Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

94%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 228 reviews

Sacred Heart Diet

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared


Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Purple Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 9 of 23, 450 total comments)

sassyamassy

hi everyone tomorrow will b my first day trying the soup deit. My goal is to lose 25lbs in 4 months i hope it goes well. right now my weigh in is 199.

posted Aug 25th, 2010 6:12 pm


tiredofbeingfat

well, i am on day three and i have not gotten on the scale yet to see how im doing. i may tomorrow as it will be as half way as you can get on a 7 day diet. the soup is really good, i have not gotten sick of it...i like fruit days better than veggie days for sure! my biggest concern with this is how do i know if im eating too many fruits? Day 1 i had a pear, an apple, 3 spears of pineapple and about 1/2 pint of blueberries. Day 2 im sure i did fine, but again today, i have had a TON of fruit. im looking forward to the bananas and milk tomorrow...but they say at least 3 bananas, so ill prolly have like 8 LOL...ill update!

posted Aug 11th, 2010 8:48 pm


munchies

After being unable to stay on my usual staple, Weight Watchers, I became desperate and needed a serious jumpstart to break the failure pattern. This diet is the best! I lost 12 pounds in a week and became motivated again, which I haven't been in about 8 years. I continued having the soup for lunch and a planned breakfast/snack/dinner after the week and will soon reach goal. I finally experienced the feeling "nothing tastes as good as thin feels" and am now motivated. Stay on the diet and weigh yourself every day, even if you think you messed up, I was surprised that I either still lost weight, or only gained a pound or 2 and was able to continue being motivated. I recommend this diet to everyone!

posted Aug 11th, 2010 7:25 am


Darlene

Day 2: I woke up and weighed myself. Much to my delight, I was down to 159.5. That is a total of 3 pounds in one day! I couldn't believe it. Was totally excited and ready to eat my veggies and soup.

I ate one bowl of soup for breakfast, then went to eat at a buffet where I ate salad with fresh veggies (used lemon as dressing) tasted HORRIBLE. So, I decided to eat cooked veggies and ate some broccoli, green beans *yuck* and cauliflower...then I saw turnip greens...decided to try it, ate it...it was really good considering that it had some meat in it. I think I messed up there though. For dinner, I had another bowl of soup, and went out to eat for my potato. I messed up again because the dang potato tasted so yummy that I ordered a second one...and maybe my definition of a "pat" of butter was a little off...I smothered it! ;-0 So, I was a little down that I messed up so early in the diet.

Day 3:
Woke up, and didn't really want to step on the scale. Much to my dismay I had gained a half pound back, so I was at 160 this morning. I almost cried, but decided that the tears I thought of shedding wouldn't weigh that much, so I ate a dang bowl of soup. I still like the soup. I will say this, I had to make another batch of soup today. Must not have made enough. I'm hoping that tomorrow's weigh in will be better since I've really stuck hard to the diet today. (I like the fruit days) And, I'm looking forward to my banana's and milk tomorrow. So, tata for tonight. Will update again tomorrow evening.

Hope anyone else out there who is trying this diet is doing okay on it too. Would love to see someone else post though. Feeling kind of lonely.

posted Aug 1st, 2010 12:34 am


Darlene

Hi everyone, I just started the diet this morning. Have had 4 bowls of the soup, 3 glasses of cranberry juice, 4 glasses of unsweetened tea, and an entire cantelope. I'm still hungry and I haven't even made it through the first day. The soup tastes pretty salty, and I didn't add any extra salt, but other than that, it's really good. I did leave out the green beans because I really, really hate them. Anyways, I started the diet weighing in at 161.5 (and i'm 5'1") so i'm overweight...I'll be happy with any loss at all as I have been working out and haven't lost a thing. So, luck to everyone...tomorrow is my baked potato and veggie day. Wish I would have bought another cantelope. :-)
Will update again tomorrow.

posted Jul 29th, 2010 8:53 pm


CookiesNcream

This is a real review. It is Monday morning.I started on Tuesday and weighed 174.4. I weighed in at 164.4 on today,Monday. I have lost 10.2 pounds. I cannot express how much better I feel.I was able to get in one of my favorite black dresses and when arrived to work on today, I received so many compliments on how good I look. I didn't realize 10 pounds could make such a difference.

posted Jul 19th, 2010 9:37 am


CookiesNcream

This is a real review. It is Monday morning.I started on Tuesday and weighed 174.4. I weighed in at 164.4. I have lost 10.2 pounds. I cannot express how much better I feel.I was able to get in one of my favorite black dresses and when arrived to work on today, I received so many compliments on how good I look. I didn't realize 10 pounds could make such a difference.

posted Jul 19th, 2010 9:35 am


chid

I started this diet on Monday, i have lost 7 pounds so far and my final weigh in is tomorrow. I intend to do it for another week, does anyone know if you can eat fruit after day three because there is no mention of it. I feel more energised but have had to cheat and have two glasses of wine!

posted Jul 18th, 2010 1:34 pm


CookiesNcream

Oh, I am 26. I weigh 174. I am looking to reach my first goal of 150 and final goal of 140. Comments and helpful tips are welcomed.

