Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

94%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 227 reviews

Sacred Heart Diet

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared


Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Purple Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 23, 448 total comments)

Sam

lost 2 more...13 total and on day 6......still have not exercised......im not sure how the brown rice is to help me...package says full of carbs.....

posted Feb 4th, 2011 11:14 pm


Angel

I am on day 4 and i have actually gained 4 pounds! so upsetting! i have been following it to the T and worked out @ least an hr a day of cardio. I dont get it?! should i just give up???

i dont know how these people did lose wieght- cuz I AM NOT! =-( very disappointing!

posted Feb 4th, 2011 5:39 pm


Sam

lost another lb.....do the maters and 20oz today....hope it keeps coming off...been iced in and still no excercise......11 total lbs lost

posted Feb 3rd, 2011 6:38 pm


Sam

i thought i posted this morning but did not show up...anyway, lost 2 more lbs for a total of 10.....today naners and milk.....cant wait until tomorrow.....should i substitute wild rice for brown.....

posted Feb 3rd, 2011 12:44 am


Lucky13sGirl

So I lost a total of 14 pounds in 7 days. I lost 4 pounds on Day 1, Days 2-6 I lost 2 pounds each day. On day 7, I didn't lose anything.

I made a few changes to the diet. In the soup, I used chicken broth instead of beef. I did not include tomatoes, because I don't like them.

On Day 4, I used Almond Milk instead of Skim Milk. My rationale was simply that I like it more than Skim.

On Day 5, I ate watermelon instead of tomatoes. I searched for recommendations online, and watermelon seemed to be the only one I could find so that's what I used.

I liked the diet and felt great while on it. I was a little ticked off that I didn't lose anything on the 7th day, but I wasn't really surprised. Brown rice is healthy, but has around 250 calories a serving.

I also kept my medium iced coffee with Splenda and cream every day. I can't give up my coffee and I don't like milk in it. I don't think this hurt me, because I still did pretty good.

I am trying to psych myself up to do this again. My soup was actually delicious, and like I said I felt really good while on the diet. Its hard though, especially Day #2. Reading the success stories helps, but I just need to get back into it. I would love to repeat like a lot of the people posting do. I want to lose 60 pounds and I want to lose it fast. We'll see what happens. :)

posted Feb 2nd, 2011 6:18 am


leah

I will be starting this diet tomorrow, can I lose weight with this diet without working out?

posted Feb 2nd, 2011 3:42 am


david flynn

I tried it and lost 12 pounds in the first week and after a 3 day break am doing it once more for another week! wish me luck guys! David , Liverpool UK.

posted Feb 1st, 2011 7:18 pm


sam

starting day 3......day 2 was the worst because of nothing but veggies and soup....tuff, tuff......but I have lost 8 lbs....i know a lot of water...but that is better than I have done on the atkins.......today i have 3 tangerines thus far and about too have soup for lunch....good luck to all

posted Feb 1st, 2011 6:13 pm


Sam

day 2....what did you eat for breakfast? Anyway, hope this works...where is sonja and her progress report......

posted Jan 31st, 2011 7:46 pm


Robin

i'm starting the diet today and hopefully will like to see results fast. i'm not considered overweight but i would like to lose at least 20 pounds while on this diet.. hope it works will keep ya'll updated

posted Jan 31st, 2011 3:45 pm


bunny

I'm making my soup today and starting my diet tomorrow. I've done this diet in the past and lost 7lbs in a week. This time I have a little more to lose so I'm hoping for 10lbs. I tweaked the ingredients a little bit this time too. I used low sodium low fat chicken broth and added broccoli and some baby spinach to the soup. Smells good but I'm sure I'll be sick of it in a few days. Oh well, wish me luck...

posted Jan 29th, 2011 7:30 pm


sonja

I did this diet a few months ago...in ten days I lost 17lbs...the only thing is I added some chicken in the soup because I worked out on the ellyptical 7 out of those 10days! I ate a small baked potato on day 2 with a bit olive oil and 2 bannana's only the next day
I also did eat a fresh tomato each day because I didn't add it to the soup!
When I was sick of the soup I just munched on veggie's like snow peas
U can change the soup or the diet a bit by adding the veggie's u like..
The purpose is to cleanse ur body with all that fibre and nutrients
Do work out..at least walk or do stairs
Of course u'll see results when u cut out sugar and bread
U'll feel soo much better
Highly recommend it
Everything in moderation..especially when ur done
Nowadays I freeze the soup and substitute it as lunch or dinner at times
So far I've lost 35lbs
Tomorrow I'm starting it all over because I have a wedding in 2 weeks
Good luck!
Sonja

