Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

39%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 283 reviews
Sacred Heart Diet

Sacred Heart Diet Review: Does it Work?

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Sacred Heart Diet is a weight loss fad diet that is used to help treat overweight people with heart conditions. It’s also been called the Spokane Heart Diet, Miami Heart Institute Diet, and the Cleveland Clinic Diet.

It claims results for up to 10 to 17 pounds in the first week. It lasts a total of 7 days and is made up mostly of soup and vegetables. It also claims to be helpful for those suffering from diabetes or bowel problems. There are different free resources online which help explain what the diet requires. By reviewing several popular and new diets, our experts have rated the 18Shake Diet as the most effective. It offers a combination of both an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning stimulant free diet pill. Discover more about what the 18Shake Diet has to offer by clicking the link provided.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Sacred Heart DietIngredients and Side Effects

You can eat as much as you like of the following:

• Soup: Should consist of 1 to 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 3 large green onions, and 1 large can of beef broth with no added fat, a package of Lipton Soup Mix, 1 bunch of celery, 2 cans of green beans, 2 green peppers and 2 pounds of carrots.

• Drinks: Unsweetened juices, herbal tea, skim milk, water, cranberry juice, and coffee. This can be drunk as much as one likes.

The kinds of foods allowed are:

Day One: Unlimited soup and certain fruits excluding bananas.

• Day Two: Eating as much fresh, canned, or cooked vegetables. No dry beans, peas, or corn can be eaten. Leafy greens are suggested.  Dinner allows for a baked potato with butter, though no fruits are allowed.

• Day Three: Unlimited soup, fruit and veggies. One should have lost around 5 to 7 pounds.

The link cited here has a list of the top 10 ranked diet plans for weight loss.

• Day Four: Skim milk and at least 3 milks. This is meant to replace the amount of carbohydrates and potassium needed. The protein and added calcium is intended to reduce the cravings for sweets.

• Day Five: Beef and tomatoes. 10 to 20 ounces of beef and canned tomatoes. Soup must be eaten once a day and 6 tomatoes can be eaten.

• Day Six: Beef and vegetables for as much as you’d like 2 to 3 steaks with green leafy vegetables and at least one soup a day.

• Day Seven: Brown rice, unsweetened fruit juice, eat as much soup as you can, and you can add cooked vegetables to the rice.

If more than 17 pounds have been lost it’s advised to stop using the diet for two daysbefore one can resume using it again. It’s said that one should lose between 10 to 17 pounds safely. The basic idea is that this diet will significantly reduce the amount of calories you lose via introducing low calorie foods.

The reason one can eat unlimited amounts of soup is due to the extremely low calories provided, as well as the natural liquid in soup which helps to fill up the stomach.

There are also restrictions on food such as not eating:

         • Bread.

         • Carbonated drinks including diet soda.

         • Fried foods.

         • Alcohol.

It’s advised to make sure to at least drink a total of 6 to 8 glasses of water. One can add the list of allowed beverages to also make up for the amount of liquids one needs to drink.For a top 10 list of the highest rated diet plans click the link provided.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Sacred Heart Diet Quality of Ingredients

There are healthy food options which are recommended, but eating only large amounts of soups can be difficult. It’s likely one will lose weight as there is very few calories provided. The issue is that this can also lead to nutritionaldeficiencies. A lot of the foods one will be eating are low in fats, which can lead to fatigue.

The claimed 10 to 17 pounds of weight loss are likely to be water weight. The reason why the diet is only available for use up to 7 days is because of the risk of issues with can result with repeat use. Diets that require only a short term use are often because they can promote side effects. This is not considered a sustainable diet; they are what are known as crash diets.

Sharron Coplin, a registered dietician for Ohio State University said:

“would not recommend any diet that exceeded a safe rate of weight loss, which is 2 to 3 pounds per week”

This rapid weight loss is not a quality of a safe and effective diet plan. The link provided here has a rate of the highest rate weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Sacred Heart Diet

The price depends on where one gets their vegetables and other food items. It’s likely to be an easy to afford diet, but there are health websites which mention it’s potentially unsafe.

Healthy Weight Formulas adds:

“one of the main points against it is that most weight loss is temporary, caused by fluid depletion”

“particularly low in calories, and may cause light headedness and weakness”

The risk for side effects and the extreme reduction in calories make this a potentially risky diet. It is easy to begin this diet, but overall the lack of evidence for safety makes it a poor diet. Our experts have rated the top ranking diet plans in a top 10 list found here.

