Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

39%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 283 reviews
Sacred Heart Diet

Sacred Heart Diet Review: Does it Work?

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Sacred Heart Diet is a weight loss fad diet that is used to help treat overweight people with heart conditions. It’s also been called the Spokane Heart Diet, Miami Heart Institute Diet, and the Cleveland Clinic Diet.

It claims results for up to 10 to 17 pounds in the first week. It lasts a total of 7 days and is made up mostly of soup and vegetables. It also claims to be helpful for those suffering from diabetes or bowel problems. There are different free resources online which help explain what the diet requires. By reviewing several popular and new diets, our experts have rated the 18Shake Diet as the most effective. It offers a combination of both an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning stimulant free diet pill. Discover more about what the 18Shake Diet has to offer by clicking the link provided.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Sacred Heart DietIngredients and Side Effects

You can eat as much as you like of the following:

• Soup: Should consist of 1 to 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 3 large green onions, and 1 large can of beef broth with no added fat, a package of Lipton Soup Mix, 1 bunch of celery, 2 cans of green beans, 2 green peppers and 2 pounds of carrots.

• Drinks: Unsweetened juices, herbal tea, skim milk, water, cranberry juice, and coffee. This can be drunk as much as one likes.

The kinds of foods allowed are:

Day One: Unlimited soup and certain fruits excluding bananas.

• Day Two: Eating as much fresh, canned, or cooked vegetables. No dry beans, peas, or corn can be eaten. Leafy greens are suggested.  Dinner allows for a baked potato with butter, though no fruits are allowed.

• Day Three: Unlimited soup, fruit and veggies. One should have lost around 5 to 7 pounds.

The link cited here has a list of the top 10 ranked diet plans for weight loss.

• Day Four: Skim milk and at least 3 milks. This is meant to replace the amount of carbohydrates and potassium needed. The protein and added calcium is intended to reduce the cravings for sweets.

• Day Five: Beef and tomatoes. 10 to 20 ounces of beef and canned tomatoes. Soup must be eaten once a day and 6 tomatoes can be eaten.

• Day Six: Beef and vegetables for as much as you’d like 2 to 3 steaks with green leafy vegetables and at least one soup a day.

• Day Seven: Brown rice, unsweetened fruit juice, eat as much soup as you can, and you can add cooked vegetables to the rice.

If more than 17 pounds have been lost it’s advised to stop using the diet for two daysbefore one can resume using it again. It’s said that one should lose between 10 to 17 pounds safely. The basic idea is that this diet will significantly reduce the amount of calories you lose via introducing low calorie foods.

The reason one can eat unlimited amounts of soup is due to the extremely low calories provided, as well as the natural liquid in soup which helps to fill up the stomach.

There are also restrictions on food such as not eating:

         • Bread.

         • Carbonated drinks including diet soda.

         • Fried foods.

         • Alcohol.

It’s advised to make sure to at least drink a total of 6 to 8 glasses of water. One can add the list of allowed beverages to also make up for the amount of liquids one needs to drink.For a top 10 list of the highest rated diet plans click the link provided.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Sacred Heart Diet Quality of Ingredients

There are healthy food options which are recommended, but eating only large amounts of soups can be difficult. It’s likely one will lose weight as there is very few calories provided. The issue is that this can also lead to nutritionaldeficiencies. A lot of the foods one will be eating are low in fats, which can lead to fatigue.

The claimed 10 to 17 pounds of weight loss are likely to be water weight. The reason why the diet is only available for use up to 7 days is because of the risk of issues with can result with repeat use. Diets that require only a short term use are often because they can promote side effects. This is not considered a sustainable diet; they are what are known as crash diets.

Sharron Coplin, a registered dietician for Ohio State University said:

“would not recommend any diet that exceeded a safe rate of weight loss, which is 2 to 3 pounds per week”

This rapid weight loss is not a quality of a safe and effective diet plan. The link provided here has a rate of the highest rate weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Sacred Heart Diet

The price depends on where one gets their vegetables and other food items. It’s likely to be an easy to afford diet, but there are health websites which mention it’s potentially unsafe.

