real progress. While on this diet, I only worked out one day that week.

When the diet ended, I did not return to unhealthy eating habits, and I have since lost another 2 lbs. I think this diet is a good way to jump start a healthy eating lifestyle.

posted Mar 30th, 2011 11:41 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Juice Diet, Purple Diet

Whats better than
Sacred Heart Diet?