Business of Sacred Heart Diet

Websites which promote this brand often will claim that it was formulated by a particular hospital. The truth is that none of the claimed hospitals said to have created this diet have taken responsibility, since it’s a potentially dangerous diet.

Most of the information on this diet is available on free websites. There is no officialguide, and certain sites offer different accounts on what should be followed. The same basic ideas are offered however, such as making sure to get the help of a physician in case of any excess weight loss.

This lack of information is likely because like other fad diets it’s not based off of real science. The top 10 list of the best weight loss diets can be seen in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Sacred Heart Diet

Here are some direct quotes from users of this diet:

“On day 3 and lost nothing! Actually gained 2 lbs. on day 2”

“gained A LOT of weight back”

“I am on day 7 of this diet and have not lost any weight”

“I am always hungry though, and don’t want to constantly eat this soup”

As suspected the main issue people had was that any weight loss was quickly regained. This is what is known as a crash diet, which gives fast results that do not last and is only intended for a short period of use.

The issue with diets like this is that most of the weight loss is actually water weight and not fat. This makes it impossible to rely on for real weight loss.

Another listed issue from people was that it was hard to eat the same kinds of foods. People quickly because bored of the food selection, for many it was impossible to keep eating soup even it was just for 7 days. For a list of thehighest rated diet pals for weight loss follow the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Sacred Heart DietWork?

The Sacred Heart Diet allows for unlimited amounts of soup that’s based off of just one recipe. For the entire 7 days there are different allowed foods. The diet is considered a fad crash dietthat can result to upwards of 7 pounds in the total 7 days. One can continue using the day off and on again for results. Many who have tried it mention it’s not satisfying to keep eating the same foods allowed. There were also problems with the lack of long lasting weight loss. There are problems with sustaining weight loss efforts since most of what’s lost is water weight. Medical sites also mention that it’s lacking in nutrition and that it can be unsafe to keep using it. It can lead to nutritional deficiencies which may result in long term side effects.

Our experts have concluded the best solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a nutritionally balanced meal replacement that helps with appetite suppression, as well as a diet pill made to help burn fat. Testimonials and positive reviews are available on the official website from people who have had significant results. There are only natural ingredients, no artificial colors, stimulants, or fillers added.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return policy is offered with no questions asked. You can learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet in the link cited here.

How Does Sacred Heart Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Sacred Heart Diet
  • 39 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 9 of 24, 472 total comments)

shelly

I did this 7 day diet back in late 2007 & lost 11 pounds in the 7 days.I felt awesome & am starting it again monday!It works!

posted Oct 16th, 2010 7:25 pm


Melissa

I just started this diet, and this first day is extremely hard. My hope is that it'll only get easier.

posted Oct 14th, 2010 8:37 pm


heather

what spices did you add to make the soup taste good? and some of the recipes or different which one is right?

posted Oct 13th, 2010 11:54 am


allison

+

I have done this diet before and found it to be a great way to start a workout routine or get into better habits (cooking everyday, packing a lunch for work, lessen cravings for sweets or coffee) I lost 7 lbs last time, and still had enough energy to work out. I am always hungry, so this diet is the best because you always stay full. I have reccomended it to friends and family. My dad lost 15 lbs on it and was able to go on a week long hiking trip in the mountains after this success - which was his motivation.



It is only a spring board to better things though, it won't change your life afterward, and you will gain the weight back unless you make a commitment for other changes. Great start though!

posted Oct 12th, 2010 2:36 pm


Tanya

Day 8 (Begining Day one again)

I Have rid myself of 5 kg's (11pounds)! I am loving it!

Mom only lost 2 but did eat all sorts of things yesterday.

I am going to make goal weight on this diet, I am very very happy!

posted Oct 11th, 2010 3:04 am


Christine

+

On day 6... And I have now lost 8 lbs!!!! I can see a difference in my face and the teams I haven't worn in over a year are closer to fitting to the last time I tried! I have had a few cheats ( mini mars bar ice cream 150cals.. And a few haribo tangy cherry sweeties i also had 3 vodkas and diet coke last night ) but apart from those I have been strict. going to miss out day 7 and start on day 1 again tomorrow.