Healthy Weight Formulas adds:

“one of the main points against it is that most weight loss is temporary, caused by fluid depletion”

“particularly low in calories, and may cause light headedness and weakness”

The risk for side effects and the extreme reduction in calories make this a potentially risky diet. It is easy to begin this diet, but overall the lack of evidence for safety makes it a poor diet. Our experts have rated the top ranking diet plans in a top 10 list found here.

Business of Sacred Heart Diet

Websites which promote this brand often will claim that it was formulated by a particular hospital. The truth is that none of the claimed hospitals said to have created this diet have taken responsibility, since it’s a potentially dangerous diet.

Most of the information on this diet is available on free websites. There is no officialguide, and certain sites offer different accounts on what should be followed. The same basic ideas are offered however, such as making sure to get the help of a physician in case of any excess weight loss.

This lack of information is likely because like other fad diets it’s not based off of real science. The top 10 list of the best weight loss diets can be seen in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Sacred Heart Diet

Here are some direct quotes from users of this diet:

“On day 3 and lost nothing! Actually gained 2 lbs. on day 2”

“gained A LOT of weight back”

“I am on day 7 of this diet and have not lost any weight”

“I am always hungry though, and don’t want to constantly eat this soup”

As suspected the main issue people had was that any weight loss was quickly regained. This is what is known as a crash diet, which gives fast results that do not last and is only intended for a short period of use.

The issue with diets like this is that most of the weight loss is actually water weight and not fat. This makes it impossible to rely on for real weight loss.

Another listed issue from people was that it was hard to eat the same kinds of foods. People quickly because bored of the food selection, for many it was impossible to keep eating soup even it was just for 7 days. For a list of thehighest rated diet pals for weight loss follow the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Sacred Heart DietWork?

The Sacred Heart Diet allows for unlimited amounts of soup that’s based off of just one recipe. For the entire 7 days there are different allowed foods. The diet is considered a fad crash dietthat can result to upwards of 7 pounds in the total 7 days. One can continue using the day off and on again for results. Many who have tried it mention it’s not satisfying to keep eating the same foods allowed. There were also problems with the lack of long lasting weight loss. There are problems with sustaining weight loss efforts since most of what’s lost is water weight. Medical sites also mention that it’s lacking in nutrition and that it can be unsafe to keep using it. It can lead to nutritional deficiencies which may result in long term side effects.

Our experts have concluded the best solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a nutritionally balanced meal replacement that helps with appetite suppression, as well as a diet pill made to help burn fat. Testimonials and positive reviews are available on the official website from people who have had significant results. There are only natural ingredients, no artificial colors, stimulants, or fillers added.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return policy is offered with no questions asked. You can learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet in the link cited here.

How Does Sacred Heart Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Sacred Heart Diet
  • 39 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 24, 472 total comments)

LD551

+

I love it and lost 18 pounds the first time i tried it!

posted Mar 29th, 2011 8:34 pm



Naica Balasabas

?

So are you gonna mixed it all up on cooking the soup?

posted Mar 27th, 2011 7:23 pm


nishagirl21

I am trying this diet along with co-works starting Monday. I have 15 lbs to lose I am hoping to loose up to that much and then some. I will follow the diet to tht T along with some exercise. Lets see how it goes I will report back in one week... Wish me luck!

posted Mar 24th, 2011 4:56 pm


Jessica

Tried this diet in 2009 after having my second son. I 198 lb the week before having my son and 192 a month after having him. It was time to get back to my size six figure. I did the soup for 2 week and started working out after that. By summer, I was back to my normal size. I got stopped by lots of people that saw me with a young baby. They could believe how flat my stomach was.