posted Jul 13th, 2010 5:03 pm


CookiesNcream

Ok. I made the soup last night. I had soup for lunch and grapes as my fruit for breakfast. So far I have had 5 (.5L) of bottled water. My goal is at least 6 per day. It is 3:58 pm, so I think I should be able to get it in. My soup tasted great. The only side effect so far is multiple trips to the restroom from consuming so much water. That's okay. I am still full from the first bowl of soup so Im not sure if I will or need to eat another bowl. I read somewhere that the more soup you eat, the more weight you lose. ?? I also used the beefy onion lipton soup mix bc I didnt know which noodle package to get. So I will keep you updated.

posted Jul 13th, 2010 5:02 pm


Chels

LOST 23-25lbs with this. As well as 2 dress sizes. The thing is that I would do this once a month and each time I lost only 5lbs but look at that #. 23-25lb over a course of 5 months is good for me. Also, I did this diet last year around this time and kept the weight off. The only different thing that I do is EAT BREAKFAST and eat every 3 hours, you know - Brkfst, snack, lunch, snack, dinner and maybe even dessert. It's really not that hard when you get into the routine. I have 20 more lbs to go and Imma do it especially since I'm trying to get pregnant again. I've got some tips and advice to share, if ya want.

posted Jul 5th, 2010 1:58 am


Bridget

I tried this diet for one week and lost 10 pounds. Went off for a week but ate healthy then back for one more week and lost 8 more pounds. I was off for another 2 weeks and no weight gain so I am going to do it for another week.

posted Jul 4th, 2010 6:39 pm


Reese1

I have read great feedback about this diet so I decided to try it. I have tried many different avenues for weight loss in the past but I have little to no will power. Can't stop trying!

I'm 31 yrs, 5'1", and 170lbs. I want to lose 50lbs. I started today (Day 1) and followed instructions exact with fruit and soup only. I also made some sweet tea using tea & truvia. I rarely drink sofa and never coffee so I am not caffeine dependant. I am however HORRIBLY addicted to carbs. I always feel hungry if I have not had any carbs to eat, no matter how much other food that I consume. I have been hungry today and have experienced a little lightheadedness as well as a headache. I drank 70oz of water and for about 15 minutes today (SO hot out today). I'm hoping to exercise more this week. I will post daily on my progress!!

posted Jun 21st, 2010 9:33 pm


Reese

Read a lot of great feedback on this diet. I have tried many different avenues for losing weight. I have very little will power because I just love food. I love to cook it, love to taste it, love to celebrate with it, love to share it. But, scales are screaming at me that I'm out of control and I agree. I'm 31yrs, 5'1", 170lbs. Started today (Day 1). Had all fruit and soup just as instructed. I also made some sweet tea using Truvia, which turned out well. I do not drink soda or coffee. I know that I am not caffeine dependant. I have a HORRIBLE addiction to carbs. I can eat large quantities of anything but carbs and still feel hungry. I have definitely felt hungry today. I also have felt a little light headed and have a headache. I also take a great whole food multivitamin. I'm assuming the headache is from not having any carbs/sugar. I want to lose 50lbs. Ideally, I would like to do this diet for 7 days and then eat healthy for 2 and then go back on until I reach my goal. We shall see what happens. I will keep posting!

posted Jun 21st, 2010 9:21 pm


fox

I started this diet on monday and has done great this far. IT's great when your able to read other peoples takes on this diet.

posted Jun 17th, 2010 8:23 am


Hoffman

For all of you in doubt, trust me its for real. I am 37 years old, weigh 230lbs and am a Master Sergeant in the Air Force, all services have strict fitness guidelines, if im overweight and it affects my running i fail, and if i fail i can get kicked out. and this is my goto diet. Ive used this 3 times so far. This first time i tried this i lost 17 pounds. I didnt take a break, and lost 15 more pounds. yes, im sure some is water weight, most most was straight fat. I kept it off. The third time i lost my motivation and stopped halfway through. Now we all gain water weight from all the salt in our food, so yes you will losse water weight. And no one really eats right so weight WILL creep back up on you. Just do this once a month, or quarterly to fix your horrible diet. Im doing it again since summers coming. This is day one, and life can make sticking to it hard....but just wait for the results...i assure you you wont regret it.

posted Jun 16th, 2010 2:33 pm


sisters

I´m on my day three on this diet and I´m doing great. The soup is delicious. I just pack my lunchbag when I go to work. Soup, vegetables or fruits.. etc. Today is soup, vegetables and fruits so I think it will be easy.
I´m also going to add more exercise. I haven´t weight myself yet nor my sister but I´ll do it on day 8. I think I´m going to stick with this for at least three or four weeks!
Good Luck!

posted Jun 13th, 2010 8:20 am


sisters

Me and my sister are going on this diet. We both want to lose about 40lbs and we are starting tomorrow. We are both going to follow the diet and exercise two times a day.
I´m going to try this for at least three weeks or until I meet my goal weight.
Hope I´ll find this site again to post our progress.
Good luck people!

posted Jun 10th, 2010 10:21 pm


Happy so far

Day 2. Lost 5 pounds. Keeping to the diet plan. Having coffee with fat free milk in the mornings. Going good so far.

posted Jun 8th, 2010 2:05 pm


lana

I have done this 3 times now, its my go to when I have something coming up and I want to lose 10 pounds quick. Over a few months of me eating and drinking like I am on vacation I put the pounds back on but if I ever start working out and eating right the pounds wont come back. I totally recommend this for a quick weight loss or to jumpstart a healthy lifestyle.

posted Jun 6th, 2010 10:05 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account