Good luck to everyone doing this diet! I think it's great. :) x

posted Oct 10th, 2010 11:46 am


christine

+

ok updating my results like i said... i have lost 5 pounds and just starting day 4. pretty good so far.
i found on the first 2 day i was going to the toilet A LOT! hope they keep coming off. ran out of soup so going to buy more ingredients for it :D

posted Oct 8th, 2010 2:48 am


Tanya

Day 4

I have lost 3.5 KG, Mom has lost 2.5 KG

Walked for an hour this morning.

This diet.......I am loving it!

posted Oct 7th, 2010 2:12 am


Tanya

Day 3

Mom and I are both 2kg lighter... and feeling great. The veg day was difficult, fruit seems to keep us fuller for longer, probably also the sugar in the fruit?

Started walking this morning.

Feeling smaller, less bloated.

Hope to loose 10kg before end November.

posted Oct 6th, 2010 6:24 am


Christine

ok so i have been reading comments from this website and other since yesterday. and today started the diet, i live in the uk so this morning looking for the lipton soup mix found to be difficult, but found a substitute.
had a fruit salad for lunch - took me 2 hours to eat cause it made me feel so full.. and was only 400g. and going home from work at 5 to some Watermelon and will start making my soup. going to add some chilli to the recipe as i know that also speeds up your metabolism, and some onions. cant wait to have the soup, i remember making it before and quite enjoyed it. will try my best to have 3 bowls tonight to make up for today. and also going to do my jillian michaels 30 day shred... tough workout.. boxersize and zumba tomorrow also.

i shall leave my progress on thursday ( day 3 ) and see how i am. hoping to lose 14lbs in a fortnight on this. i am 230 just now and want to get to 195 by xmas, and 140 by next summer. we shall see what happens.

posted Oct 5th, 2010 10:59 am


Tanya

Well we started yesterday... so far so good. The soup is very tasty, had soup, apples & Papaja. I am 1kg down, Mom lost nothing but she is over 60 so it might take a bit longer. Mom had a headache last night, dont know if it is due to the detox or the menopause?

Didnt get round to any excercise.... hopefully today, even if we just go for a walk.
Had one cup of coffe each after dinner, a change from my usual 6-7 cups of coffee and 6-7 cups of tea, it also helps that it is spring so not craving warm comfort food.

Looking forward to results on Monday, feeling very positive, must say it does help to have someone else in the house dieting with you.
Feeling great

Day 2 here we come!

posted Oct 5th, 2010 2:35 am


Jodie

+

I've just started the diet, but I can see I'm going to have far more success with it that others. I LOVE the soup, I think it tastes great! The last diet I did was the master cleanse..and although I agree it works you better have will power made of steel..the fact that I could eat nothing was extremely hard and the taste of the lemonade was terrible, nevermind drinking salt water..I had a very hard time keeping the salt water down, thats if I could even make it through the big glass of it!! This one seems like a breeze compared to that!! Im hoping I see results like I did with the master cleanse!..I really dont want to have to resort back to that!!

posted Oct 4th, 2010 6:01 pm


Wen

I've been on the diet for 3 days now and have not lost any weight, very disappointed. I'm wondering if Im eating too much soup?? I'm always hungry and I find that by day 2, I have to add more veg to the soup coz it's almost gone??? Does anyone know eating too much soup hinders weight loss? Finding difficulty with the soup, anybody has variations of the soup?

posted Oct 4th, 2010 3:48 pm


Tanya

My Mom and I are both starting this diet today. Our aim is to loose 10KG's each. Made the soup last night and had some for breakfast this moring, will be having soup, papaja and apples today. I will and excercise program today, 30 - 45min cardio at least 3 times a week. So... here we go!