posted Jan 27th, 2011 11:15 am


sonja

I should add that I used "carribean spices" from Irie to make the soup taste great(it has a lot of dehydrated veggie's in it) and I added a couple dashes of cayean pepper to make it spicy
My soup was delicious(however I did not add tomatoes to the soup instead I ate a fresh one daily)
Lost 17lbs in 10days but also worked out

posted Jan 27th, 2011 11:14 am


sonja

I did this diet a few months ago...in ten days I lost 17lbs...the only thing is I added some chicken in the soup because I worked out on the ellyptical 7 out of those 10days! I ate a small baked potato on day 2 with a bit olive oil and 2 bannana's only the next day
I also did eat a fresh tomato each day because I didn't add it to the soup!
When I was sick of the soup I just munched on veggie's like snow peas
U can change the soup or the diet a bit by adding the veggie's u like..
The purpose is to clkeanse ur body with all that fibre and nutrients
Do work out..at least walk or do stairs
Of course u'll see results when u cut out sugar and bread
U'll feel soo much better
Highly recommend it
Everything in moderation..especially when ur done
Niowaday I freeze the soup and substitute it as lunch and dinner at times
So far I've lost 35lbs
Tomorrow I'm starting it all over because I have a wedding in 2 weeks
Good luck!

posted Jan 27th, 2011 11:05 am


Lucky13sGirl

Today is Day #2 for me on this program. I lost 4 lbs yesterday! I realize a lot of this is water weight, but I hope to keep up at this pace!

I made small changes to the soup recipe. Instead of using beef broth, I opted for 100% fat-free low-sodium chicken broth. I also left the tomatoes out, since I don't like 'em! My soup is actually delicious and I don't mind eating it.

Yesterday was easy, eating soup and fruit. I actually didn't feel hungry at all. Today, is a different story. I am feeling hungrier since I am not the biggest veggie eater in the world. Looking forward to my potato though! I'll keep you posted!

posted Jan 18th, 2011 9:17 pm


kay14

Well i am 17 years old and i weigh about 215 so i really want to try this diet . ive tried the master cleanse before and i did it for about 5 days and i lost 10 pounds but i did not like it because all you had to drink was lemonade . ive been reading alot of reviews on this and it sounds like a great idea . im considered overweight because im am 5'1 and i am young so i am not the weight i should be for my height . i plan to start this diet tuesday when i go back to school so i will update yu guys in a couple of days or when i start it . i hope this works ! wish me luck !

posted Jan 16th, 2011 10:44 pm


mie

I have been doing this diet for 3 days now. But I didnt make my own soup. I jus drink the soup juice from other soups. Will I still lose 10-17pds. Does anyone no?

posted Jan 12th, 2011 1:54 pm


Hannah

i have an event coming up in about 9 days,i need to lose about 13 pounds on this diet. I am vegetarain and won't be eating any of the meat.If it is impossible to lose weight without the meat then could i replace it with other vegetarian foods that have protein in them.Also how much exercise will i need to do i normally walk home which is nearly two miles everyday and i don't want to be gaining muscle weight,so if somone that has done the diet could please respond :)

posted Jan 9th, 2011 7:29 am


chloe

I cooked the soup with homemade chicken stock. My weight was 124 in the beginning.Today is my 5th day and I've lost 5.5 lb.2nd day morning I ate 1 boiled egg. I still drink mostly water , tea, and only 1 cup coffee with milkand last 2 days I started to drink apple cider but not much. 2nd day instead using butter with my potato , I used little olive oil with my salad and the veggies I baked in the oven. 4th day I did not eat tomato with meat. I prefer to eat grilled chicken, tomato but with other green such as lettuce, cucumber. For dinner I used a little bit mustard on top of my grilled chicken. Today I started with 2 boiled eggs,1 tomato , 1cucumber, tea and 1/2 cup apple cider. And I will eat some griled shrimp with my salad but no fruit and soup. I have never missed the soup. Last 2 days I only drank once in a day but never missed. I felt hungary much on 2nd day and today in the morning but I've felt no dizziness , nothing. Everyday I ride bicycle only 10-15 minutes, I always get my multi vitamin. And I won't eat brown rice like they say as much as I want. I may not eat or if I eat I will really eat less.Good luck everybody.

posted Jan 8th, 2011 4:20 pm


Mandy

I'm on day 4 and I must say that I have a lot more energy on this diet than any other diet I've tried-- and I've tried many! Th day is almost over and I've enjoyed eating 5 bananas, two servings of soup, and lots of skim milk. I haven't weighed myself, waiting until next week because "Aunt Flo" visited me yesterday and the accuracy will be off-- I don't want to be discouraged with less weight loss. I can't wait to see how much I lost! Beef day tomorrow! I have steak ready for me!

posted Jan 8th, 2011 12:11 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account