I have a party to go to in two weeks so I am trying it again two years later. Good luck to me!!

posted Mar 21st, 2011 7:47 pm


Jacqueline

+

I like the diet so far. I am 5"3 starting at the weight of 179. I am only on Day 2 but feeling really good and not hungry or craving at all.
Day 1 started with only 2 bowls of soup, three oranges, and one apple and i also exercised for thirty minutes as well. work up to see if I lost anything and weighed 177. Hopefully day 2 would be some more pounds shed. Will give another follow up tomorrow

posted Mar 16th, 2011 2:42 pm


LotsAambition

Hello everyone! I am starting this diet tomorrow. I'm a little nervous about the soup because I am NOT a fan of green beans or tomotoes.. which is the main part of the diet. Eek. I read a lot of reviews on here who say the soup is good. I hope I can keep it down! It sounds horrible for me to say that, I know, but I honestly don't know if I'll be able to stomach it! I will get back to you all and let you know how it goes! I currenlty weigh 182.. I don't really care about the lbs.. I care about how I look/feel and I want to fit into my size 7 jeans again. AHH. Wish me luck! :]

posted Mar 15th, 2011 5:43 am


Bean

I have have just reached day 3 on this diet and lost 7lbs. Who knows if it just water weight or true fat. My boyfriend is doing the same diet and it makes it easier when someones checking up on you and cheering you on. Hope this works!

posted Mar 9th, 2011 2:39 pm


Estera

I started the diet weighting 126 , on the 6th day I weighted myslef and did not shed a single pound. I followed the recipe to a T and was disappointed. I think there is a weight limit when going on diet... still good soup and I did feel more energy. Back to ww and daily exercise.

posted Mar 6th, 2011 8:45 am



Tracy PB

OK, it is now Day #3 and I'm feeling a bit sorry for myself (whoda thunkit?).

Day #1 I ended up having 3 bowls of soup, an orange, 10 oz of cantelope chunks, an apple, one cup of decaf coffee black with 1/2 packet of splenda and about 34 oz. water.

Day #2 I had a large dish of sauteed spinach, onions, mushrooms and garlic (used a touch of Pam cooking spray in the skillet), seasoned with salt and pepper for breakfast. Not bad! Really looked forward to the baked potato at dinner time. Had about a half cucumber, and a dish of green beans with tomato recipe that my coworker brought in to work (cooked with a bit of olive oil). Then went out to an Italian restaurant with my sweetie...never gave it a thought that they wouldn't have baked potatoes on the menu...so I ordered a large sauteed mushroom salad served over a bed of greens that was delish and also had topping of gorgonzola cheese and walnuts - which I admit I ate and enjoyed! Had no soup at all this day; drank about 4 cups of decaf coffee, black with splenda today and only about 16 oz. water. Feeling like I let myself down today.

So, as I said, it is now Day #3, about 10am, and I stepped on the scale and saw that I've lost two pounds as of this morning, (even though I dreamt last night that I GAINED 8 POUNDS!), and since then I've had 10 oz of watermelon chunks AND my baked potato that I missed out on yesterday! LOL I also splurged on a dunkin donuts decaf coffee with skim milk and splenda.

(Note for females: I also started my period today, so not sure how the whole bloating thing will affect my results, either...?)

More updates to come! Staying strong and determined!

posted Mar 2nd, 2011 10:49 am


Nat

Oh yes, and forgot to mention...I lost 7lbs!

posted Feb 28th, 2011 4:01 pm


Nat

So today is my last day. I cheated just a little bit on the diet, but it was just a little bit of pasta with the meat balls. I don't think it affected me much. I don't feel much slimmer, but definitely lighter and more energetic! I am sure glad to be off of it as of tomorrow though...but I think I will stick to its guidelines as a general rule. I did not realize how much junk I eat and use in my cooking! My family too!
I would reccommend this to someone who would really like to experience the benefits of healthy eating!
It was a bit difficult exercising the first few days, but it was otherwise okay from there.
Good luck friends!

posted Feb 28th, 2011 3:53 pm



Tracy PB

Day #1 of the Sacred Heart Diet, even after a mixed bunch of reviews/articles. Eating cantelope chunks and drinking decaf coffee black with half a packet of Splenda. I can't find any confirmation anywhere as to whether or not you're allowed to use zero calorie sweeteners, so I'm taking the risk, anyway - I GOTS to have my coffee! :-)

Although it is referred to as a "fad diet" my many, I still do feel there is value to this diet, as long as it is followed by healthy eating habits. My teenage daughter and I are not very overweight, but we did used to eat much more healthy than we've been in the past 6 months or so, so we are seeing this as an opportunity to get back on track, as others have said, to sort of jump-start / revive that healthy lifestyle again!