posted Oct 4th, 2010 2:30 am


Ashleigh

+

I lost 12 pounds, but it took 4 weeks to do that, not 1 week! Eating nothing but whole, fresh foods, I lost my sugar cravings! Day 1 is unlimited fresh fruit or frozen unsweetened berries, but no banana's. Day 2 is unlimited veggies (and I used a huge variety for roasting and for eating raw, like butternut squash, and eggplant, and zucchini, and mushrooms, and onions, and fennel, etc...), but no beans or corn, and only 1 baked potatoe, Day 3 is unlimited fruits and veggies, Day 4 is 3-6 banana's and only 2 glasses of skim milk, (I thought that day I would be hungry, but I wasn't at all!), Day 5 is 6-8 fresh ripe tomatoes plus unlimited lean protein (for that I chose egg whites, fish, poultry only, and had beef only once during one of my weeks, and it was broiled, of course, but a George Forman lean grill would be fine, too), and Day 6 is the same, except no tomatoes, and Day 7 is brown rice and veggies --- I chose to use quinoa instead, as it's a complete protein and brown rice is not... And of course, the unlimited soup the entire time, too, plus plenty of water... I occasionally had earl gray tea, too... There are 2 recipes for this soup, and I chose the fresh version -- nothing canned, no sodium! I used the one with 1 lb of frozen green beans, a half pound of fresh baby carrots, an entire bunch (10 stalks) of chopped fresh celery, 1 chopped fresh bell pepper, 1 chopped sweet onion, a half pound of fresh mushrooms, quartered, and even though it called for 4 potatoes, I found that using just 2 was more than enough! Those were cut into chunks of course... And it called for 1 or 2 18 oz cans of Campbell's Healthy Request Chunky Chicken Noodle Soup to be added to the veggies and water... I also used fresh cracked black pepper to the veggies and cooked those in layers, adding more veggies and water along the way, before adding the soup. I later stopped using the Campbell's Healthy Request Chunky Chicken Noodle Soup, and just substituted that with low sodium chicken broth added to the water and veggies, and added a quarter pound of cooked, chopped boneless, skinless fresh chicken breast tenders... I am a bread freak and a cake lover, too, so I was SHOCKED that I had no cravings for either! And am ever so grateful about that. I have taken a week off since then, but plan to continue soon! From 9/2-9/30, I lost 12 pounds... I don't know what anyone is doing to lose 12 pounds in 1 week, but seeing as how I didn't add exercise, and I am over 50, maybe that's part of the problem... I look forward to losing another 12 pounds in October, and so on and so on, until I have lost 72 pounds total! As I go along, I am sure that I will have more energy to move my body more, and so I will add exercise into this Sacred Heart Diet! Whole, clean, nutritious, low sodium, nourishing foods -- it kills cravings and helps to eat healthy!

posted Oct 3rd, 2010 4:23 am


AmericanBulldogLvr

A friend at work shared this soup recipe with my husband, who had asked for it, after he smelled it cooking in the microwave at lunchtime. He said everyone was inquiring what the wonderful smell wafting through the building was. My husband was not necessarily looking to lose weight, but mainly just wanting to eat healthier. Since he is no longer eating processed lunch meat sandwiches and has been eating this soup, along with fresh salads, he is no longer having a problem with bad heartburn or acid reflux! He plans on continuing to eat this soup for his health. My mother-in-law has been strictly following the diet and has now lost 10lbs, in one week! I am also considering giving it a try as well. Just wondering if anyone else has experienced positive results beyond just the weight loss??

posted Sep 28th, 2010 8:43 pm


Roxanna

+

I really liked this diet and lost weight. I had problems with the fact that I had extreme headache withdrawing from caffine. I was drinking a lot of pop before I started. I didn't suffer from any cravings and felt better than I had in a long time. I did the diet for 6 straight weeks

posted Sep 25th, 2010 1:11 am


dollfan28

+

I am on day #4 (bananas and milk) and I am really psyched about how I feel.

I weighed 204 on day #1, yesterday I weighed 200, and this morning when I weighed I was 197. My kids were laughing at me because I was doing the "happy dance", as it has been a long time since I've been under 200 pounds. The soup is so good that my 17-year-old daughter actually eats it. I have been 100% strict with this plan and now I know that I can say no to those "bad" foods. This will be a regular staple in my house from now on.

posted Sep 21st, 2010 3:42 pm


serious will power

+

I am on the 7th day today and I have lost 16 lbs. You can not imagine how hard it was for me to stay on this diet becasue I have always been huge meat eater. I justrecently lost 40 lbs and needed to jump start my diet again. I have alway eaten the low carb way but this way of eating will stick with me, I am not considering this a diet but a change in the what I want to eat. I do crave things but I do not give in. I am really amazed at how this has worked for me!! I reccomend this way of eating to anyone who needs to lose weight..just try it, if you cheat while trying it just keep going do not give up and you will see yourself slimming down!! I will not go back to the low carb way of eating thanks to the SOUP!!!!!

posted Sep 17th, 2010 4:31 pm


Anita

-

If you're over 50 or people with slow metabs....don't expect more than about 4 lbs of weight loss (not the 10-17 lbs)

posted Sep 17th, 2010 11:55 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Juice Diet, Purple Diet

Whats better than
Sacred Heart Diet?