I have gained 15 lbs. in the past 6 months, so I'm very interested to see the results for me, for this week. Will update (promise!). I do Zumba once a week, but am not a regular excerciser.

posted Feb 28th, 2011 12:36 pm



Tracy PB

Day #1 of the Sacred Heart Diet, even after a mixed bunch of reviews/articles. Eating cantelope chunks and drinking decaf coffee black with half a packet of Splenda. I can't find any confirmation anywhere as to whether or not you're allowed to use zero calorie sweeteners, so I'm taking the risk, anyway - I GOTS to have my coffee! :-)

Although it is referred to as a "fad diet" my many, I still do feel there is value to this diet, as long as it is followed by healthy eating habits. My teenage daughter and I are not very overweight, but we did used to eat much more healthy than we've been in the past 6 months or so, so we are seeing this as an opportunity to get back on track, as others have said, to sort of jump-start / revive that healthy lifestyle again!

I have gained 15 lbs. in the past 6 months, so I'm very interested to see the results for me, for this week. Will update (promise!). I do Zumba once a week, but am not a regular excerciser.

posted Feb 28th, 2011 10:25 am


amanda

+

I'm on day five. So far I've lost six lbs and I do feel more energetic. This is the second time I've tried.this diet and I'm seeing more results now that I've added exercise. I go through the soup way too fast though!

posted Feb 26th, 2011 11:41 am


Nat

Day 3. Weighed myself this morning and I have "lost 3 pounds" since I weighed myself 2 mornings ago. I do feel more energetic. Thus far, the diet has opened my eyes to how calorie-full and wasteful breads,chips,pastas etc are! We'll see what I weigh tomorrow..banana day!

posted Feb 24th, 2011 9:36 pm


Nat

On day 2...haven't noticed any changes at all except more energy and not really feeling lethargic as I normally do when I eat crummy foods. I am typically a healthy person, but have been indulging for the past 6 months or so and have been making a lot of poor diet choices (chips, cookies, icecream, you name it). I go to the gym for 90 minutes a day (I am Pam in the lower comment box, I used my middle name before I signed up for an account), so hopefully the combination of no junk foods and my regualr exercise will help the healthy lifestyle process along. I don't intend on going back to my old eating habits, I'm using this as a kickstart program, but I am curious to see if I will lose weight, as it says. We'll see! For all the healthy folks out there who would like a review from someone who has done it, here it will be!

posted Feb 23rd, 2011 10:08 pm


Deedra

I've been off and on on this diet and I have to say that it works, because the first week i lost 11lbs and man I felt great.

posted Feb 22nd, 2011 11:09 am


Pam

Ok, so I really like the sound of this diet BUT, I am not overweight by any means. Will I still be able to lose a good chunk of weight (5-7lbs?) on this diet? I also go to the gym every weekday for 90minutes. Please somebody answer my question!!!!

posted Feb 22nd, 2011 9:52 am


Nat

Ok, so I really like the sound of this diet BUT, I am not overweight by any means. Will I still be able to lose a good chunk of weight (5-7lbs?) on this diet? Please somebody answer my question!!!!

posted Feb 22nd, 2011 9:49 am


cheryl

i am wondering how christine is doing.... been reading the reviews and you started about the same weight i am now.... i am going to make soup right now and make up a chart of what I will eat this week based on everyones comments.

posted Feb 21st, 2011 1:04 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Juice Diet, Purple Diet

Whats better than
Sacred Heart Diet?